(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Yvonne,
I think normally gynae will advice against ligation after number 2 ba...just in case u regret since it's not really reversible.

Kam,
"holiday" over..keke ..your kids are very 懂事, envy envy.

Pauline,
Are you still giving your girls Friso?

Pixel,

Yesterday, I was at IMM, Saw little girls shoes from Colette (not sure act the spelling) going for $9.90. They are very pretty. U can go check them out.

RE: IUD
I did it after my 2nd child as my gynae refuses to do ligation for me as I am not 35yrs old yet. Wat i like abt IUD is not much menses! have spotting for the 1st few mths, then after that very very light flow for a few yrs, only need pantyliner.

Yvonne
Happy to hear u r trying for #2 soon. B would have a sibling to play with
u born in monkey yr? Still v young.
I like the red checked pants I ordered tat time.
if u r ordering, do let me know. Actualy the clothes r cute but a lot no size.

I lose my voice... Sigh... Later GG take anti biotics from doc. I just ran so many errands, oso bot teacher's day present. Went art museum. Smaller than wat I expected. Later bring my gal for art at downtown east n elliot can go play kids bowling.... Yawn...

Pixie
So happy my fren came to take 30 packs of my fbm! Hee... She live in bkt panjang n I live in Pasir ris.
Oh did u experience bleeding nipples? Mine got blister n bled while I pumped 1 day! The milk like watermelon milk!!! I put nipple cream but still got blister leh, how??

Mom2nat,
You got me mixed-up with the other Yvonne
I'm born in dragon year.

Shannonbaby,
I'll be 36 next year so gynae will be willing to do ligation lah?

Just want to check with those of you who employed maids lately if your maid had been called up tby MOM for interviews. Apparently, my in laws received a letter saying that their maid who is a first timer had to be interviewed by an MOM officer. Maid agency told them it is a new ruling. Did any of you encounter such a thing?

mom2nat
wah finally cleared cargo! else backlog liao hor
i got bleeding nipples before. its all right for consumption...unless become pus then cannot lah. but bb can take in our blood de leh...why ur nipples bleeding? i tot by now stabilized liao??!

mandy
thanks for the info. in fact i bot from there twice liao heeheehee
i dont have confinement lady contacts, coz all i have are very hot, booked till 9 mths liao. meaning just preggy then cfm CL kind! kiasu hor

chaye
im pretty sure we are using some tricks here n there, just that not consistent enough or eg lost our cool.
the facilitator told us if we get it right with the discipline by 5yo, the rest of your child's life you dont have to worry. no need tuition, no need curfews, no need prep talk! incredible? but he say its do-able. with the consistent love discipline, your child will know how to be a good person consistently lor. therefore dun need to worry about results, bad company, sex, blah blah
he says his son is a living example. never need to worry him. 1st time right wor

dont say "aye, T is different"...facilitator says any child, good or bad or very bad, if we can stick thru this, by 5yo will be like what he described above

pixie
The facilitator sounds very confident. Does she only test on her only child ? all children ? Seriously I am not good in discipline as I am always not consistent. Sometimes I get tired and give in a bit. Sometimes I'm strict. How I wish there's a reminder installed in my body to tell me that "hey stay focus ! you shd do this now and not that !" hahaha

pixie,
wat kinda discipline is dat? seems amazing if it can work, but wat abt kids above 5 yrs old liao, issit too late to instill them good discipline?

Do we hav to register bb names by 14days? Haven't decide way English name for my no.2 eh?

Kitsune, wan ask u the tampines ec, if my sid n bf exceed the income ceiling by 500, can they still apply? Or mus appeal to mp? Do u know when the ec be built n ready? Looks v pretty at the reservoir, so tempting to buy? Any idea if they r using homogenous or marble tiles?

pixie,
sounds amazing, which guides are you following?

aqua,
within 14 days can do at hospital, within 60 days at ICA.

Luvv, thks! Great, I hav more time tink tru! Nt easy to find an English name short n sweet w 4 or 5 letters nia!

Deal.com.sg has offer for zoo ticket @ $14 adults and $9.10 for kids. Valid till 28th October 2011. Just bought mine.

shannonbaby,
Good one, that's what I was suspecting :)

Luvv,
Thought you should be at the SAM now?

