(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

bkkgal
long time no see. haha.. read my forum then since it's so useful
. where did you go for your work trip? ur hubby must be glad to be able to spend time exclusively with his daughter when he went with you. good for all 3 of u.

brown rice is known to be heaty. so must drink lots of water i guess. or give fruits? when shawn didn't poo for days, my mum will feed him papaya. think it helped.

bkkgal, forum helps me relax too

bx, so far i've only brought cereal out.

For jar foods, this is just my thought :
Put the jar food in the fridge.
Before going out, i'll keep half of the jar food in a small container and keep in the fridge.
The other half to bring out, keep it in the jar food.
To keep it cold, put in a cooler bag with ice pack.
When we reach a dining place, take out the jar food, warm the jar in a bowl of hot water.

hi joeey
i recently read about spinach in this article http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/spinachnitrates.htm that says spinach is better to introduce after 10 months old..
i know when i eat spinach, it always leaves a strange taste in my mouth/tongue, hubby says it's because of the iron/nitrates. so maybe bb doesn't like that?

any mummies used the munchkin grinder? not sure if good or not...

stephie
brown rice is heaty uh ? omg i tink of starting my happybellies brown rice after my girl finish her heinz rice cereal.
i always mix puree into her cereals. like that should be consider introducing solids? so far my girl has tried carrot, sweet potato, apple purees. this wk is apple and pear puree.

hi crystal,

hw many times did u feel ur girl wif cereal a day. n hw much cereal each time? hw old is ur girl nw?

i feed my boy cereal wif 60ml water & 2 scoops of cereal.

is ur puree those in jar? did u warm them up b4 mixing wif cereal? how much of the puree food did u mix wif the cereal?

sorry..so many questions 1 shot. hee

theangels
i don buy bottle jars. i made all these purees myself and freeze them so my caregiver can give it to my bb when i am at work.

my girl is 6mths old now already. currently she is only taking 1 feed of cereal mixed with puree which is in the noon. milk is still her main food.

i freeze my purees in 1oz baby cubes and mix all to 5 teaspoons of cereal.

crystal,
i heard about brown rice is heaty too.
here's the sequence I planned to introduce cereals:
(1) Heinz rice cereal
(2) Nestle rice cereal
(3) Barley cereal
(4) Oatmeal cereal
(5) Brown rice cereal
(6) Multigrain cereal

it's saying rice cereal is likely to cause constipation. If it occurs, can try oatmeal or barley.
anyway, i am planning to offer her porridge until 8-10 months when going to let her try some meat.
if not, preparing baby porridge is quite troublesome for the caregivers. :p

stephie
thanks! i didn't know brown rice is heaty. i thot it's healthy and since it lowers cholesterol etc for adults, must be good for babies. i went to bangkok for work trip
that's why can bring dd and hb lah, otherwise too far away oso i dun dare.

spinach
yeah, it does have a strange taste and dd doesn't seem to enjoy it although she's ok with it if mixed with carrots. i think 6 mths is when bb's iron stores run out and our bm can't give them iron, so i think spinach is a good source of iron.

joeey
np, i was also surprised that carrots also got nitrates! i'll prob just wait till bb is older lah

my bb seemed to be constipated on rice cereal, now on barley seems better, but i'll try avocado/papaya, thanks joeey/stephie ;)

ya cereal easier to bring out than porridge, today i put my prune puree into the feeding bowl (got lid, of course), then put my cereal with a bit of FM in a FM container, then just mix every thing with warm water.

bkk
is it troublesome to bring bb to bkk? they not v stroller friendly right? UOB got cheap $80 tickets to bkk, i so tempted to go

re: nitrates
i only read that spinach has it due to improper storage. not sure about carrot.
that's why i think it's better to prepare it before consumption.

re: calendula cream batch #1
bkkgal,
you may not be aware that calendula cream is here because you are on work trip.
i didn't pass to dor as not sure if you are meeting her.
need you to top up 6.13 for the international shipping.

qingling, lezy,
how's the arrangement for collection?

