(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

re: red dates tea
golden pig, drink now? i scared heaty lor. think drink water best.

re: full mth celebration
ya, some caterers have fixed menu for festive season. wow seems got to pay extra like that.

re: bakery for full mth
tks icy. the one i tried is choz and sweetest moments. well, can also consider different things eg. cupcakes. hee...

Trying to catch up reading so many many MANY posts. Wow.

I happened to see a book from Popular that is good for MTBs if you're keen to nourish (bu) our health. It's billigual.

Title: Before, During & After Pregnancy
Retail Price $12.90
Popular Member: Additional 10% discount.

It has a lot of information on what tonics, soups, dishes, drinks for MTBs like us at different trimester or even during confinement. Not a bad book I think. My mum loved it as it gives her more idea what to cook for me now. *pengz*

Recipe from book: PORK TROTTERS IN SWEET VINEGAR WITH DRIED FISH MAW & EGGS

Ingredients:
100 g dried fish maw
600 g ginger
1 kg pork trotters
1 litre sweet vinegar
6 eggs

Method:

1) Soak the dried fish maw in boiling water. Cover the lid. Leave it until completely soft. Cut into pieces.

2) Poach the eggs in boiling water until hard-boiled. Shell them and set aside. Cut the pork trotters into pieces. Rinse and scald them.

3) Peel the ginger. Crush with the flat of a knife. Heat some oil and stir fry the ginger briefly.

4) Put all ingredients into a claypot. Simmer over low heat until the pork trotters are tender. Serve.

Note: Dried fish maw contains much collagen which prevents the skin from sagging and defers the appearance of lines. It is also low in cholesterol, making it a great choice for those weight conscious or with high blood fat level.

Hi Steph77,
ya...something like moving gently from left to right...
maybe i shouted too loudly to my hubby and scared the baby so he/she moves to other side..and just in time..my hubby touch my tummy...hahaha

Re:Full mth celebration
We are intended to ask for buffet catering to our house...mayb the price will be ex for "chu yi" n "chu er" ba...the rest of the days..most ppl already working liao...

Hello Mummies-to-be

Sorry for intruding.

Just want to share with you, if you are looking for any good Confinement Lady, I can recommend mine to you.

This aunty (Mdm Low) is from Kuantan, Malaysia and she charge me $1800.

She cooks very well and look after me and my baby gal very well too.

Kindly pm me and I will forward her details to you as I dont always log into this thread.

Best regards

hi mei...the thread is soooo long, i cant seem to find the list of things to buy for first time mummies leh...

ladies, i bought a baby cot, baby stroller, breast pump and bottles and steriliser from the Taka baby fair...think these are basics rite? Since i', moving to HK soon...wondering if i shd get another stroller...any recommendations for a lightweight one that is good?

Also...would love to try the Rustic Nirvana pre natal massage...they charging $700 for 10 sessions...anyone has tried them before? How about their post natal masssage? Are they good and similar to the traditional malay massage wiith jamu and wraps? Has any moms here used 2 Malay massage package before?

Hi, everyone. Went to see my gynae again today. First thing she said when she saw me was "What's wrong?" She thought something must be wrong cos I'm seeing her ahead of schedule. My detailed scan is 12 Sept. Hee. Actually, I just wanted to see BB again faster and hopefully know the gender. Anyway, BB was very guai and open legs today but umblical cord was in the way. The gynae kept jiggling the probe to try to shift the cord and BB's hands and legs were moving furiously. Gynae said she can't confirm yet because of the blocked view but she's guessing it may be a girl. Can only be sure during detailed scan I guess.

I bought Anumm mik power. choocolate flavour.. hope its good buy and good for baby and me.. FIrst time trying it. Hope its good.

Anyone bouught same powder?

Fern

Kitsune,

Hope you be able to confirm baby gender soon. ME too gtg for detailed scan.. Really looking forward tp see baby and the gender real soon.

Cheer up!
Fern

kitsune

actually me too, called my gynae's office and ask for an appt to scan for gender again...cos i'm going to tokyo soon and would really love to buy some gender specific baby stuffs...cant wait till 3sept for my detailed scan...hee...think my gynae must be thinking im super kiasu lo...kekeke

Icy...ru around? Can u advise where in tokyo got sell nice baby stuffs/clothes??

Hi Fern
I've been drinking Anmum milk powder. Juz finished a tin of original now taking choc flavour. I think the choc flavour taste better ! when is your detail scan ?

Re:fullmonth celebration
Wah it did not occur to me tat our bb full mth is ard CNY leh. Thks Mei for brining it up. ! Do u think the caterers will work during CNY ? some closed a week during CNY leh.

morning all,

it's a rainy day- so nice to sleep in!

Fern, i bought the same powder too. Sometimes I take alternate days coz I don't really like the milk powder taste. I am only taking it for the sake of my baby.

hi!

mylife: i went tokyo early July wen i'm abt 2mths plus pregnant.. e baby clothing is super "kawaii" there but also super exp.. hahaha!
Icy is there, maybe she can recommend some places to buy baby clothing..

i bought a maternity skirt aft their 50% discount is abt Sin$130. i like it v much so i bought wif no regret..

Placenta: do u ladies keep e placenta? cook or make it into pills?

Chaye,
I am gtg for my detailed scan 29th of this month. Just tried anumm milk poweder the chocolate one.. quite nice, not that bad and i like it. haha. Hope baby enjoys it too.
Re: full month, I dun think I wana have a very big affair. Guess just get some cakes for relatives and perhaps a small celeb at home with them no need cater lah, just get my grandma, mil and maid to cook simple dishes as during CNY period.. evrything will be costly... Bbay will be too young to know too. haha

Luvv, Pm you regarding your msn add. do give it to me so me can add you in

Lynn,
Huh, you intend to keep placenta and eat it? Sound gross lei.. haha.. heh? care to share more if thats really good meh??

