(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

JanBB
I was in France then, it is compulsory to do the glucose test, triple T blood test and oso blood tests EVERY MONTH!!! TO test for toxoplasma, which is not impt in sg, cos we dun have pig farms here liao. Imagine every month I have to go to the lab to give them 1 or 2 tubes of blood.
I tot bbq squid can eat? I only heard my mil say abt sting ray. But I told her dun tell me anymore, cos the list can go on!

Fern
Wat's your blog addy?

mylife, sorry to hear abt the lost of your beloved father. Stay strong and take good care of yourself.

Hi Fern,
I bet u enjoyed your trip. =)
the current regulation requires us as dog owners to take up license for our doggies and have them micro-chipped. both my doggies had gone through that. Microchipping cost abt 100 for a dog on average I suppose. You can check AVA website for dog license fee. Sterilised dogs license fee is cheaper. My dogs are micro-chipped when I purchase them. Most vets do provide such service I think.

hi mummies... i happen to chance upon this thread and saw u girls discussing about the allerhand carryon bag. i have the urban blue one for sale. used lightly for 3-4 times only. selling for $75. pls pm me if you're interested. thank you.

997830.jpg

997831.jpg

997832.jpg

mylife,
My deepest condolences to you. Like all the MTBs here have said, do take care of yourself and the little baby inside you. I think it's only human to grieve. Take some time off to rest.

Hi MyLife,

Sorry to hear about the lost of your father. Take good care and your baby.

Hi Angelsky,

Finally booked my confinement lady (CL) today. $2600 for the CNY period. Btw, do u know that it's kinda of a practice to give ang bao before (and after i think) the confinement to the confinement lady? I am still checking how much to give her.

Anyway, my CL gave me a list of items which I will need for my baby. eg wipes, wash clothes, baby comb, milk bottles, cotton bubs etc. She even put in some suggested brands. She will also be helping me buy some simple chinese herbs for my bath and for my tonic. Guess having a CL isn't quite a bad idea after all. ;)

Hi Kitsune,

Have u recieved the bibs from Baby Closet? Very cute ah =) Even my hubby loves them. Btw, is Carter a famous brand from US or something?

Hi Fern,

Welcome back to sg! Great to know that u have bought a lot of stuff for your darling. =) So green with envy now ;)

Re: MIL/ mums complains about mum not enough milk during confinement
Sorry but was reading this feedback. This is not the first time I heard of MIL or mums who help the new mum do confinement, and say such a thing. I was told by someone once that it's not that the mum doesn't have enough milk. Just that someitmes, the babies just want to be fed all the time. So the MIL/ Mum will thought otherwise. Anyway, it sure can be very frustrating or depressing when u have someone who kept on saying u don't have enough milk. Goosh, it will send me off to depression for sure. So that's why I have decided to look for someone who is experienced for my confinment. Hopefully my CL is more encouraging and more understanding.

Hi, Ah Capp. You got them already? I haven't got mine yet. Guess it's because I only transferred money on Monday. Can't wait to get it. Actually, I'm very tempted to buy more especially clothes but my friend warned me not to buy more clothes cos that's what she's buying for my BB girl. :p

Mylife, deepest condolences. It's never easy to lose a loved one. I lost my grandmother a few months in Aug 04 before I got married in Jan 05. Felt very sad that she didn't get to attend my wedding. But she was suffering from her illness so I try to think that she is at least free of pain and suffering.

Mylife: My deepest condolences. Take good care of yr health. Stay strong.

Fern lim: Actually all along it is a must for Dog liscening, u can register online www.ava.gov.sg.

Microchip: Tik its a must for new puppies purchasd after a certain date. If yr is a couple of yrs old then most not necc. If u wish to microchip. Try calling Namly Animal Clinic (6th Ave), Mt Pleasant Animal Clinic (sunset way) Or Mt pleasant Animal Hospital (Whitney Rd). Like the vets there & find their prices reasonable.

Desitin Cream: a nappy cream that is used to prevent or treat nappy rash. Highly recommended by my PD. Been using it since my son is a mth old till now coming 2 yrs old. Pdt fr US so its a bit steep. Avail at pharmacy, watson. But best to purchase on this forum cheaper. Check out the overseas spree section www.drugstore.com

AhCapp, can share with us the list given by ur CL? Heehee...my CL didn't tell me what to buy lehz, just simple stuff like red dates, black dates, bath herbs..Guess she comes then ask my MIL to bring her go buy things..

AhCapp, yeh if you could do share with us too. Also not sure if my MIL really knows what to buy when she do confinement for me next time....

Sting Ray: i took a sting ray all by myself juz last wk and some satays...

someone mentioned abt e prenatal yoga at forum, do u hav e contact no? i'm interested..

Ah capp
my suggestion is: quiz your CL on what's her stand regarding TBF. If u're the type who insists on TBF & she views differently, then tell her to keep clear when u're bfg bb & NOT TO COMMENT if your bm is not GUSHING. These kind of unkind words can really break down a new mum who's trying to provide for her child.

