(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

andrea
actually my weight gained has been minimal since i was preg. my gynae said its okay.
im just worried tt all the food im eating to go directly to the bb and bb will be big...hehehe..got such thing or not?

im going to mrs wong's class same date but in the evening.

Hi, Dor. don't worry about it. A blog is meant to share with others mah. You help me do publicity, I'm even happier. I also get inspiration on what to buy from other MTBs from this forum. So, glad to share what I know. Feel free to leave comments too. Gets a bit lonely when there are no comments cos I never know if anyone is reading it except myself.

Doink, I also asked for hand me downs. I buay paiseh. But when people know that you don't mind old things, they will also start offering it to you.

hi kitsune,
is the BP for the carter bibs still on?? very cute leh, i thinking of buying. can send me the link to the BP? Kum sia

hi..
so far we've bgt stroller and car seat.
left with cot and changing table.
will be buying mixture bb clothes and other neccessities.
as for other accesosries like bb slings, rocker, will wait after delivery, maybe will get my frens to buy for me..hehehe
dun think can ask for hand me downs coz in there will be 3 bbs born in year 08! starting frm mine, sis and cousin.

items bought so far
1. Medela electric breast pump
2. Avent steriliser
3. 5 set rompers (ordered online from babycenter spree)
4. 2 medium avent milk bottles
5. 6 socks
3. 4 sets mitten
4. Powder puff case
5. Pacifiers
6. Hankies (bought by MIL)
7. 5 sets homewear-front ribbon tying (bought by MIL)
8. Changing mat

hehe..it was fun shopping..still have lots more to buy..

patsy
oh dear.... take care.

re: maternity wear
i just took out those old ones from the box to wash last weekend. haha... tummy showing up liao. but still no one give up seat to me in the train.

kitsune, heehee... me got read but lazy to comment...
haha... when our edd is approaching, must exchange ctc... who knows who might become neighbours....

starry, wow... bought quite a bit lah hor....

me too... ordered some clothes from gap/oldnavy n also babyonline... still waiting for loots to arrive....

I am sure what to think now after hearing all your point of view. I resigned from school cos basically i won't be able to spend time with family since teaching in school is like a 12/7 job. Sometimes even have to get hubby to help in organising school events. As for teaching in tuition centres, most of them requires teachers to work in the evening and on both weekends. So either way, won't be able to send quality time with my family. That's why i'm looking for a 8 to 5pm job. As for staying at home after

Hi, moi_dar. My hubby is a teacher too so understand how busy teachers are. To me, even though people think school holidays are good, it's just paying back time cos everyday got to work long hours (11-12hrs in school), come back also must mark papers or prepare for lessons. So, 1 day need to work at least 15-16 hours. Weekends also may be burnt for school events, ECA etc. Plus pay is not fantastic despite all the increments they promise. Hubby and I been working for 6-8 years and our combined pay only hit $8k recently. Wish he can get a higher paying job in bank or finance or insurance so I can be FTM but he likes to be a teacher so bo bian lor. :p

hi ladies..

kitsune, yes i do read your blog...

where did you purchase the orange seat that can be used on normal chairs to 'convert' for bb? i think it will be quite useful for me.

also do u think it is a good idea to use 'permanently' in place of buying a bb chair? cos really got space constraint at home, must think and plan before i buy the 'bulky items'.

i know this probably sounds quite funny, but i've never seen a new born or any baby that's less than 3 months b4. neither has hb (ok, maybe more than 6 yrs ago when his niece was born). as we were checking out the strollers yesterday we kept asking each other if the stroller seat space was too big/too small...but neither of us had any clue.

looked at bb clothes also no clue what size to get, haha. althou there are no. of months indicated on the clothes however im under the impression that the size range of new borns actually can vary quite a bit?

Haha, so a few people do read my blog after all. Hubby always ask me why no comments, anyone reading or not and I can't answer. Must tell him tonight. Hee.

