(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Yoga - I think can ba, I also just started at about 5 months
Just that I also have never done yoga before, so muscle and ligaments all super tight, must listen to your body and exercise with caution. Before the start of the class, the teacher usually will ask how many weeks are you in, how have you been feeling, any concerns like that. Plus, in the class, different pple are at different stages of their pregnancy, so she will also say do this way for 2nd tri and 3rd tri do this way.

Nannies - I was wondering whether to go back and work or go back to Indo with my hubby for the next 2 years. But then if I work here, me and baby will be away from hubby and hubby will not get to see baby often. But at least the conditions in Singapore are more conducive for baby to grow up, but baby will not get to see papa often. So now must see if its more feasible economically to work here or bring baby back to Indo.
Plus also must ask if my ex boss want to take me back or not la. Meanwhile will ask around for nannies and see if I can find one that is at least reliable. Afterall, its really difficult to leave the baby when she is so young with a stranger. Heartpain also sometimes. I have friends who cant wait to go back to work, so that they can have some time away from the baby, but I also have friends who cant bear to be away from their baby.

steph ya some is so ex OMG!

babe hahaha my little nephew so nottie but very cute i miss him leh 3 weeks never see him already heehee

krystle,

ya...kids nowadays r more sensitive, somehow they will want the full attention by us. I think parents play a part to let the elder kids understand that being #1, will not be cast aside...in fact they can participate to take care of the younger one, learn to share & care for one another too! This will take some time... hopefully my niece (being 1st & only granddaughter in my family) will gradually accept di di one day

steph,
My 3 year niece is also super jealous. When my sister ask her to touch my tummy and tell her "di di" inside, she will say I don't have a tummy and there is no baby! haha...she even tell my sister "mummy, you already have Chelsea (my niece's name), why do you still want to have another baby??"...so cute! She knows my tummy is expanding but she refuses to acknowledge the fact that I'm pregnant. Kids are kids lah...

today super sian! my throat very dry and pain and my lower jaw is aching like hell...think i kana the flu virus...will go and see doctor later. Sigh, more meidcation!

ah capp

Re: break out

heehee i have mine very early think 1st tri i have break out liao leh .... look so ugly haha now slightly better liaoz but very oily .... so i have to wash the face frequently

yvonne not only u .... my husband nephews whom i am very close with know that i have bb .... he pinch my tummy leh hahaha ..... jealous leh

Go see doc cos flu virus no play play, take care Yvonne.

Nowadays, i could feel baby movement/kicking getting more intense. After every meals, my tummy can get quite hard. My whole tummmy is tight & i can see some faint green veins appearing...hopefully it is not a sign of stretchmarks!

Steph,

I also feel very at the tummy after every meals. Green veins can be seen as well. Maybe is due to the stretching of the tummy that's y the veins shows!

The green veins around the stomach will not become stretch marks hor? I also got a lot of green veins. From the ribs all the way to the belly button.

hahaha steph ya scare me leh ..... now i kw he is jealous esp nowsday sunday we are not free to go back for dinner think he miss me hahah cos whenever i am back he will ask me dun go home watch tv with him hahahaha

har u all can see green veins? I cant see mine leh and I dun feel tight leh why? i only can feel she keep kicking lately haha maybe space getting smaller .... my hubby so cute he feel then he feel so funny at times hahahaha but he still talk to BB every nite

QQ,
dun say that...fats stored ard our tummy comes in handy during pregnancy cos tendency of skin stretching is reduced (less damage to skin) have allowance unlike flat tummy/skinny/small build pple, skin tend to stretch the most causing stretchmarks lol

yr hubby so loving...talk to BB. My hubby seldom talk to bb, he only sor sor aka rub my tummy to feel his movement/kicks else he will sing bb some songs (by Jackey Cheung) then bb will kick me by responding that his daddy...arghhh...not his type of songs cos not lullaby/nursery rhymes..kekeke

golden pig,
how come you have so many online lobang one? got any interesting ones which you always visit? I love online shopping too.

your gap blankie sounds good leh. will buy one for my son. He doesn't like any of his current blanket!

fishia
no la, this pangbaobao i just searched Yahoo.com.sg lor.

My boy didn't use pacifier & dunno how to suck thumb... we tried intro soft toys & bolster as "sleep association", but din really work. Then i had a brainchild to use blanket, coz me & my sis also had fav blankets to sleep. So now when he's grumpy or time to sleep, he will look for blanket.

Steph,
For my #2, my hubby only touches my tummy once! He used to be so protective of me when we were at crowded places... Now he has no such reaction at all. haiz.. He seldom pray for bb too. Must complain liao!

