(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

congrats to janBB!!
Actually I prefer working part time... but that will be my next option provided if boss agrees.

Blackbatz,
Don't worry too much lah. At least you have the courage to try #3, I don't have leh... More or less got to give up coz even if there is #3, my MIL cannot help me anymore and #3 will need to go infant care even...

Thanks blackbatz, pauline & krystle.

Pauline, your career switch to property agent is wise choice too. Flexible & make big $$ if close deal. Jia you!!

Anyone has watched rainbow fish? What's the verdict?

Janbb, thanks, I hope so lar. Need all the support from the mummies here to refer clients or appoint me as agent. I will definitely make u all my VIP clients.

Came in to congrats krystle n janbb!! So 羡慕lo

N also blackbatz , 3 boys!! My boss , 3 gals

Did u eat more veg than your hubby? There was sayings that if the guy eats less veg than the wife , higher chance for getting a boy. I dun believe though

congrats blackbatz, krystle, janbb!!

krystle, your dream came true and my same dream is still far far away. i dun dare to broach this topic coz boss going thru ivf and need me to be around work more than often liao haizzzz

good news today!
not exactly good news but me and mylife and our kids had a terrific time at the zoo....
i have to say, x1 is really mild, and rylee is really courageous. she leads my boy to do stuff...then my boy also follow her road to danger LOL
all in all, both kids enjoyed each other's presence.

Tongtong,
Everything tried liao. I think his male genes is too strong la..Confirm close factory this round.

Gynae says this round I might end up with gestational diabetes if I do not watch my diet (becuz I am more than 35 years old, haiz). End up I have to restrict my food intake but still put on weight faster than previous pregnancy. Now wonder if I'm able to shed off the weight later.

hihi!

i am very lonely in office, today everyone out to do an external event, onli me n another temp girl in office

mummies.....
should i re-contract my hp?
the battery dying like that leh....
but i wanna LUN and wait for IP5...dunno when that is coming out?
but i scared LUN until 1 day HP die then i can die oso - work hp cannot be unavailable
but if i re contract now and soon few mths later IP5 come out liao then i bang wall again

Morning!!!

Very good mood today! Cos 1) it's Friday, and most likely hub doesn't have to work this weekend, yeah! and 2) Have just booked hotel in Malacca for next weekend, going for a 3D2N short getaway, hurray!

Pixie,
When I recotract my hp in a couple of months time, I think I would probably try other phones, something with bigger screen, cos I only use my phone for surfing, e-mail and FB.

Pixie,
Thanks. Actually timing is impt is raising such request, so maybe you wait for some time again.
I requested this to my ex-boss who just "entertained" me giving lots of reasons and never send my request to management. Since my new boss just got promoted this month, I grabbed the oppt to ask again... 新官上任三把火 so the request was processed and granted quickly loh.

Pixie,
Try to "ren" for iphone 5 if you want to get one. I heard the launch date is Q3 or Sep...
Some tips to extend your iphone battery life..
1. Reduce using 3G as much as possible (use WIFI more).
2. Close apps in multitasking option.
3. I think there are some apps that can max battery life... You can try it.

Kam,
Happy for you that you are looking forward to a great weekend! So good another short getaway.

I am looking forward to a great catch up with girlfriends for tomorrow high tea @ Goodwood Park.

pixie, i also juz got my white iphone4, havent download any applications yet. mainly to sms, call n surf net, super unutilised. keke

pixie, do u rem wat time u need to reach Mt A for ur csections? dr koh perform the op for u ard 8am right? i am tinking of going matenity leave mid aug liao, super heavy n tired.

krsytle,
How do I know if I have turned on an apps?

Wah, high tea at goodwook park leh, very good life lah you.

Ya, think my hub missed spending time with the kids very much, he's so poor thing loh.

