(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

steph, usually once i wake up to pee, i take rather long to go back to sleep. i also have very weird dreams... disrupting sleep.

I cant sleep well at times too. all the muscle aches...so terrible. by the way, I have the VIP card from LeBloomingchic at Delfi Orchard. The shop is own by the wife of hubby's director so his director gave me the card. Entitles 15% on all regular items and 5% on exclusive and non-regular items. If anyone interested to go, let me know. I want to drop by soon too.

Ah capp,
YOu mean the Isetan Private sales is this coming Thursay? I have yet to get the ISetan brochore lei though member.. Wondering why? hiaz. Flying to bangkok this Fri so wondering should I still make a trip to Isetan lor...

Mc flurry,
YOu are not the only one. ME pee many times at night... haha. esp when I drink more water before I sleep. Several times men! day time not as bad as night! ANd me also have wierd dream, nightmares, etc... haha. I also have hard time sleeping back after peeing or waking up in the middle of night for nothing, Indeed very disturbing sleep. lol

HI all,
RE- Baby one month

Can I check how many boxes of cakes must we get ready then huh? Just wondering. TOld hubby abtt it and he said is it a must to give all relatives.. haha... thats the very tradition thing right. I do not intend to have a one month celebration. Perhaps a simple home cooked dishes for guests who intend to come will do right? Afterall, I still be recuperating from the delivery. Cakes makes simple ones like those bengawan solo will do hor? DUn intend we want to spend too much in this area.. yupz

Gal, any advises to throw in?

for my #1, i had a buffet lunch catered at home for both my extended family & my ILs extended family & my FIL's frens (coz 1st grandson for them). Neighbours came too. Ordered boxes of cakes for all guests, including my colleagues back in offc who gave me angpow. I still ended up with net surplus coz their angpows v big. kekekeke
But i had a massive headache after all the guests left coz not enuf sleep & v stressed coz i was co-ordinating & worried too much.
For this time #2, perhaps i'll order more expensive cake set (incl ang-koo-kuey, glutinous rice etc) & do away with the buffet.

Thanks for those who shared their views

Yah.. I guess I just have a few boxes for closer relatives since thats the tradtion which I will just follow to be on a safe side lor. Ya... will definatley do away with buffet as wana cut cost. Prefer home cooked stuff.. its nicer anyway
Hee

oh ya, for my colleagues i gave out cake vouchers instd, but some of them feedback they find it troublesome to collect the cake, so maybe this time i order actual cakes for them

verene
tks for the link! cheap hor.. can consider.

I am thinking o giving cake vouchers to colleagues since I am thinking of not inviting them to home for buffet. dont want to invite so many pple, just relatives and close friends will do if not the house so crowded. Mine is also first grandson...so i think my family will want a buffet.

Just a survey around. Do you prefer traditional cake set (those with sponge cake, ang ku kueh, Red Eggs and Glutinous rice) or those modern ones like cup cakes and tarlets?

ya, colleagues i din invite, but 1 close one came anyway with her husband & 2 boys. I din mind. Coz she wanted to see my boy la.

cakes vs cake vchrs
i thought they'd appreciate that they can make a choice btwn diffrnt flavours, or even choose some other item & top up the difference, but who knows they're the lazy sort who dun even want to make the trip to collect. sommore bengawan solo so many outlets islandwide, they still complain... ?! *pengz*

verene
i prefer traditional set. just like i prefer tradtional names...

Verine,
thanks for the link. Mine is also first grandson. But I think my parents and in laws are not that kind very pantang one lah. So can do away with buffet. But the cakes I guess just give me to close relatives in my case will do.. Just get those simple kind.. yupz

GOlden Pig,
I agree.. Its the thought that counts. vouchers are ok. unless they are super the lazy pple.. and begawan solo is the best.. cakes are nice and affordable. And like you, I also prefer the traditional types of cakes

Hi Golden Pig,

Check if your friends have the card. THey will have the newsletter which will have 3 coupons for non-members to enter. Otherwise, just tag along your friends.

Hi Fern,

I got the news from other forums about the Private Sale. I am waiting for the newsletter to check out what to buy. Eyeing on a baby pram though =)

Baby first month...
Wow, u ladies are very fast. =) I have not even found my baby's name yet. I am so slow. I will give cake vouchers to my relatives, friends and colleagues.

