(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

xiaoyun
can use the rebate vouchers during expo sale ah? that's good. me still have some left. not alot, abt $13. think can only use it to buy full priced item.

the heinz bb cereal i bought only lasted 2 weeks. am surprised shawn can finished it so fast.

i feel like getting those UMPC. want to get a DSLR too. dunno why out of a sudden got these temptations!

Amy,
so many lobangs.
any good buy for young bb from iherb?

Bx,
you took lots of photos. nice

i feel that Ashlynn is quite fair, how come she's the darkest?

Jeannie
how i wish we could share each other's "poo poo probs" i.e. gwen poo 2x less and kate poo 2x more.

this morning kate cried so hard cos she was trying to poo poo. and her poo was quite hard, i had to pull out a piece :S sorry so gross here but i so simtia see her crying like that. she cry until whole head wet with perspiration and after that still sniffle sniffle. i think her bum must hurt alot. *ouch* despite feeding her alot of water for last few days and giving banana, still like that. is there any juice or food that can help them to ease the constipation or make them poo more?

jeannie, what do you feed gwen har? are you still bf-ing? what do you eat? share leh...

Stephie,
i always wanted UMPC and DSLR!! and i want PALM too.. lots of things to buy.
but cannot la. no budget le..

yes. can use those during Expo sale.
i think it's a good deal. it's applicable on confectionery too.
bought a few boxes of the Pureen ABD washing powder at $6 each. normal day is $7.45.
some of other things i bought"
(1) rompers @ $5 each
(2) 2-in-1 potty @ $29
(3) Pureen diaper @ $16.90
(4) bedsheet, etc
(5) air tight container, etc
(6) titbits

spent > $150 for the free delivery.

wah shoot...i miss out on COMEX. was hoping to get new PC....bah...

Thanks BX for organizing the trial. And it's great to FINALLY meet up with some of u.

Goodbb....haha..so coincidental to be colleagues with your hubby!! Small world!

BJG:
Eh, i took a lot of videos leh..but not of the trainer/materials. Just of Ruth's response. but i think will be able to "HEAR" what's going on..

Photos/Video
Still no time to put everything online cuz reach home very late yesterday. Will let u all know once I've uploaded.

Overstimulated:
btw...ruth last night fell asleep very early (8+pm) but from that time until past midnight, she keep groaning and yelling in her sleep....i think overstimulated liao.

i always been skeptical about such programmes - i own belief that babies should just live carefree life and have fun. Cuz that's the only time they will be worry-free, carefree.

That being said, I think a play class once in awhile is fun - for her to meet all her 'friends'.

Xiaoyun: Pureen Diaper good? I thought one of the mummies said it's 'crumbly'? Cuz i wanted to try the blue packaging one - saw at Giant many times but never bought cuz of that comment.

CRAWLING
Any of your babies don't like to crawl/flip?

i think ruth doesn't like to crawl/flip. She basically doesn't like being tummy down or lying down unless it's sleeping time.

though she can flip, she hardly does so.

if i put her on belly, she also not very happy. like you all saw yesterday, she lazy la..will just flop there and stone at something.

my mum say some babies are like that. they will 'crawl facing up with their bottoms' (imagine just sitting like normal...and shuffling on the floor with bottom)

i told her if so, i need to buy ruth those 'silky silky' pants....so smoother to 'crawl'.

*rolls eyes*

bkkgal
i think the prune juice helped abit. today hillary's poo is still hard, "crying" in pain just now but her cry was not as bad as yesterday's. she enjoyed the prune juice and almost finished 50ml of it ( i diluted 10ml with 40ml water )

isobellies
do let us know if broccoli helps!

amy
thanks for the tips! will pop by novena sq sometime this month to grab the organic oats!

jeannie
i think its fine for Gwen to poo that much as long as the PD assured you that its fine!!

RE. NAN formula milk
Anyone feeding their baby NAN? I am planning to intro formula milk to Hillary soon and I know that NAN is available in SG, any feedback on NAN? I know that there is NAN HA and NAN gold? Dunno whats the diff though! Oh ya, Cheryl giving NAN to your boy right?

jumperoo vs exersaucer,
i can't decide to buy. can mummies who have either or both share the pros and cons for me?

i think these can only be used up to abt 1 yr old right? feel a bit stupid to buy now when bb is already 7 mths *hehe*

xiaoyun
confectionary also can use the rebate voucher? so good. too bad expo is so far away, the petrol cost to and fro will eat up all the savings :p

told hubby wanna get DSLR cos am sick of getting blurry photos when bb moves (cos can't use flash all the time). hubby said since this year didn't go travelling, can used the $ to buy loh. my ex-colleague whose a freelance photographer now said that canon 1000D (the one i'm bio-ing) is ok for novice like me. so tempting!

