(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Yvonne,
Take care and hope you are feeling better today. What did you eat? What's the suspected food?

You can try not to turn on the TV in the morning. Or can slowly cut down. He should be able to do a lot of things independently now, so not necessarily need TV to occupy him when you are doing chores. Try it.

mcfluffy,
No need to feel guilty lah. When it's out of your control, you really can't do much woh. I am grateful that my parents are very supportive of me. When they are around, they also can't watch tv until the kids go to bed. My dad is always standing by the TV, once we go in to the bedroom, tv is on the next second, kekeke. But that's because they don't stay here long term lah. If it's long term, then they may not able to tolerate, giving that they watch a lot of tv at home.

Probably the nasi lemak I had for lunch cos we had the same dinner but i'm the only one down with food poisoning. Just sent B to school and I broke out in cold sweat again on the way home...whole body feel so weak.

Kam,
Hubby needs to watch the news in the morning before going off to work and B doesn't like to do/play independently so letting him watch TV is the best way to free ourselves to read the papers, etc. It's easy way out for us lah. Actually B even needs us to accompany him when watching TV cos he needs to talk while watching the shows. But nowadays he can watch quietly on his own most of the time. If I totally cut off TV for him, he will be bugging me for the whole day to play with him. I don't have much patience in this area so I rather buy myself some time by turning on the TV....bad mummy!

Yvonne,
he's the only child at home right? Naturally he will be bugging you to play with him. Celeste is also like that!

And it's better to watch tv with him than let him watch alone so that you can discuss whatever that is going on with him, rather than let him learn all the wrong things.

Kam,
Aiyah.. wish my hubby more supportive too. Always tell him to do the "right" things but he just don't listen. Grrrrr... Serve me right for liking "bad boys". :p

i realised nowadays x1 not keen in tv. only some specific shows...
so we switch on eg 15-30mins of tv in the morning, and another 30mins in late afternoon. at night, see his mood de leh
i try to limit max 2hrs a day during weekends

weekdays he dun watch much tv, max 1 hr

but to me alot liao

got my iphone 4s today and realised my 3gs is using the big sim card. and i tot mine sim card is the small one!!! now in the end cannot switch over ....stupid me

yvonne
get well soon!

Most likely not going to move this month liao, should be mid to end Dec bah. Our seller can only vacant the house on the 24th nov at the earliest, and our buyer requested us to vacant our house by 27th nov at the latest (so to have enough time for their reno). I said no. Siao ah, 3 days how to complete painting, cleaning and moving, unpacking??? Think their request too over liao, so I said sorry them, cannot help them, they have to think of alternative way.

Mcfluffy,
Only 1 exception for my hub, ie, soccer match :) others he can don't watch. I am like you, can survive without tv.

Pixie,
Wah, u fast huh, get your new phone already. I am still thinking which phone to get - 4s or galaxy. Any feedback?

HR loves tv. He watches any programs. But since we have unplugged him, he is happy to do other stuff and only asks for tv like once every 2 weeks or longer.

Pixie,

u can get the sim card cut and pay a cheaper price compared to changing it to a micro sim.

Kam,
My hubby is using th Glaxay S2. The color is bright and the phone is light. Most apps are free. better camera. not sure abt the specs for 4S except the voice control function. but downside on the galaxy is that you need to charge very often, mostly everyday. the big bright screen drains battery life faster. esp if u are on 3G most of the time. the white galaxy is nice nice. my cousin just got one.

My baby's head was down when I was at week 28 but now she turn up again at week 30. hopefully she turn back down soon if not I might need to go c-sect. talking to bb now to ask her to guai guai turn down. advised to sleep on side, I practice the head down, hip up posture but feel giddy after a short while, dun know shld I continue doing it. the other option is to crawl which i havent try.

Verene I remembered my boy only turned his head down in 30 plus week or later. Yours still have lots of time to engage dun worry. Go for natural if possible!

mcfluffy,
I always watch okto with him in the mornings...more like I'm using the laptop beside him while he watches tv...haha...but at least I know what he's picking up. Cutting off tv in our house is no possible lah...we're all tv addicts!

Btw, a little off-topic here...just to share that my neighbour's grandson just went for his P1 assessment and "failed" quite badly. His teachers has asked his parents to send him for some enrichment/P1 preparatory classes during the school holidays before he starts P1 next year. Basically, he still can't read sentances. His mother is a primary school teacher but they don't send him for any enrichment classes. Not sure if all schools have assessment or only SAP schools?? But somehow it seems we can't be so bochap, our kids will have to be able to read sentances at least when they go to P1.

wah, today my maid request to turn on radio when she do housewrk or lok after bb when i go back to wrk, shld i allow her?
i tink she v 'free' at home, nothin muc to do

hi all mommies !

Iphone4S
my colleague bot this and complaining that the battery drain off very fast. 100% in the morning left 60% by noon w/o using it. And no apps running.

