(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

qingling,
perhaps my body is rejecting the thought of going back to work? lol

appointment is 11am. going to get ready liao.

backache problem - do you support ur body with pillow when sitting/sleeping?

me also, start having problem walking. hai.. age is really killing me..

piglet
i have a recommendation from another mummy at clementi for PT help, will PM you. i never used her myself though, but just in case it helps you.
so sorry to hear all your troubles! she's fresh and yet dare to steal! sooo daring!!!

XY
waaaaah i feel like having some nice buns now
~~~ but hope you feel better :S

kitsune
agree w u, i dun think that the money should be the carrot.. i also feel that a lot of singaporeans like to complain a lot and give excuses, like say, cost of living is so high, how to have children, or recently in an article about how a lot of child care centres are full, some couples said they are putting off having kids because they won't be able to find infant care.. sigh!

i am back.
nothing abnormal found. baby is growing well. only that i am not gaining weight for the past 3 weeks.

gynae gave some anti-cramp medicine + 2 days MC!! keke...
jiatlat, very soon will use up my MC.

tong,
i can't find the ouyang ying's book @ popular.

XY, how many days of MC you have? 14 days?
Erm,cant find the book ah? my friend said she saw it at giant. popular shd have wor. i got from popular msia.

stephie,
oh 2nd child also have PTR ah? but J is born in 2010 so don't apply to YA2009 right?

XY,
glad nothing serious. do take care

i bought the ouyang ying book at popular marine parade. they were very helpful cos i called ahead to ask them to set aside for me at cashier. you can try calling a popular near you.

tong,
14 days.
already used up 7 days from Jan - Apr. :p

garfield,
2nd child also have. but you can only claim it next year.

i didn't plan for a popular visit today, so never call. next time when i go marine parade one, will sure arrange.

Iso, agree, but sometimes complaining is a way to vent frustration. Dun think they r serious bah. Anything can happen in 9 months wor. Wait deliver already then infantcare centre full or closed for hfmd, how?

kitsune
yah lor, and maybe after 9 months + 4 months maternity more infantcare centres can pop up also..

XY
good to hear you're ok!

stephie
i saw that guardian got gain IQ offer! $56+. i have quite a bit already but think i might buy anyway...

xiaoyun
just nice. another 7 days to use from now till delivery

glad to know it's nothing serious. have a good two days' rest

iso
tks for the alert. saw the promo too but didn't think of buying cos it's so ex ($7 more) compared to previous formula.

XY,
oh good! do you want drypers S size? J outgrow already. i have one pack BN (64x) and one opened pack (31x)

wanted to lelong at WTS thread, but think think if any feb mum wants i will just pass it on for free =)

XY,
welcome

ya lor she is within the weight guidelines for S size but somehow her bum cannot be covered adequately so keep leaking.

Sat not sure if I'll be in at lunch. I confirm with you via SMS ok?

bx,
morning! read your blog recently, eh no fair - you are still sooooooooooo slim *green with envy* haha....I'm like twice your size even after 10 weeks post delivery. damn depressing man

gar,
i put on 11kg already. and i got 1 more month to go. only put on abt 10kg during A's time. so i wun expect myself to go back to my orginal shape so easily this time round.
anyway, photos r deceiving. seriously dun think i look slim anymore

bx - here here

this week 38 weeks, but gynae already anticipate i am the slow type - no urgency one. my last one was induced at 40 weeks and took me 12 hrs to fully dilate.

but i am visiting the gynae today, i wonder will they do the VE check? perhaps it might trigger something (hopefully?)..wahahaha

morning ladies!

Hi Iso,
Thanks so much! I have not received your pm, could you send it to me again? my email is [email protected]

Sounded my MIL out yesterday (i havent told anyone in family except hb) and she said can forgive? apparently her friend's dil's maid also steals (dil's branded bags), they all know, always scold and threaten to send back but until today still same maid... i was like, huh?!

Or another mil's friend's maid, she stole watch/jewellery and they found out thru spot check. so the family pretented to be looking for the lost items one day and asked the maid help them 'find'...and then of cos the maid 'found' it and returned the item. i was thinking y on earth do we need to go to such great lengths to retrieve what is rightfully ours in first place?!