QQ,
My hubby seldom talk to my baby. He says very "strange" talking to a tummy...and my baby also very naughty...when my hubby touch my tummy, she will stop kicking immediately...hahaa..

fishia
same, hubby also confess that he's not spending enuf time praying for bb.. in fact for me, once #1 was born, focus on God not as strong... a bit cool down lor.

steph,
For #1, he seems to be very excited over going to have a new member to the family. Juz last week, he did something really hilarious. I was very tired in the afternoon but still gotta "entertain" him. So, I read him a book. After reading, I juz closed my eyes to rest a while. He took over the book and read on his own. After finished reading I heard him saying "The end. Hmm...How? Did you enjoy the book?" Immediately, I opened my eyes and looked at him. He gave a plain innocent look and said "I am reading to Vernice." Then he continue saying "circle is like that, square is like that" (while drawing the shapes on my tummy). I gave him a very suspicious look and he said "I am teaching her shapes now". LOL~ He is at the "pretend & play" stage. Think imagine till a bit extreme ah? Haha.... But, it really melts my heart. I juz keep my fingers crossed and hope that he can cope with it when his bb sister is out.

I juz kept stressing to him that even with a bb sis, my love for him will not reduce in anyway and he gotta love the sis as she belongs to the family.

golden pig,
I see.. thought you online shopping queen.. kekeke.

I couldn't intro any sleep association to my boy. When he was younger, he'll cry and throw anything that touches him away. Sometimes he wanted to pull off his pajamas too. these days he doesn't mind a blanket across his tummy but okay to do without. I better hug him more often when he's still young. think soon he'll reject my hugs too. so sad isn't it if this day really happen!

fishia,

talking abt touching tummy, my hubby MJ frd actually gucci aka tickle my tummy BUT b'cos she's got long fingernails, i kind of piss off leh...cos my tummy felt very uncomfortable. I told her off by saying my baby dun feel "SHONG", i hate this kind of gesture. She got my hint & say sorri lol

Actually i dun mind pple touching my tummy but wonder how come some pple so strange must tickle our tummy & somemore without asking our permission! Sigh

Btw, any mummy using Allerhand Bags for storing diaper & baby stuffs? Can invest? Or normal bag will do the job?

This model nice?
995987.jpg

steph
coz they see the tummy STICK OUT so they think it's public property. Terrible right.

re: diaper bag
i use normal haversack as my diaper bag. everything just throw inside kekekeke.

valencia,

That's vert sweet of your boy. My heart melts too...must give him a big hug
i think he can't wait to have a playmate soon ya! How old is yr boy?

Hv did my glucose tolerance test last sat already & glad that everything is fine, no GD
. Baby is 891g in 24weeks+, gynae estimated him to be abt 3kg when due. Think is average size ba ;)

Valencia - Ur boy is so cute.. heehee.. teaching meimei shapes ;) children are always so innocent.

Steph - U play mj too? heehee..that's our fav "hobby"... Sometimes when i play, i touch touch tummy.. and my mj fnds said i m asking my bb is it...haahaa ;)

QQ - my neice also one kind that dun allow me to go home after visiting her (usually she stay wif my MIL during wkend). She will grap my leg & tell me "can u dun go back"... My heart really melt men..& need to bluff her that i will cum back later.. But hor, if her mummy is around, her attitude changes veri fast & can ignore me totally...Funny children ; )

JanBB,

That's great to hear that u passed GD test! But still, do monitor diet, eat moderate & healthy!

Nope, pai seh..i dunno how to play MJ. That's my hubby's hobby

Thks steph. Yup, still cannot overeat those starchy stuff.
Why didn't u pick up mj, is so interesting? It will be fun to share same hobby wif hubby mah. of cos' not gd to be addicted but fun when learn to enjoy the game ;p

Btw, anyone know whether we can eat "white fungus" aka "bai mu er" as desserts??

Golden pig,
same here. you cool down a bit, i cool down a lot! seldom read bible and do quiet time these days. too much distractions.. or rather too much excuses..

Steph,
I was still trying to figure out what is mj.. hahaha. I dunno how to play too and never thought of learning it, even before I became a Christian..

Re: diaper bag
I prefer to use a sling bag cos it's horizontal and easier to take things out. I find haversack troublesome when need to take things at the bottom. I'm just using a normal puma sport bag which i usually sling at the handles of the stroller. Getting in and out of taxi is also convenient if i travel alone with my son. just sling it across and it won't drop easily. Convenient to take out wallet and stuff too.