here's the outstanding amount for collection:
<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>To PayXY </TD></TR><TR><TD>bkkgal</TD><TD>6.13 </TD></TR><TR><TD>thankful</TD><TD>0.19 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

please transfer to POSB Savings 198-15117-3

oh ya, stephie,
the Heinz Organic rice cereal is available at Cold Storage and some Kiddy Palace outlets (e.g., SK).
i went to Carrefour and Kiddy palace @ Causeway Point, only normal one is available.

crystal,

thanks for the information. my boy is 6mths too. where can i get those baby cube to freeze the puree? in addition, when u need to use the puree, u jus thaw it n warm it up b4 mixing wif cereal?

xiaoyun
thanks for the info on heinz rice cereal. will check out cold storage then.

crystal
ya, brown rice heaty based on what i heard. in reality, i dunno. actually i thot brown rice, being more 'fibrous', should aid in passing motion?

bkkgal
i heard water in bangkok is not very clean? did you buy bottled water to sterilise/wash bb's stuff? yes, brown rice is healthy. i find it tasty too.

Iso/Steph
Dun bring stroller to bkk - uneven pavements, up and down BTS, in and out taxis etc - not friendly at all. We brought her around in the baby bjorn carrier.

I just washed my pump with the tap water but I boiled the bottled water to sterilise the pump. Hotel provided bottled water.

Iso - $80 is cheap! But I tell you the fuel surcharge and taxes will exceed $200. My ticket by TG only $198 but with taxes, the ticket came up to more than $400.

Xiaoyun, oh great that the cream is here! Ok, i top up the $$ tonight. Btw, how to collect from you?

bkkgal,
you staying at the east also right?
probably can meet up at Tampines/PayaLebar MRT station on weekday evening ~ 7pm?

hi ladies... *wave* back in the forum... was bz last week hee~

xiao yun:
'how i wish she can drink milk forever... :D ' LOL so funny. for me, i'll make more puree to freeze in small portion. when i need it then i'll take 1 part out to heat up and mix w milk &amp; cereal. easier lah i feel coz i'm so lazy to fo it daily.

joeey:
wah... u started on lean meat liao ya? power leh. v hard to agar agar how much to give bb nowadays hor... too much scare they grow fat / puke after over eating, too little scare they hungry / not feeding enough. headache. hard to try and error when they are growing daily and development like teething may change appetite. *headache*

isobellies jie jie:
me too... my bb likes solids.. he will finish everything. give him milk he sian sian wan. often cannot finish, so i dun dare to give him 2 feeds of solids coz i'm afraid he will reject milk.

theangels:
u can just buy small containers tahan the extreme freezing / heating (microwave?) for me, i bought the bb cubes online (its this tray with many small containers) http://www.littlejetplane.com/catalog/ i bought it @ $12 per tray while the listed SP is $16. you can check it out. i think there are BP / overseas sprees on these items too.
alternatively you can freeze the puree in ice cubes. check this out http://wholesomebabyfood.com/pureebabyfoodandstore.htm

jass mei
ya loh, i now give 2 feeds, don't want to increase yet. not sure if it's the cereal that is making him full or he sian of milk.. hee
btw u got your nestle goodie bag already? they never send me any mail or anything! maybe they know i haven't been using any nestle stuff, haha..

bkk
hmm ok, thanks, will consider
i know taxes will be high, but more concerned about getting around

xiaoyun
i got 2 happybellies brown rice cereal and 1 happybellies oatmeal. rice cereal is also heaty? means i should start to give my girl oatmeal one when her heinz rice cereal finishes instead of the brown rice? i also feel my bb recently since last wk has been quite constipated. but with sweet potato puree, she poos easily. the others like abit hard lei. if i need to give her barley cereal which means i have to buy healthytimes one is it ?

stephie
i also tot brown rice better lei so i bought 2 canisters some more. sighs!

theangels
yes i have to thaw them first then warm them before mixing with the cereal. yup can get from the site that jass posted.

re: teething rusks
what are the recommended ones? heinz, healthytimes or the want want brand?