Qn: my maid shuttles between 2 houses, mine and mil. we do not work her til death cos basically she only cleans at whereever she is: Mon- Fri she cleans mil's house and Sat- Sun she cleans our house. This is not againts the MOM rules, am i correct? i recall when attending the FDW course the maid is allowed to acompany the child to care giver's place. n of cos she can't have her sitting there like a queen doing nothing, rite? afterall, she is cleaning up after the child, what. and she doesn't cook at all at both houses so that frees up lots of her time.

mil keep telling me what we are doing is 'against' the law, therefore she sort of have '1 up' on us thus better to forgive her this time and 'keep scores'....??!

XY
Enjoy your 2 days rest! keke.

BX
yeah, can't tell u preggy from behind. *envy*

Piglet
No lah, no such thing! as long as FDW not doing 2 hh work and give adequate rest, it's ok. MOM allows us to bring FDW to parents hse to help out.

WT????!!! steal things still keep? omg. yeah, it's rightfully ours in the first place. I have never had to keep my things so properly until I got a maid. In fact, I bought a safe after I got a maid.

Getting a maid is a zero sum game.

I'm now in the process of vomitting blood and banging head on wall. I took another transfer maid. She is 40, slow, and doesn't understand/speak English well despite coming from Philippines. When she say fridge, I hear "plate". When she say "half", I hear "hot". AIYO!!! But my PILs say "gong gong" type better than smart, fast and scheming.

But every morning I hear my hb yelling for doing wrong things like washing bb's bottle teat under running water (teat has been sterilised), using wrong milk jug to warm coffee. Today, she steamed my bakchang but cut off all the strings liao...so the bakchang split open and we didn't know which one is bakchang, which is the kee chang.

But because she is so slow and dimwitted, she is not likely to make tricks or tell lies. Still can't decide to keep her and vomit blood everyday or send her away and take a new maid.

piglettail,
hmm...i think integrity is the most impt lor. i THINK i can live with maid for being slow, blur, etc, but not dishonesty - no. who knows what else she could lie or do behind your back right? how to live with someone like that under the same roof?

bkk,
OMG...your saga continues...reminds me of my friend's maid who LITERALLY took instruction to keep everything from their trip to cold storage in the fridge. including toilet paper...

ok, bad joke =P but i agree with your PIL. i think all these can live with. just imagine you have another "40 year old baby" in the house and you really need to teach and guide step by step lor. better than a dishonest one.

Gar
*sob* yes...neverending story of my maternity leave life!!!

We are thinking is she deaf? got hearing probs or got comprehension probs? For UJ to start his day everyday in a bad mood oso not a solution lehhhh.....God help us all.

have they? if they have, will be good. Viets are generally hardworking, industrious, savers (not spenders), good confucian ethic.

bkkgal and Gar,

yar loh, i can live with a slow and blur maid but not a dishonest one. previously i was still quite protective and stood up for her cos she often got yelled at by hb for being blur and slow.

mine is slow, blur but still stole in the end!

bkkgal, you morning episode sounds like what i've been going thru all these while..7 months down the road, only 10% improvement.

do u yell at the maid? i find it very tiring, really drains me out...

I really hate to yell
but sometimes when we are in a hurry esp mornings mad rush, she does something that we already taught how to do in the right way, she still does it wrong then i bo pian...PLUS i dunno whether she can hear me or not.

OMG piglet, 7 mths? Oh no, slow blur and dishonest some more...no hope liao.SIGH, BEEG SIGH. My neighbours have been hearing more of me these days....

If Viets allowed, i will go and queue up for one!!!

You know, the agent told me this maid called her to take her back because the employer yell and throw things....i thot wahh...she can't be that bad right? now i noe it CAN be that bad...

bbkgal : i totally can understand your ordeal now... i've been thru it too. my advice is... change another maid. cos my experience was... they will not change. and most important, if they do not understand you, there will be more shouting and yelling saga. and why are we paying them to irritate us ??!!

my mum n me were like crazy women with the previous indo maid. yelling and repeated ourselves everyday. its really draining for us...

not worth it lar...

