(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

qingling,
i had an ex boss who used to say that he will fully empower and trust us till the day we betray this trust. we all loved him to bits...you seem to have a similar "mgmt" style

Gar, my hubby thinks otherwise. He thinks I am too vocal, that's why his parents don't like me. But sometimes I really cannot help it like the way my mil will keep nagging that cannot take cold tea or coffee cos will cause diabetes. That day, she told me off cos I ordered lukewarm Milo for raeanne from coffee n toast. They said they dun have tepid water, ask if it is ok to add a bit of ice to the hot Milo so I said yes lor. Then Kenna an earful from her. I 'bu fu qi' then told her that doctors said diabetes not caused by cold tea/coffee lar. my fil also has his 'cannot play with battery operated toys during thunderstorm' belief. Guess I am not pretty enough to act like a dumb blonde or submissive like ft lor. Hiaz...

Bkkgal, my maid paid off her loan Liao but she knows she can't go if she owes me advance. So my hubby thinks it is ok to give it to her. She won't get off day until aug.

i have been with the current co for 7 yrs... kind of in my comfort zone already. that day, my boss sort of like warned me about that. she hinted that in our area of work, once we are in the comfort zone and no interest in giving more ideas to improve the processes, we would soon be out of job. haiz.... need to revive my passion to my work. anyone with your company for more than 5 years? how do you maintain the passion to the area of work? i wonder if i should move on to another co in order to 'revive'. any advice?

Gar - haha..nowadays i too tired, let hub take over the giving instructions part, i just enjoying my clean home for now.hoho..

btw my bb boi is estimated at 3.5 kg now (forgot to ask doc yesterday if bb is engaged)..*shudders*, 1 more plus week to go, and after tmr i am on leave..yippee!

sunny - me approaching my 5 yrs, seriously i also tink i am reaching comfort zone or danger zone..haha..but i have plans to move out maybe next yr (hopefully to a complete new env)..

colicky baby?
i'm not sure what's wrong with J. even the doctors are scratching their heads (after 4 visits...)

remember i decided to try the tui na at kembangan? it did wonders for two days...J slept 2.5 hours uninterrupted in the day, and 5 hours at night. we all thought it was a miracle cure.

fast forward 2 days later - the crying increased in intensity and frequency. she was wailing almost round the clock. refused to be put into the rocker or cot and even the yao lan. just wail wail wail....miracle cure disappeared with a "poof"

ok, so we thought she was overfed right? cut back on milk. ended up poor gal was hungry ... so she cried through the night. we increased her milk intake - then she started to puke milk so apparently we had given too much. shucks - but i had only increased the amount by 10ml

ridwind, gripe, ru yi oil...you name it, we've given it. now completely clueless what to do. is she crying due wind, or hunger, or being overfed?? i also blur liao

how come i have time to post? mum ordered me NOT to carry J...says maybe she is rejecting other caregivers so need to wean her off me / hb. she's wailing in the background as i type *sob sob* wanna comfort her leh...

Thanks XY,TT, pauline, bkkgal and garfield. G is better already, ulcers seem to recover and she finally pooed after 5 days.. sigh.. *Heng*, so scared when she never poo.

Today, gave myself a day off , at orchard now, having a break, send G to in laws place.. SIgh.. before we left the hse, let her change into training pants so that we can take the bus to il place , in the end she peed in the training pants withing 20 s. SIgh.. have to clean her up before we go.. i am really sick of benmding up and down esp with a big tummy and sweating like mad!!

Sunny.. i was in teaching for 5 yrs inclusive of 1 yr NIE, same yr.. think too comfort for me already so backside itchy wanna try something else. Guess its very common. Yester ,met a fren working at CAAS, i super envy her cause its my dream to work at the airport ( CAAS) but she told me she a bit sian already just after 2 yrs..

Sunny, I tot you are in stat board? Also need to provide ideas to improve processes ah. Hee, I never work for a com for so long before leh. Always jump like a grasshopper :p but other com can provide u the flexibility to work from home or not?

QL, ur boy is big!!

Gar check if jane's nose is blocked from vomiting milk. After feeding, put her in semi reclined position to prevent her from regurgitating. Let her sleep on side so that milk flows out if she vomits. Raelynn tends to vomit a lot of milk in earlier months too cos she will keep suckling, cannot control.

