(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

steph
my boy exercise a lot in my tummy.. i can't decide if he's breakdancer or kungfu fighter. At first i thought he was kicking me all the time, then gynae scanned & said his feet are actually the other side, so means he's PUNCHING me v hard until i thought he was kicking... aiyoz.

Jacelyn,
me too, hubby will nag. I am not "branded conscious". I only started beginning this year when i saw my sister & frds buying gucci bags & i happened to love some of their classic design.
Coach bags are getting more attention & popular nowadays!

Steph ya alot ppl carrrying it .... hehehe .... some of their design nice .....

mummies u kw what I cant wait for my princess to come out leh hahah cos i saw old navy selling very nice baby clothings! hahaha esp the shoes .... almost make purchase when they have BP last mth hahaha lucky my frd stop me ... but i bought maternity bottoms for my own in the end .....

goldenpig,
curious how big yr tummy now leh...got any photo to post?hehe

qq
i'm wearing my ON maternity bottoms now.. just collected ystrday, couldn't wait to wear. kekeke
good fit around waist & butt, but too long, gotto alter length.

Hey goldenpig, you have to control diet already ah? Hmm..my doc didn't say anything on that yet during my last check up... So far now around 23weeks plus, i've put on about 7kg. Baby weighs about 640g...doc also said normal...

golden pig i also bought ON during BP now waiting for it hahah .... think will received today or tmr heehee yippie!

hammies & goldenpig,
if we really are hungry, can control diet meh? so xin ku...taking greens daily is no good too, i heard we need extra carbo during pregnancy too!

hammies
coz i started off on a higher scale.. i din lose all my weight after i had #1. Now i'm nearing 80kg liao ley. When it comes to Nov/Dec, maybe i need wheelchair coz my spine can't support coz i'm so fat! *pengz*

steph
dun hv nice foto la, i dun like to take pix when i so fat... =(

Valencia, QQ, Goldenpig,
Think I would have put on 7kg by next week when i see my gynae. I also very anxious to know how much my baby weighing now...was 321g at 19 weeks. Judging by the weight of your babies, if mine also weigh around 600g at 23 weeks...wow...nearly double his size in 4 weeks time hor!

Me also SAHMTB
. How nice, you gals managed to know your baby's weight, my doctor never say le, I think he also never take the weight of the baby.

He just ask me not to worry, not worry. But the more he say not to worry, the more I worry le. kekeke. So far, when I ask about my weight gain and baby, he just say relax. Sometimes, I will forget I am expecting, then will walk like normal, until my galfrens go out with me, also gan cheong, ask me to walk slowly, go up and down the stairs must protect the stomach, must hold the handle bar when going up and down etc etc. Since my last appointment last month, I put on 2 kg, but in total I put on only 3 kg. Abit worried actually.

Anyone not going for confinement ladies? Do you think can cope without one?

goldenpig,
big sacrifice for mummies juggling weight issue!

makes me think of getting postnatal massage lady...must we book now?

angelsky
i'm not going to get CL. I managed without CL for my #1. But need family help & support. I'm the type that likes to do things myself. Read up on baby care, research, read books etc.. my impression is that CLs are old fashioned type that hv lots of beliefs to impose, which i dun like. And i can't imagine managing a staff who's so full of herself as tho she's there to manage me, when in fact i'm the client. As it is, having to get used to lack of sleep, learn how to bf, change diaper, read baby signs etc.. so many things liao, plus coping with hormonal changes etc. Aiyo i dun need another old lady to add to my problms.
Once again, i'm the type who likes to do things myself. Dun like outsiders to interfere.

And i told my colleagues off when they warned me dun do this, dun do that, let me get that for u, be careful walk slowly, dun wear heels blah blah. I said i'm not an invalid and i can take care of myself, thank u v much. I told them i dowan special concession just coz i'm expecting. And i told someone off coz she touched my stomach. Said she invaded my personal space. Some people dun understand coz they're not married, not mums yet. So must highlight to them.

So far so good. kekekeke

angelsky,

i am not having CL. My MIL volunteer to do confinement for me. I dunno whether can cope with bb & MIL ard cos 1st time MIL stay over my hse. As long as during confinement if there r any helping hands (MIL or hubby) ard, shld do ok. Most importantly, we must try to have plenty of rest during the first month.

golden pig,
yeah. Ren2 Jie2. got a hard time choosing name for #2 leh...

I also put on 6kg already. but dunno how big is baby. I'm pretty short.. so tummy big leh cos baby can only grow outwards..