Hi Angelsky,

Thank u for the info. I hope my potential CL will not charge me higher than $2.6K. She quoted me about $1.8K if my confinement doesn't fall into CNY. I read that we still must give angbaos before and end of confinement too. Quite heart-pain but don't want to stress myself out. =)

Hi 3rascals,
I was only thinking if my baby is earlier by 1 week, my confinement will be out of CNY. That will mean I can eat all I want during CNY! heheheh =)
Btw, I thought most people prefer Jan babies? ;)

Re: Breakout..
My back and back are like a war-zone, quite a no. of pimples. Already trying to remove all dead skins by scrubbing it once a week. Still like that. I hope the pimples won't progress to my cheeks! =S

Re: Coconut juice
Well, my SIL did told me that it worked for her, but didn't work for her friend. I love cold coconut juice ^_^ Will drink my share during the last few weeks before I deliver for sure! hehehe

Hi Angelsky,

regarding the prenatal yoga u attend...Do they have specific schedule - say lesson 1 on wat exercises and so on...? or we can just join the class half way through? I am pretty interested in the yoga lessons.

Fishia and Golden pig, it really takes alot to keep up in spiritual walk. I also face the same challenges. Now with number 2 like forever tired and KO. Need encouragement wor...

Those mommies with #2 who sent or are sending ur #1 to childcare, can I ask for some recommendations? Looking at finding one for my gal after #2 arrive. Which ones are good? Noticed some very ex but is it worth the cost?

VAlencia, your boy so sweet. I am sure he loves his sis v much when she's born and will protect her.

babe, steph & janbb,

I really do hope sibling rivlary will not exist for me. But, imagine being the first child/grandchild/grandson in the family. Now, all the attention is on him. And soon, he gotta share such attention with his sister and being such an attention seeker, definately gonna be hard on him.

Juz to share
One of my fren juz delivered last week. Her mil suppose to do confinement for her. However, her mil did a lot of the "no no" thingy. Eg. Kept feeding bb water when the bb is totally breastfed. Kept nagging saying my fren got not enough milk, and wanna feed formula. When the bb was already crying, she still rush to bath her. Which, definately makes the crying even worse. And refuse to cuddle the bb when bb is crying. So things turned sour and my fren juz sms saying, her mil couldnt cope with the bb and went back home. Immediately, I gave her a call and my fren broke down. Kept crying. Think she is suffering a bit of post natal depression. So, I told her what she needs to do and "ann wei" her a bit. After I hung up the phone with her, I told my hb abt it. After saying, we looked at one another then at my tummy and we both said "Actually NB quite scary hor?!!??" LOL~

post natal depression is a more severe form of baby blues..

'Baby blues'

<font color="0000ff">The commonest and mildest form of mood disturbance following childbirth.

Experienced by half to two-thirds of all mothers - in other words it is normal for this to occur.

Involves a period of a few days when mothers experience spells of irritability, feeling gloomy and episodes of crying.

It is more common in mothers who have given birth for the first time and in those who have experienced problems with pre-menstrual syndrome (PMS or PMT).

It is probably caused by the large and rapid changes in female hormone levels following childbirth.

'Baby blues' tends to sort itself out and usually does not require any specific treatment other than reassurance that what the mother is experiencing is normal.</font>

Here's the rest of the article abt Post Natal Depression.

http://www.netdoctor.co.uk/health_advice/facts/depressionpostnatal.htm

I find nowadays that every little thing we like to give a term, my fren during confinement kept saying "i think i hv PND" coz she was having trouble with her CL & bm supply. Actually it's just hormones sorting themselves out & a period of adjustment. I told her to RELAX, happy cow = more milk. Next day she was fine liao.

So ladies, a bit of hormone imbalance is TO BE EXPECTED, pls dun term yourself as having depression, which is smthg more severe than baby blues. Usually those in depression will need counselling, medication, warded in IMH etc. Then IMH will become a Confinement Centre liao, coz lotsa new mums will go thru this phase.

valencia
in my opinion, older generation and CLs are always doing that: sabotaging how we want to take care of the bb. Dat's why i prefer to do things myself. Hope i can become the Supermom that i envision... hahaha.

What i forsee in my situation if i hv MIL/ CL help during confinement
1. I insist TBF but MIL/CL kept suggesting FM coz bm too watery, not filling etc
2. I insist NO WATER/ barley etc but they object
3. I insist NO CARRYING BB TO SLEEP but they can't bear bb's crying and carry whole day

and lots more other things eg whether i can bathe, drink hot water, wash bb bottles etc. grrr.

sorry for being MIA for quite some time. My dad has jus passed away suddenly last week. Thus, have been busy handling his wake, plus my impending relocation to HK (which has been postponed a bit). My greatest regrets will always be he didnt get to see his first grandchild in the family....and he died without us by his side....i am so lost and in pain now...trying very very hard to stay strong for the sake of the baby (like wat everyone around me has been advising) but to be honest...it's reallly very hard.....

How will u EVER EVER recover from such grief?.....

Golden pig,
I agree! When my son cried, their first reaction was have you fed him? well, it's obvious that they doubted my milk supply and they rule out other possibilities like he was too cold/hot, he needed diaper change, or he just wanted to be carried. that got me really pissed off!