AhCapp
Yes, can you share with us the list that your CL provided? Mine didn't give me any list le.

For thoese with CL, are you intending to bottlefeed or breastfeed? One thing good about bottlefeeding is that can just express milk and let the CL do the feeding, esp the night feeds. But may not have that special bonding with baby. :eek:p

Morning all,

Re: CL/MIL doing confinement

Mm...there seem alot of question marks in my head...not sure whether MIL able to cope with my confinement (look after bb, cook & wash). My MIL is considered young (52yrs old) but wondering if she views differently on BF. We've not discuss this yet. I wanna lighten her load during my confinement by ordering from newbaby (confinement food) but i wonder if she will detest this idea. So that, she can focus on taking care of baby while i can have enuff rest as much as possible during 28days period to recuperate the body.

I dun mind on TBF if i am able to latch baby successfully & enuff BM then why not. But if supply low, engorgement, bleeding/sore nipples etc, we've to depend on FM & half BF lol...

steph
the best solution for low supply & engorgement is to latch bb as often as possible instd of depending on pump. Unless u're willing to abandon TBM before even your maternity leave is over.
Good to iron out issues with your MIL before the confinement starts, coz during that time a lot of changes & need to adjust. Not the time to pick quarrels, esp if everyone is sleep deprived & new mum's hormones imbalance.

goldenpig,
Sorry for asking..cos really very inexperience on BF. How would you know BB has enuff milk & know when to stop if latch on? If I pump out in bottle, i can see the measurement fr the bottle, isn't it better?

Mom2nat,
Wow France..ur hubby is fr airforce? So we are luckier in s'pore..dun nid to do monthly blood test ;)

janbb

http://transitiontoparenthood.com/ttp/parented/Benefits.htm

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/breastfeeding/gettingenoughmilk/

it's our generation thinking that we want to see and measure everything (eg bb's weight, length, IQ, etc), so some mums solely express to see how much to feed bb. In fact if bb is full, he will release & dowan to latch anymore. He's in control coz he knows when he's full. Dat's why formula fed bbs tend to be overweight coz caregivers make the bbs finish every drop in the bottle, even if they're already full. The best way of draining breast is to latch on. If only express, supply may diminish faster... unless u're the type with GUSHING bm la.

there are loads of bfg articles around... happy reading.

janBB, true abt bottle but seriously I think bb drinks more when direct latch. Pump can't seem to get much out. Well, the LC guide is to put bb on for 20 min on each side, juz make sure he/she dun fall asleep while feeding. 2-3hr interval for feeding is norm for bf.

goldenpig, thks for the link ;)

Btw, is it true that we are doing now (like our habits), our bb will follow suit next time? Was told by a fnd that her #1 likes reading a lot cos she did that during preggy. Then cum #2 which she got no time for reading & her #2 ended tearing up all the story books & dun like to read at all..haha..is funny when i heard that..dunno whether is it coincidental

janbb
that means my #2 will love to chase his gorgor very much coz that's what i'm doing now lor. no time to do other things. hahahaha

babe & goldenpig,
I hv attended a BF prenatal class, though saw the video demonstration but really need the real practice cos it seems uphill task to me. Latch on is a thing, whether BB is sucking & absorbing milk is another issue rite. And now, not sure when BB is really full & nid to stop is another concern. Thinking if pump out will save time & safer to ensure BB has enuf. Other than lesser bonding or direct contact, is it ok to do my lazy way?

goldenpig,
i hope i've the perseverance to go on TBM for as long as possible and it's really hard work... thumb up "salute" for those mummy who continued TBM even till baby reached 2yrs or older!
i cannot imagine myself pumping BM/latching in the middle of the nite...

Ya, i think better to discuss with my MIL on these issues & seek her opinion first rather than pick quarrels later.
The other thing that bother me is dunno how much allowance to give MIL then consider enuff leh? since i am not getting any CL, must give her $$ for confinement, buy food (cook) & taking care of bb wor...any idea?

janbb
bb will unlatch when he's full. It's instinct la, dun think everything also bb dunno... haha. What abt those days in the past when there was no such thing as bottles & teats? Life went on - babies were born & breastfed & grew up etc. And in backward countries where they dun hv clean water to wash bottles, bfg is the way to go. Just that the mums there may be malnourished & maybe their bm not as powerful as mums who eat well & rest well.

i was so adamant to bf my #1 that i din even standby a tin of FM at home.. in my mind was TBF TBF TBF until 6m.

Is it true that a nurse will come to teach us how to breastfeed in the hospital?

A friend was telling me that sometimes when baby is very big, the nurses may encourage us to supplement with formula because poor kid will be so hungry that can't wait for mummy to produce milk... then in the end, baby don't want mummy's milk. :eek:(

MomMe
if someone doesn't appear to guide u, then u dun feel shy to request for someone to come.
My boy was big at birth but no one advised me to supplement with FM.

