(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Happy day cos after 5 yrs plus, we finally dun owe hdb any $.
but sigh, RaeAnne started coughing again after starting to sneeze last Thurs.
scotts emulsion, vit c sweets, manuka honey, hock hwa flu medicated powder etc, all didn't work. :p

krystle,
He can say ice-cream, then no need to worry lah. Why not start from the words for food then, is a good start!!

But hor, my hub's idea of SAHD is to send them to and pick them up from full day cc :p Cannot lah, and he would never want to. Besides, just my income cannot survive lah, I don't earn that much.

kitsune,
CONGRATES!!! You mean you have paid off your flat already, woah!!

Hope RA gets better soon. She already went to see Chinese sinseh, also cannot help ah?

Thanks, pixie n kam. Yup, we decide to pay up the balance since interest rate for deposits is so low while cpf loan rate in comparison is so high. Next time, if we ever get rich, it will also free us to buy another prop cos we can qualify for 80% loan since no outstanding housing loan. It is nice to know we finally owned the roof above our heads.

Kam, haven't seen sinseh yet. I bought the 药粉 from hock hua n mix into her drinks. But quite bitter so a bit difficult to mix. :p

kitsune,
I am so jealous! You so fast pay off all your home loan already, we have many years to go :-( You have been a very good finance manager huh :)

Kitsune,
So good you paid off your HDB!!
I am also trying to clean a lump sun year by year to reduce the interests being paid. Still got less than $100K to clear, I think... Going to pay another lump sum soon next month.

Kam,
You can also go for lump sum payment annually so that you don't have to pay so much interests.

krystle,
Yes, I know. Going to do that in Sep, cos that's when our first 3-year fixed loan expires. Okay lah, we just bought the house for <3 years only, many years to go :)

Kam, krystle, no need to be envious. I took a 30 yr loan too. My flat was below valuation when we bought it in 2005, n we got $40k grant. Plus hdb wiped off our cpf savings when we got married, so we didn't have a very big loan to repay in the first place. Also, my hubby is a saver so from time to time when he has bonus, we will make lump sum payment.

Hi Krystle,
No power also must squeeze my last bit of power juice out to work. It's intensive supplementary for P6 pupils,so all teachers got to go back to school to teach lor.

Sure jetlag la..So I speak quite awkardly. Lancaster hotel was considered clean and good by UK standard. Unfortunately, room has no cupboard..Doorway is a little narrow, I wondered how those fat angmohs get through lei.
I think Langham HK is still better la. It's only when u are there then can appreciate the free wireless hotspot in Singapore and HK.
Weather in UK was so erratic. I think it's me..kinda of rain everywhere I go..Had to buy extra warm clothes for myself in London. Not exactly the summer that I know lei. Sigh! quite a nice trip with hubby la..Can say it's another honeymoon.
France has got the least internet connectivity. Sigh!

ay mummies
who wants a USB dongle of broadband mobile from M1?
i have wireless broadband at home now, dun need the broadband on mobile. but im under contract, and never use it for the past 6 mths, wasting my $$

i dun mind passing over, my monthly fee is just $11.20, 1mbps
not fast but can surf net n all lah

u take over the dongle, pay me monthly or a lump sum then i just pay the bills monthly myself

keen pls lemme know

mom2nat
HAVE lo
yest rcv a new carton of 25boxes
u want how many boxes oso can heehee
i will post out d next day, just email me as and when you need

I'm very drained. Just wanna write something here. Can ignore me if you choose to, I'm ok. Just wanna put down my thoughts now.

T's weird behaviour is still the same during weekdays. Morning wake up first thing he does is WHINE. Cos he refuse to wake up. 2nd is refuse to shower. I've come to term with it since he is showering at home, fine, shower in sch. 3rd he will refuse to brush teeth, whines again. Every morning I have to use slow talk, slow talk and he still refuse I will start to be stern, still dun listen and I will raise my voice. By then I am terribly late for work and I'll just have to leave it to the maid to handle him after he went into the bathroom. 4th is when nearer to sch he started to cry and refuse to go into the sch. This I duno why cos I am not there to bring him to sch. I think the reason is bcos he doesnt like his form teacher cos she is fierce when come to notti student. She doesnt give in to his demands? I duno. Suddenly I find that my maid is totally useless now. She cannot help me at all. I have to handle all these by myself.

Starting tomorrow, I have to wake up earlier get myself prepared fast and wake him up, brush his teeth and bring him to school myself. These have been done by the maid all these while but T is not cooperating with her recently.

hugs chaye
i think you did the right thing in getting up early to prepare. and perhaps you could get T to wakie earlier, so that he'll have more time to nua and mentally prepare that he has to go through the "dreaded" routine

is he sleeping at the same time at night? getting enough sleep?

maid helpless, did you ask her which part she cannot cope about T? why cannot help u?

T no give you reasons why he dun like to do X Y Z?

Will you speak to the teachers or principal about his weird behaviour and get them to monitor him while he's in school? did teachers feedback any changes in him recently? or he only whines at home but not in school?

most importantly, any new changes in T's life nowadays that is affecting him?

pixie
thanks for the hugs.