And when bb cried a little she will rush to carry and rock him.. Can you imagine she carried my son and told him, "quai quai lor, sui jiao lor" while watching Da Chang Jin! I had a huge fight with my hb over that cos he also watched together and both of them told me to go rest! I hated this show then.

Babe,
I'm thinking of sending my son to playgroup but have not check it out yet. Are you looking at full or part-time cc? My friends believe in sending to good ones cos they find those neighbourhood ones not as responsible. Apparently, her daughter didn't pee for 4 hours and the teacher didn't bother at all. And she said good ones have bigger compound and nicer material.

Which one have you visited? There is one montessori when turning into Newton but i dunno good or not.

Golden pig
, when i visited my friend who just delivered, I was also amazed that she could give in so much and is also learning to let go. She was saying, she also wanted to do TBF, but then not enough breast milk, she felt like crying, so no choice, got to do half half. When the baby cry, she used to say, cannot rock, must persist and let the baby try to soothe herself, in the end she also give in, coz simply too tired. She will try any means and ways to make baby sleep.

PRenatal yoga, no problem, I also join in my 5th month with no prior knowledge of yoga. YOu can attend any class that is scheduled for prenatal yoga, does not matter. Like sometimes I will attend the Mon mornings, sometimes I will go for the Thursdays mornings, sometimes too tired, I dont go at all. :p

mylife, my heart goes out to you, but for you baby and yourself, you must take care of your health k. Sometimes, you will think that you have forgotten the hurt and pain and felt that you are learning to let go, but sometimes you also cant help your emotions and feelings. But our love ones may be gone, but we dont forget about them right

mylife,
I am so sorry to hear that. Indeed it is very painful to see your loved one leaves you suddenly. You'll recover but it takes time.. meanwhile, you must eat well, rest well, and be emotionally well for your growing baby. May God's peace be with you.

mylife,

*my deepest condolence for the depart of your beloved dad* We take time to grief but fond memories spent with your dad will definitely always be remembered in your heart! I am sure he wants u to be happy & pull yrself together. He'll watched over you & be your guardian angel by your side always

<font color="0000ff">mylife</font>
condolences... take some time off to rest your mind.. u must b v tired...

angelsky
actually for TBF, the more there's demand, there more supply there'll be. So the idea is latch latch latch. If partial bm then top up with FM, bb may get nipple confusion & also mom's brain will say "no need so much bm" so the supply won't increase.
sigh, i'm spkg fr experience.. been there, done that. Hope my 2nd time will b smoother since i hv already gotten used to interrupted sleep & gotten used to ignoring bb's cries. hhaahaha.
During #1's time, hubby still can get up to help warm up & feed EBM & burp the bb while i pump that miserable 30ml. This time round, i'm on my own as his workload is heavier & needs proper rest, & he needs to take care of my #1 also.

Fishia, so far I visited Learning Vision at Gentle lane and Pat's at Halifax Rd. I like Pat's but v ex. LV is ok, more crowded and cheaper but the teachers there mostly Malay. Going to find time to visit another at Gilstead Rd, Gracefields which is a church based one. Heard good comments on that too but I still finding time.

mylife, my deepest condolence. Do take good care. I am sure he'll want u to be happy to.

Agree with golden pig, more demand, more supply. But it's also perseverance. I am getting CL recommended by fren. Heard quite ok.

Actually very bad, I still haven't learnt to put my #1 to bed herself. Always feed her milk and lie with her in bed till she sleeps. These nights if she wakes up, got nightmare, I will juz carry her to bed and sleep with me. haha...lazy mommy...

babe
same here, my #1 cannot sleep on his own at night. Hsbnd will just carry him over into our room & turn on the aircon. He takes the easy way out, then wonders why #1 can't sleep on his own. He can't even bear 10min of whining... i tried before when hb not in - let him whine 10min & he'll go back to sleep on his own. i was playing computer game. hahaha

babe,
Yeah. Heard Pat's is good but so costly. Where is Gracefields? very familiar.

For me, I'm just putting my son at nearby playgroup so my maid can pick him up easily. Until he's older for school bus then i'll put him else where. initially eyeing at barker road methodist. But just learnt abt the fee and it's out of my budget..

me too. I need to lie down with my son until he falls asleep. I wanted to train him but the moment i get up, he gets so excited and wanted to follow. It's too stimulating and i really have no idea how to do it...

Hello All!
I just came back from BKK late last nite!
Really enjoyed myself! Loved the food there and also bought many bb clothes there as really cheap.. All, below $10. Also got myself nice leggings and big blouses.. Really good and pretty ones...hehe.. SO had loads of fun but body aching badly now...

Can i check if you any of ou gals have started pre-natal home massages.. I have a lady who charges $50 but not sure can we acually do the massages now.. yep
please advise, thanks!

hi mylife,

Sorry to hear about the news. Stay strong for the baby's sake. I am sure your dad would want u to do that too.