(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune,
If your HP photo paper is of A4 size then I think no issue, can print on Canon.. I think basically all photo paper should be the same.
Maybe you can ask the sales person at IT store and see what they say.

Mon2nat, take care of itself first. Mebe no choice get ur mum or mil help w ur kids?
Anyone has advise; my bb wan bf on demand every 1-2 hrs, I m so tired n hardly sleep. Each time she latch 10-15mins n refuse wakeup, hence I mus latch short interval, any solutions?
At this rate, I think I will break my bac v soon, today can feel backaches n my wound hurts

aqua,
my bb latched every 1-2hrs in the beginning too. it's normal.
but make sure u find a comfortable position to bf. prop pillows up n lean back so u can rest/relax too. when latching, unswaddle her so she's not too comrtable n go back to sleep easily.

slowly she will learn to drink more each time n lengthen the feeding interval. i latched at 2hrly interval round the clock for the first mth. after tat she latched 2hrly during the day and wake twice ar night

jia you!!

grumpus, seriously? every 2 hrs for a month? my back is breakin liao... my firs bb was so muc better, i tnk she is a better latcher and onli demand 2-3 hrs, unlikenow,bb feeds on demand every hour n i can hardly sleep. already gav 1 feed of FM las nite, tot it will las 4 hrs, who knows, she cried to be latched after 2 hrs though she drank 50ml FM.

SIGHS... btw, when can we start using pump to express? uss 3-4weekss rite?

janbb
i must sms her again. she stays in hmmmm west side, cck thereabouts i think. i used to deliver to her.

aqua, i agree with grumpus, my bb oso latch every 2 hrs...and shes been drinking every 2hrs for the first 3mths ok...until i drag it to 3hrly last min before going back to work

and the pump, i use day#1 onwards liao
do you have adequate supply? coz now your boobs produce how much your bb drinks coz you latch, must start to pump to strip away the excess. can store....slowly build up your supply so that you can go back to work liao

wah got power virus at home! x1 got cough n abit of runny nose over the weekend, passed to x2. yest night i managed to get 2-3hrs of sleep only; x2 super cranky, i hold her in my arms to sleep lor
and now my nose is not feeling that good too, since yest...
i think this is x1's 2nd cough for this year...the first one was beginning of the year, a "cold" cough

mom2nat,
Aiyoh, so poor thing. shhh shhh, virus virus go away! Get well soon.

aqua,
Yes, it's normal. Some babies even continue to latch every 2hourly up to 3 months or so. Finding a position is very important, it shouldn't cause you any backache. Also remember, she may not be hungry when she demands to latch, she could be just asking for a snuggle. Giving FM would not help, she may even demand to latch more cos what she wants is mummy :p Jia you jia you!!!

Aqua
My mil is here to help but she running nose.
Today all the kids at home and my tummy still bubbling.

Initially is latch on demand. Use a Breastfeeding pillow. Works for me. Otherwise u lie down to feed.

I have a big prob, bb wants to b carried during naps. Put down wake up. Sigh... My maid can't do anything else except sit there carrying bb

mom2nat
get well soon!
you managed to donate your febm?

aqua
remember that there is no hard n fast rule as to when to use your pump, i encourage you to start using it as soon as you can so that you can build up your supply. but if you want just enough for your bb current intake then dun need to pump lah...

Tried using pumP, onli miserable as barely 10ml, like tht so lit bm for bb per feed! V tired n emotionally uneasy coz my mil is here n kept sayg bb hungry everytime, mus giv formulae milk. N tryin to b translator for her n maid coz mil always ask maid to help her las min!

Mom2nat, dun wiry, since mil is ther, u juz close eye n concentrate on recovery. May take 2-3 days, speedy recovery to u!

aqua
slowly n gradually your 10ml will be 20ml, then 30ml etc...now bb drink how much per feed? estimate? is 10ml the total amount you get after bb latch finish?
since now your bb latch every 2 hrs, then you pump once every 4hrly (meaning after every 2nd feed), to start off first. but gradually you will need to move to per 3hrly...
i suggest 4hrly coz you can rest abit more. strip off all the milk im sure your boobs will increase in ss de

you can do it!

Mom2Nat,
Having diarrhea is so tiring as need to run toilet so many times. Please nurse yourself first. As for the kids, just let them play as long as they are not doing any dangerous acts, should be fine.

Aqua,
JIAYOU on BF... really not easy... I think newborns are smarter nowadays. I heard my coll saying his 1 mth old baby boy is demanding milk every 2 hr until his wife gave up BF and sucumbed to FM.
Mummies here have offered many tips and supporting you.

Aqua,
Jia you! Just keep latching n pumping. For me, after each latch on, I will pump for a few min to stimulate the breast tat baby needs more milk. At first, no milk come out, but slowly the supply will increase.
But then again, do get some rest too especially if u r feeling so tired n stress nw. Not easy handling mil n maid at the same time.