Tomorrow there is an event at the Botanical Garden organised by OKTO. http://www.sbg.org.sg/calendar/regisform.asp?ID=651. I saw it advertised on TV, so expect it to be a quality event. We will be there for sure, if any of you decided to come along, call or message me, k.

aqua
be in hosp by 6am but we left home at 4am+...coz admission oredi took at least half hr...wait for our turn etc

krystle
mine is ios3, no multitasking mode, i jb liao got multitasking mode, and i always set my apps to no multitasking except for the few i use, whatsapp kill my battery life most
i think i'll go ebay to buy new batt n change myself liao

wah so many good news these few days ya.

I really wish that I can work part time leh. Just the morning slot 8.30-12.30pm. I'm trying to summon enough courage to talk to my boss. Maybe today or next week. I have been thinking about this issue for a while now. But I feel even if he ok, HR may not ok it cos over here, if they allow one, they worry others will follow such precedent.

Will see how, at the most continue to work full time and keep a lookout for other part time job in other pro flexi work hours company.

pixie, wah! wake up so early n get ready by 4am? then i tink i most likely cant sleep at all, will be too kanchiong. my day is nearer, getting panicky now.
yesterday, my helper requested to use her hp, i say no hp for first 6 mths as i must review her performance, then she say she juz wan check sms.

my hb said if she disobey me, we juz send her back. coz we realize she refuse to eat the medicine n antibiotics which doc gav her.

aqua
maid hor, you really gotta be firm....
for the HP thing, i will scold her. check wat sms, your job here is to work not to check sms lor

for the medicine thing, you just tell her, if she dont take medicine and dont get well within 1 week, then she has to go back home - i dont want a sick maid

nolah i wakie at 4, shower n change, out of house by 430, reached mt A by 5am

the night before i had my supper sinful last supper and i ate before 12 lor, then go to zzz
4 hours better than nothing. i was excited lar, but i still zzzz nicely kekeke

Aqua,
If tired, ask your gynae to give you hospitalization leave. Dun waste your maternity leave by using so early. :p

Kam,
You are using iphone 4 right?
1. Press x 2 the bottom home button and you will see the apps appearing on the bottom screen. These are the apps which you used recently but on standby so not considered as properly closed even if you are not using them now.
2. To close them, press and hold on any of the apps and you will see a red "-" icon on top left corner.
3. Just press that to close the app properly.

pixie, i already told her manytime, no hp for 6mths and even agent told her. every alt day, she will try to 'talk abt tis topic' again, make me v pissed!

kry, i doubt my gynae will giv hospitalisation leave, he dun seem v 'pro-mc' type coz everytime i aslo checkup, i apply my annual leave. moreover, i havent handover my things yet. maternity leave actualli start on actual delivery date or we can take 2 weeks before edd?

Any recommendations on places to visit in Bali? We're going there in Oct for 5D4N trip. I only know the must-visit temples are Tanah Lot and the one in Uluwatu. Is it better to rent taxis or private cars with drivers?? Any info is appreciated. Thanks!

Aqua,
Aiyo, your gynae is not as empathy..
As I had high blood pressure towards the end, my gyane gave me weekly hospitalisation leave everytime I go for checkup (for 1 whole month) to rest at home loh. Coz MC can only 14 days bah, so he asked and I said pls give hospitalization leave (since my coy allows up to 60 days). Then my maternity leave will start on the day of actual delivery.

I think there is no date as in when you can take advance maternity leave... But I think norm is 1,2 weeks before birth bah... depends on agreement from your boss. But the main aim of maternity leave is for after delivery so if use too early like defeat the main purpose right?

You try to talk to your gynae (provided if your work got backup and you feel can go on leave already)... say your coy don't allow too much advance maternity leave so ask her to help you loh.

Abt maid's HP, I think must be firm... I hate it when they just came and already started making requests. My 1st maid also like that. I think they learnt from those old birds... My current maid never asked but we also told her 1st 6 months no HP and off... Later she seemed to use HP secretively on and off after 6 months... in toilet.

krystle, yes, on her first day and i go tru my rules and strictly says no hp for 6 mths, agent also told her. i tnk she giv me bad impression coz she was v sick and still dare demand tis n that! i also duno if i can tahan , reali hope she can behave or else, i tink i will send her bac. my maid is fresh from phili , and she is home most of time, we havent expose her to outsiders yet.

thks for advice on the HL, I think ur gynae can giv u coz u hav high blood pressure. so safer for u to bed rest home.
for me, i m juz v heavy n clumsy, las nite i measure, my tum is 45inches liao, so much bigger than my no.1 on her due date, freak me. reali duno hw big my tum will expand 1 mth later

pixie / krystle,
I am using iphone 3GS, but on iOS4, I think.