Hi gar,

I rented both jumperoo and exersaucer before. With jumperoo, baby will get tired after a while cos need to jump and tip toe. Good for active, physical types. I shared with Dor - Gervaise enjoyed it more than Kate.

The exersaucer is less physical. baby can stand in it and play with the different toys. Kate enjoys it much more than jumperoo. She's able to sit in it for 30-45 minutes just playing, "eating" her toys and turning abt. Can remove the bottom of the exersaucer to be a walker but I don't cos I read somewhere that walkers do not help babies starting to walk, may actually impede their devt.

Why dun you rent one? After rental, can give back. Plus can change different theme every month. :>

Good morning everyone!!!!
sounds like fun at the BJG thingy, mayb nxt time we shd use trial lessons as playdates once in a while ard all these places, then we've got big space + activities for little ones

Bkkgal,
my boi was also constipated in the beginning when i first intro solids. But as times goes by, he seem to have gotten the hang of it and it's now less of a prob. I am not sure is it also b'cos i've now intro more food types to him, like papaya, spinach, barley cereal, sweet potato etc etc. But i thk it helps....

happy,
disney socks wld be posted out nxt wk...that's what i understand fm organiser.

Jass,
I've bought the socks liao...ya, cldn't resist, PM me if u keen on sharing ok???

lezy,
hehe... i heard about Pureen is not good.
but, i will just try try cos bb's bottom is not so sensitive.
will feedback when i try it out.

garfield
i've the jumperoo. it's lent to me foc by my cousin in law. imo, i won't buy cos it's so ex and bb (maybe just mine) get bored after a while. few weeks back he was still enjoying. recently my mum told me he'll ngek ngek ngek when placed in the jumperoo. as for usage, depends on how fast bb grows. cos once the feet can reach the floor, can use already. must use in tip toe position.

stephie,
how much is the 100D huh?
can get better deal if buy 2 together? :p
btw, do you know if DSLR has the date imprint feature?

andrea,
you coming back right? in time for gathering?

FM:

Just for the record.

Ruth has been on Dumex Mamil Gold Step 1 -- then to Step 2 from her 2nd month till now.

Then the supply ran out one night, and i forgot get 'top-up' from my mum's place and opened a can of Enfapro A+ (sample 400g) i had at home.

She's ok with the switch.

Find that Enfapro A+ is easier to dissolve (similar to NAN smoothness) but i think i will go back to Dumex as soon as I finish this sample tin.

trial classes - $37 is abit expensive for 'play dates' for our babies right?

i think we can just get some place and meet up.
if just 3/4 mummies, also no need very big place.

And hor...one thing i didn't like was the bare floor we had to sit on....abit uncomfy i feel.

And i think raeanne and ashlynn slipped and knocked their head lightly on the floor and started crying.

i think got some padded surface better mah.

leila,
re: trumpette socks
thks for the info.. the organiser sent u email ?
cos she seems "inactive" since her last post on last friday early morng..

garfield/artemis,
huh, if she really post out next wk, then we wont get it in time for our gathering this sat..

andrea,
yes, will u be in time for our gathering on tis sat ?

cheryl
thanks! btw does NAN comes in small tin?

xiaoyun
we ll be back on 26 sept, cant join you girls for gathering again!! maybe mth end gathering? =P

eh..i already started using FLASH now when taking pics. but if my hubby is taking with his dslr, he will bounce the flash off in other direction. (he spent a bomb buying special lens and also a flash so i make him take...but all the pics he take always end up in his mac and stays there - i never get to see it! he not diligent in uploading pictures. sigh.)

if i using my 'dummy camera', i will try to stay further away and zoom in.

but sometimes i still forget to off the flash at closer distances...sorry if the flash come out during the BJG class yesterday! I was at a loss of whether to take picture or observe the class!!

xiaoyun
my fren told me his fren got at $970 1 or 2 weeks back. during comex, the price was $1099 with some freebies thrown in (saw from brochure). but the price difference is sufficient for us to get those freebies if we want. ya, if get two, think can have better discount. last time when i bought my canon ixus 60 with my SIL, we bargained for a better deal. keke.