Aqua,
Dun give up! U can do it. During confinement I left my elder girl entirely to my mil n hb, I totally dun care wats going on in the hse. Just focus on resting n caring for bb. Bb can draw out more milk than the pump. Dun worry, u will hv enuff for bb. If u wanna build up ss n hv some store when u go back to work. Then u can start pumping aft latching already. If too tiring then just focus on latching first.

Learn to latch lying down or with bb in sarong sling so u can vary yr positions.

Aqua,
I agree with grumpus. Just focus on latching first if your baby can latch well. Pumping will make your more tired (esp if you are not used to pumping) and depress if small amount is coming out. Monitor her urine output than to worry if she drinks enough from your boobs. Catch as much of rest/sleep as possible whenever baby is napping. It will only get better and better, stay positive. You can do it, you can do it!!!

Aqua, jiayou with BF! May want to call a LC to do home visit and help if bb not latching well. It's easier to build up supply from the beginning if bb is latching well. Pay a bit more but I find it less stressful than bringing baby down to hosp. If you need a private LC contact, pls PM me.

Aqua,

Jia You on breastfeeding. I guess I need all the support I can when my turns come as I was not successful when I try to bf for #1.

Verene,
Me too! I was not successful on BFing for HR. But I did almost 8 months of total BFing for my gal! So yes, it can be done! Tips and courages from the experienced mummies here were really really great, it's so great that even my hubby encouraged me to log in here, serious. And to know that so many of the mummies here have successfully BF is very very encouraging already. You gonna first convince yourself you can do it and you want to do it, then sure you can. Best of luck to you :p

Pixie
Haven't donated my milk. waiting for my fren to come and take.

Aqua
Thanks, I am getting better. but mil fever and flu so went back!!! Sigh... Oso, just when my girl recovered, her stomach flu came back yest. So siong.

Krystle
Thanks, I am trying to nurse, but staying at home got so much things to do.. no time to rest.

Kam
It's true mommies here give good support and ideas!! You wan #3? We can "support" you again! hoho...

mom2nat,
hohoho, thanks, but no. Closing factory, very seriously! Even called up the clinic to enquire about permenant contraception! But hor, no one answer my call, will call again :p

kam
go for the IUD lor, my gynae say will do for me if i want it
but usually gynae dont want to do. some even reject. they want us to giv giv giv give birth all the way

IUD ! I tot of going for it too. Apparently there's a few types/brands in the market too. My colleague "installed" one and have irregular periods for few mths. Heard it's the body adjusting to the "foreigh object". My gynae says can do it within 5-10mins if I want. But I didnt ask the cost though.

Pixie and Chaye,
IUD installed must change every 5 years (maintenance). My SIL did it and it seems ok for her. She only said ma fan to change every 5 years.

Normally it is us, the women, who sacrifice hoh...

Kam,
Thank u for the encouragement. I had bougut the medela freestyle and hope I will make good use on it. Usually, after u latch on one side, will u pump out from the other side to store to maintain the supply?

Pixie

I just finished reading the notes that you gave me. I'm already practising some of the points stated there before I read this. So I'm glad to know that I'm on the right track ! Just have to keep remembering to do it. Sometimes I deviate or forget also and disaster happen. There are many points that are very useful and I must practise them ! Really thanks a lot of the notes !

krystle,
Ya, I am old already leh, and we decided we don't want and not keen to repeat the cycle again :p Very contended with the family of 4 now, and thought it's good to focus on them and give them more time. Though I don't know if I would regret later in life for not having more kids, haha. Most likely it'll be me doing it.

Pixie,
My gynae should be willing to do it for me, cos I am old enough liao.

Chaye,
Why you don't want your hub doing it? Will not affect your "pleassure" one lah, I think :)

Chaye,
Your hubby is so nice, why you don't let him do it. Hahaha...
My hubby is rather ego and I think he will not do loh.

Kam,
I understand where you are getting at. I have exactly the same mindset like you.

Kam,
You seriously give up your dream of having more kids? I think most mummies here already have 2 or 3 kids. I will be trying for #2 after my Oct trip to Bali....finally...hehe.

I was quite determined to stop at #1 but I changed my mind suddenly...haha. Maybe heard my body clock ticking away so decide to try for a dragon baby, make 2 pigs and 2 dragons lor. If not successful in conceiving a dragon baby then we give up liao cos really no energy to take care of baby anymore.

We were asking B if he wants a didi or meimei but he said he wants jiejie...haha. Told him that's not possible cos he will be gorgor then he said he wants meimei cos didi very naughty. Don't know where he got that idea but he's quite firm on having a meimei.

verene, i tink medela is realli gd! previously for no.1 i am using avent manual, too tedious and time consuming expressing, hence i gave up BF in 6 wks. now i am using medela pis, WOW! it is reali fast n relaxed pumping, and i tink i lok forward to pumpin now , then my bb latching! gd luc to u

kam, i also tot u will try no.3, but i agree as one gets older, reali tiring to look after a newborn and go tru the cycle again! my hb also prefer to keep to 2 kids unless we 'kana accident'. but for me, since i went tru twice csection liao, reali dunwan another accident!

hw much is IUD? Is it painfree?

yvonne: baby dust to you!

krystle,
hi-5!

yvonne,
That's great great news!!! All the best you and all baby dust goes to you, k!

