(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

chaye,
No, HR went to the Bukit Panjang branch. Attended to by dr Berenice. Young, gentle, friendly and pretty lady, HR likes :) Ya, the bill size about the same as the one in Woondlands. Paragon definitely more ex lah, prime location mah.

Aqua,
within 1 KM won't sure get me in but at least chances is better than me being out of 1KM now right? 1 phrase can make lots of difference leh! Haiz... ok lah, I still got time to think abt moving house but I seriously doubt so unless tio Toto!! Now I got no worries for housing coz monthly installment deducted from CPF, I still got extra left there... Somestimes I also wonder if it is really worth moving house just for that purpose...

Aqua, can understand how you feel. Personally, I will not let the maid look after a newborn alone for long periods in the day. Cos the newborn is very fragile and dun know how to communicate to us, if the maid takes it out on her for any reason. Most maids are unreliable, so to me, it's too risky. I didn't have to rely on my MIL when I gave birth to Raelynn cos I'm sahm, can 'jagar' the maid. But there is still benefit to staying close to babysitters cos after my maid mia, still have to rely on MIL to look after the gals in the day and bring them back from school. I can only have this flexibility because we stay 5 mins walking distance from each other.

kitsune,yes. i wan move to my mum place, so tht we are juz walk dis 5min apart. rather than now, everyday, my dad has to drive my girl to kindy and evening, he has to send me n my girl home. i tink it is parents responsibilities to look after our children ourselves, the maid mainly for hsewrk and grandparents juz to help us.
mebe i too paranoid and wry too much, will see how it does in a mth. coz we already told the seller we will make a decison 1 sep.

krystle, i tink the pri sch sys is v stressful now. if u wan move near a gd pri sch, now can start makin plans coz our kids will be going pri sch in 2014 and u mus move before 2013 may?

Aqua, think your hubby hasn't felt the full impact of looking after 2 kids yet. Once he feels the heat, maybe he won't complain about the $60k COV, cos he can leave you, the gals and the maid at your mum's place while he goes for R&R. ;)

Yeah! Going for a viewing at Marine Crescent tonight. So exciting!

Krystle, wish I got money to buy a prop at Marine parade near Ngee Ann pri too cos that's hubby's alma mater.

krystle,
I kinda changed my mind already. I don't think I want to send my kids to top schools anymore. Very likely we will just enrol them to a neighborhood school nearest our house (where we live now has 4 school within 1km). I want them to really enjoy studying, so less pressure (cos lots of expectations and peer pressure from top schools) should work out better for them. My main concern is the Chinese. Hub convinced me that with my chinese, I can guide/teach them effortlessly. I hope so too.

chaye,
The hottest one is De La Salle (but we are not too keen cos it's a catholic/christian(?) school). Then have the Unity primary, Yew Tee primary and Kranji primary. These all don't "rank" well in the "league" :p

Ya very stressful for the kids to attend school nowadays!! K1 is expected to spell "independence" now . Wahi coulnt believe it!

Aqua,
Ya loh by 2013 will need to move... But I seriously doubt I will do that unless suddenly got extra cash.... Worst case is study Telok Kurau which is only 5 mins from my home.

ah??!! i think my son is super far off from spelling "independence" lor
he can only spell some alphabets of his name only leh!

im still deciding if wanna enroll x1 to fairfield methodist....errr christian school dont sit well with me, and need to take school bus. the commute thing is the killer....it will affect him somewhat
at most, go to yuhua pri, 5mins walk from my place too
their motto v funny, something about being frugal n thrifty

Kam
Unity is the best amongst the list.

wah Tongtong
spell independence at k1 ?? what kindergarten is that ?

eh mummies, help help!
i dont deliver in TMC, but if i go to their parentcraft for consultation can or not ah?
or anyone tried the lactations at Mt A before? good?

Chaye,
How come your know the schools at Yee Tee so well?

pixie,
I think anyone can walk in. Just call them to book an appointment lah.

RE: Private piano lesson

Would like to know if any of you know what's the rate for engaging a private teacher for piano lesson? Thanks!

Pixie, yup, as Kam said, anyone will walk in. It's private hospital mah. Anyone with $$$ is welcome. kekeke. ;)

Wa, spell independence. Until now, RaeAnne cannot even spell her name. She only knows R then A, the rest she doesn't know. But I must admit, I never really took the trouble to teach her. Lazy mummy lar. I only make sure that I read English & Chinese storybooks to her and Mei mei every night.

I did get quite a lot of activity & kumon books but she is only interested to paste the stickers. -_- I hope the rest will fall into pieces as she gets older cos I dun really want to stress her on her studies yet. Think I will buck up if her teachers tell me she is behind standard. So far, her June progress report is ok except she can't differentiate and name chrysanthenum and rose. :p

Kam
cos I used to stay in CCK ma and I always go Yew Tee and my friends stay there. My friends kids are in Unity and she say is good. Teachers are dedicated. After Unity is DeLasalle. Secondary sch good one is Bukit Panjang Govt High. hehehe.

orh, i make appt to see a lactation consultant this fri liao, must resolve that lump thingy. i suspect its a cluster of nodes but i cannot be sure coz it wasnt like that during x1 time??
i doubt my breast grow nodes along the 3.5yr lapse leh...i not puberty!!