Garfield, poor gal and bb J. Must be very worrying to see her wailing without knowing the reason. Did she stop crying after she was being fed?

ql, my cousin just delivered her boy too, last few weeks, and also 3.5 kg, she pushed for very long, no strength , till the bb was black when out. BUt i think since yours is #2, shd be easier to push!

Carry her oso wail
Feed her oso wail
Walk her oso wail

v tiring emotionally....n exasperating not to know how to make her feel better.

Gar, try to Feed some ridwind first, wait a while then bf her then burp her. Can also try to massage her tummy in clockwise (like drawing a question mark) n rotate her legs in circular motion if u think it is colic. Can help her to pass out the wind. Jia you!!!

Gar, I didn't realise it's so bad for J and you. Does she cry 3 hrs continuous for 3 days over 3 weeks? My ex-PD (you know who) said that's the definition of colic.

Try what pauline suggested cos SM was also regurgitating milk and having some reflux - the heartburn made her cry and wail. I didn't use ridwind, just burped her alot and put her on a semi inclined position to sleep. I also found putting SM to sleep on her side helped. She could sleep better.

Do you do baby massage? Try to give her a short massage before bath, use baby oil or similar, rub her tummy using clockwise strokes, cycle her legs and stroke her tummy downwards. It relaxes them and helps to move motion. Also helps them to sleep better.

*hugs* It is emotionally tiring, hang in there, remind your mom/mil how it was with A, remind them that A also passed that period and became the cute toddler that she is now.

Snowbelle
CONGRATS! big baby! Boy or girl?

I think I must be ancient relic in my coy. It's my 2nd job since graduation and this is my 9th year. :p Thinking of changing new environ oso apprehensive.

genice: glad to hear G is recovering :)

snowbelle: congrats !!

bbkgal: haha... I think I'm even more like an ancient relic compared to you. This is also my 2nd job after graduation and I've been with the same company since sept 1999....

there are 2 other colleagues (same age as me) who are here 1-2yrs longer than me.. ;p

snowbelle,
congrats !

jeannie,
good to hear that Gwen is better
5 days no poo, she must be feeling very uncomfortable... i can imagine how difficult it must be for you, being in the last trimester and all... do take care..

qingling,
wow... your baby quite big... but anyway estimated size can differ up to +- 200gr right? maybe you should refrain from eating sweet stuff coz that can attributes to increasing baby size i heard? anyway, don't worry too much about baby size and hopefully all goes well

gar,
poor jane... must be draining on you too... i remembered you encountered similar problem with A and it was due to incorrect position during latching? if colic, maybe wanna try putting her to sleep facing down? usually it helps to get rid of wind as well...

sunny,
me have been working for almost 5 years as well. A lot of my work has been project based and i change my role internally for a few times so that sort of forces me out of my comfort zone. The only comfort zone i have is maybe having to work with the same boss for my years of service. Maybe you should talk to your line manager to see where she/he thinks things can be improved and take it as a challenge
Challenges can be good when manage properly cause it helps you to motive yourself.. But of course it must be something that you are interested to do... When all else fails, yeah... perhaps it's time to look around? Depends on what you are looking for

snowbelle,
congrats!! wow 3.8kg is a big one!

bkk, pauline, tute, tong,
thanks....not yet 3 weeks...definitely more than 3 days and round the clock so definitely more than 3 hours each day. i am indeed very drained...hb comes home every night to give me motivational pep talk. otherwise really will go crazy. a few times i was scared by my urge to throw baby down =(

will try your suggested methods. hopefully it helps.

I had that moment you spoke abt too. That moment when I wanted to throw SM against the wall.
Jia you ok? YOu can always come here and share with us.