I tried what kryslte described, and my goodness, there are so many apps running on the background, included those I haven't used for months. Hopefully my battery will last longer from now (realised it didn't last long these few months, probably running too many things liao). Thanks, Krystle!!

Aqua,
But before your maid came to your house, she stayed in the agent's dorm right? There, have other maids and they shared lots of info. And not only that, even before they arrived in SG, I bet they would have done some "research" from friends and relatives, since there are so many PHIL maids here.

I think in general our tummies are bigger in 2nd pregnancy. I ballooned very fast in 1st tri and by 3rd tri, like super big.. Also very clumsy and got tired easily... But my weight gain was lesser than 1st as maybe I was too conscious with my big tummy, I controlled my own diet.

Kam,
You are welcome!

kry, yes. u r right. the agent has other maids, so they prob 'shared info' liao, never tot of that.
my weight gain was less this time, ard 10kg as compared to 23kg for no.1. but i also started with a big tummy when nt preg... reali scare i will continue to be BIGGER after childbirth.

envy mummies like u, janbb, steph, pixie... all so slim after 2kids

Aqua,
Don't envy lah! You will lose weight soon after delivery. I managed to lose 2nd pregnancy weight (10kg) but not the 1st pregnancy ones.
Still have 6kg to go but I am stucked at 52Kg liao. Not good at all. Think I am getting fatter coz whole day at home never go out like 宅女...

aqua, my agent did advise me Filipinos tend to compare about their rights. But in the beginning when my maid had no $ to buy hi card, my agent personally called the maid's husband using own hp and let her talk to husband just to reassure her. My ground rule re: hp is that can only use at night after finish all the work.Once a mth, on the 8th of every mth, I let her call home and let her keep her own hp.

Subsequently, when maid gave me some problems over hp cos sms will come in the day and she got distracted by bad news at home, I complained to the agent. She was very responsive, came down and told maid that she will help to 'safekeep' the hp for 2 years since it's giving her so much 'problem'. After that, my maid scared liao, she rather pass me the hp until her designated calling back day cos she dun want the agent to take her hp. ;P

gosh, bac fr gynae n put on 3kg 3 weeks, bb onli 300g more, Cham! Anyone know way mr a hospital provide? Mus bring bb clothes n mum pajamas?
Kitsune, ur maid got off day? My dunhav, mebe tht y hp is her onli social contact.

Aqua, i only gave my maid off day in second year of contract. First yr dun have cos baby still young, she joined me when I was 5 mths preggie n she knew my terms. I think quite ok to give off day when Bb is 1 yr old cos we r more seasoned handling two plus Bb doesn't need bm that often if u still bf by then.

Kitsune, thanks for sharing! these 2 days, my maid is more well behaved liao, guaiguai finish her medicine (thought she still cough at times) and quite ok in doing housewrk. i guess if she continues, i cant complain liao

aqua
ok glad your maid is guai gaui for now, anything bad, please sms me, i oredi complained to my aunt liao lor...

about Mt A, you need to bring bb clothes and swaddle, Mt A no provide foc; but TMC provide foc...
hey u know rite, they say bb is guai if your mom provides the bb clothes to wear during discharge

they got provide u a towel in Mt A, i used that one to roll up and prop onto the pillow when bfding my gal, and i took that back home coz the rolled up towel so convenient to use lor. i dun have a bfding pillow so i make do. if you dont mind, bring that towel back home...
now i still roll up that towel but i put it between me and bb as a "stopper". it pushes her against the wall so that she is being hugged by pillows and bolsters to provide her a sense of security

multi purpose leh

pixie,now my D-date is nearer, i v kanchiong and afraid.. reali hate that feeling of wheeling to the operating theatre and waiting to be CUT!