Tongtong,
Seriously need to know how to spell independence??? My nephew in K2 this year and I see at most need to learn spelling of 8-10 letters word...

Kitsune,
I am lazy too, not even reading to my kids daily... :p But my girl loves ABCs and she got the interests in learning to spell. She can spell the whole family names (me, hubby and little bro) and other simple words. Now she can use ipad2 and spell and type the words... actually I am quite happy that she got this interests lah...

But I agree with you, don't push for now and let her pick up the interests to spell slowly. Unless the teacher said otherwise...

i mus confessed i am a lazy mummy too, totally dead tired after wrk, coz everyday rushing to fetch my girl to n bac home. by the time i settle down at my own house, already 8pm liao, n i mus get ready my ger for bedtime before 9pm!

i agree neighbourhood schools can be gd too coz they r also many who went n make it to the local uni. i tink the importance is the children's interest in learning , tis is more critical factor!

kitsune, can i ask u, if seller wan sell flat, is the commission neg. from 1- 2 percent

Btw, mummies with maid, can i ask if we still need to pay the maid whole mth salary during their two wks hm leave?? Blur me la.... keke

I do "things" with my kids at night, but not "academic" stuff. As you can see in my FB, mainly arts and crafts, play dough, etc. In fact I do not want to teach them spelling. I prefer them to relate to a thing as it is, rather than for them to relate to letters forming the words. Eg, when I say a tree, I expect them to "see" a nice leafy tree in their mind, rather than to seeing a "T-R-E-E". Got what I mean? No good or bad, just that I believe that's a better way of learning. That way, the child get to relate to the actual better and be more creative and imaginative. But they surely learn a bit of spelling at school also. If he has the interest to use more letters and to form words, of course I won't prohibit him, it's his call.

nez,
We will be staying at Philea Resort. First time trying out. Will let you know if it's good :)

Pixie, rec'd le! Thnx & sry, forgotten to inform u ;p

I asked two frds, both said they'll still pay for the two wks hm leave ley...but the last time my maid went bk for one mth, i no pay her ley ;p
So need to double confirm.

Kam, thnx! let me knw yeah!

Aqua, CEA recommendation is minimum 2% for sale of property. For HDB flat, 2% is norm. HDB got a lot of paper work, got to keep going to HDB hub, n rules keep changing. :p

If private prop, usu those landed ones, some agents accept 1-2% cos owner not willing to give more. Imagine, $3m property, agent gets to pocket $60,000 if 2% so most owners will negotiate for lower comm and some agents will agree cos sell 1 house equal to selling 10 HDB flats lor. But of course, it takes longer to sell a house vs hdb flat.

For me, I will give 10% discount off my nett commission to my friends lar, like a house warming gift to thank them for their support. But 2% is industry norm for HDB.

Nez, my agent told me no need to pay. So, I didn't but then my maid never came back, so want to pay also cannot. :p

Regarding the spelling , my colleague said yes, her son is k1, n has to spell Singapore cuz of the national day.., she said her son couldn't spell it . I listened to her n felt so 悲哀 for the kid!

Kam
Piano lessons ranges from $120-400 a mth! Depends on credentials n grade u taking. U go teacher's place usually a bit cheaper.

It has been a long time since I last posted in this thread although I have been reading the posts almost everyday. Since, I am more relaxed now in the evening...I shall post more often :p

re: Pri 1
Initially I wanted to give a try to get Javier to go Nan Chiau Pri by getting into the Hokkien Clan. But hubby din like the idea of this popular school, afraid that the stiff competition will stress up my boy. And it is not really near in terms of walking distance even though we are just within the 1 km. So drop the idea...will most prob apply at North Vista Pri for him which about 8-10 mins walk away. Heard that North Vista Pri has good CCAs

Juz commented my maid more guar n she juz chu pattern, request for hp to use again!say she can't sleep las nite coz she kept dreaming any kid, v worry! Every 2-3 day, she request hp, should I give once n let her call? Or juz ask agent to handle?

Aqua,

Maybe let her call home once?
I just change a new maid too. I just let her call back usi g my hp once. She did bring her hp to spore but didn't bring charger so can't use it. But I did tell her that she can use her hp at nite after work like 10pm.

shannonbaby, she called once when she reached sg already. i am scare if this hp thingy will continue coz even my agent said i shld let her stablise before giving her hp to use, else she will get distracted n no mood for wrk. btw, how is ur new maid?