xiaoyun
can i meet you on thurs? i'm taking day off to bring helper to specialist. i can meet you either tamp or paya lebar at 7pm.

xiaoyun
transfer liao. Ref: 1847391371
let me know if thurs is ok for you ok?

rusks
i gave dd heinz organic rusks. she loves it! can spend hours just sucking and gnawing and chewing it and the rusk doesn't disintegrate easily. can last. so nowadays when we eat, she also gets to yum yum on the rusk.

jass,
i don't plan to freeze puree, that's why..
good news is that my MIL said she wants to prepare fresh for gal gal. so, i am happy now. :D

bkkgal,
weekend no problem. me staying very near dor.

crystal,
brown rice is good. probably need to feed more water? for a start, i think can try oatmeal or barley if bb got constipation problem when taking rice.
don't think happybellies got barley. try healthy times then.

goodbb,
i bought the frozen garden peas from giant. cold storage also has. recommended by a mummy from Jan thread. brand: Wattie's

bkkgal,
thursday should be good. but i need to make some arrangement first. can i confirm with you on thursday morning?
pm you my contact for easier arrangement.

i confirm that brown rice cereal makes babies constipate!! my little one constipated for 4 days the first round, and then 5 days! he used to poo everyday! he only managed to poo today.. lots of poo! he poo-ed a total of 3 times, and was crying quite a bit.. i think his tummy must have been quite painful..

the quantity i gave was rather small.. only 2 teaspoons a day.. but still constipated despite feeding water, papaya, banana, etc..

anyway, the brown rice cereal i gave him was the healthy times one.. i didn't have any problem when i fed him the dumex rice cereal..

bkkgal, I'm giving EYS brown rice powder to my gal, only 1 meal in the morning. So far, poo poo ok, not watery anymore but still soft. Maybe because she still gets about 5 feeds of BM whole day.

Xiaoyun, got the transfer. Thanks.

Isobellies, my car don't have isofix so cannot use. Priorifix so exp, $700+, don't want lar, can only use a few years after that must upgrade to booster seat, very siong leh to spend so much. Anyway, my daughter hates her car seat, keep crying once we try to tie her seatbelt, don't know if it's because the padding is too thick or the seat is too high.

kitsune,
abt ur car seat purch. i thk ok lah, urs wld come wid warranty whereas buy g fm the thread doesn't have...

ur gal cries on her car seat... mayb haven't got used to it yet and mayb too warm? my son also doesn't quite like to be belted to his seat initially but now it's easier and i have to ensure he keeps cool or else he complains n fusses big time!!!

bkkgal
long time no see...me also thinking of bring g bb to biz trip but it's my husband's biz trip not mine
but m really wondering if bb can cope well in the airplane :p Any tips on how to manage?

hi leila!
wah up at 4 am? bb keeping you awake?
the plane ride is ok cos it's quite short. for ascent and descent, i latch my girl lor cos the pressure can be painful for their ears. during the ride itself, she was fascinated by the tv (yeah despite my best efforts to keep her away from tv) and we brought her toys as well. The bassinet is quite small leh. i think next trip she cannot fit already. but anyway, everytime got turbulence they tell you to take bb out of bassinet for safety reasons. So in the end I sling her to nap.

kitsune
mine also used to hate carseat. cry and cry but now ok already. i think she knows that putting up with car seat usually means she'll get to go somewhere interesting. a mobile and pacifier usually helps to distract her.

eliaw/kitsune
brown rice cereal and EYS brown powder, is it the same as taking brown rice and grinding to powder form to cook? that's what my helper does, she wash the brown rice, dry under the sun and then grind to powder to cook for my bb. i think i better stop the brown rice leh. on sunday, we inserted a suppository to help her but just barely inserted, her poo came out quite hard one. she takes 5 feeds of bm a day too leh.

i shall give her papaya and banana from now. i saw a mommy mention giving pureed peas, is it good for constipation too?

eliaw,
probably you can alternate with oatmeal/barley.