Philosophy of Life - Mexican Fishermen

A boat docked in a tiny Mexican fishing village.
A tourist complimented the local fishermen on the quality of their fish and asked how long it took him to catch them.
"Not very long." they answered in unison.
"Why didn't you stay out longer and catch more?"
The fishermen explained that their small catches were sufficient to meet their needs and those of their families.
"But what do you do with the rest of your time?"
"We sleep late, fish a little, play with our children, and take siestas with our wives. In the evenings, we go into the village to see our friends, have a few drinks, play the guitar, and sing a few songs. We have a full life."
The tourist interrupted, "I have an MBA from Harvard and I can help you! You should start by fishing longer every day. You can then sell the extra fish you catch. With the extra revenue, you can buy a bigger boat."
"And after that?"
"With the extra money the larger boat will bring, you can buy a second one and a third one and so on until you have an entire fleet of trawlers.
Instead of selling your fish to a middle man, you can then negotiate directly with the processing plants and maybe even open your own plant. You can then leave this little village and move to Mexico City , Los
Angeles , or even New York City !
From there you can direct your huge new enterprise."
"How long would that take?"
"Twenty, perhaps twenty-five years." replied the tourist.
"And after that?"
"Afterwards? Well my friend, that's when it gets really interesting, " answered the tourist, laughing. "When your business gets really big, you can start buying and selling stocks and make millions!"
"Millions? Really? And after that?" asked the fishermen..
"After that you'll be able to retire, live in a tiny village near the coast, sleep late, play with your children, catch a few fish, take a siesta with your wife and spend your evenings drinking and enjoying your friends."
"With all due respect sir, but that's exactly what we are doing now. So what's the point wasting twenty-five years?" asked the Mexicans.

And the moral of this story is: Know where you're going in life... you may already be there.

snowbelle,
congrats! u have a big baby!

gar,
hang in there! I had a similar experience with S when he was less than 2 mths old too-- continuous crying from 10pm till past midnight. Thought it was colic, and tried everything, but no use. Then, one fine day, he just stopped that pattern.

tong
nice story!

snowbelle
congrats!!

gar
*patpat* i remember i once asked hubby if we could give E away :p but as fairfield says, they go thru phases... was it you who said your hubbs said "this too shall pass?"

maids
wah bkk, your maid q drama... my mum's maid is coming next week. hope it will turn out well, so that after #2 is born i can spend days at my mum's place instead of with ILs too much, heehee.

kitsune
your ILs q funny. i recently decided to twitter all the strange things that my ILs say, makes me feel better, wahaha.. and you can always come here and complain to us. The batteries/thunderstorm thing is like what the.. ?!? heh.

the other day E told FIL "I want XXX. I want I want!" and FIL told him "everything you see also you want. you see monkey backside also you want or not??" ?!?!

Iso, ya lor, but I don't have twitter. Hubby is the non confrontional type so he will just ignore them or pretend to agree wholeheartedly. When I asked him in private, he agrees they don't make sense but he won't confront their strange beliefs. But I just can't seem to act blur. Either too honest or too stupid? :p Anyway, these small things I can still let go but when they tell me that BM after 6 months is not nutritious and when they refuse to mix in EBM for RaeAnne since I have excess then I put my foot down and insist on my own ways liao. Guess I'm a bad DIL in their eyes. Hiaz. :p

kitsune
hee i know what u mean. in my mind i'm always rolling my eyes so much sometimes i wonder if i actually did roll my eyes in front of them or not!! lol.

genice
hope G gets well soon.

snowbelle
ccongrats!

pauline
my mum also heard abt the ice coffee/tea related to diabetes hearsay and she chose to believe it.

sunny
this is my 7th year in current job too. getting a change of portfolio may help revive passion? if my boss were to say the same thing to me, i also don't know what to do.

tongtong
stat board also needs to improve in their processes leh. nowadays expectation from public is high.

garfield
hang on there. i believe it's a phase that will pass. when i had my #1, my hubby and i were also helpless at one point where my girl continued crying no matter what we did. i then told hubby "dare not have another kid liao".

tongtong
improve the processes is main part of my job.

tute, stephie
my boss did ask if i will consider rotation i.e. transfer to other dpt to try new things. but i told her that i still quite like my current job and can't think of other dpt which i like to work with... haiz...

snowbelle

garfield
*hugz* you must be very stressed now. does she only cry at a certain timing?

