(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

QQ, i choose Andrea

to those who are interested in the non-wired tube bra, i bght mine from maternity house at vivocity, it comes with back clasps so its adjustable and can be use as a nursing bra too. cant remember exactly how much i paid, its either $16.90 or $17.90, they only left with blk col and comes with a removable pad.

mei...nope, have not tried....but have booked Clarins next month cos i jus went for my regular facials at Clarins today. As for Rustic, i am not sure, asked for some comments in other threads but no one reponded. I am tempted to try the services of Ndya too...so far, got good reviews on her post-natal and i have booked her for my confinement time too...maybe aft i tried her prenatal, will post here.
But first gotta go buy those floor mattress 1st cos she said wudnt wan to dirty the bed.

Me too wearing underwired leh...anything wrong with that? Frankly, being a 1st time mom-to-be..i dun really know wat or where to buy for my undies, ie, when to wear maternity bra, necessary to wear preggie undies, etc....sounds very stupid hor...any moms care to share? Me still wearing my usual "before preggie" panties. Sometimes also worried if it's "unhealthy" for my baby as it grows bigger...hehe

p/s : i also choose andrea.

You guys really chat very fast.. Seems to be behind men!

Re discharge- I have it more at 1st trimester but at second trimester not much liao.

Re bra a and undies, I wear strapless wired still. And bought normal non wired kind. DUn think I really need one from maternity shop rite? as long as not too tight can liao? Undies I wear normal kinds since most of mine are low waist kind anyway.

Re Names, Havent tot of any yet. Waiting for baby's gender first.. Hehe

am going for my "extra requested" ultrasound tom evening...so excited to know the gender....hopefully this time baby will cooperate and let mommy know so i can buy nice kawaii clothes!! :D

Anyone wanna get anything from Tokyo??

Any on you planning to take up insurance for baby? ie: education policy and sickness policy? Any good recommened ones?

Ladies, Please recommend if any?

Hi, Qingqing. I like Avril very much but found out that it meant April in French and my BB's not born in April so in the end, changed my mind. I like Alethea, sounds greek. But not sure how to pronounce it too. haha.

chaye, fern
i order from whichever there's an ongoing overseas spree that i manage to catch
so far i hv from motherhood.com, gap.com and oldnavy.com. 2 babydoll tops fr Vic Secrets too, but can't last me for 9 months. My tummy is HUGE, even gynae commented. So far 5m preg, gained 3kg. Hope dun gain too much overall.

re: sex
for me, same frequency b4 & during preg. No problems whatsoever. Fern, why do u think it's not good for baby? Baby protected by waterbag and cervix is closed. Husband's tool won't break the cervix la. At least my husband's won't. haha.

babe
2 ISIS like that use lor.. cuts my pumping time by half ley. I v paiseh to pump 3 times a day in offc liao, can't be taking my own sweet time to do it.
If the rubber parts still clear, i just sterilise and use. Like i said b4, once i become mother liao, close 1 eye, close 2 eyes... can la.

hammies
no smell during delivery.. but maybe u shld ask the gynae & midwives. Maybe dat's why they wear masks. hahahaha. 1 mummy who went for c sect said she smelled burning smell coz they used laser to cut her up. But the video clip i saw was using scalpel. Anyone keen to watch C section video clip vs natural labour?

re: tight bras
can use buy bra extensions.

re: names
Alethea = a-lee-thee-ya
i'm like jennifer aniston, i prefer old fashioned common names, like George & David. So i'm voting for Andrea.
Sorry i dun like Charlene nor Ray...XX?? no votes fr me.

re: detailed scan @ TMC
the whole place kena renovated la.. now look so posh. such a HUGE DIFFERENCE from 2 yrs ago. But the room i used also dun hv overhead monitor. So same thing, after the radiographer did all the measurements & checking, she gave me a quick overview. Coincidentally, she was the same person who did the detailed scan for my #1.
Cost = approx $100. Moms who are FBI/ SBI members get 10% off... u know hor.

