(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

my by is 22 months old

he is a mummy's boy...think due to bf...he is very attached to me...sleep must look for me

he is 12 kg now

i have been carrying him...but when i find it strenous, i will coax him to walk on his own

at home usually no carry...unless he dei me lor

eRnMum
12kg and u still can carry ah ?! wah... better dun la... very strenuous leh.. He doesnt want papa to carry him ?
I have not been carrying my girl for looooong time liao. Even not preggy my back also cannot take such weight let alone now preggy.

i believe the red dates tea have its good way if not my mum wont be preparing it for me

Ya eRnmun try not to carry too heavy things and ur son too ... u gotta rest

now i dun carry liao

i have no prob carrying...now i will hug hug him instead lor....

think red dates is to pu blood right....think i will need it too....but is it heaty huh?

eRnmun,
Must really have more bed rest and try not to carry your son anymore. 12kg is no joke for a pregnant woman...our backs and pelvic can't take the strain. I'm sure your boy will understand.

eRnMum, rest more and take good care of yrself..think positive ok.

Hi gals, have you all check with yr gynae regarding "delay clamping the umbilical cord can give baby health boost"??

eRuMum,
last 2 weeks, i also had light spotting.. 1st week, 1 day .. den 2nd weeks, last abt 2 days.. now on off sometimes have .. i havent see gynae for 2nd times de .. as 1sttime he only ask mi to monitor.. so i tot maybe 2nd time i monitor lor ..

Am new here. My EDD is on 28th Jan 2008. This is my first baby.

Am thinking if it is worthwhile to go for the 4D scan at TMC. It cost $90 (pre-ultrascan) + $150 (4d scan) = $240.

angelsky,
My baby is very active and I can feel him kicking and moving everyday since 19 weeks. His movements can be felt throughout the day and is especially active when I lie down in bed after dinner. But not everyone can feel their baby's movements, especially for 1st baby. My colleague who is 24 weeks, 1 week more than me, also don't feel her baby move everyday. Maybe it's the shape of the individual's womb and the position of the placenta and baby. Some people don't feel their baby at all throughout the pregnancy but their baby also turned out fine. Don't worry too much.

yen
i read somewhere before that the health benefits are not as significant as the collection of stem cells.

qq
ya some preg mum also advised me to drink.. so far i only drink once! Bought instant sachet type fr supermkt. I prefer water la.

RE Logan tea.
I didnt know its good to drink that tea now.. haha. Tot only recommended to drink during confinment period for the whole one month. No water allowed... thats what my confinment lady told me. FOr now, I didnt lor cos I am prone to getting sore throat and that is quite heaty right? Me also will take packet kind as am lazy one.. haha

Any suggestions on where to go for Yoga Class for Pregnant Ladies?? I stay in Punggol. Are there any mummies to be who stay at Punggol???

Hi Mandy, my doc advised me to go for the 4d scan only 8 months onwards, I am also with TMC

Ok, I gg to try the method later of lying on the floor, going to disturb the baby later.

Placenta bleeding, be careful and try to overstrain
. My fren had to have complete bedrest from 5 months to 7 months coz she had sudden bleeding. She had a really terrible scare, the doc actually sew up her cervix. HOwever, when time to deliver, baby dont wanna come out, so got to induce.
But now, she is a mother of a pui pui gal.

Red date is it really good? I actually went to the TCm and ask them if its good, the lady was telling me very heaty. If I always cough and get a lot of pleghm then better dont drink. BUt I also hear its good for blood circulation le. So I just boil the red date and soak in hot water right? Longan is dried ones?

ANyone thinking of doing cordblood banking? What are the benefits anyway?

Re Bangkok
Can someone who has been there recently share with me? Where can I get cheap and good deals for bb clothes, lingere, and nice maternity bb doll clothes.. I will be gtg there this Friday and looking forward to get good stuff!
I'll be staying at the Centrepoint hotel. My first time is this hotel .. heard its near town.. MBK, etc...

DO share with me which shopping malls can get good buys and also which night market is good and less conjested kind.... Heard Suan Lam is good but read somewhere that it seems that it has closed down.. hope to hear from somebody soon

this thread is moving so fast each day~gee abit hard to catch up..my tummy also quite small some people cant tell im pregnant too..when i told them abt 6mth all of them said very small~

Last sat i was in a cab, the taxi driver was talking to me and he cant tell im pregnant and keep saying i should go study before i got pregnant..aiyo i wanna tell him im already pregnant but he talk non-stop i dun have chance to say anything.

any mum not having confinement lady? my mil was telling me she'll teach the maid what to do during confinement and the maid will help me thru..but im abit worried..anyway usually what confinement lady do?

Re: Role of CL
split- I have engaged a CL. She told me she will clean the hse, do marketing, cook confinement food, cook dinner for my hubby, take care of bb (i.e bathe, feed bb at nite..etc)

Same same. I am a punggolian too!

Are any of you planning to get a babysitter?

By any chance, does anyone know of a good babysitter in Punggol?

angelsky yup with dried longan i dun drink often oso lah once a while heehee ....

goldenpig i drink water oso not only red dates, red dates i drink once a while but i admit i drank lotsa gassy drink leh :p hahaha i drank 100plus n sprite n mug ... kekeeke cos Got craving

goldenpig,

thks for e informative link on cord blood banking. I think i will consider to donate bb cord blood to SCBB, Singapore Cord Blood Bank

Hi MTBs

I have a brand new Disney Baby Sleeping Bag Size 1. This piece is still in the plastic sheet.