T sleeps between 11 to 11.30pm every nite. I usually wake him at 8am. But if I need to bring him to sch I will hv to start disturbing him at 7.30 cos he will need time to whine and unwhine. I duno if he has enuf sleep or not
I guess not lor cos if the child has enuf sleep will wake up automatically at the same time everyday right and wake up happy not grouchy.

Maid. Ask her she will tell me T is not listening to him la. T dun wan her la. She also pissed I can tell. So I got to take over one. Tat leaves her nothing much to do. She even suggest tat I pull her out from cc and put her at PAP 8-12noon since he doesnt like to go cc cos maybe too tiring for him ?

T will always say I dont want this I dont want that but when you ask him why? His answer to you is still I dont want this I dont want that. There's no answer to it at all.

Yes I spoke to the teachers again this morning. He is definitely under monitoring system by the teacher. He whines in both places lor.

I dont think there's any new changes recently accept for sch holiday now so lessons in cc are lesser and most of the time is play time or sing song. So when the music or children get too loud he will cover his ears and cry. That's what the teacher told me this morning.

chaye
paiseh i dun get to see it so i cannot comment much

i oso think T not enough sleep but since he's been ok with this timing then i guess sleep is not a factor affecting him

maid. if T dun listen to him, then you get her to assist YOU. coz X1 dun listen to my maid sometimes, so i assist x1, while my maid assist me lor. in a way, she is helping x1

i would perhaps spend some time alone with x1 and slowly get him to unwind and tell me why he dont want this dont want that. go do an activity he likes, then when he is happy liao then more willing to tell me.
i do this usually when i find disturbing behaviours....if he cannot tell me, i just tell myself its a passing phase OR he is feeling unwell. coz when x1 feels unwell (and cant/dont tell), he will be unusually hard to handle

Chaye, hugs. Raeanne is also like that when she sleeps late cos still sleepy n wants to laze in bed. In my house, 9-930pm is lights out Liao cos we have to pretend to sleep, if not the kids dun want to sleep. Last time, when the maid brings Raeanne to school n she is very whiney, she sometimes let's her bring a toy to school (later bring back) or gives her a sweet.

blackbatz
really dunno de. you buying a new DVD player? they have many "stickers" on the player in best, courts, harvey N, and wording claimed can play all codes etc. get those kind lor.
if in doubt, bring the dvd along and insist the sales person to load in and play/test if can really play Code 1 DVDs

Hi Blackbatz
you would like to consider Akira or Enzer. I have Akira in my room which can play this DVD.

blackbatz,
Mine is Akira. My Samsung cannot play leapfrog. PC/notebook also cannot play.

chaye,
guess what? last night after shower HR said he wanted to poo so we went back to the toilet again. He said he didn't want to step in to the toilet cos the floor is wet, exactly like Tate!! He hasn't done this before cos usually I would wait for him to poo then take shower. I told him the floor is wet cos you just took shower, it's okay to step on wet floor. He insisted cannot. So I told him to make the floor dry yourself. So he got some toilet tissue and wiped a small patch of the floor dry then finally willing to step in :p Really don't know what's on his mind.

I am a very lazy mum. In the weekdays morning, HR doesn't take shower, doesn't brush his teeth and doesn't even get his clothes changed. Just wakes up and leaves the house. Even that, we already have enough to deal with for the morning rush. I rather save my sanity for insisting on getting him to change his uniform (thanks goodness his cc is not strict on this).

Wonder why doesn't want to cooperate with your maid anymore, did he tell you if anything happened? Can try the reward system?

V long never come in to read... totally lost track of what's going on!

Chaye,
Celeste also cover ears and afraid of loud sound and music. And of course, CRY
So I cannot bring her to whatever enrichment activities too.. and that time, the short period she was in half day cc, very difficult for her to acclimatise to the surroundings.

OMG kam ! I cant believe what I just read. But you are smart to handle the situation by asking him to wipe it himself. I shall try that too. But I guess his reaction would be to ask me to wipe instead.

I'm quite a rigid person when come to handling kids. If this is the routine, I must follow it as close as possible. Anything out of the trail I cannot take it. I need time to sit down to tell myself that it's ok if things doesnt falls in place as expected. I'm just so tense lor.

Chaye,
because I knew your story about T mah, so I was fast to respond to that :) Though I still nagged him a bit lah, haha.

Hoho, not doing anything in the weekdays morning IS our routine :) I used to be very rigid, everything must follow plan and cannot have last minute change. But after all these years being a mum, have learnt how to relax liao loh.

chaye
yesterday X1 also wanna go poo but floor wet, refused to step in too
i asked him if he wanted the slippers
but i think he urgent lah, so he make do - he tip toe and quickly climb up the toilet bowl. he say dun wanna wear slippers

this morning he wakie early and wanted to mop floor
sighs
so i gave him the mop and he spent 10mins moppong the floor

Thanks for the suggestions. Will try with my MIL's akira. My machine is Pioneer and LG. I thought LG can play almost every code but not true.

Pixie,
Are u still going to UK? The cheapest thing in UK is their pre paid phone card. I bought for 10 pounds, call to Singapore land lines is 1 pence per min. So I get to call my kids everyday without burning a hole in my pocket.