for the gathering this sat, i say we just decide on place and time. whoever can come come lor.

maybe we hsould have more frequent gatherings - fix a place/time and whoever can come just come. instead of once in a blue moon and try to make everyone come a bit tough since everyone has different schedules.

stephie,
*tempted*
but $1k ah.. can buy a UMPC also liao ho...
hb definitely will scold me waste money. esp DSLR is bulky, i won't be able to bring it out often.
now using my hp as camera for convenience's sake.

lezy
i also use flash at times when the light condition is poor. no choice else picture will be dark dark. i try not to use flash if i can help. there was once my gal took picture of my boy at close distance and with flash! (usually she'll switch off the flash)

lezy
agree agree!

let me start off with a suggestion. any mommies interested in playdate next tues 9 sep? i'm staying east. if we have big group, i can get function room at the pool - your babies can swim in heated or normal pool, i'll provide some snacks, bring your toys/books/mats and duplicate shopping etc and we can have a playdate cum shopping exchange party.

PROPOSED PLAYDATE/SHOPPING EXCHANGE PARTY
Date: TUES 9 SEP
Time: AM?
PLACE: BKKGAL's place

Name:
1) bkkgal

Feb08 mummies gathering
date: 6th Sept (Sat)
time: ard 12-1pm?

1) dor + bb
2) cheryl + bb
3) tongtong
4) bluegin (6 sep)
5) snowbelle
6) garfield
7) stephie (if i can make)
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny
10) happymum2b + bb
11) leila
12) oscar
13) Berry
14) Artemis (tentatively prefer 13)
15)tubao
16) Thankful
17) jaslyn + maid + bb (er... can bring maid a not?)
18)qingling (bb n hubby not confirmed)
19) kitsune + hubby + bb
20) Lezy
21) Vine_gal + bb

those mummies who cfm coming, pls pm me ur contact (only those who dun have my contact hor).... thanks. i will see which rest is better

lezy
agree with your proposed approach re gathering. if held more regularly, mummies who can't make it for one won't feel so bad cos can always go to the next one

and i think i can make it for 6 sep liao. cos i rescheduled my appointment. yeah.

stephie
actually DSLR doesn't mean that photos will be less blurry, it all depends on the light. esp since babies move so much. i "throw" away 80% of my photos because i tend not to use the flash, even at home, and there's too much movement, even when i set the ISO quite high at 800, and my aperture is the largest already (usu i use Manual mode).

Actually i find point and shoot cameras will get you a larger number of decent quality photos, whereas a DSLR will get you less number of "good" photos, but the good ones can be of much better quality than point and shoots, get what i mean?

i just upgraded to a 450D not too long ago from a 350D and love it!! other photos i take with my iphone (cos the colours are just fabulous) cos can't lug around the 450D all the time and my hubby refuse to let me buy a point and shoot.

xiaoyun
you want the date imprinted on the photo? not sure if it does that, cos most pple who have SLRs don't really want that feature :p

bx
aiya, wasted i missed the BJG session. maybe i go and try on my own

jeannie
ooh who is this GP? i think my friend also mentioned one near farrer.. can't rem the name now tho.

bkk, stephie,
thanks for your feedback. i oso a bit sim tia to pay so much if bb doesn't like it for long. i let her try out oscar's exersaucer, she seemed to like it. i let her try out eliaw's jumperoo, she seemed to like it too!! haha...so this mummy tempted to buy.

renting sounds like a good idea =) thanks gals!

regular gathering,
i'm jio-ing a regular sat afternoon play group (about 4pm to 6pm). my hb has dragon boat training then, so i'm always free. so far, two mummies are keen. we can decide venue in time. if group is small, i can offer my house (i invested in the 2300mm x 1400mm bumper playmat, so need to justify the purchase hee hee)

1. Garfield9
2. Bkkgal
3. Oscar

xiaoyun
ya, $1k can get a good UMPC. but me more tempted to get DSLR. It's bulky loh. that's what i don't like when my colleague kept asking me to get one. saying it's good good good. now, somehow changed my view liao. hmm...think think think..

