(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Good morning ladies!

Mom2nat,
I'd like to know where is the pre sch with 6 hours of sch time? lolz!!

Pixie,
it's amazing how large our hearts are for all the kids right? hehe..

luvv
yup
i really felt not much "love" for x2 during ML
but once i went to Japan and came back, everything changed. i miss her terribly in japan. didnt miss x1 lor. so now become balanced liao

Pixie
How u maintain ur milk ss for her while travelling?

Luvv
Bethesda pasir ris. Icy n another mom in tis thread oso sends their kids there.From n2 to k2, the kindy prog is 3.5 hrs, enrichment 2.5hrs. Total 6 hrs including snack n lunch. Enrichments can be alacarte or daily basis, includes speech n drama, Chinese, cooking, art, gym n 2 others I dunno call wat.
The extra prog more enjoyable than the normal curriculum. My #1 loves it. But I dunno I can dong until next yr or let elliot change sch now.

morning ladies... very upset today.

Brought T to cc this morning. Teacher talk to me for quite a while. Say that he has been very misbehaving these few days. He has been throwing tantrums in class and cry loudly if reprimanded. He will sit on the floor and with his 2 hands tapping on his lap crying angrily. While during lessons, he will show his fist to the chinese teacher angrily when ask him to sit down. I was quite shock and in face very sad to learn all these from the teacher. My T is like a monster in school. Another incident is while the teachers are preparing the children for a while outside cc, he dily daly and teacher warn him to behave himself and he angry again hitting his lap and cry loudly. So teacher decided to leave him in cc with other classes and he cried even louder ! Teachers are really at their wits end but to let me know all these. And he is, most of the time, in his own world. He will do his own things, sing to himself etc. He doesnt care about other things that is happening around
Is this a sympthon of any "illness" huh ? I'm very worried now.

At home, told you ladies before, he has been whining recently that I buay tahan and need to use cane. This morning again refuse to bathe. Sit on the floor with his hands again tapping his lap angrily and said "I dun like mummy"
So I said ok u can stand there dun bath, we are going out. So both me and maid went into the bedroom and he cried super duper loudly ! V v loud and chase after us. Then I ask him do u wan to bath now or not ? He said yes. Then within seconds into the bathroom he can play happily inside. Totally like no recollection of what happened just less than a minute ago.

It's very sad to hear all these from cc teacher that my boy is misbehaving and worse he even said he dun like mummy.

While on the way to school I told him to behave in school and listen to teachers while teachers talk. Must respect teachers and at home respect parents.

pixie,
Good you found the balance liao. I until now still bias towards HR, though, I have to say, my love towards XY is growing day by day, but I think won't be balance.

Chaye,

Did you ask him whether there's anything he's not happy with? Like if someone bullies him in school? or he don't like one of the teacher badly?

Mom2nat,
woah, why cannot dong? 6 hrs of sch is very good. he can learn more in sch and you can have more time with baby.

pixie,
that's good to hear, both are equally dear to our hearts now. I will feel guilty of leaving C2 at home while bringing C1 out sometimes.

mom2nat
i pump 3 x so i pump n throw
pump once before go out of hotel, pump once when reached hotel in late afternoon, pump once before sleepin

i wanted to pump n drink but i drank 1 bottle and gagged. not that it taste smelly/fishy/milky but i just cant stand the thought of drinking my own bm
freshly squeezed bm taste just like sugared water. no smell at all

luvv
I asked him before. He sometimes will say his classmates dun like him. Then sometimes he will say Ethon and Edward are his bestfriend or Kelly is his gf. So I duno which is which. He doesnt like his form teacher cos she is fierce and no nonsense type and he is a bit scared of her. T likes his chinese teacher cos she is too soft and lenient and tat makes her class haywire cos she cannot control them. And T even dare to show her his fist cos he knows she can be bullied !

chaye
i tell u hor, i keep saying x1 guai, but x1 is classic like T, dun want to shower. until i say ok we go out without you then he will cry loudly and then ask him want to shower or not then will say yes, then next min shower with no recollection of just now episode

to me, i think he short memory or dun want to remember all these. or maybe all these dont matter to him so he wont remember the episode just now.