I bought it from the BP here. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1000011.html?1191823742 Can't use it to replace baby chair I think cos baby can wriggle out of this. It's useful if you go outside and there are no baby chairs but you still have to keep an eye on BB. By the way, I bought it cos $38 is cheaper than Small Small World one which is selling $59.90 less 10% discount (though different brand). I'm eyeing the bumper playmat from Small Small world though.

Oh ya, regarding BB clothes, how many you buy also depends on whether you have help to wash them. BB grow very fast and my CL said she can wash very fast so told me not to buy more than 4-5 sets and no need long pants cos she will swaddle BB with napkin. But for my cousin who did not have CL for baby no. 1, her MIL said not enough BB clothes cos dirty easily and a hassle to keep washing as she is also taking care of BB. My cousin wanted to buy more but she already started her confinement so not supposed to go out. So, this time, for baby no. 2, she bought more clothes even though she has hand me downs from no. 1. I buy Jingle (from JL or Seiyu) which is recommended by my cousin cos the sizes small enough for NB. But depends on how big your BB is. The gynae should be able to give you an estimate in the later stage of pregnancy. Some mummies said HDB shops also can buy and cheaper BB clothes so you can shop around and see first.

I am a MTB with due date on 28 February 2008. I have not bought anything for the baby yet and so far only bought maternity dresses.
Felt very inspired to shop after reading some of the posts here.

Just a question: is Avent a good brand and what is the Avent event all about (hope it is not over already)?

kitsune, i have been reading your blogs too! just that i din leave any comments hehe

Re: bb stuff
Er, i havent bought any!! am going back to KL in 2 weeks time, will try to see whether Kl's bb stuff is cheaper than here or not.

Re: weight gain
had gained near to 4kg i think so far. and had been experiencing some water retention sometimes.

Re: cramp
i dont have cramps but my tummy is very tight! like going to burst anytime. had gone to doctor and had an injection to relax my muscle, as well as to prevent pre-birth. not sure why tightening tummy has to do with pre-birth but the doctor checked cervix after i said my tummy is very tight. Also, felt tight because of first bb, myabe i'm not used to it.

And i find that my tummy very big liao, since our last gathering..

Re: Medical insurance for bb.

Yea agree! i think i will be getting for bb too, will ask my financial advisor to give me some advise. snowbelle, pls share with us too after you get your advice.

starry70,
I'll be in the same class as you.

Till now I only gotten a body suit for my bb, hb don't allow me to buy so early. My bro and friend are passing me some bb items, so we'll see what else we need to get later. Some of my friends are saying that I bought more things for myself then for the bb. :p

Hi, Yipy. I haven't started doing playing music yet but I make hubby sing to BB. He always sings "thousand legged worm" and taps my tummy to the music. Want BB to recognise Daddy's voice and also curious to see if she will respond to this song next time and be soothed. Hee.

hi yipy,
i listen to class 95 every morning and evening. so maybe the voice of glenn ong and flying dutchman will soothe my baby next time hahah =P

but seriously, other than the music that hubby and i normally listen to, haven't specially played any tai1 jiao4 related stuff for baby.

INSURANCE
yes MTBs who have done some research pls share! =)

i play some soft music if i can..soothing..hopefully next time baby liao can sleep peacefully..hehe..currently listening to Bill Cunliffe "Enchanted Journey" - piano music

cool snowbelle - see u there

thanks kitsune for your information

so i guess i can safely buy a couple of NB clothes? since NB will more or less be able to fit into the clothes that are tagged "for new borns"?

for those mtbs who have met me, hb and i are petite ppl...but we were not-very-small babies...something must have gone wrong along the way, keke..

n looking at the sudden rate my tummy is growing, i was getting quite confused about the size of clothes i should get for bb lor. heeee...

have asked my SIL for hand-me-downs since she is the most likely source. but she already decided to close shop some years ago and gave away her bb things liao. only left a bottle sterilizer which was left at MIL place and she forgot about it.

in my office, all my colleagues not married/no kids except my boss, but then he is as old as my father and kids r older than me ah.

welcome, Artemis!