Steph,
You like gucci? LV got sale or not? seldom rite? I'm eyeing at one LV bag but too ex.. still considering after so many months...

fishia
what's his christian name gonna be? u want similar meaning? I like traditional characters that mean filial, smooth, good fortune, healthy etc. Are u considering only characters with 2nd intonation just like gorgor's name?

Steph dun worry lah u are small in size one so should be ok De dun gan cheong ....

Yvonne wont bah ..... if 600g is very big leh ....

How abt Ren Kai?

Seems like you gals had a great time last night, will definitely join in the next round.

Fern,
As for the X-Ray detectors, I told my gynae about it and he said better to avoid. When I left for HK earlier this year, only 1 month preggie, I told both the Singapore and HK custom that I'm expecting even though I don't look like it and they allowed me not to pass through the scanning. They did manual scan only, ladies of course. Think it's alright.

Fishia,
I'm also a Gucci and LV fan. LV has no sale at all even if you see a queue of people lining up to go in, esp Ngee Ann City's outlet. However, I have friends who travelled and if bought from Paris about $200++ cheaper than Singapore.
As for Gucci, while I was at Milan I bought this particular model and realized it's also $200++ more expensive in Singapore. So if you have colleagues/friends travelling, you can tag them to buy it for you.

golden pig,
Likely to name him Jude. What abt your son? Both of us having 2 boys! No need similar meaning and no need 2nd intonation.. jus something nice will do...

Jacelyn,
I work from home and only on Mon-Wed...

Angelsky,
I'm also not getting CL but I've just engaged a maid. My fear now is how my son will behave and react when #2 arrives... Furthermore, I'm enrolling him to playground in Jan 08. With 2 major changes - new addition and school, I hope he can take it well.. Else it will be added stress for me.

I'll be catering confinement food. Don't think can get maid to cook for me cos it will be 1-to-1 by then. We'll be so busy!

Steph dun worry lah u are small in size one so should be ok De dun gan cheong ....

Yvonne wont bah ..... if 600g is very big leh ....

How abt Ren Kai?

thanks goldenpig and steph.

I was telling my galfren, I not engaging one, coz I dont feel comfortable having someone else stay in the house with me, coz during confinement I going back to mum's place to stay. But my mum, dont quite bothered about what can eat and cannot eat, so my galfren quite concern coz she say mothers after birth and babies after birth very fragile and weak wo. Ask me to seriously consider, especially when I intend to do breastfeeding full time.

I also dont like pple to touch my stomach, but sometimes pple reached to touch before I can react. So irritating.

They always tell me nothing to anyhow run and to take care, rest more often and sleep more often, etc etc. But then for MTB, who have to work, they also got to juggle work and pregnancy, its also difficult for them, but they also managed ma.

I've been trying to buy some new clothes and maternity cum nursing bra, but sometimes the sizes wonder if I can really wear to last. Its really expensive.

Has anyone been feeling pressure on the tummy? LIke tension downwards? I have no idea why, but when I went to do my detail scan, I thought by now the baby should be quite high already, the sonographer was still scanning quite low, below the belly button le.

thanks goldenpig and steph.

I was telling my galfren, I not engaging one, coz I dont feel comfortable having someone else stay in the house with me, coz during confinement I going back to mum's place to stay. But my mum, dont quite bothered about what can eat and cannot eat, so my galfren quite concern coz she say mothers after birth and babies after birth very fragile and weak wo. Ask me to seriously consider, especially when I intend to do breastfeeding full time.

I also dont like pple to touch my stomach, but sometimes pple reached to touch before I can react. So irritating.

They always tell me nothing to anyhow run and to take care, rest more often and sleep more often, etc etc. But then for MTB, who have to work, they also got to juggle work and pregnancy, its also difficult for them, but they also managed ma.

I've been trying to buy some new clothes and maternity cum nursing bra, but sometimes the sizes wonder if I can really wear to last. Its really expensive.

Has anyone been feeling pressure on the tummy? LIke tension downwards? I have no idea why, but when I went to do my detail scan, I thought by now the baby should be quite high already, the sonographer was still scanning quite low, below the belly button le.

babe,
the yoga is not bad. if u had done yoga previously, it is less strenuos, of course. I saw in our thread earlier, there is a cheaper yoga class in bishan. Maybe u want to check that out too. The -ve thing about the one I joined is that the class is quite crampy. But, maybe this only happens on certain days. U could always try 1 session first. I purchased 10 sessions without trying and only found out that the room was a bit small. But the instructor told me that it was quite unusual that day. I have yet to go to their next class. They have fitball classes too which u can go to alternatively.

Valencia & Angelsky,
I'm not working too.

Valencia,
I like the same brands as u, I don't know any one else who likes Loewe apart from me. Actually, i'm not particular about any brands, just as long as I like the design. Sob sob... have stopped buying too as baby's coming along.