<font color="aa00aa">hello mummies, sorry for not popping by...busy with work. hope all mummies are ok and getting on well. we are moving towards 3rd tri....

so when is our next gathering?? when is icy back?</font>

MomMe,
the nurse is a lactation consultant, will teach us how to boost our milk supply, train our baby to nurse/latch on etc. I think they will come to visit us (6hrs after natural delivery) at the ward if we are on TBF right?

<font color="aa00aa">any mummies going to sign up the Joyful Parenting 2007 in November? It's sponsored by Philips and Avent. You get to enjoy exclusive offers on Advent products, and also receive a goody bag worth $30. Only $5 ($8 per couple) per pax. Anyone gg??

They have 2 sessions. Session 2 is on Successful Breastfeeding from Birth and a Live Baby Bath Demo!!</font>

Steph,
I attended a free BF & Labour class with my preggy fnd in SGH. They even gave us a complimentary book on pregnancy (quite thick one) & avent milk bottle.

I have told my mil that i will bf my baby liao .... cos last time I think my SIL dun really breast feed

Hi Fern Lim,

Will be going Bangkok soon. Can i check with you where did u go to clothes for baby?? Are there any other things that are cheap over there for baby, other then clothes?
Places to recommend???

Mom2dat,

My blog is http://eliaswong.blogspot.com/
Have fun reading

Babe,
My Cl is in SIngapore now. SHe says she will meet me and bring me go buy the necessary stuff in OCt when she ends her assigment. At least better for me. haaa. FOr the confinment food, I will get her to prepare a list for my MIL to get them togther with my maid lor. Thats what i plan to do

3rascals,
I will check up more on dog licence lor. Perhaps, can do on line and also get my dog mircochipped lor. Headache!

Ah Capp,
haha, yah men.. Elias got tons of stuff now.. How fortunate! haha.. YOu also can start buying for your darling! We will meet soon this Sat.. haha.. really quite exciting!

hi mei (lu_meihua,

You got details about the Joyful Parenting???

Anyone going for their pre-natal class at TMC. My first session is on 11th Oct at 7pm... Anyone??

QQ,
again, u make me drool for chasoba/zarusoba "cold noodle" & tempura for dinner tonite!!kekeke

The 2 oval shape thingy in yr fridge ah...?? what's that? i guess is left over mooncakes or jelly ah?

JanBB,
FREE bf & labour class?? such gd lobang...must share wor...

mei,
I should be back latest by mid nov. Actually already booked tix for 2nd Nov.. then hb have something at work and have to postpone the flight.
I insist on coming back latest by 9 Nov.. when I ard 30th weeks. I hope I can get what I wanna.

Mandy,
You can go pratuwan market.. and those small stalls linking there.... Really really cheap buys.. thats where i bought most bb stuff! In fact almost everywhere sells cheap bb clothes. Other then that... prices at shopping malls can also be quite good. as currenly having sale almost everywhere.

Have a fun and good trip! When will you be going?
Fern

Jan BB,
I am interested in going for this free breasfeed talk at SGH. Can share more details... Maybe can see who keen in going and we can make a day to go togther? NOt bad huh, still got free book and free milk bottle? haha:p

<font color="aa00aa">golden pig, a...haven decided to go or not. anyone wanna go with me? hehee. k if i go i take goody bag for u. i give u the bag, i take the goodies. haha...thanks for the softcopy. it's the same in the goody pag I gave to all mummies who came for the gathering #1.

mandy,
yap i have the details but I thik i lost the soft copy. u have a fax machine? i can fax over to u.

janbb,
wah got FREE talk. plus goodie bag. must share leh. i also wanna go and get FREE avent bottle.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Lunch-i had NIANG DOU FU Laksa..liked the spicy gravy! yum yum

My colleague warn me that preggy shld not take too spicy & hot stuff else will affect bb's complexion...true anot huh?

Anyway, i am a fan of chilli padi. I've cut down & eat moderately liao since preggy!</font>

Re: Gathering #2 Mid Dec?
Maybe we could meet up for Mala Hotpot? sit round table & buffet style...like reunion/pre-christmas dinner...haha

does anyone have good lobang for baby's cupboard. WHere can I get reasonable yet nice ones? I need get one soon. Bb things running out of space liao!

Janbb,
for initial stage, it's best to latch on directly. milk supply increase faster too. you'll get disheartened if you pump cos milk very little and people may question. bb drink so little? you don't have enough.. give FM! That's what my PD did to me when my bb was not putting on weight for first week or so. I find him not supportive of bf so I only see him twice and change PD. Most of the time i consult LC.

I'm naturally low on supply and it was really hard work. Like Golden pig, I was determined to TBF and never standby FM at all. When back home i feed round the clock. I told my mum to shut up when comes to feeding and lock myself in room so MIL cannot come in.

Another thing to take note. If breast lumpy, massage hard to get rid of lumps else milk cannot flow. Best massage before and after each feed. mine was extremely lumpy. Even bb's suckle and my own massage cannot remove it. I went to see LC and was badly brusied. She massaged so hard until my tears dropped and gotta beg her to stop. And she said, "How do you expect bb to drink from an uncut melon?"