do remember that our kids age is still in the egocentric stage, so they tend to care more about themselves now

Chaye
Elliot throw tantrums, shouts n screams a lot too. Sometimes I think they can't express their feelings but we parents will feel paisley when our kids misbehave outside. At home we oso get pek cheek. Seriously, I oso dunno how to handle Liao. With #1 we v strict, but she v defiant and stubborn. Now v rude to us oso. With #2, we dun scold as much, but he turn naughty v v fast!! He will use his hands point like a gun shooting us. Picked up from a boy in school.
Anyone has good Mthds?? I even seeker a life coach for my girl. But too exp so stopped.

Pixie
I dare not drink leh. U not sim Tia you throw ah? Now I got quite A lot in the freezer, but bb can tell diff. In fact he can recognize pple. Hb n i pat him to sleep ok, but maid n mil can't. He will scream n kick, then mil kept saying hungry.
I wonder how they handle when go out like now.

Pixie
I think they dun want to remember so try to make themselves happy in another way. 自欺欺人

I hope he will quickly grow out of all these nonsense.

mom2nat
Ya I'm same as u. V strict with #1 then I am more lenient to T thinking maybe it's a better way to parenting and now this results. Each child is really different. I can managed my #1 well. But not T now

Chaye and Mom2Nat,
I agreed with both of you.. totally loss at how and what is the right way to handle our kids.
My #1 is pretty timid and just a stern tone from us will freak her out and cry. Although it is so, I dislike using such harsh/threatening tone at her coz I think will have negative impact. However, if don't do this, I think they will climb over our heads... So I also dun know what to do is the best. Will still try the "talk" method bah...
As for my #2, still too young to understand us. In fact, I think he does understand abit but most of the time, he chooses to ignore us. :p So we will use the "beating" method to get our message across... Not the right method though but we are also still trying to find the right way on how and what to do...

I think our 3-year toddlers are getting demanding now and they maybe use the wrong method to tell us what they want. Their 1st reaction is to 一哭二闹 to get our attention bah...

Chaye, cheer up, u r not alone. Everyday, when RA is in a bad mood, she will say I dun want mummy, dun want daddy, dun want Mei Mei, I dun like to go to school, I dun like my classmates, dun like anybody. I dun know where she learns this from too. :p

Chaye, mine will say it in angry tone for sure cos bad mood mah. But if I take it to heart n say 'ok lor, since u dun want mummy, I will go away or I dun need to sleep with u anymore. She will get more angry n if I continue to ignore her, she will cry. :p

I took time off and am at home now. Going to fetch him at 5pm later and be nice and patient with him provided he doesn't start his whining/tantrum machine again :p

What shall I do later if he refuse shower again ? Walk away and ignore him? Dun talk to him until he realise that I'm angry and come to me to say he wants shower ?

chaye
very subjective, every child is different. what works on us may not work for T

for me, if x1 doesnt wants to shower i will use either the below
1. ask him to select a toy and shower with the toy (distraction)
2. tell him that i will shower his car or his beloved "now" toy ONLY since he not keen to shower. usually x1 will feel "left out" and say want to join me and his toy for shower
3. if he cries and throw tantrum, tell him that i will walk away and when he's finished with his crying, then come n look for me. then really walk away n wait for him to finish his tantrum
4. if he really refuse to shower, suggest wipe down only. but that means today you not guai n not willing to listen to mummy and wants to be baby. i will let you be baby for today. but tomorrow you must be big boy, cannot be baby

Chaye,
Remember, don't stress on the bad habit, focus and zoom in their good stuff.

Like Pixie said, every child is different, may not work for T, ok, just to share.