On and off I asked HR also if he wants a didi or another meimei. He is very very sure that he doesn't want a didi and doesn't want another meimei. He said he only wants 1 meimei, and that's XY meimei :) It's also part of the reasons why I decided to stop cos if I asked him, I must respect his view mah, keke.

Ya, give up my dreams liao. Never mind. A few friends have told me they are now trying or going to try for #2 after seeing the photos that I shared on FB and my blog about how loving my 2 darlings are, before that they thought of stopping at 1, I am so happy to hear that! Honestly, 2 are good enough, but if have more, that's bonus!

Chaye,

IUD the most common one without hormones after inserting will still have menses cost ard $250. The one with hormones after insert will have no more menses cost ard $750. Insertion is a very fast process. Before insert must consult dr to get medication to consume before the procedure so ur cervix can be opened easily for the procedure.

Hope this helps

Aqua,
Jia you on bfg!

Yvonne,
Babydust to you~

Kam,
That's a real pity! I'm sure you'll be a great Mummy of three!

Re: IUD
I inserted before i had my number 1, for a whole 5 years :p Mirena is the brand. Initially i had reduced menses but very irregular and prolonged spotting. Mine stabled down after 6 months, only had very little menses with no cramps thereafter. Insertion and removal both very fast. But i experienced cramps right after insertion. Needed to rest at the clinic for a while before i'm able to go home. Perhaps the quality now are better cos i did mine like 10 years ago and i was not given any medicine to soften the cervix but that gynae was really fast.

Kam, agree with Luvv, think you will make a great Mummy of three too. But can understand that the time you have with each kid will be even less if you have 3, and esp now that you are travelling often for your job.

Last year, RA's PG teacher had an ectopic pregnancy after inserting IUD. Nearly bled to death cos she didn't realise she is pregnant. Was hospitalised in hospital for 1 week. She already has 3 kids, youngest one already in upper primary, that's why decided to close factory. So, I'm a bit wary of IUD. Not sure if it increases the risk of ectopic pregnancy. :p

Verene,
Depends. For me, my breasts were heavily lopsided, meaning one side producing a lot less than the other side. So I mainly latched her on the "good" side, and I think I am naturally not able to produce a lot of milk type, just enough for her, not much to store. Experience mum and "good production" mum like pixie, she can already pump enough to store while she is at hospital!! Kitsune and mom2nat have excess supply to give away!! Don't worry about building up supply in the first few weeks. Just focus on latching first, as that's the best way to stimulate supply. And also, take one step at a time. Don't be too ambition, set your goal low. For me, my initial aim was to BF her for 1 month, then 2 months, then eventually I did 8 months. And don't give yourself too much pressure, it's okay it's not working, there is always FM, just have to tell yourself to try your best, don't give up easily, but don't be too harsh to yourself. Coming here when you have given birth, the super supportive mummies here will help you through.

Luvv / kitsune,
Aiyoh, you both are too 客气了!I don't think I can be a good mum for 3. As of now, I am already guilty of not treating XY equally, and that I don't treat her as kind and as gentle as I treated HR :-((( Cannot imagine if I have #3, XY will be even more ignored. Don't want to push myself further, know my limit and do my best for them. They are happy to have each other

Thanks for all the baby dust!

Aqua, I forgot to say congrats to you and jiayou on breastfeeding!

Kam,
That's why there's the middle child syndrome. I'm a middle child too, my elder sis got all the praises and my younger brother got all the love. I get all the leftovers...haha. But we're more independent and happy-go-lucky cos have to make do with whatever that comes our way. So XY will understand and turn out fine even if you go for #3. But it's really no joke taking care of 3 kids without any help if your a FTWM.

But must change every 5 years quite troublesome. What if you forget? Any side effects? Normally will gynae agree to perform ligation after 2nd child? I thought of doing it if I succeed in #2 since will opt for c-sect might as well do it at the same time.

Hello....

Anyone with Massage Lady Jameela contact?

Pixel,

You have any good confinement lady to recommend?

Chaye,
I bought Sambucol from an online site. Free international delivery. THink price is about S$15. I just received the bottle last night.
PM me if you want i can send you a referral and you are eligible for 10% discount.

Today so quiet leh.

I am flying back tonight, tomorrow off :) Still so much things to do. Hope don't have to come in Sep, but don't know, let's see.

Tomorrow can fetch the kids earlier from cc once I have caught a sleep and do the neccessarily housework. My hub said the kids have been very guai these few days, so must reward them for being so 懂事 :)