Can u imagine my hubby n I were not even given any first month cake/ eggs/ vouchers during our niece's first month? Like so poor thing like that. So I will definately share the joy of my darling baby with others by giving cake vouchers. Maybe will have dinners with both sides' parents. Will not go into big affair like buffet already. I kinda lazy =P

Hi Verene,

For me, I have no real preference. If I were to recieve a gift from the first month baby, even a small cup cake I will also be happy. =)

For my baby's first month, I think I will not be able to delivery real actual cakes to every single friend or relative. It will be too much for my hubby to cope along. So I will choose normal bengawan solo cake vouchers.

Oh yes, I agree with golden pig. I think people shouldn't complain when they get bengawan solo vouchers lor. It's soo convienent and can choose different flavours or choose to top-up for bigger cakes.

Anyway, it's a gift from the first month baby. I am very happy already. No complains for sure for me. =)

Sure Verene, I am currently waiting for the newsletter to arrive in my mail box. =) Will keep u posted.

seems like quite a number of you will be giving bengawan solo vouchers hor? I will be inviting close relatives and friends for buffet at home. My biggest headache is the office. Initially I wanted to order cakes/fruit tarts for them but realised that some are pantang and do not like to receive/eat baby's 1t month cakes. So now I'm thinking instead of giving a box of cake for everyone, I'll just buy 2 nice and big cheesecakes from Fullerton or somewhere else and offer it to them as tea-break lor. That's what one of my husband's colleague did.

Fern, ya it's funny but we are desperate. At least if baby were to ask me why I chose this name. I can tell her you chose it yourself by kicking Mummy. Hee.

Went to the seminar organised by Cordlife today. Wong Boi Boi was the first speaker and she demonstrated BB's massage on 3 babies. She very funny though hubby said she also had a funny accent. Asked many questions and the management were able to answer my queries. Got $400 discount today so signed up and collected the kit liao.

As for first month celebration, I think I'll be having a buffet at home for relatives and maybe close friends. Will try to do it while confinement lady is still around so that there's someone to look after baby. As for colleagues, will be giving cakes. My cousin recommended Melrose Cake house which is quite cheap, prices from $3 onwards http://www.melrose.com.sg/tarts.html.

Just came back from gynae today..haha.put on too much this month...3 kg and baby's weight doubled from 305g to 669g at 24weeks. Haha my gynae asked me to try to keep weight gain at 2kg/mth. So far gained 7kg.

Re: Full Mth

Me n hubby will throw in a buffet for our no. 1 heehee ...... we are thinking to have our buffet being place at our multipurpose hall at our estate more space ..... my frd suggest can do in cc too .... heehee ... well shall think abt it..... as for melrose their cakes not bad .... as for buffet if u all wanna order from them must call and make sure they have written the right dates. Cos last sun my frd call up the person say the event is on 23 the hard copy they written is 23 how can my frd forget abt his own son's full mth date think they make a mistake and do not wanna own up .....

Re: Cakes

My wedding cakes oso from kyo very nice leh I have their walnut coffee nice nice ...... think will order their full mth cake back as for ofc side i will give out bengawan solo cake card bah cos i wont be inviting them to the buffet and celebration will be sun or sat not working so just give them card will do.

Went for Stemcord's seminar yesterday. Anybody went? Thought was quite a wasted trip down coz initially thought I could get better rates than my gynae. In the end, my gynae still better rates. If anyone is interested in getting Stemcord, can get discounts by referring me. Just PM me. ;)

Ok, finally recieved my Isetan newsletter yesterday. It's not up on the website yet. Anyway, here are some of the baby stuff on offer:

Most baby clothings are on 10% or 20% off with additinoal 10% off.

Nuk, Pigeon, Munchkin - 20% off

Pigeon rapid steam sterilizer set consisting of steam sterilizer with wide neck bottle 200ml x 2, wide neck bottle 300ml x 2, liquid cleanser 200ml, baby wipe refil 82pc x 2 - $99 (usual price $141.10).

Medela, Kiddopotamus - 15% off + 5% off

Medela mini electric plus set consisting of mini electric plus, cooler bag, disposable bra pads 30pc, purelan 7f & quick wipes 20 pc - $299 (usual price $488)

Avent ISIS breast pump, 125ml bottle x 2, 260ml feeding bottles x 3, VIA breastmilk cts 10 x 180ml & Magic cup 260ml - $99 (usual price $156.30).