bkk....*big hugzzzz* hang in there!! think on the bright side at least this is happening during your ML not when you have gone back to work lagi worse.

does maid read english? can write down n label the things at home to help her until you find another maid?

don't say maid la, i already pek chek with my MIL's handling of things, so i can imagine your pain.

piglettail,
jia you jia you!! i think 7 months sufficiently long to decide whether can make it or not. chang tong bu ru duan tong, maybe should look for another one lor.

my friend was saying that nowadays the more educated / intelligent ones from the larger provinces choose other occupations like waitress, sales etc cos not so siong. end up agents have to source deeper into the kampong areas so the quality of maid is severely affected. so maybe burmese maid is way to go since they are relatively "new" to this industry so can still get good ones?

Gar, I think ur pain more pain..mil cannot scold
but maid still can

Diana, did u change one in the end? filipino? i thot indon ones go to trg centre to "train" first, will be better than filipinos.

Yeah, nowadays they all wanna work in sales, customer service, esp those who can speak well.

bbkgal: yes. we send back the indo one. think she's from those super ulu kampong.

present one is filipino.

i dun really trust their so-call training nowadays. no matter how much/long they are trained, its a totally different environment altogether when they come to our hse. so the actual trainer are actually US !

filipino one also need to train from scratch (she's fresh) but at least she understands what we told her. and smart too... just not sure a few mths down the road will chut pattern or not lar... *cross fingers, cross toes, cross eyes*

the 1st few days already showed attitude to my mum. kena from me and my mum then sheila came to counsel her...

maid - my myamese maid is with us since last friday, so far still ok. has initiative, and quite hardworking, some silly things she assumed (like i told her to wipe dry all things which i meant plate, bowls before keeping), i accidentally found her also wiping heidi's milk bottle internally dry with the table cloth before she put in the steriliser?!keke..faint..luckily i caught in action otherwise i cannot imagine the sterilise bottles are always wiped with table cloth before..hoho...

she also has a habit of writing a diary?!? i duno if she's writing those tasks which we had taught her to do or writing her feelings..haha...but at least she's not doing it behind your back (but during her rest time when we told her to rest). i spot check one of her booklets, mainly its phrases of english sentences coupled with a myanmese sentence, i suppose she's learning her english which is good.

Overall this maid's comprehension of English still consider ok, and she's a mopping queen, every morning sure mop my floor despite no instructions from us. She says it's dusty..hoho..my husband says our water bill sure go up, but he's also very happy to hand over all these mopping and vacuumming chores to the new helper. Now at least we can spend quality time with Heidi over weekends instead of doing household chores.

but let's see, its only been 4 days, maybe still cannot see true colors yet..but overall she's still quite decent, poor thing she only has 2 underwears and bra, so last weekend bring her to buy all some new ones. We told her first round these things we will buy for her (we bought slippers,berms,bras,underwears,pads).

By the way, how often do you allow the maid to call home? or they should first write letters in the beginning?

gar,
ok. no prob.

bkk,
in the end i am back to work today.
feels ok, so dun want to waste my ML. left 7 days for the rest of the year, must use it slowly..

Just dropping by to say hi!! Been bz with G.. sigh..

Anyway, hope i dun snd cheapo but i need to check if any mummies will have bumbo chair to lend in 3-4 months time?

Hubby dun approve of me buying cause he think waste $$. So i was thinking if anyone of u not using it 4 mnths later can borrow from u all. :p
I only due in 2 mnths time, so dun need so early 5 mnths later also can..If u think u dun need ur bumbo by then, can i borrow it for a while?

genice,
G's HFMD better already? it looks bad on the pic.

your hb same reaction as my hb on the bumbo seat. ha.
lucky i am not a big fan about it, so no fight between us. :p

bkkgal, aiyoh, sympathize with you. I just threatened to send my maid back today cos she refuses to eat (hunger strike?) cos she is too emo cos the things going on at home I think. We gave her advance last month ($600) for 2 months so that she can send $ to her mum to treat her eyes (glaucoma). End up her hubby and mum spilt up the $. Mum says don't want to go for op and hubby said want to buy dvd player. But I told her you are here to go. If you faint from hunger or get gastric attacks, you are not able to work for me. What for I keep you?