bkkgal,
not sure if pea puree can help on constipation. i read that it has a lot of fiber, that's why i introduce to her.
also, i wish to start with some vege before sweet potatos/carrots/pumpkins as they are less sweet.

i introduced solid since Sat.
Sat: 2 meals rice cereal
Sun: 1 meal rice cereal + pea puree
Mon: 1 meal rice cereal

she doesn't like water, at most take 20 ml per day only.

bb pooed 2 times yesterday. it's no longer the 'cream soup' texture. still not too hard. hopefully it stays this way.

leila, actually for car seat, other than surface defects, we won't know it's faulty until touch wood something happens so no warranty also like that..

Funny thing is, my gal is fine with her 'bassinet' maxi cosi car seat since 1 month plus but she doesn't like this one. Ya, maybe it's a matter of getting used to. Hubby told me not to fasten seat belt for short trips, but don't fasten, defeats the purpose of putting her in car seat right? :p

kitsune
hmm maybe she is not used to the seat? i thought bbs would like facing forward more, since they can see more... let us know how it goes, i haven't "graduated" my bb yet, heh.
actually in his infant carrier, i sometimes put him in the front w me, cos it's much easier to manage. altho i can't turn the air bag off, it's sooo much better cos sometimes he is sleepy but his pacifier will drop off, etc.

aiyah.. we miss by a few months!!
don't understand the unpaid part.
who cares how many days of unpaid leave entitlement? no income anyway :S

xiaoyun:
wah.. ur MIL is so nice.

re: teething rusks
I bought farley rusk. but matt bit and the biscuit broke. so have to be careful i guess. unless u intend to melt it in water / milk. it smells really gd and its really yummy coz i will eat what matt cant finish

re: bb food
made grape puree for my boy over the weekend again. its hard work ya.. have to skin the grapes. but then he loves it. he will be starting on broccoli puree w cereal for lunch and pear puree for this week.

re: water for bb
can i find out for if i give formula milk totally (180ml 4 times a day) &amp; cereal w 125ml FM. what should be the amt of water that my boy is drinking?

re: car seat:
Matthew hates it too. he will try to sit up when we put him in, cry when the car stop moving... so for now we try to go by expressway whenever possible.

re: 4 mths maternity
wah... we onli get 3 mths leh... sob sob... when will this take effect?

maternity
altho it's good that the govt is introducing more maternity leave, i think that the mindset of employers need to change too. the regulations are changing faster than corporate culture, and you get employers who begrudgingly let their employees go on maternity and discriminate against them when they come back...

jass,
yup. in terms of food, my MIL is quite particular.
she seldom keep left over food as she think that health is more important than $.

isobellies,
true, otherwise will be more problems of pregnant woman kena sack due to some funny reasons.

hi Isobellies,

Totally agreed with you. Its really the employer mindset that need to be change.

I do felt the discrmination after i return from my maternity. My bonus was affected as well as my promotion. Maybe they felt that since they have already paid us for the 8 weeks, we should feel "earn" liao...

jass,
when can we replace a milk feed with rice cereal?
my bb drinking 5 x 180ml plus a snack of rice cereal plus puree now. thinking of giving her a feed of rice cereal soon.

how's ur pumping? me should be starting my one time pumping today or tomorrow. coz i dun feel any engorgement already. and only manage to pump 160ml this morning compared to the usual 200+ml.

wah.. bx ur baby can drink so much now.. my baby max i think 150 ml.. not all the time though..
Do u make the puree or ur mil?

xiaoyun
agree with you re the infant leave. unpaid one. wat for? i rather take my own leave :p

sob sob on the add'l 4wks leave. me no chance to enjoy liao. hubby said try for another one loh. i told him "siow".

happy about the 6 days childcare leave tho. yippee. i'll have add'l 4 days of leave per year

andrea, saw the BP, cheaper than small small world one. But they got no ready stock. Me like to have it earlier so in the end call up small small world to get it instead. They have some ready stock so no need to wait. If you like, can call them too and ask them to offer u at the usual BP price.