I was reading about your toilet floors. You mean all your toilet floors are superbly dry at all times ah? Maybe I have many people in the houshold and only 2 toilets.One of which is in the kitchen meant for heavy usage like washing of clothes etc. That toilet is not 100% dry. If the other toilet is used, then my kids have no choice but to use the wet one.

kam, not doing anything is liberating. so far, I have been making sure that the gals at least wipe their face, pee/change to new diapers and change to their uniforms before bringing them to school. But w/o hubby's help and the mad rush in the morning (RA's school starts at 830am, while RL's starts at 9am). Think I'm going to follow your example soon. :p

kitsune,
HR sure has to go to pee lah first thing in the morning. Then each drinks one bottle of FM. Then wear shoes and leave home liao at about 8am. All done in like less than 10 min. Then walking from our block to the car park can take 10-15min, cos they would stop to look at ants, at the birds, at the leaf, trees, people, cats, dogs, etc. So when we reach to the car, they totally wake up liao. Things like this we are very relax, we rather they sleep a little more, even 5-10 more is good.

kam n kitsune, my girl also throw tantrums at times, but i always make sure she wake up, pee, brush teeth, wipe face before she drink her milk n change to her uniform. sometimes, she sleep late n woke up late, then she start kickin a fuss.
immediately i will show her the cane and she stopped whining and quickly do her SOP.

blackbatz
my UK trip is still in LIMBO heehee

thanks for the phone card heads up...my phone is company line, so can use n call overseas kind de

btw, my toilet floor is wet too, that one in the kitchen. so i have bathroom slippers

today x1 wanted to pee and he insisted on wearing slippers.

kam, aqua, kitsune
my routine for x1 hmmmmm
wake up
drink some water
pee
change school uniform
wear shoes, go off

i think its really a fine line...on one hand you dont want to be so strict on your very young 3.5yo toddler with such a "heavy" routine but on the other hand its always good to cultivate good wake up habits.....

this battle, i dont fight. to me its not impt. but subjective bah. my colleague says, she expect her gals (K2 and nursery) to comb their hair, make their beds, and freshen up before stepping out of their bedroom. thats rigid rite? but then again, shes ang moh

aqua,
i'm equally strict with my girl. wake up, drink milk, pee, brush teeth, wipe face and bum n change to uniform.
if she's late or slow i will show her black face.

I can see that you all have house rules ... for me I dun ... is not a good thing lately I am in a mid of shooting a parenting programme and the topic is about bonding. And they have come up with house rules ... haha I am lost cos I dun have one at all ....

Kam, aqua, today is my first day of trying out, hubby hide in the balcony while I got both gals ready to go for school. Mei Mei woke up first at 730am cos she is hungry so wash her face, brush teeth n changed to school uniform first. Went to wake RA in the morning n she refused to wake up. Threatened to leave her alone at home cos Mei Mei is all changed. While trying to clean RA, found out Mei Mei poo poo Liao so drop everything n wipe n wash her buttocks first. halfwaty through, RA said she also wants to poo. -_- while trying to wipe her bottom, Mei Mei went into the still wet toilet floor n slipped n cried.
changed RA then finally left the house at 830am. :p thank goodness I bought a second hand buggy board so can push both kids. But got to push further to RA CC first then come back n drop off Mei Mei. :p

Anyone read the smh resorts world scam in papers today? Wa, I beow for long time, initially wanted to book lor. :p

Aqua,
No need to feel bad lah. Every household has their own SOP mah. Some may think that I am a bad mum :p

This morning I am very sad. HR cried very badly and clinged on to me when I sent him to school. Reason being I had to attend a night event last night and only arrived home at 1130pm, when they were already asleep. Hubby picked him up slightly late yesterday, around 715pm. He is very angry with me. He said he doesn't want me to go to work. I spent close to 30min in the cc to talk to him and to tell him why I have to work, he still said no, mama cannot go to work. So eventually I have to leave him and let him cry. Sigh. Don't know how to tell him about next week, when I am travelling for the whole week. He is gonna be soooooo angry with me when I come back.

I like this job so far. I even like the occasionally (about 1 a month) night event, so I get to socialise with people with nice food and wine, you know, feel like being ME as a person. But at the same time, have to handle him careful so not to hurt his feeling. Hope he can, slowly, accept the fact that mama cannot be with him all the time.

morning ladies
My mission failed this morning. T kena 3 slaps on his buttock from me. Sobbing from home all the way to sch which is just 5mins walk.

grumpus/aqua
gals are definitely easier to handle. My #1 was not like #2 at all. Boys really patterns more than badminton !

chaye
oh no mission failed....hugzzz

kam
very sad hor, hmmmm i dunno how to react if x1 is like that
but x1 chut pattern today and i scolded him
when x2 is at home (my mom comes up to take care), he will not ask for mei mei
but when x2 went to mil house, he will whine n cry for mei mei
i told him today "mei mei here you never ask for her. mei mei go nai nai house liao then u want her"
hurmphff

but sweet right, he wants to see/touch mei mei every morning

kitsune
but in the end you did it right, good job!