Fishia,
LV got no sale lah. Paris is cheaper tho.

Steph,
Thanks for the photos! I will send mine to u.

For those who have provided their emails above, i will email my photos to u. Actually, they're similar to QQ's and Steph's.

i've got another headache.

i told my galfren that i wanna visit her coz she just deliver, then she ask me if its okay, coz i expecting.

is it bad for her baby or is it bad for my baby? dilemma.

so wedding also cannot attend? i've got one end of the year. terrible.

angelsky,

Wedding can attend lah but as for your friend who had just delivered, you might not be able to attend. I'm not sure whether it's bad for you or her but either way, I'm sure you won't want it. It all depends how "ban tang" you are lor.

i've got another headache.

i told my galfren that i wanna visit her coz she just deliver, then she ask me if its okay, coz i expecting.

is it bad for her baby or is it bad for my baby? dilemma.

so wedding also cannot attend? i've got one end of the year. terrible.

So hard to post a msg, wonder if its the forum or my internet....

If any one touches ur tummy, just touch theirs back. They should get the msg. Hehe.

Angelsky,
I went to my friend's 1st month celebration and attended a wedding recently. Apparently, what i heard is that 1st mth celebration is bad for both, don't touch ur friend's baby and don't let ur friend touch ur you. For weddings, it's bad for ur own baby. Nevertheless, i had attended both as i'm not too superstitious. Best to consult ur friend or mother/MIL to see if its ok with them.

If any one touches ur tummy, just touch theirs back. They should get the msg. Hehe.

Angelsky,
I went to my friend's 1st month celebration and attended a wedding recently. Apparently, what i heard is that 1st mth celebration is bad for both, don't touch ur friend's baby and don't let ur friend touch ur you. For weddings, it's bad for ur own baby. Nevertheless, i had attended both as i'm not too superstitious. Best to consult ur friend or mother/MIL to see if its ok with them.

Angelsky,

seems like something is wrong with the forum. I keep seeing double posts...

goldenpig, indeed a big sacrifice on your part for your baby..hehe...ok..hope u don't get too heavy that it becomes even more difficult for u...

today me stomach like not tt good..appetite so so..think the gas thing came back or something...

Luvv and Fern,
Yeap.. SQ allows up to 35 weeks and other airlines at 32 weeks. I was hoping that my japanese gynae can give some guidelines too but think my japanese gynae cant give much advise.. unless i go to the more expensive one again. so sian.. Already stressing to hb abt the deadline, hope something can be done soon.

Fishia,
Name for 2nd one? Ren Xiang suddenly come to my mind. :p

Steph,
Thanks for sending me the photos, really an interesting sight. :D

angelsky,
I am feeling lots of tension at the tummy these few days.. that includes cramps on the left of my tummy which makes me cant sleep last night.. Then when I suddenly get up, i feel so heavy at the bottom tummy.

During detailed scan, the doctor also tell me, the placenta is high, but when hb ask doc where is bb head. Doc show him at my belly botton there.

Wedding can attend, I would be attend 2 at year end but maybe some pantang ones would not attend bb full mth.. must see the party comfortable or not. Some preggy would prefer not to do hospital visit to new born, dun carry the new born.. dun go into the new born room.. so just go visit at the friend house only.

wow i saw the pic i think my tummy like too small or bb too small..abit worried..im suppose to be abt 23 to 24weeks and bb only weigh 500g..my tummy also not big den every morning take bus also no one give seat just look at me...

yup, i've got problem posting my entries, pardon me for all the many repeated entries.

i going to try the place recommended at forum tomo
for the pre natal yoga class.

icy, i am actually a side sleeper, so sometimes i think maybe i am squashing the baby, coz sometimes when i wake up, my stomach is about 1/4 on the bed. kekeke. yup, the tension sometimes can get quite heavy and gives me a very bloated, wanna pee sensation. my galfren bleed in her 5th month coz placenta too low. but everytime i ask my doc, he ask me to relax, nothing will happen, enjoy enjoy. makes me feel i am getting paranoid for nothing.

in the end, i was thinking although i would really wanna go visit her, but i am not ban dang, but i dont wish anything to happen and then we start to point fingers, so i guess better to avoid, be safe than sorrie ba. wedding dinner i will attend la, coz by then almost time to deliver, just that my galfren was asking if i can actually managed to attend coz i would be walking like a duck, looking like fat mama. kekeke. but on the other hand, i have got a galfren that actually drove till a few days before she deliver. :p

i made an observation recently, especially when my stomach is getting more obvious. that men in general are more observant and sympathetic when they see u are pregnant. they will make it a point to let you go first, or walk around you etc. whereas, most of the time, women will give you the "duh" look.

funny that we are all due in january, but some already approaching 6th month, some mid of 5th mid, some into their 5th month.