HR rarely said negetive things. When he said, for example when he said I don't like you mama. I first have to remind myself don't get personal, he doesn't really mean that. Then I have to acknowledge his feeling by asking him (calmly) why he doesn't like mama. He may not be able to give me an answer. So I have to ask him like is it because mama don't let you watch tv, is it because mama don't play with you, is it because xxx (talk on minor small things). Till he told me a reason, sometimes not really an answer, but I just accepted it. Then went on to explain to him it's okay or not okay because of the reason he gave. Then asked him do you remember what mama does when mama is angry (that's why showing a good example is very important, if you beat him when you are angry, he learns), and what you did what you are angry, is it right if you do this when you are angry. Talk and talk till we finally hug and kiss and become peace again. Sometimes I use threatening methods also, but that's when I don't have patience to do the talking, cos threatening is not a good method at the long run.

When I was angry, I did scold him and he learns exactly the same way how I scolded him. He did exactly the same thing to me when he was angry. So I have to be very careful. But I still get angry lah, I am a human mah. Just try and try and try. Sometimes I showed him a very sad face and asked why you want to make mama angry, do you know mama is very sad when you make mama angry. Sometimes he buys that, and quickly come and hug me and said positive thing to me. And sure there are still shouting at the kids lah, but I try loh. Now I choose to leave them alone when I am really tired than to try playing with them cos little minor thing would make me shout very easily when I am dead tired.

My hub is sooooo busy that he hardly see the kids, for a few weeks already. The condo project he is working on will be launched in end June. Hopefully after that will be better. It's crazy now that he arrives home after midnight, and only wakes up after we leave the house. So sad hor. Don't say the kid, I also miss him a lot leh. Really, tell you kids don't be an architect next time, k!

Tongtong
Wat gives u the idea that I'm expecting ? Choy !! No way for #3.

Brought T back from cc and so far threw few small tantrum which is under controlled by me before it flares to huge meltdown. Ignoring method work so far. He got frustrated when I ignore him and went to look for maid lucky I warn her before what strategies we r using now so she ask her to apologise. So he came to apologize and I ask him do u know what u r apologizing for ? He shrugs and say duno then say bcos my helper ask him to do so ! I wanna laugh out loud bit can't. So I explain to him.

Btw wanna ask those mummies who bot the leap frog. I cannot play it on my player. It says Region Code error. What's that huh ? Anyone has this prob ?

Sometimes i really wonder is it good to send children to CC at young age. My gal just started sch on monday. She is cry very badly in sch. Refused to drink or eat, always want a teacher to carry her and whenever the teacher is out of her sight she will start to cry again. When she is home she is so gluey to me. refused to let go of me keep holding onto my hands. Now even Javin also cry when he reach sch upon seeing Mei mei cry.... Meimei keep telling me tat she is scared. What should i do now? I intend to let her rest at home tml. Heartpain to see her cry everyday so badly....

Chaye,
The leapfrog DVD is written for US which is region 1. Asia is region 3. Some DVD player bought in sgp is locked to region 3 so u can't play region 1 DVD. U hv to either crack yr DVD firmware to make it region free or get yr hands on a player which is not locked. Try on yr laptop or pc, sometimes those DVD player r not locked.

Tongtong,
She is no way near to being a genius lah. Just a bit advance comparably.

Chaye,
That's a good start to use ignoring method, at least save you from shouting ;-)

The DVD thing grumpus has explained it very well. Meaning you are using a good reputable brand lah. Those branded one usually locked loh, have to get those cheap cheap brand then can play ang disc. Our Samsung one cannot play leapfrog, pc also cannot play, so the dotting baba bought them a Akira one just for leapfrog.

Jacelyn, I think it depends on the child's personality too. For RaeAnne, even 2 hr PG, it took her one month to adjust. She was a koala bear to her fav PG teacher for 2 weeks, cried very hard for 2 weeks before gradually stopping her crying after 1 month.

We brought Raelynn to RaeAnne's old school, RC PG, on Tues for 15 mins. On Wed, we left her after 15mins while she stayed on for another 45 mins.No crying until a little gal snatch her toy at the end of the session.

And today is Raelynn's official 1st day at school. Teacher said no crying for 2 hrs until the end of the session. When there are songs, she will stand there and clap. After the song ended, she continue singing to herself for another 15 mins. She only started crying cos a lot of the kids left already but we were a bit late. Really a world of difference lor, even the teachers commented. :p

Hi kitsune!