Description:-
1) 2ply 100% cotton comfy knit & sateen fabric.

2) Can fit up to 9 months. May fit up to 12 months if baby is less than 8kg and shorter than 75cm.

This is useful for babies who are always kicking off their covers while asleep. Helps reduce incidence of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome.

An excellent security and comfort blanket for bb in a strange room or bed (When travelling).

Interested?

Collection in Sembawang. Other places to be discussed.

Pls PM me your best price.

I wanted to eat durians !!!!!!! but durians are no where in sight now leh... I've been to NTUC or the usual stall that sell durians but all no hv leh... where can I get huh ? Geylang ?

hi steph

the info there is quite heavy.. i went to read again and saw this:

The information provided below is taken from the recent paper Umbilical Cord Blood Banking(Opinion Paper 2, Revised June 2006), published by the Royal College of Obstetricians & Gynaecologists Scientific Advisory Committee in the UK.

PUBLIC VS PRIVATE BANKING
There has been debate about whether it is appropriate or necessary for individuals to store their child's cells in private commercial stem cell banks. While acknowledging the pressure on parents to do the best for their child, there are cogent arguments against the necessity of private banking:

- The individual's chances of using personal cord blood for haematopoietic disorders before the age of 20 years is low; estimates used vary from 1/2000026 to 37/100000 (i.e. 1/2700). However, it is not clear how many of those people's needs could be met from allogeneic sources.

- There are alternatives to directed cord blood banking for those who require transplantation through international cord blood banking and bone marrow registries resources.

- Own cells may be inappropriate in conditions where the disease has a genetic origin, including some leukemias, and patients would be better served by a source other than their own-banked cells.

As a result, autologous low-risk commercial storage is <font color="0000ff">unlawful in Italy and discouraged in some other European states</font>. In 2004, the European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies advised European Commission that: 'The legitimacy of commercial cord blood banks for autologous use should be questioned as they <font color="0000ff">sell a service, which has presently, no real use regarding therapeutic options. Thus they promise more than they can deliver.</font> The activities of such banks raise serious ethical criticisms'. The Group did not go as far as recommending banning this activity but they also recommended that: 'any kind of advertising made by commercial cord blood banks in the media, including on the Internet, must be adequately controlled by public authorities'. They recommended that 'support for <font color="0000ff">public</font> cord blood banks for allogeneic transplantations should be increased and long-term functioning should be assured'.

Note:
Autologous means patient uses his/her own stem cells for transplantation.
Allogeneic means patient uses related/unrelated donor stem cells for transplantation.

juz back from my gynae visit.

I am now at 24 weeks. weight gain is 6kg, baby weighs 700grams. optimum gain throughout according to the gynae is 12kg, which means i can only put on 1.5kg every 4 weeks. haha. die lah. think i will exceed

cld see baby's face today. her face was so round.

nexyanne,

wow...can see baby face ah? Did u get to keep the scan pic for her face profile? If u do, post here leh...looking at bb pic always bring a smile on our face!

goldenpig,
I think it's up to individual whether gg public or private banking. But it's true that where the disease has a genetic origin, bb own cord blood cells will not be suitable to save own life too! Anyway, we all hope our bb will be healthy & disease free for the rest of their life. If our bb cord blood could save someone else life, why not?

QQ / chaye,

Don't drink red dates longgan & eat durian together hor...very heaty one. My galfrd kena nose bleed when these two are taken on same day leh!! Must drink lotsa water

chaye,

i am same as you. I feel like eating durians! was thinking supermarkets still sell... but no more? i dont have a car so to go geylang is inconvenient

Hi Steph
Yes ma'am ! thks for your advice
I so long no drink red dates tea liao.

Hi Jennifera
There is always taxi, bus & mrt mah... I also dun have car

chaye

i m craving for durian too. but the stall that alway sells below my hse no more liao leh.... i suppose now not durian season ah....

Any idea what vitamin durian contain? I've crave for it too..but i heard somewhere those food u crave for are those u lack of..dunnu how true is it.

Cheryl
Yalor nearby my hse also have a stall tat sell durians but now want to eat then the stall gone liao !
Jennifera
tabao durian into train or taxi very smelly one leh...

tabao smelly to go into train bus or taxi... haha.... best is buy from downstair n den go home eat... if wan to go geylang or chinatown eat, might as well eat there lah.. hehe

durian? I see alot le. NTUC also have.

Been wanting to buy clothes for baby, but then dilemma about sizes. End up I bought alot of 12 months old instead of newborn. Wonder now, if baby will not have enough when born. Silly me right.

What is a receiving blanket?

Do we have to buy long sleeves for baby? USually what will babies wear more?

QQ,
I also made red dates with longgan drink, more or less becos I feel giddy even when I just sit in front of PC. :p I think it helps a bit. But have to drink lots of water after that.

Anglesy,

Recieving blanket is the towel used to wrap up BB upo discharge from hospital. Usually the hospital will give for free...If you wanna buy, buy those where the material is towel like not those fleece ones which can cause allergy to newborn!

Hi Joyce, I've sent out the checklist to you.

Hey kitsune,
Cannot send file through PM right? Can gimme your email instead?

By the way ladies, who else has blogs for your baby to share? Always love reading blogs. Hehe.

Also, I think cordblood banking is like an insurance for the baby. Never too little insurance for everyone.

angelsky,
my SIL bought a receiving blanket which looks like normal towel but then there's a little hood for you to cover the bb's head.