Condo
There's this new Condo call Centro at amk mrt. and OMG it's exorbitant ! 30th flr with 112sqm is selling at 1.93mil ! come on, just next to this new dev is an old point block. Those ppl who stay in tat point block got the same view as you the condo owner lor but just paid a qtr of what you are paying, exclude the facilities la :p Ridiculously priced leh

Yvonne
what sch is your neighbour's grandson going ? SAP sch or neighbourhood sch ? My #1 didnt sit any P1 assessment when she entered P1 leh. It's a neighbourhood sch though. My friend's daughter who studying in Unity Pri has got assessment but it's simple 100 words that need to be read to the teacher tat's all. No sentences. With that assessment, the sch place the student into different classes.

Aqua
Listen to radio is fine la. My maid will turn on the radio daily lor. When I call home she will turn off the vol when talking to me de. I can see from my cctv. Let her on la if not she will be so boring.

chaye, how muc is it to install cctv? i am quite afraid of leaving my bb w maid alone when i go back to work, nobody supervise maid n as u know, i am firs time employing maid. recently, she managed she wan her hp bac too, juz to see her son pics, read sms, blahblah...

realli, getting a maid is like having another pax for me to lok after n monitor!

any mummies here going to send our kids to phonics class? any gd recommendations? i tot of sendin my G next yr. 4 yr old liao, i wan her learn something eh...

hello ladies,

aqua,
a maid is really like another person to manage, imagine mine coming to 2 years and i've still got to constantly monitor and manage her.I think install cctv very important if you are going to leave her alone with baby.

My elder girl is attending Zoophonics daily, so far she's learning well. Your girl not attending any class at the moment?

chaye,
It's Holy Innocents. I'm not sure what was tested but the comment was that he couldn't read sentances. I remember my niece's P1 assessment also required her to read sentances, not just words. She's in St Nicholas.

Aqua,
B's kindy offer English & chinese speech & drama enrichment classes for N2. I thought of signing B for the classes but it clashes with his nap time cos it's after school hours. So we might hold back until K1 otherwise we'll have to change his sleep routine which is difficult cos he refuses to sleep earlier at night.

aqua
I bot the cctv from sim lim for $350 and register it online. It's FOC cos there's a couple of website you can register to watch the cctv online at your convenience.

T's cc comes with phonics & speech & drama (with a fee) so I didnt send him to any other enrichment.

Yvonne
Oh I cannot compare lor cos my #1 in this neighbourhood sch standard not v high de.

mcfluffy,
Should be alright, no complains from her or my sis
But very difficult to get in though, they had to ballot in Phase 2B for those living within 1 km.

hey ladies
I'm planning our 4D3N to HK. Tot of going to The Peak. Has anyone been to The Peak? Is it worth going ? I even thought of going to Macau for a day trip. Has anyone been to Macau ? What's there to c and eat there huh? Any information appreciated.

Yvonne,
Super hot sch.. But I'm alma mater, so shd not be a problem for Celeste to get in. Just don't know if teachers there are really good or not. Heard mixed reviews...

wah mummies, im still working now. later 1030 got conference call with UK colleagues, sianz to the max

aqua
my son went for zoophonics via GUG last time, then after few lessons he got the drift, i started on leapfrog and he learnt from there. phonics imho quite ez to learn

chaye
i oso going hkg 4d3n, when u going ah?

Good morning. Can't wait for the long weekend.

Aqua,
So sorry, my current maid can't find the charger. I will need to search in detail this weekend. Hopefully I cam find sometime. It's seems that my weekend are always full of activities and busier than weekdays.
Re handphone, I allow my maid to use her hp at night after she finishes her work. She will pass me the phone when she wakes up and get it back at nite. So far, she never request for radio while working.

Re: p1 assessment
I heard of school conducting it. It's during the parent orientation. From what my friend told me, they are tested on reading. The 100 words are the basic sight words. My cousin went to a neighborhood school but they are tested too.

Re: phonics
I taught my gal the basic phonics. Sound of alphabets and blending skills. But I had problem when guiding her on sound of oo, oa etc. So I decided to send her to I Can Read to work on that. I bring her for the assessment in ICR and was told that she had the reading n blending skills of a 5 years old and can skip all level. She will b joining the last level which is called ICR and it's a one year course.

Re: tv
Personally I don't watch much TV. My hb only watches some movie at night when the kids are sleeping. We don't restrict the kids since tv is not on most of the time at home. But we do let them watch leapfrog DVD, some movies like ice age, chipmunks etc. I allowed my kids to bring their leapfrog DVD to share with their friends, so they get to watch it in school, instead of watching Mickey mouse clubhouse DVD in school.

Pixie,

I am intending to go to HK during my maternity leave in Feb next year too. with #1. You can try searching for 1 nite stay and 2-day pass disneyland tickets on zuji. The official disneyland website can also book but more exp...What airline u intend to take?

Chaye,
I have been to Macau in Apr. I stayed in the Venetian Hotel.. big rooms and the hotel very nice but all the food is exp there. So we walk outside to eat portuguese food. There are quite alot of catherals/churches for sight seeing. some famous temples, the Ruins of St's Paul. I din have time to move around too much cos only 1 nite there and I dont know if there are places for children to go. but there is a playground/activity area in the hotel for the kids that mayb works like Singkids. We went to Zhuhai for shopping and stayed there for 2 nites.