Most likely we will be at the Zoo tomorrow, cos meeting a friend. Text me if any of you will be going.

Yvonne
Me dragon year too!! Ooopps... Revealed age Liao. I tot u put 2 monkeys 2 dragon yr!! So tot u monkey yr. But u put 2 pigs n 2 dragons. Actually I wld have guessed u pig instead of dragon! I tot I m the older folk ard here Liao.

Pixie
I think bb din latch well. Cos he dozed off n nibbled at the tip. Our blood can drink ah? Mine was like spraying out when pumping.

Where is this facilitator from?

Busy day, was doing showflat duty at Sengkang's The Luxurie and dashed out during lunch time to settle the rental for my client. Rented out 4A whole unit at record price in just 6 days. Then dash back to Luxurie to serve walk in clients.

Aqua, exceed by $500 so it's combined salary of $12500? Can do e application first, if they ballot successfully and get the unit they wanted, then appeal within 1 week. If appeal unsuccessful, 5% booking fee will be refunded. TOP is Dec 2014 but usually earlier. First timers have much higher chance of getting it. Homogeneous floor tiles, engineered timber flooring in the bedrooms, dual balconies, miami style curved balconies. Ask your sis to call or sms me at 91230588 if she is keen to know more about Arc@Tampines cos e application starting on Wed. E application is FREE.

Mom2nat,
But you're an accomplished dragon...3 kids liao
If you think I'm a pig, does that make me 40 or 28??? Hahaha...

Kitsune,
Wah, so fast got your first business deal already. Congrats!

Yvonne
Tats y I say u still young!! Lol. I was calculating, when my #1 goes to uni (19), my #3 only in pri6 (12)!!!! Fainted. Like so big gap hor!

about the facilitator
they are a couple. old couple. but this course is run by family.sg
its funded by govt lah, hence the workshop is cheap...

its the guidebook thats more impt. as long as we follow and be consistent and discpline with love, no need hitting, shouting, screaming....
your child if you follow thru from now til 5, thereafter no need to worry
no, i dont mean that you dont have to use the book/rules/discpline after 5yo. they meant that so long the foundation is right from now onwards, you dont have to worry so much once your kid grows up...

we have 4 x 3hr sessions, each covering from most basic to more detailed stuff....i think the modules frm OZ n NZ based organisation, very commonsense stuff

kitsune,
Congrates on a good start of your new career!

nez,
Morning! Have not seen you here for a while. Did you read my post of our recent Malacca tour?

pixie,
I am reading a book (in Chinese). It sends about the same message - that the foundation (the first few years) for a kid is absolutely critical, and that should be done with lots of love and it falls on the responsibility of the parents and no one else. In this modern society, more and more problems arise because of negligence from parents, parents do not involve enough in nurturing a kid.

Hi Kam, yes yes! Saw it last weekend...Nice! But think won't go for that, cos the price nt v cheap ;p hehe anyway had booked another hotel in malacca...thnx yeah!!!!

Nez,
You can try Five Stars for Genting package.
I took a coach package with them last year, quite ok.
Was travelling with 9 pax then.

Kam/Pixie,
can share the title of the books? I find that it's difficult not to shout sometimes :p is raising our voice consider shouting?

Kitsune,
great start to your deal! quite good for a newbie! Congrats and keep it up!

Kam,
Was waiting for my 2 girls to wake up from their naps. We managed to spent 2 hours at SAM. Elder girl really enjoy the activities there.

Luvv,
I also spent 2 hours at SAM on Monday. My girl likes the place very much. She said it is a castle where princess stays. She wants to go there again. Hahahaha... But my boy was naughty there, throwing the cake ornaments everywhere, take and put all the marker pens into 1 holder, destroyed other kid's train tracks etc... Driving me crazy.

Maybe they would extend the Arts Garden @ SAM since the respond is so good? Such a pity we are not able to make it for the 2nd time. Happy to know so far all came back with good review, that I didn't make wrong recommendation :)

Luvv,
I am reading 好妈妈胜过好老师. Just started with the book. Don't really enjoy it, just okay read though. But I will still finish reading it and see if I can catch some good points. I can pass to you if you are interested to read.