Music
no leh, i didn't play any music for BB...unless i can consider class 95 that hb play while driving as 'music theraphy'...

Got cut off from my internet access...

Hi Pasty, how are you? Feeling better?

Hi Kitsune,
tell me about it... have been teaching for so long and pay is still so miserable. As for the two days child care leave the government has promised, we can't even take it without valid reasons!

My husband was the one who suggested that I be a FTM for the time being, till i find a suitable job. Yet now he complains that I do not contribute to the family income.

I'm a simple person with simple needs. Not very materialistic, might have to do with my religion, believe all is provided for. Sigh... the exact opposite of my husband.

Help!!!! I'm in my mid life crisis!!!

Don't want to think about such depressing things liao.

re: music for BB
Someone passed me the Abott music for brain development. One day time and one night time. So just listen whenever possible lor. But hear too much also very sian..but not sure if baby will get sick of the music or not..haha. They are all classical music by the way.

Aqua Aerobics for Preggy
Anyone knows where can go for such courses? I think i need to start exercising..haha

Poor Moi_dar, most guys are not very sensitive lar and we are most sensitive during pregnancy. Maybe your hubby grew up in an environment where money was very important, that's why he worries about money or maybe because he wants BB to have the best in terms of material comforts. Don't be too mad at him lar. Talk to him and compromise lor. He may not even know that he has hurt your feelings by saying that. Some guys just believe in honesty and stating the facts especially with their spouse. My hubby can be too honest sometimes and make me angry as a result.

moi_dar, dun feel sad....
maybe u might wan to give private tuition... just a few to spend yr hours....

piglettail, dun get too many newborns... cos bb outgrow veri fast leh... maybe 3-6mths or 0-6mths???

music
my bb got no yin yue c bao one...
cos usually we will play gospel cd when we drive cos my gal likes it....he(bb) no reaction one....
but he will kick or respond when hubby watch scoccer matches....

Haha, thanks Dor, XiaoYun for supporting my blog.

Oh ya, Moi_dar, Fern_Lim from Jan 08 MTB is a tuition coordinator working from home. Why don't you send her a PM and leave your contact? She might be able to match you up with a short term tuition assignment until you deliver?

hi ladies..

thanks for your tip on the clothes,dorothy

my FIL asked me to play smoothing music for bb...i tried a few times n felt so sian myself, haha..also bb no 'reaction' to the music.

but i noticed that when i hear musice with strong dumming beats in background, bb will have reaction....! so dunno weather bb 'like' or 'dun like'. bb will 'kick' when im hungry, when im angry and when i read magazines with scatily clad women like Maxim and FHM.

but no response to horror/gruesome shows..

so im also confused what is bb trying to 'tell' me..haha.

dor,
Do you know where else got aqua aerobics classes besides kkh? The last lessson of the aqua aerobics class clashes with my parentcraft class...

Now every night I'll listen to Mozart and some bb music... I'll make my hb sing too... but he always sing diff songs one... last night he sang Elvis' song, and bb kept kicking... dunno she loves it or hates it leh

doink, $111.30 for 4 lesson....

piglettail, u know the gender of bb? i suspect he is a boy... that's why he reacted when u read those mag....hahaha

snowbelle, i go find first... i think sport for life also have such classes... cheaper also but they are not for preggie only...
u veri bad hor, made yr hubby sing...

my gal is now reading to didi bedtime story.