Wow the thread going very fast....

Ladies, I realised my tummy like very big in comparison lehz but think my baby not very big. At 20 weeks only 305g.

Shooting star and valencia, I like those brands too but now can only look but not buy. New flat coming and with no.2 really have to watch the pocket. Haha....contemplating to stay at home too....

Steph, thanks for the pics....

Hi MTBs,

Re: People touching our bumps
There is this guy friend of mine who keeps touching my bump and guessed what? He told me today he won 4D! And he said it's bec of touching of my belly. Was discussing this with a colleague and she told me some people touch pregnant women's tummy for luck!!! I almost couldn't believe it. Though not superstitious by nature but feel weird everything people want to touch my tummy. My hubby also gets irritated with people who touches without asking.

Anyone heard anything about such things? Hubby's getting paranoid that baby's luck will be taken away by all these touches.

violetice/shooting star,
my SIL just sms me. She's in Paris now.. hee. very tempting..

QQ/icy,
Thanks for the suggestions... will keep that in mind...

anymore coming in? it's so difficult to get something nice isn't it.. I told my hubby might as well call something else and forget abt the character "ren" but he doesn't want wor...

fishia,

Paris ar, well then your LV bag is calling you.

You want to start with Ren, is it? Want me to browse my Chinese name book for you?

Re: people touching my tummies
So far, only 1 female colleague touched my tummy. I think she is just very excited =) So anyway, since she is the only one I encountered who touched my tummy, I am fine.

Re: Being pregnant and go to weddings
I think the best is to consult the wedding couple. I think most won't mind, but some might. Recently, when I went to visit my relative who just gave birth. I was told that if I were to carry her baby, her baby will cry and become difficult to look after that night. First time I heard of such stuff.

Anyway, my other friends told me that since I am pregnant, I shouldn't carry other babies. This is because as a mum-to-be, I have yet to carry my own baby. So in a way, I shouldn't carry other babies before I hold mine. Or else my baby will become jealous.

A lot of sayings going round, also don't know who to believe *scratch head*

Hi Fern,

Regarding the x-rays or metal detector at the airport. Here is the answer from baby centre:

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/travel/airportscreeningexpert/

In airports, passengers walk through metal detectors, which use a low-frequency electromagnetic field to look for metal objects. Anything that generates or uses electricity, such as power lines and household appliances, produces electromagnetic fields. At the low levels of a metal detector, this exposure is considered safe for everyone, including pregnant women. (The same holds true for the wands that are sometimes passed over individual passengers.)

Many people mistakenly think these screening machines take X-rays -- they don't. Airport X-ray machines, which emit the same kind of radiation you'd get from a dental X-ray, are used only on luggage.

Don't worry ok =)

Btw Fern, I got the confirmation schedule from Parentcraft. Cya u and your hubby on 6 Oct! =) I am soo looking forward to attending the class with my hubby. Will update u what I will be wearing on that day so that we can recognise each other =)

violetice,
looking at LV site now... haha! but my hb dowan to subsidise leh...

For the name, if you free lah.. I lent my chinese name book to a friend but never get it back...

Hi VioletIce
Wow you have settled with the name Ian ! Gd gd... I have not decided on mine yet :p

Yes I have heard ppl saying that when ppl touch your tummy they are taking your bb's luck away. But how true it is I duno liao. Old wives's tale ?

Anyway I dun like ppl to touch my tummy also ! But ppl hand juz come over and I'm too slow to react but wat to do ? I cant shout at my colleagues rite ? I'll pretend to change topic or get up or move away lor...

re : weddings
I'm attending a wedding this mth end leh. shd be ok ba ? never hear before that preggies cannot attend wedding leh. I hv seen preggies at wedding dinners too !

fishia,

Ren can be used with:

Ren2 Li3
Ren2 Jia1
Ren2 Guan1
Ren2 Jie2
Ren2 Jun4
Ren2 Zhong1
Ren2 Xin1
Ren2 An1
Ren2 Qi2
Ren2 Sheng4
Ren2 Yu2
Ren2 Zhi1

Chaye,
I'm also a bit blur sometimes and don't know how to react when colleagues or friends just touch my tummy like that. Not sure how true the old wives' tale are but like you, I feel weird and kinda like invading into my personal space when people touched without even bothering to ask for permission.

Re: Weddings
I have also seen pregnant ladies attending wedding but then again, I have a couple who told another couple not to attend their wedding as their mother/mil are ban dang so my pregnant friend didn't go lor.. quite bad hor?