Keep placenta? OMG!!! The thought of it is really yucky. The look of it is like a BIG BIG BIG piece of liver. RED & bloody. Actually, I think should let hb know how it look like so, is mentally prepared. My hb's friend told hb before I delivered my #1. His friend wasnt prepared at all and got a shock of his life. He said all the blood and all wasnt scary but the sight of the placenta.

lynn...so where did u go in tokyo to see those super kawaii baby clothes? Me will be there only 4-5 days. Must zoomed in certain areaas. That's why super kiasu going to see gynae again tom to determine my baby's gender. She oredi said 65% a girl but must confirm ma...so i can buy the super kawaii baby girl clothes!!! kekekeke...

This morning woke up with ribs pain...extremely uncomfortable..anyone of u experienced the same thing...breathing also makes it painful...ouch.

p/s where to get maternity clothes??

do a google search for "keep placenta" and the info is all there. pls self service..

mylife
i like to buy fr overseas sites, cheaper ley

Any of you signed up for Antenatal class with Mrs WOng at TMC for weekend Sat classes? I have already done so. Hope it will be a good one

All- THose of you who who like me to add them to msn. please let me have your email to add it in. thx

All- Can I check with you, me need to put up some shelves in storeroom which means might need nailing, screwing then. Heard its not advisable during preganacy. Is it ok and safe if I go out during the period when the nailing is taking place. Advise please?

Re Placenta, I feel gross lah.. Might just throw it away or at the very least just keep it in a nice box.... haha
Fern

good morning ladies,

what a nice weather.

Fern - You've got mail! I'm taking Anmum also, but not very diligently.

mei - my gynae is Dr Ang Huai Yan now and i'll be delivering at Mt Alvernia and this is my 1st baby. Thks!

Fern & anyone wanna add me on MSN: [email protected]

Re: Placenta
934299.jpg

934300.jpg

Placentophagy has met with some controversy in the medical field and even the Food and Drug Administration. Maggie Blott, of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, said: Animals eat their placenta to get nutrition, but when people are already well-nourished, there is no benefit. There is no reason to do it.

Anyway, i don't think i will keep the placenta & i dun think gynae will show it to us during delivery.

full month's celebration - i think there're still caterers around during CNY, got to pay surcharge for that i suppose. My MIL said that can do early celebrations before CNY so that baby can celebrate CNY too. As for cakes, i think i'll give vouchers instead, easier for us and guests. By the way, only need to give relatives cakes right? Do we need to give friends or colleagues?

Placenta - heard it's very good for skin but i don't think i'll dare to take it, so disgusting :p

mylife,

i got my maternity clothes from Perfect Mum, Spring Maternity, not bad, quite like their designs.

steph77,

where did you get the pic? Sorry, no offence to anyone but I'm quite grossed out by the picture! I don't think I will keep the placenta.

Steph,

Ya men, me wun keep placenta too.. Feel like throwing up by looking at the pic men.. Argz.. totally very the gross lei... haz
so yucky...
no offence too, just my personal views

hi Luvv,
i kpo...why did u change gynae? Dr Adrian not gd enuff?

Fern,
i already sign up for Mrs Wong classes on Sat starting on 6Oct (7-9pm). Same timing as mine?

jennifer,
the pic from google search!

Hi Steph77
HAHA u freak us out by producing tat pix ! Anyway I din get to c my placenta when I had my 1st so I din keep it and I think I wont wanna keep it either ! :p

Yahor Luvv
I'm also wif doc Adrian leh. y change ah ?

Golden pig
which site do u order your maternity clothes from ?

Anyone knows of any good insurance packages that we should get to help pay in our delivery and hospitilisation huh? Heard something like that before that can help saves $. ANyone know abtt this? It must be applicable to deliver at TMC.

Golden Pig,

Yah me looking for cheap maternity clthoes too as running out of some nw. ANy cheap ones around?
how abtt online websites that sells them?
Fern

chaye,

Dr Adrian is good as far as professionalism concern, but we are not comfortable with him, so decided to change. I changed at exactly 12 weeks, do signed up package directly with Dr Ang on my 1st visit.

Anyone knows for baby liquid detergent for both washing clothes and baby's bottles, toys etc. Is Pigeon brand better or Kodomo better? Just for my knowledge.

Fern

Can I check if its safe to engage in intercourse during pregnancy?

Though my gyne gives the clear signal. Me kinda of afraid its not very good for baby and moreover I dun have the urge these days like I normally do. Lower drive I guess and also some pain.. Argz. Kinda of discouraged with this as I wasnt like that before.

Is this normal that you pple go through too?
Just some personal tots?

QQ,
u mean what kind of Johnson and johnson lotion for rashes?

Lyn,
Does it remove the rashes? I still have the dried patches, after applying the anti-stretchmark cream.

mei,
cute cupcakes, but din see the pricing. :D Seemed like more for wedding cakes leh.

mylife,
When are you coming to Tokyo? I only know website like nissen.co.jp that sells really cheap and nice bb clothes (but all in japanese which I dun understand a single thing at all).. and of course the major shopping centres.. I was thinking to ask my agent here after my detailed scan. Anyway I am emailing her today, hopefully she reply soon.

Fern,
I had been drinking anmum for quite some time, but i drink the original one.. cos i scare chocolate might be more fatty and heaty. :p