Golden Pig,

Re Sex:
haha... I know lah.. can lah actually. Me just taking precaution. Well, it all depends on individual. Second trimester is infact the safest and best period.. Just depends on how individuals look at it. Only should not do during 1st and third trimesters- even gyne agrees... Its just a precaution. FOr me, just feeling tired and lazy.. haha... but still can do lah...

Re: Bra- Yup good idea getting bra extention.. I also got a few of those.

Re: Facial.
Is it safe to do facial during this period huh? Just a tot. Also, is it ok to use sun screen lotion for face now. Any recommened brands to use during pregnancy?

Re: TMC detailed scan.
Wow that sound good... Hope delivery suite would be equally poshand nice for those delivering there but as for me am not doing my scan there. lol..

Hi Fern,

I went for facial last week with hubby. They advised against anything in relation to machine but simple things like normal facial with natural products for mask is fine. Have checked with gynae too.

Morning, ladies.

Can I check any ladies done scan at Cameden Medical Centre when you are around 20~24wks? Can share the details of scan? Because I am scheduled by my gynae to go there for a scan on end of Sep.

shucks my nose getting larger.
sianzzzzzzz
like that where got mood to take preg nude shots
maybe just take my body and omit my face, or take my back view...

I'm new here but also due in Jan 2008.
18 weeks now and going for detailed scan at TMC next week. My gynae, A L Lim, told me it's 90% a boy since I was 12 weeks...so will confirm that next week at the scan. Me and hubby actually hoping for a little girl for our no. 1 but slim chance that boy will turn into girl right...haha!

Re: Sex
Hubby very conscious leh...we tried once in 1st trimester but both felt so uncomfortable...haha! hubby is now happy to stay "vegetarian" until birth...

Re: Bra
Thanks for all the advice...will visit spring this weekend to get myself some new bras.

Re: Names
My vote goes for Charlene and Andrea. I oso like good old fashion names that are not too weird. Girl names seems so much more intersting than boy names hor! I also thinking alot about a name for my boy.

morning all ... violetice alethea is 3 syllables like what golden pig pronounce .....

kitsune so u cast ur vote to alethea? heehee i have 3 votes for Andrea 1 vote for avril no vote for alethea yet wor hehehe

re: er-lee-thee-ya
qq, there's a possibility that people would hv difficulty pronouncing alethea.. so her whole life she gotto live with mispronounced name, or keep correcting people. Worse still, when she grows up, she'll change her name thru deed poll.

golden pig hmmmm ..... ok leh quite easy to pronouce leh Ale thea hmmm if only can add voice clip heehee u all will kw how to pronouce liao kekekeke

Morning all Mummies!!!

Ya..the thread is moving very fast..I cannot catch up with you gals...

Re: Bras
I also feel uncomfortable and breathless with underwired bras...during my first tri, i buy 2 pcs of nursing bras from OIO which cost about $55++ each. Feel silly at that time to buy so exp...

Re:Names
QQ, I choose Andrea.

Kitsune, I prefer Raeanne

golden pig kekeke true oso .... hmmmm think gotta choose somemore ekekeke .... name for boy already confirm hahaha

good morning ladies,

wah the thread is moving very fast.

Re: names

My vote goes to Andrea and Charlene

Re: wired bras,

i'm still wearing wired ones, now don't know what size to buy for nursing or non-wired ones, do dare not buy but guess got to buy soon, i'm using bra extension but now it's at the last one already.

Re: discharge

i have more discharge this trimester comparing to 1st trimester.

QQ, my EDD is 20 Jan 08. I'm curious what name have you chosen for boy???