Sunny, I’m actually happy to transfer to another department! Maybe I’m a more dynamic person, cant stay put for too long.
I think ur boss has the thought after you converted to part time. Seems like ur current arrangement is not in his favour.

thanks mummies for all your encouragement! i will jia you!
my mum is here early to relieve me...thank god for mothers!! so can pop into forum.

pauline - thanks i will jia you!! must be ZEN....meditate a bit

bkk - the shared experiences of fellow mummies sounds like the shared BMT suffering of the guys, right? haha...

fairfield - thanks, i hope J will surprise me one day too hehe...

iso - ya, it's me hb's famous phrase. *DEEP BREATHS DEEP BREATHS*

stephie - ya i had same thought, if A had cried like that i wouldn't have a #2. now don't dare have #3 liao

sunny - not certain hours, it's almost round the clock, only between about 8+pm to midnight she can sleep relatively better. from midnight to dawn she will cry intermittently. from 7+am till 7+pm she will be crying all the time.

here's a picture of J...unfortunately bulk of her pics are sleeping ones. cos when she's awake she's either feeding or crying

3887256.jpg

tongtong
ya, i have the same thought as you that she's not quite favour in my current work arrangement. at the meantime, i am looking around for new opportunity le...
always hope that there's a chance to be my own boss. haha... in my dream maybe..

sunny, good luck! in fact my boss ask me to do PT, but i turned her down. i'm looking for opportunity to be own boss too hehe.

Hi snowbelle,

Congrats! Wow! 3.84 kg and still natural... Really pei fu you.

Hi garfield,

I know this is gonna sound weird but when Danica had those kind of episodes, I carried her in my arms and danced around singing nursery rhymes. :p Somehow that work for her. That was after all else failed lah.

But don't they look like angels when they are sleeping?

qingling,
ya, looks like the jie jie!

sunny, tong,
i have always felt that govt's pro-family measures are horribly misguided. they only provide $$ incentive, whilst encouraging mothers to continue to work full time. actually most mothers prefer to work part-time but there are so few opportunities. shouldn't the civil service take the lead and offer part-time more liberally?? (bkk - who can we write to highlight this point?)

re own boss - actually after TTT - i realize that it takes up a lot more time than a 9 to 5 job (especially if you wanna grow it to a scale that can generate the same level of income). it will be a while before the biz can "auto-pilot"

artemis,
yeah, anything to stop the crying right? i know what you mean!

sunny
same leh, i always opt out when asked if i want rotation (being it during posting exercise or annual performance review - i always say 'no' :p)
the current job nature of my dept suits me. i really can't think of other depts where it's my cup of tea.

tongtong
i think you belong to those who cannot stay put doing the same thing for too long. those that need constant change. me opposite from you ;)

Write to Head of Civil Service....the truth is the civil service does have PT but the HR will tell you it is a priviledge for them to extend to you, not an entitlement. The mindset needs to change.

I am also in a dilemma now cos childcare arrangements are in a mess. Maid also not here yet, cannot train up to the level where I can leave maid with mil/mom. My sis is delivering in Sep, so my mom will "resign" from her post with me in Sep. keke. This leaves only MIL to do 5 days a week, fulltime. It's gg to be tough on her cos mil needs her own time too. Before kids came, she got a packed social schedule - golf, tennis, tai chi...now only 2 grandkids to take her time. I feel bad for her also, I wanna give her some time off, was hoping the maid could be trained to be indept and let her jaga the kids for half day also good.

I would like flexi or part time tooo but right now, I think boss won't agree cos my colleague also on PT, she won't allow 2 mommies to convert to PT. She's been asking me if have any changes re: my return. sigh...

Re: own boss
Yeah, I agree with Gar. When you are own boss, there's no day, no night. Anytime of the day/night need to answer to emails, forum queries. After kids sleep, we are busy packing orders, sending off orders at post office, dealing with complaints, lost mail, damaged mail. HAIZ...and this is only SMH BP. If wanna grow beyond, will probably need to spend 150% more time and effort. But then again, need to ask ourselves do we want to be like the Mexicans or the corporations?

Iso
Your FIL's farnee!! keke. I always say to K: You want doesn't mean you get. I think I will incorporate your FIL's monkey backside phrase. LOL!

mummies - need some input..running out of ideas for chinese names for didi or vote :p

何志誉
何智聪
何智轩
何杰轩