Pixie
I book thru Misa Travel the F&E package that includes air tix and 1 nite in Disney hotel and 2 nites Kowloon hotel. I paid $3,500 for 2A2C.

Verene
I'm not staying in Macau just wanna drop by to c look and eat. And managed to contact a fren who works in Venetian hotel. Hehe I guess he can advise me wat to do and eat there ! But he says to and fro Macau is very ex for family of 4

A couple of questions for you:

1. When you paid up your car loan, is there any procedure to be done?

Pixie,
For Disneyland hotel, I booked direct through their website. You may ask travel agent, or online booking see can get better rate or not, esp is they are running a promo.

2. For those who have iPAD, do you use it as your phone? Or you have a separate phone?

Chaye,
I also stayed at Kowloon Hotel at my recent HK trip. But so small... 2A1C squeeze in the small room + queen sized bed. :s

Kam,
Don't use iPad as phone. So bulky! More for surfing net

shannonbaby,
hehe.. feedback on ICR after your girl has attended some classes k?
I think important thing for children is not only for them to bark at print, but also comprehension. Read from Kiasuparents forum that sometimes such Learning to read programmes really only teach students the technicality of reading but no comprehension! Duh...

kam,
if i remember correctly when u pay up yr car loan, the bank will send u a letter and u can go and collect yr vehicle log card.
that's the main thing. cos currently the original vehicle log card is held by the bank. once u pay up, the car belongs to u and u get to keep yr log card.

ipad can use as phone meh? can make calls? i hv an ipad and a separate iphone. ipad more for surfing and playing certain apps. lexie gets educational apps on the ipad too.

Thanks Kam for the info for vitamin supplements.

Always forget that there's actually a lot of "goodness" in milk also... and must take everything in moderation.

mcfluffy,
thanks for the info. looks like a great play! Am aiming the Jack and the beanstalk actually, which starts last weekend.

aqua,
Not early redemption. Upon the completion of car loan.

good morning mummies..

kam,
i've sent you a list of books i am getting for your reference. did you receive it?
btw, for the vit C supplements. if i m not wrong, those kids vit C supplements in singapore are 100mg and recommended is 1 per day.
and the adult recomended chewable is 500mg/day. no?

Xiao Yun,
Thanks for sending me the list. Haven't got a chance to go through yet. I will try.

I don't know. I have never taken a single vit C tablet in my life. Those I wrote is based on google "children chewable vit c" in iHerb, and it says 250mg or 500mg in some bottles, most bottles didn't specify.

aqua,
Wanted to start. But no, not yet. Hope can start this week, slowly.

Kam, I used them as towel for kids after their daily "min wash". Other than the usual head to toe bath, they hv morning n nite wash at their private area. The soft n light nappy cloth will not take up too much of my daily laundry ;) If not, use it for spring cleaning since cny coming. Btw, my nappy cloth are not soil or yellowish one cos only use to wrap them when they are infant. I did not use them as traditional "diaper". What is your cloth condition?

My 'virgin' post using my iph4s, haha. While waiting for them to enter lala land, can multitask here. Nice to get connected easily;)

Haiz.. hate moving! Pack pack pack pack.. Throw throw throw throw! Sch is moving to another premise, need to pack so many things.

very quiet huh this thread now...

Question for mummies,

Preschools
i know some preschools / cc have quite an advanced curriculum, prob 1 year ahead of what a normal preschool is teaching. do you think it's necessary? And some schools teaches HYPN, some schools doesn't, is it crucial?

Luvv
I think schools teach HYPY in K2. Cos by P1, most kids should know liao. Some preschools more academically driven, see wat you prefer lor.

Mom2nat,
Like what you said..MAD WOMAN!!
kao_angry.gif

My #1 holidays kinda of started liao cos next week only has 2 days of lessons. Can go crazy cos the kids just like to talk loudly. Thankfully he has 3 days of enrichment in the afternoon from Dec onwards.
That will give everyone a breather as he would be out of the house for a few hours. Then next year, whole day in school followed by enrichment class in the afternoon. He would only be home around 4 or 5. That will allow the baby to sleep better. By then, I will probably switch to EBM instead of latching.

Out of curiosity, what baby bag were you carrying on that fateful day? :p

Blackbatz
It was my handbag being stolen!! From zara, all white. My baby bag is from Kipling.Hanging on the pram too. I dun use those branded kind cos quite dumb to let my maid carry tat! Lol. Tue I m gg to view the CCTV footage. But dun think I know the person. If dunno, then nothing mch the police can do, cos there was no physical harm done. It was my own negligence.

I wanted to pile my girl with enrichment, but din, cos I thiNk let her r&r at home. She is ok on her own, without #2 ard. Her hols started liao.
There is a language enrichment running 15 days in a row. So siong leh! Heard good, but too far for me. Prob I signing her up for gym class and some cc ones. Her mandarin quite bad, I oso dunno how to help.

Wat r ur kids names ah?