Combi - 20% + 5%

Maclaren, Quinny, Maxi Cosi, Peg-perego strollers & car-seats - 20%

I signed up quite a few years ago. I just grabbed a form and sign-up during their promotion. Can't remember if I need to submit salary slip or not. =( It's quite good I feel, especially good during the private sale. =)

Hi Verene,

I can't really remember but I think as long as u can get in, u should be able to get the additional discount. But I really can't confirm though. V sorry.

wahhhh...talking about full-month celebration already ah?? Yah i think i shud be considering tat too cos will be doing that here in Sg before moving her to HK. Also thinkg whether shud give vouchers or deliver cake? If give vouchers...shud we mail it or deliver it personally to the people?

wow wow wow....so fast discuss abt full month celebration liao...

me too haven't settle my bb name. headache

Hi, Mcfluffy. Yes, please share the list. Can PM me?
So, you signed up with Stemcord yesterday? How much is it? I signed up with Cordlife, registration fee of $1000 (after less $400) and $250 annual fee.

kitsune
Mrs Wong worked in UK for long time as a midwife i think, dat's why her accent quite odd. But she's v friendly to everyone, coz anyone could've been her ex-student and she can't remember all of us, so she's friendly to all.

hi kitsune,
will PM you the list later when I get home.
Stemcord's registration fee is about $800+ (after less $300) and $250 annual fee. But as my gynae is tied up with them, my registration fee is $50 cheaper.

I'm a mother from the Sept thread..
Would like to sell off my Medela Double Breast Pump for S$230.

As the pump was a gift from my friend in USA, the transformer was changed so that it is compatible for use in Singapore. It is a very good pump as recommended by many hospitals and worked really well. I had used it for a week plus but due to low milk supply, I've decided to stop.

Anyone who's interested, please kindly email me at [email protected] or call me directly at 94899008. Pump to be collected at Bt. Batok.
982526.jpg

Hi MTBs

Sorry to interrupt this thread..

I have surplus of:-
1) New Born Size Nepia
2) Small Size Drypers

I bought the above in May/June 07. My bb born in July 07.

Pls PM me if you are interested.

isn't it a bit too early to stock up on diapers.. i got no storage space!
and few moms start off with overflowing bm.. hv to WORK HARD to build up bm supply.

Hi morning,

RE: Rompers

Goldenpig - i went to suntec mothercare during wkend. Rompers in a pack of 7 is selling at abt $36 after 30% discount(original price is at abt $52). Find it reasonably cheap as one pc only $5+ plus the cotton material is quite gd

2nd time mtbs - Need your advice. Heard from friend that baby will prefer top with buttons or ribbons as they will struggle or make a lot of noise if we try to wear the rompers over their head/face?? Is this true?? Or is it ok when they are 6 mths & above? Thks.

Mornin ladies!

I can feel some pain on my right side ribs wen sitting down but e moment i stand up, no more pain..

can i ask wen do we hav to start buying nursing bras? becos mine is juz B cup and seems like all e nursing bra cup so big... hahaha!

i'm also a Isetan member, waitin for their newsletter too..

zhao mummies...
shopping...mothercare closing down sale at suntec. anyone been?

<font color="0000ff">when we having jan-08 mummies gathering #2?</font>

Morning all

hi mei,
u rec'd my mms on the tuppleware green container? That one can exchange anot based on the condition? So, during next gathering #2, i will bring along the pink water tumbler & green container lol... i wanna buy a water container from u but i forgot the code no. Let me look at the tuppleware brochure again & sms u ok. Thanks

By the way, can u update my bb name, "Zander Thng"

janbb
newborn neck still v soft, so it's easiest to clothe them in vests secured by buttons or ribbons. I think my #1 only started wearing rompers when he was 2-3m old... i was also quite scared of pulling the romper over his head coz his neck so soft.

lynn
when i had #1, i only bought nursing bras after my confinement ended, coz i wasn't sure if i was going to breastfeed etc. For #2 now, i'm already wearing my nursing bras, haha. in fact i'm wearing 1 now..

hi all mummies,

right now i am at home cos i am on hospitalisation leave. Had light spotting on thur night and was admitted for 2 days for observation. the dr say it is due to low placenta...hopefully it will move up....please pray for me can. Am quite worried. Pregnancy is really full of unpredictables....