Weekend oso can but since you all already meeting this sat, so i dun clash loh. :p

Happy, I on leave on Tues so I thot can start with small group of SAHM first.

eastern mommies, support leh! hee.

if western mommies dun mind travelling east, i can offer my place again for one saturday in Sep? maybe 20th or 27th Sep?

iso,

i know normally professional photographer doesn't want the date imprint feature. that's why i am asking if the DSLR has it. suppose it can turn on and turn off one. :p
however, i need that feature in order to keep track when was the photo taken.

bkkgal,
why weekday?

garfield,
my hb was very disappointed when can't go to your place last sat.
he kept telling bb that 'you poorthing, very lonely, mummy never bring you out to meet your friend.. :p'
so, i am keen on the sat late afternoon playdate.
i can offer my place too. but, do not have bumper mat.

1. Garfield9
2. Bkkgal
3. Oscar
4. xiaoyun

Cameras:

I also take most pics with my point-n-shoot though my hubby bugs me to use the manual functions more (he purposely bought a more expensive point-n-shoot which has all the manual functions that can be programmed but i'm too lazy)

with a baby in tow, it's hard to lug a dslr to take pics unless there is a dedicated photographer all the time lor. Carry baby, bag, pram etc already so shiong liao.

gar...u stay sk/hougang right? so far...
i would like for ruth to have playgroup leh...but abit far...

GP:
my GP also very attentive type - but also means u have to wait awhile for your turn cuz she takes at least 10min per patient normally. She's very patient, and detailed. Like if u have some ailment, she will try to find out if there's anything irregular in your lifestyle that may have contributed to it.

she has 3 children of her own so she's experienced too and pro-breastfeeding. She was disappointed to learn that i stopped..but she is not insistent. nice lady.

if anyone needs a good GP at Telok Blangah area, can go to her clinic - Fraser Medical. 62733603. Cannot book though. Normal price i think. Consult $18 and then rest is medication lor. Opens 8.30/9 to 2pm. I usually go about 11/12 if i wanna skip the morning crowd.

I even went to see her for my pregnancy until about 5months then started going gynae. she doesn't have ultrasound..only has the doppler to hear baby heartbeat. but i'm ok with it. she'll send me to SGH for scan and i'll bring back the results for her to see. nothing abnormal so no need to spend money see gynae.

bkkgal, i wan to support but i work leh.

regular gathering,
i'm jio-ing a regular sat afternoon play group (about 4pm to 6pm). my hb has dragon boat training then, so i'm always free. so far, two mummies are keen. we can decide venue in time. if group is small, i can offer my house (i invested in the 2300mm x 1400mm bumper playmat, so need to justify the purchase hee hee)

1. Garfield9
2. Bkkgal
3. Oscar\
4.xiaoyun
5. dor11(provided i dun take nap)

PROPOSED PLAYDATE/SHOPPING EXCHANGE PARTY
Date: TUES 9 SEP
Time: AM?
PLACE: BKKGAL's place

Name:
1) bkkgal
2) Garfield9 (will try to take leave)

REGULAR SAT AFTERNOON PLAY DATE
1. Garfield9
2. Bkkgal
3. Oscar
4. Xiaoyun
5. dor11(provided i dun take nap)-hee...you v funny!

iso
me not very well versed in photography. other than blurry photos (orh, which you say is not much help with DSLR. those image stabiliser not that helpful afterall?), it's also the 'slowness' of compact digicam that irks me. cos bb/toddler moves so fast.

xiaoyun
not sure abt the date and time stamp feature. i like to have it too, then at least i can easily know/remember when the photo was taken.

garfield,
re: regular sat afternoon play group
arghhh.. it clashes with my visit to mil every sat same timing..

bkk,
i will kiv the 9 sep (tue) gathering organised by you okie..
will "support" u if i can managed to apply for leave..

stephie
IS helps with camera shake, like if your hands are a bit shaky when taking the photo, not so much with the subject (like a baby) moving around, you get what i mean? what camera u using now? some cameras are just slower than others, maybe u need to get one that is "faster"? i not so familiar with the latest point and shoots, so can't really help

Garfield *muah* thanks for supporting! hehehe. Maybe Oscar can come too? She SAHM right?

oh cool! i like idea of regular playdate on sat. we can take turns to rotate and organise different activities!

ok this sat is out since you all going to vivo..let start with 13th Sep (Garfield's place) and 20th Sep (Bkkgal's place) how abt that?

stephie,
if you are only looking for image stabiliser and fast response time. i think new digital cameras has it already.
some even has the smile detector function. means, it can capture the smile of kids.