Aqua, mine v blur n forgetful. But these few days better after I threaten to send her back to the agent. She is more the guai guai kampong type as of nw.
But then I do allow my maid to use hp after 10pm. I only don't like them to go out n mix ard, so usually I will pay them more to stay at home

aqua
dont entertain her. tell her the next time she request it, she will go straight back home. its either this or that. just us that to threaten her

for mine...prob lai liao
my maid genuinely tot she got off day the next mth coz her bond finish this mth pay day...
i told her no, we pay her more to have no off, that was our main criteria when employing a maid
but she said she was told by agent that she has 1 off day.
sian lor, i go n dig contract, have leh. but i remember vividly that i have requested no off day, hence add 20$ more to her pay

im not going to tell her "how now?"
tomorrow im going to tell her, i cannot allow her to have off day. see what is her reaction and attitude. if she sour face n unhappy, then my aunt will speak to agent liao, bo bian le

Pixie,
Aiyo, so there was a miscomm then...
Don't look good on you coz the contract black and white stated she can have off day...
Well, you can tell your maid that you added $20 to her pay to compensate her no-off day. But are you willing to nego as in deduct $20 back if she insisted off day? Another way is asked her to take 1/2 day instead loh then deduct $10 from there... compromise from both sides...

One thing I am worried that this incident will make your maid sour, and I am sure inside her heart sure "buay song"... then you better start watching her closer in case she does anything funny...

Pixie, I also pay more for no off, bt I check my contract also never indicate got off or no. Agent juz left it blank?

aqua
got, you look at the 2nd last page of the contract. my wording "one" was being underlined. u better cfm again...

krystle
yes, miscomm, i havent tok to my maid yet. but my tone to her yest was, i will not be giving her a day off, but she wasnt sour (yet), this morning saw my gal wakie still laugh and play with her. she really very "teng" my gal, thats why i dun want to antagonize this too. wah kao, im like at the mercy of my maid hor

my hb and i discussed, if she wants a day off, at most we let her rest n go out with us, not to go out with our #1 maid who is at mil house. maid#1 got off day this year (her 3rd year), and started to give us attitude liao. outside got bf etc...thats why i oso worried, no matter how, still will learn "bad" habits de.
but my maid assure me that want to be bad or not, depends on individual. if strong and firm, will not be easily swayed. i told her i trust her, but not the ppl she hangs out with or interact with

mom2nat,
Thanks for the info!!

verene,
You are preggy now right? When's your EDD? Welcome back to this "family", post more ya :)

aqua,
As you know, I don't have a maid. But I live in overseas for many years, and I can tell you how torturing it is to not be able to talk to the loved one over the phone :-( But of course cannot give her total freedom lah. Some people can don't talk to the family for a long time, while some people need to call their family, different individual. Maybe you can compromise that she can call her family twice a week (don't really need more than that except if there is anything happen to the family), and each time limit to a certain time. Let her keeping the hp is a bit too relax bah, for a new maid.

pixie,
Hope you can find the best solution, good luck!

pixie,mine was not underlined at all. i juz asked my maid, she is aware she has no off day!
juz spoke to her tis morn that if she kept pestering to get her hp bac, i will send her home. coz i told her she lied to me she is married w kid, n i specifically said i onli wan SINGLE WOMAN!

she agreed tht i keep hp n she can use her pay to buy calling card to call home after 10pm once a month. i hope she obey and behave. when i talked to her, she cried. duno reali sad or fake tears. she eats same table as our family and eat same food as us. when we go out, we bring her and she eats the same pizza like us! i juz reminded her that i am kind to her but i will nt wan her to bully me, anytime she make me mad again, i will send her BACK.

kam, i hope i can do without a maid, but nobody is willing to look after my no.2 if no maid to help my mum. unless i send my no.2 back to myinlaws house, but they will be bbsiting a toddler n they cant manage 2 kids. hence, no choice too

seriously, tis maid makes me v disappointed lah. first day come, chronic cough whole nite, and then lied abt her marital status and no kid. and now the hp thingy, i reali dunno how to trust her! now juz a week liao, i also duno wa happen when i giv birth n i stay home w her daily, wish me lots of luck

aqua
maid can really be a headache to us but we cannot do without one. and it's not so easy to gain our trust too. If we give in to 1 request, we worry that it might have more requests coming cos they might think we are easy. We also have to learn to close one eye cos we need them and we wish that they are happy working with us. Restrict them too much we worry they may go bongus and do harm to our kids or some life threatening stuff. So I never threaten my maid. I allow her to use hp. Last time when my new maid came my agent says too no hp for 6mths. But if u sit down and think if u r in your maid's shoes in a foreign land no means of contact, can die de. will 胡思乱想 so I allow my maid to use her hp at night (after 10pm) when she request and return to me next morning. She just need to text her bf back in Manila and some friends. And when I get back her fone I can read her msg to her friends and see how is she feeling about staying with us. Not that I am kpo but at least I know if she is genuinely happy here or not. Cos if u r happy or sad u will definitely tell your love ones ma.

So if I am you, I will give. No need to fight over with yourself over it. You can tell her just once and the next round to call home is next mth or something like tat ?

chaye, u are absolutely right! we need them in a way , yet we do not wan them to overstep. i still got lots to learn from all the experienced mummies , thanks!

Aqua, jiayou with the maid, not easy for first time maid employers. Did you get a CL this time or your mum will help you?

Pixie, any of the workbooks come with stickers? RaeAnne loves them. :p