No lah, just by comparing to her peers and depending on her nanny working experience in cc, she said XY is the most advance kid she had even seen. She speaks so well that is definitely not her age. She can remmeber storylines of a simple book and try to read it out to us. For the animals, she can said out correctly almost all the animals, even those uncommon ones. Number can say 1-20 in English. And she is only 21 months old. Her memory is just superb. And she is big, so no one believes me when I told them she is not even 2yo yet. Strangers usually guess she is closing to 3yo! Though, she has no interest in puzzles, and she doesn't like music and movement as much as HR, she is a bookworm, she just flips books, not too keen in toys even.

Pauline,

So I should try ur method bring her there stay a while with her. She has got her favorite teacher but principle insisted that the teacher cannot be with her always. If her fav teacher carry or hold her hands she won't cry. Yesterday she can't sleep keep wAking up tell maid she is scared! So today let her rest at Hm!

Kam I think she is really genius! U worry of dunno how to bring her up or too outstanding in school? Guess in Sg there's school for those very bright kids one ma, the government will spend money to groom them so u dun need to worry, just make sure she has equal expOsURe to moral education too

Chaye cuz t used to be guai right, so suddenly change in behavior must be due to the mummy, either expecting or stressed with negative emotions

Kam I guess u have to accept the nature of your hubby's profession , unless he changed line. Or lun until be became boss himself . How many more years to go ? U both are very intelligent ppl so ur kids got the genes from u all, it's good that u all work hard for their future too cuz I foresee ur kids sure excel When they grow up

I asked him this morning does he want to shower, he shook his head. Ok fine, no fight. I told him then go cc shower, he said ok happily and off to brush his teeth. Brought him to sch and form teacher told me that he cried again cos he doesnt want to nap. *sigh* I dont know what to say....
I realise he needs a lot of encouragement and coaxing. I just have to keep up with all these positive enforcement on him for the time being. I hope it's just a phase of his crying epi and pass quickly !!!!

Jacelyn
How old is mei mei har ?

kam
XY is a genius leh. HR already so clever but the sister can surpass him ! What did u eat during pregnancy ? haha or tai jiao isit ?
Yes ! Architect has to work v late or sometimes even until wee hours when a project is starting. A lot of things to do even before the project commence. I have already strike off Architect, Accountant and Auditor for now. hahahaha

Jacelyn
I will feel heartpain to send meimei to cc at 20mths unless bobian. Maybe she's not used to the environment. Or maybe anxiety and makes her worry. Did you ask her why is meimei so scared ?

My B will also use the words that I scold him with to scold me back...sigh. That's when I tell myself have to scold him less but the next min he'll do something to make me scold him again...haha. I always tell myself to control my bad temper but everytime I choose to ignore, it just accumulates until I blow up. Also not good lor cos B will suddenly see me get so angry over a small thing. So now I prefer to solve every issue as and when it happens then forget about it so that I won't be angry with him for so long.

I am also amazed by B's memory. We were in Seoul last Oct and back there again in April. We took the airport limosine bus and he actually remembered where we should get off. Without any prompting from us, he told me "mummy, we get down here." We were so surprised.

Chaye,
My leagfrog DVD can play on my DVD player. And mine is Pioneer...

You are so right! Strike out all those professions with "A"!! I married an Accountant and totally hate the words "month-end", "quarter-end", "year-end". Very hard to go holiday leh...

Kam,
I did not know architect work is that siong too.
Hmmm, then which profession is good???

XY is really bright! I know you are worried but with your good guidance and good school, I think she will be fine.

So envy to hear you mummies #2 started speaking... My #2 is still not speaking... still pointing and saying "yayayaya"... I always prompt him to repeat words after me but he is just not interested!! He will look at me or just ignore me or walk away... Getting worried...

Kam, oic, she does sound very advanced.

Jacelyn, haha, today she cried when I tried to take off her shoes when we reached pg. Think she finally got it. But she wasn't crying when we checked at 10+am n when hubby picked her at 11am.

Yvonne, Brian has very gd memory for places n location. I am sure RaeAnne can't do that.

Krystle, t think boys start speaking later. Raelynn is now saying more too n imitating what we say too.