Dor,
Hahaa... this is taught by blueginger one... like that next time bb will look for daddy too mah... at least mommy will have some time to rest :p

You girl very kuai leh... she's doing it every night huh?

hi dorothy,

haha..yar lor yar lor..if boy dunno if im giving him 'bad influence' at such young age?
will be going for my detailed scan this fri and will update gender then. yipee!

your gal gal very guai and love her didi leh.. i hope next time when i have #2, my #1 will also be like that

kitsune, thanks and i have checked out the 'sack and seat'..tempted to buy but it's useful from 6mths onwards. scared hb say i not solving 'immediate issues' first (e.g buy things that a NEW BORN will need) and buying things that only can be used after 6 months... hmm. see how, maybe i buy 1st then 'hide' in 1 corner of the house...

I am deciding on the purchase breast pumps and bottles and need some advice. Should I get the same brand of pumps and bottles or can they be different? What are some of the better brands or other features to look out for? Sorry for so many questions as I'm a FTMTB

Have not bought anything for BB yet cos MIL say no need to buy anything. All have hand me downs. But i ordered one newborn bodysuit online and hubby also bought some clothings for BB from Bangkok but he bought 6 to 9 months one.....................

I also no "tai jiao". Only listen to class 95.

Dor: that is very sweet of your girl. I imagine a happy family picture. hee

By the way, i remember someone bought materniy swimwear right? Where to get them? I wanted to swim but cannot fit in my swimwear and i dare not wear my bikini now.

pigglettail
im exp the same feeling like u...past few days, i feel really big. i think i shd let my gynae noe when i see her...but have a feeling she will say the n word..its all normal..sigh...

bb clothes...im thking of buying a variety of sizes, abit of newborn and 0-3 mths coz alot of ppl said bb will grow quite fast.

i oso havent bought anything for my bb yet.. hb say wait dec sales den buy wor....

i think i going to play the abott CD i got from tmc to let my bb hear.. hehe.. but i m too used to listen to 933.. maybe my bb loves chinese songs.

today i saw blueginger at TMC when i go for my detail scan... 100% boy.. everything fine.

hey gals,
don't worry about your tummy. we are now in our 5th month so baby undergoing growth spurt and growing very rapidly. so tummy will grow as well.

hubby will be late today. so sian...but i doing online shopping haha...picked out 4 carter's bibs already!!

hello ladies,

haven't drop by in a while, was out sick most of the time last week since fri
am still having a bad flu today, my nose is freezing coz in aircon room all day !

kitsune,

me also contributed to one count for your blog... i like reading ur blog, plus the pics so cute !

patsy,

do take care...will pray for ur health and ur baby's health. rest well

moi_dar,

a lot of guys are like that one...competitive and always thinking how to earn more. maybe he's in some certain phase and he's also a bit stress out? it's good if you can find time to talk things through...

re shopping,

okay now i'm really gettin gan cheong...so many of you ladies have done your shopping ! maybe i'm really taking my own sweet time...have only gone for 1 window shopping trip and that's to taka + isetan to look around and compare prices only...but not to the point of buying, maybe i'm too kiasu want to compare every single prices... but i also dun want to regret esp. when buying big items... actually baby's clothings is the last thing i might buy coz so easy to get and i probably get some hands-me-down from my colleague who just had a baby 6 months back...

re leave and post delivery,

lucky for me i got around slightly more than 5 months of maternity leave so my friend told me no need to quit, by that time enough break time to come back to work...and besides, i'm not planning to be a SAHM in the first place...me earning almost the same as hb so if i quite we'll loose half of our family income...definitely cannot afford, luckily my hb is ok with this and he leaves it up to me. =P

re insurance,

yeah, almost forgotten about this...i better get in touch with my adviser soon so that i can start on insurance for my baby.

okie...going to leave for the day liao, tom going for detail scan..hopefully all are good with baby

kitsune, ur hb so good sing song to ur bb....so next time he can sing song for ur bb to get into sleep..haha...

heard from ppl let bb hear the mozart music is good..but dun know where to get it...

Hihi, Patsy, dor and Cheryl, i had pm u my contact no, had u all received it?
Patsy> take care

Garfield, Stephie, had u send in the cheque?