RE: Raising our voice
To me, it's NOT considered shouting, cos I think sometimes we need to do that to get their attention to pass on our message effectively. BUT BUT BUT, to my hubby, it IS considered shouting. Sometimes when he is at home, I am more tense loh. He says I am too harsh/rough, must not raise my voice on the kids no matter what. I know that's what I should do, but hor, sometimes really cannot help it lah, esp to my girl, who still whines/cries pretty frequently.

Until now that my girl has turned 2 yo, I am still treating her and HR differently. How sad is that
Sometimes I would think is it me who made her bad temper, other times I would think is it her who made me bad temper (cos I was not like that with HR alone), or maybe it's really me (cos it's different handling 2 kids vs 1 kid). Maybe the vast different of characteristics and temperament between HR and XY was because of me, mainly if not fully, on how I treated them in the past few years. I am trying very hard to treat my girl better, but somehow I still lost my temper on her much more easily than when I am with HR, to the ratio of 10:1 (scold/shout at her 10 times while only 1 time at HR). I cannot take whining/crying leh, once she does that, I snap easily, to think whining/crying is common for young kids. So unfair to her lor, haiz, feeling like a bad mum.

Sorry for the ranting.

Kam,

You are not alone. I'm in the same state as you. Tend to raise my voice so much more on my gal than boy. My boy is considered more well behaved & well controlled than my gal. Seldom raise my voice with my boy alone but when the two kids are together, "raising my voice" is already quite "immune" to them. I always tell my hubby that "raising my voice" is another way of releasing my stress. If I tried to "store" everything in me, one day i might explode, haha.

Did your hubby try to take care of the kids without any help? (Eg: You are cooking, etc) My hubby told me not to shout at kids but I caught him raising up his voice within 15mins when I was busy washing the dishes. Faint. I asked him what happened & he said my gal was throwing things. Talk to her nicely, she did not buy it & even laughed away. So he got no choice to SHOUT "STOP".

For me, I will regret after shouting esp at nite when they are asleep, haiz. But really hard to control when the two kids are together. My #2 always bite my #1. Told myself talk nicely but still shout when see such scenario everytime. Really need help in these areas. Pls share the tips ok ;)

Re: SAM
Is that the one opposite SMU@Orchard?? Thinking of places to bring B during school holidays, it's always zoo and playground...nothing else. So boring.

pixie,
Your guidebook says no hitting, screaming, shouting...I fail big time! It's a big achievement for B and myself if I don't do that for 3 days in a row

Kam,
I also cannot stand whining but B loves to do that...all the time! Drives me and hubby crazy and he's a boy somemore, even more irritating.

I don't think XY's bad temper is a result of you lah. Every child is different and they have their own unique personality. That's why we always say the same method of discipline does not work on every kid, have to change to suit their temperament. What works on HR might not work on XY that's why you can get impatient with her.

Suddenly thought of bringing B to east coast park for cycling. Anyone knows if their rental bikes comes with child seat??

JanBB,
Yes, yes, I agree many a times I feel that I need to "shout it out" to release myself from all the stuff stored inside me :))) And ya lor, often regret after shouting/scolding them, then I thought, what's the point of making them sad, making myself blood boiled, and then hope it never happened, might as well don't get it started right. But said is much much easier than done lah.

When my hub spends alone time with them, he really tries and most of the time successful to not to raise his voice (he rarely shouts, maybe once or twice so far). That's because he spends much less time with them, he is more bo-chap (eg, turn on tv for them for a long time, okay to let them mess up the house, etc), and yes, as a matter of fact, he is more patient than me. He can take XY's whining better. But he has lower tolerence on HR's nonsense, haha.

yvonne,
I don't know leh, cos it's scary to see how much they learn from me and imitate after what I say and what I do. My hub said sometimes they talk exactly like me :)

Kam,
Thanks! Will try next week...haven't cycled for a long long time

B also learn to "speak" like me. He will use the same words to scold his daddy or me. But they spend so much time with us so it's inevitable for them to imitate us.

Yvonne,
Can let B to cycle.

That's why loh, we have to set a good example. If we didn't shout/scold them, then it will be highly likely they won't do that too??? In Chinese we say 言教不如身教 and 以身作则. I hardly scold HR before he was 2yo, he rarely cries, while for XY, I scolded her since she was very young (cos she was a poor sleeper) and she whines/cries a lot more, so I thought there is a link to how I behave mah.