Initially, we wanted to name our boy Jamie (inspired by the british chef Jamie Oliver) but realised most people still think it's a girl's name! It's actually a unisex name which is very commonly used for boys in UK but over here seems like only girls are using this name...sigh! so i decided against using it becos i don't want my boy to get teased in school.

now i comtemplating between Ethan and Brien...any comments???

golden pig, im also looking for boys names. Coz mine 90% is a boy but will confirm upon detailed scan in sept.

welcome yvonne!

steph
so cute hor the clothes
the other time i bought so many pcs for my #1, then realised too much liao, coz he's at home most of the time and dun need to wear so nice. Home clothings are thin singlets & he goes bottomless coz wearing diaper. End up many pcs i bought wear less than 5 times then outgrow liao.

<font color="ff6000">hi Yvonne,
our EDD very close leh, mine is 23Jan. Is this your first child? One of my colleague's baby named oso Ethan. I will vote for Brien although i dunno what it means. Any special meaning behind this name?</font>

yeah goldenpig,
i liked the rompers, so cute & every pcs looks lovely. Really tempted to buy some but like what u say...baby outgrow them very soon.

Hi Steph, 1st baby for us.
Exactly, i came across so many babies named Ethan over the past few months. And Luvv, that sentance you said really helped me made up my mind NOT to use Ethan...haha.
Maybe I will settle for Brien..it means strong and noble. Whereas Ethan means firm and strong.

i vote for Ethan ..... Ethan pronouce with the TH so dun really sound like eaten ....

Yvonne ur is abt the same as mine each visit edd will change one .... 1st mine is 22d then change 20th then now 18-22jan

yvonne i have a frd called jamie too oso a guy... hehe maybe just that ppl here not use to it bah ....

the rompers so cute leh ....

Hi everyone, I am new here. I had posted some stuff earlier but it didn't show up. Perhaps it was too long.

Re: mylife moving to HK
I was staying in HK from Oct 05-Oct06 as my husband received a posting there.
I had visited 2 hospitals which were near my place, Canossa Hospital (Caritas) on No. 1 Old Peak Road, and Hong Kong Sanatorium & Hospital (Happy Valley), on 1B Lower Albert Road.
Although they were emergency or out-patient visits, I was delighted to have quick service, English-speaking doctors and efficient nurses. I went to these hospitals as they were near my place in Mid-Levels on HK island, and that they were pretty reputable hospitals.

You can pick up free magazines from places like Starbucks while you are there to find out activities and services available there. I usually pick mine up at my condo since they deliver there too. They are usually catered to English-speaking expatriates' needs.
Before you move to HK, you can also check out webpages like:

www.hongkong.asiaxpat.com
www.geoexpat.com

There are informtion and forums addressing pregnancy and baby needs in HK.

Re: Bras extensions
Pre-pregnancy, I buy ERO bras since they have bras with less padding than established brands like Triumph. I recently found out that they also sell bra-extensions at $1 for 2 pcs as well. Since my bras and the extensions are from the same company, the widths of the extensions fit perfectly

FYI.

Re: Ethan or Brien
Luvv, thanks for reminding me about "Ethan, have you eaten" joke. My husband and I are contemplating Ethan if this little one turns out to be a boy. You know, Ethan is one of the top 3 most popular names in USA!

thanks for sharing the gd advice & answers to my queries on under-wired bras & discharge thing.
Re: Discharge
I've less discharge compare to 1st tri so that makes BD uncomfortable, dryer ma...i wonder can we use lubricant? will it be harmful to baby? paisey ask this type of question
kao_shy.gif

Re: Baby Names

Which one is nice?

For Girls:
Arielle
Trimelle
Ophelia
Reanne
Trishelle
Mandy
Enya
Megan
Sarah
Amelia
Kaitlyn - i like this

For Boys:
Kaizer
Jovial
Javier
Zayhan
Athan
Darius
Serbio
Jake
Emmanuel
Amadeus
Hanson
Sean
Keithston - i like this

hey QQ, i was oso looking at Aiden or Eden previously...good choice!

My EDD was originally 27 Jan, then 18 Jan and finally 20 Jan. It has been more or less the same ever since.

Anyone going to TMC for childbirth class? I'm starting on 2 Sep for the 10am class on Sundays. Anyone in the same class as me?