Er. By the way, I thought glaucoma can go for op since cataracts can? Can help me ask UJ?

Genice, hope G is feeling better now.

Gar, I feel for you too. My relationship with ILs deteriorated since they started looking after RaeAnne cos I will 'swallow' but can't hide my black face.

pauline,
i do speak up lor...cos i raise to hb and he says i should address it on the spot instead of bottling it up.

bkk,
just read from your blog that the transfer maid has been sent packing. oh dear...hope the indon one will be a good one!

hb woes,
here's an interesting article http://www.divaasia.com/article/8655 maybe educated women are really more demanding. that's why men like FT better....

RE: HB Woes

Wow... I really wonder if the wife is for real. :p If my HB did half of that I would be very grateful. As it is, I have to state very clearly what I expect from him if not he would always be emerged in research for his investments and other work in the evenings and weekends.

hi ladies...

bkkgal,
read your blog...jia you! we mummies are strong and super! we can do everything on our own! ;)

Gar,
what is FT? can't be financial times rite? i read the article...hmm he come the man hasn't strayed until now?

Ahhh Gar, I have just finished another round of online ranting on my blog abt the Maids. Feel better now. Yes, the latest maid sent herself packing. Actually, she fired us,not we fire her, although we did think of firing her but she beat us to it. YOu should've seen her face of relief leaving my house. We all heaved a huge sigh ourselves when she kapoofed. Even K had written her off, refused to call her.

Genice, sorry to hear that G has HFMD. Poor girl. She's better I hope? You also better take care and try not to get too close ok? Let ur hb/mil take care of G.

I oso won't buy the bumbo. Luckily I got frens who bought and lent to me. keke. It's $70+, can only sit a few months.

Pauline
Glaucoma should be operable. Lemme ask hb.

Wah, u so kind give advance. Hope you restructured her loan period or else, she walk then you got nothing wor. I have a fren also the maid keep borrowing money from them until they fed up restructured maids loan. So from now until end of year, maid works for free cos she already took advance. Buy DVD player some more. Good grief, eyesight deteriorate then how to watch tv?

Qingling, you are super kind to the maid. Hope she appreciates. For clothes and underwear, I would buy for her but take it from her first month pay after deducting loan. Later if she performs well, I will write it off.

bkk,
okie, just read your further chronicles...wa lau - super drama. good that she decided to quit also lah. didn't know it was so bad...

pauline,
oh ya, glaucoma - is operable. my grandma undergone such op before.

piglettail, bkk,
FT = foreign talent...those super submissive (could be a false front) gals from countries like vietnam, china etc. such men - have ah....i do know of such men okie? mostly malaysian guys though. but of course they are lucky that they married nice wives too lah

genice,
hope G recovers quickly! take care!

bkk - ur maid saga indeed makes me wonder if our maid will take us for granted - lets see, anyway,

it will be my one and only maid. dun intend to have maid after this (only will consider part time maid and infant care). i am still not comfortable with a stranger in the house. if single income is the way, then we will endure it for a few years after these 2 years.

So far i do spot check her cabinets now and then, nothing unusually, but as i mentioned she likes to write a lot, even my mum notices it..my fren commented some parts of Myanmar deals with black magic a lot..hopefully she's not writing some spells..hoho..

hope u have more luck with the next maid though, my colleague who went to the same maid agency with me also had some saga. Her maid fell from the stool while cleaning the bathroom tiles because she step on the stool when her feet was very wet. Afterwhich, my fren had to rush her to the doc, sinseh, a&e to check for any internal injury, luckily none.

But after the incident, the maid was simply not in the mood to work, had to be treated like a princess, cried often and wanted to go home, my fren had another maid who was with her like 6 yrs, had to take care of the new maid, bring her food, remind her to take medicine..blah blah, my fren's mum also rubbed ointment for the maid blah blah..

sigh, in the end, my fren felt the new maid was simply too much (cos she had also no initiative to do housework, but likes to watch TV and very interested in her boys' handheld games), still very young and immature, finally sent her back to the agent after the saga..and decided to have only the 1 maid (there were other reasons why they wanted a 2nd maid)