Thanks, Kam, Luvv. It was an ex colleague who gave me the chance. Was very rushed cos he is relocating to Australia. $ very little lar cos rental n i am new so company take big percentage. But at least, I got 3 other rentals. A 5-rm flat with seaview at bedok south n 2 room rentals, one at Tampines Court, one at Cantonment Close if anyone is keen. Keke. ;)

Mind if I join in this thread?
Have been a silent reader and found a lot of interesting topics u gals share.

My #1 boy is Dec 07 & #2 girl is Jun 09. Seems like a lot of mummies here have about same age gap children like mine.

Pixie
Can I know more abt the workshop/guidebook you mention?

Kam/Janbb
My #2 is also very whiny and cries at the slightest. More strong willed than brother and really makes my blood boils recently. And I'm losing patience already. Doesn't use to lose temper easily but lately have been shouting and screaming at them every day, particularly my #2. Can also see that hb is also losing his patience on #2 too. I wonder if this is just a passing stage or is it the characteristics of #2 child. Remembered #1 went through the terrible 2s stage but never recall it was so bad. Also worried her bad temper is a result of frequent scolding her.

Kam
I dun think it's your fault tat XY is like that. Cos my T is a boy and he's whiny too ! Full of complains daily. U know my #1 told me one day that she knows why her didi always ill. Cos he's not happy child. He's always grouchy, always whiny and complaining !!! hahaha I think so too. You wont fall sick so easily if you are happy ! hahaha

Your hubby is very patient, so envy. My hubby is not so I have to be extra patient with my kids. If not at times when I snap he cant help me too. He will join in to scold too which I feel is very bad for the kids so I always try to keep my cool. Even when I scold I try not to let him know the reason why. I feel tense when he's around cos he's always scolding T for slightest thing which to me is ok. Our style is different. haiz... ranting again

I must admit I also scolded or raised my voice towards Javier very often, beat him when he don't listen after shouting. He bullies my mother most of the time and is not afraid of her. Worse scenerio is hubby works late nowadays and I lose my temper so easily perhaps due to my pregnancy. I feel so guilty after doing it cos javier began to say "I don't love you anymore" but after a while, he says he loves u when played and he behaves well again. Sigh.

welcome eve !
my T is also born Dec07 !

kitsune
wah so good. got 3 more rentals to go. Rental is good cos fast money, once deal closed can get the comm faster than buy/sell ! Congrats ! why so many lobang one ?

For those who stays in the East and like to go T3 !

Barbie & Ken
3-11 Sept
T3, B2 South

3&4 Sep, 1pm & 4pm - Meet and Greet
simply present a single same day receipt with a min spend of $10 or $5 Changi rewards member at T3, B2 to redeem a foto pass.

5-11 Sep, 1pm & 4pm - Barbie Workshops
Let your little ones show their creativity through a series of workshops including tiara making, jewellery making, nail painting and puppet making. Simply spend a min $40, or $30 for changi reward members (max 2 combined same day receipt to sign up for a same day workshop
Limited to first 30 redemption per session. East session last 45mins. Limited to 1 partipant per redemption. For children up to 12 yrs of age.

5-10 sep, 12pm-8pm & 11 sept, 7pm (finals)
Dress up contest
Dress up your little ones in their best outfit or choose from our wardrobe, and get them dolled up by our make up artiste on site. Stand a chance to be selected for the finals on 11 sept, 7pm where the winner will walk away with $500 worth of changi dollar vouchers. simply present a single same day receipt with a min spend of $10 to participate. 5 participants also stand to win $20 worth of Changi dollar vouchers each day from 5-10 sept. All participants will receive a free fotograph.
Limited selection of sizes and outfits. Limited to 1 particpants and 1 fotograph per receipt. Children up to 12 yrs of age.

Oh another thing to add to my ranting. I duno why T will not respond when we 好声好气 talk to him. Sometimes talk to him sternly works. Even not work. I'll give warning. Warning still doesn't work, raise voice. Raise voice warning still doesn't work final is raise my hand. Any of your kids like tat ? Talk to him/her nicely dun react must sternly or raise voice then they action ?