Yvonne,
B has good navi skills!

Kitsune,
You must be very proud of RL! Only 18 mths or so already so matured and can handle attending school by herself.

Yes, boys are slower but I see my boy is much slower than other kids of his age.
Been telling myself it is ok, don't worry but can't help worrying. I certainly hope he opens his golden mouth and talk before entering sch next Jan.

BTW, how's your real estate career going???

Krystle, hehe no leh, at first i was a bit worried why she doesn't have separation anxiety, like a bit 迟钝。now she cries, seems more normal but end up I feel more sim Tia. Hee. Dilemma. :p

I am still waiting for the govt exam results then still must take ERA internal course. Hope can start soon lor cos I need the $300 subsidy now that RaeAnne is at full day cc. :p

yup chaye, my leapfrog can play on my pioneer dvd player too like krystle leh
but mine is 5yo dvd sound system player. so old stuff usually not so restrictive

about T, you really gotta know what he respond well to. reasoning? threatening? caning? i know some styles are bad styles but if u dun mind using it, no one will say u evil mummy lar
btw, x1 was very "moody" like T when i was doing my confinement. after LOTS n LOTS of praise, positive comments, and really sit down n tok RUBBISH with him (aka listening to him, opening my heart, connecting with him), then he cleared up that moodiness.
if you want T to listen to you, you have to spend lots time listening to him first. thats what i realised when x1 throws constant tantrums

tongtong / chaye,
No lah, not that advance lah. Worry in the sense that we want her to grow up as normal as other kids, but don't want to limit her potential. Sending her to those so-called school for bright kids is the last thing we would do, Sg education system is too rigid, can't trust them.

I already accepted his nature of job long time ago liao loh. Nowadays I never complain leh, no matter how late he is, but I still no happy if he has to work weekend, but also quietly not happy, never show him black face liao. Think the kids also accepted the fact liao :-( He wanted to change line but doesn't know what to do or what he can do, and kinda still heartpain to let go spending that many years in uni plus working experience. See how long more he can hang on to bah. Or he can be SAHD :)))

Yvonne,
B has very good memory!! I totally agree with what you said about the anger management!! It's so true! If I keep things for very long hor, then suddenly a minor minor thing will become a bomb, and the kids were puzzled what have they done wrong. Now I also try to talk and get it over as it's just happened. It's much better that way.

krystle,
as long as he can say simple words, like calling mama, baba, etc, then it's fine. No need to worry. Give him more time, and meanwhile keeps talking to him. He will suddenly speak lots when he is ready.

If you remember I shared about one of nephews who doesn't speak till the age of 4!!! Only recently, after his 4th birthday that my brother and SIL finally are concern and finally sent him to the specialist to check out. He never call baba or mama, that's how serious he is! Luckily he was not diagnosed with autism, the doctor said it's due to delayed learning or having learning difficulties (middle child syndrome), now have to teach him how to concentrate, how to play/do a certain toy/thing, and encourage him to speak. Just wait for that golden moment for him to be finally "enlightened", and suddenly become “normal” again.

Kam, today I finally experienced what u r going through, looking after 2 kids on my own cos hubby has tuition n ILs house having renovation so we can't bring the gals over. Luckily my mum came over for a short while to help out.

I seriously think that I can handle T well but not anyone else. Not even my hubby. And he bullies the maid. With the maid he cried loudly ie during the weekdays. Today I hv no prob. Before he starts his nonsense I am able to control it.

Kam,
Thanks for your thoughts!
Problem is my boy is not even calling mama or baba...
He just calls everyone "ah" or "ya".. we tried to correct him and ask him to repeat after us but he just refused. But he can sometimes managed some words abt food (coz he just loves eating). Like yesterday, he said "ice-skeam" when eating ice-cream, "kit" when eating biscuit... It seems he only interested to pick up words very selectively...
The only person he can call is his sis "jie".
I am thinking if I become SAHM, will his speech improve?

BTW, I think if your hubby becoming SAHD, not a bad idea! You may want to consider it... I think just depending on your income should be ok.
I understand how you feel, it is not healthy that the kids can't get to spend time with daddy.