recently, been quarrelling w my hb very often, coz we cant communicate well and lots of disagreement on moving house. he tink we shldnt move coz resale cov now v high, at least 60k cov .very sian!

aqua
he's right, financially
you're right, logistically

there's no wrong or right in situations like these and both you and ur hb should sit down and discuss and compromise as to what is more important - save the $$ and bear with the travelling pain etc OR save the hassle of running around etc and throw the $$ into the wind

priorities.....??
he may be thinking $$ is more impt for now, since your #2 is coming up, so he may have a valid point
you would be thinking moving closer to your mom maybe better for all of you and most likely you will be doing all the "hard work" of bringing up the 2 gals so of course you would want to stay nearer...i will want too lor; so you have a valid point too

but both gotta work out which is more cost saving (in the long run) and less draining on your family in terms of energy?

pixie, in his mind, he conveniently tink that we hav hired a maid liao, can juz throw the newborn to maid to lok after? why still need to travel daily my mum place?

now that maid is here, he is so free to do his own things, so he v happy coz no need to do housework liao!

aqua
typical nan ren behaviour, my hb is like that too sometimes, but i always remind him we are the parents, and my maid is not the parent of my children...

Aqua,
Maybe it is because you are popping soon and your daily routine and lives will be changed again with 2nd kid arriving... So both of you tend to feel lost and not sure what is coming up.

Sure can work things out, see how things progress first bah... But personally I think buying a flat is really a very huge expense, especially now COV is still high... So need to do some financial planning first.

krystle, yes. it is true our lives will change when baby comes. i tink my hb is quite an indecisive person, and afraid to make big decision.
while i am more a risktaker when it comes to property and housing, i was also the one who kept pressurizing him to buy our current 5room unit 6 yrs ago. he actualli juz wan get 4 room unit and take minimum loan. actualli, when we sell our current unit, we can easily cover the cost of the resale flat. juz tht we are paying more CASH now .

i think he should have some faith in my financial judgement and calculation. afterall, i am a CPA n he hasnt passed CFA yet.

anyway, wat i hate most is he will always say,, dun talk abt the matter. and then few days later, he will mention about! reali, make me v angry n upset

aqua,
If you really think it's a good time to invest, then show him the figures to convince him.

Don't fight lah, just be more relax and "see open". It's going to be a lot more challenging with 2 kids, you gonna pull through this first before engaging in any other big thing.

I myself won't pay $60k of COV. I simply hate COV, I would rather not buy if I have to pay that much.

Aqua,
Coz you both know the finances best so you just work out a spreadsheet and show to him loh.
My hubby also got "professional sickness", always use spreadsheet to communicate household costings and financial planning to me. :p But sometimes he very lazy to work it out and I always got to chase him to handle over the report to me then we can discuss. :p

Like Kam, I will heartpain the COV coz it only goes into seller pocket. But if the home is nicely furnished then use it to convince your husband loh.

I think just wait until you pop first and see how. Who knows will have a good flat comes about with min COV???
It takes luck to buy a good flat too.

I am also tempted to move house just for staying within 1KM from Maha Bodhi. :p But no money to move now...

krystle, i duno do worksheets at home, have enuff excel to do at work liao :p
my hb is the one who is doing the excel to show me? haha, i onli reviewer nia.

are u sure stayin 1km near MBS will definitely get into the school? i tink now very hard to say. the pri school at my place is so competive that onli 50% chance if u stay 1km- coz u still need to ballot!

Brought #1 and T to ismile at Woodlands yesterday. Attended by Dr Anthony Tay. Young chap and child friendly. Total bill is $50 each. So much cheaper compared to their main at Paragon. Was $98 few years ago.

Kam, did you bring HR to this woodland branch as well ?

aqua
Whatever it is, discuss it again after you've popped. Few mths down the road and see how. After you popped, you will be busy for the first few mths to think of this issue. Dont worry ya ! 生个白白胖胖的baby !