(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

lynn
its at Blk Blk 221B, Boon Lay Place, Boon Lay Food Centre. i cannot remember the name of the stall, but its not at the outer "layers" of stall, its in the middle of the market. the market layout is as such that there is a big rectangle of stores and tables are all inside the rectangle. then more stores behind the 4 sides of the rectangles. the chendol is inside the rectangle one.,.its near to a chicken rice stall and hokkien prawn mee stall.
the dessert stall's spoon is metal soup spoon. special one de....

hope im not too vague!!!

eh mummies with blogspot as their blog server...can i ask hor, i wanna add in html tags to it but it throws me an error message leh. why ah?
i put
{head}
{meta tags}
{/head}

(replace curly brackets with pointy brackets <>)

it says the html tag "head" is not allowed...hmmmm....
even me with scripting knowledge oso dunno why blogspot dun allow me?

good morning ladies!

so sad C1 finally stop her classes with aquaducks after 3 yrs.

Steph,
yes!!! We are going to NSRCC! It's there or no where else for us (chalets). I even set alarm in my mobile to remember to book the place. The last time for C1, we didn't manage to get my ideal dates, this time managed to cos booked early :p

Chaye,
sad lor, 3 yrs already then now like downgrading her school :p and moreover i'm not letting C2 to go for it cos i intend to teach her myself :p. yes she can swim a short distance now.

Luvv,
NSRCC bungalows are v nice &amp; bright
Gd choice but pretty ex hor. Are u a member? u booked face poolside or away? i am looking at 11N.

and bravo to C1. I still dunno whether to start any swimming classes for Z.

pixie,
i haven try the chendol stall u mentioned in BL but i know roughly which stall aft u describe. One of the fish soup stall also v nice according to my mum but i have no chance to try it yet! I love the wu xiang jian bing there

Steph,
yes i love the place, nice and clean and especially after they renovated the place. I'm not a member, asked my sis to ballot it for me cos she's from SAF but still quite expensive. When i booked in 2009,it was under public so got to choose, this time cannot choose. She loves swimming till i wouldn't dare to let anyone else bring her for swimming when they don't know her "pattern"...

i think it's not the bustline big ba, it's just that the cuttings are getting smaller! My cupsize went up but hubby commented them as smaller as compared to before pregnancies :-(

Luvv,
SAF is = to Safra member rate? I have to wait till next month to secure booking cos booking only allow 6mths in advance for member (my ex-boss is member so i ask him to help me).

cuttings not small leh...bustline for clothing (free size) measured 93cm...so big! and for S size is 84cm...also loose for me
i wonder if i am normal

wahhh cupsize went up...how? cos u bfeed mah?

pixie,
got ppl mentioned mah &amp; the rest (ladies) more or less same size also order the same clothing! i am between 70 to 75 now, 80-85 was when i preggy/bfeed time...sob sob.

do u think i lost weight? only the face put on weight first!

i think u always so slim de lor
i started to have supper like u liao, jialatz...yesterday at 11, i ate a whole packet of 新洲米粉 leh!! power rite...sighs...

i wonder how u get bigger rib cage when u bfding ah?
coz i bfeed or no bfeed, still 75 leh, only cup size different

btw mummies, i finished a book during my ML about parenting
this author has been a counsellor for like 30years and he realised that time is what we are missing and thus resulting in rowdy and unruly kids

he came up with this thing about spending 1 hour a week of "praise" time with your child.
he tried this on all his case work and it works 100% for the past many many years

it is DIFFERENT from 1 hour of quality time

in this special 1 hour, you will
-pick an activity your child wish to do (puzzle, window shopping, sports etc)
-during this one hour, do nothing but praise n compliment your child. no other distraction allowed eg tv, hp
-the difference is that you cannot tell or suggest what is right or wrong to your child. eg if your child colours the sun black, dont tell him/her that it should be yellow. just praise eg "good job! you did well and draw within the lines!"
meaning you spot and lookout for the good things your child does, and not lookout for the wrong things your child does
whereas in 1 hr of quality time, you draw n colour with your child, you can tell ur child the sun should be yellow, the flower should be red, lets colour this, lets colour that etc

he says, over a period of few mths, your child would be more 听话

coz
1. when you praise, you dont judge. your child realise that
2. your child is born natural want to please you. when you praise 1 hr a week, he/she will want to do all the "right" things to please you

no harm trying

i havent try

but what i do now is i tryyyy not to tell my son what is wrong but praise for what he did right and well. he listens to me more

hths

pixie,
i put on lotsa weight mah...expanded when preggy (same like buttock), bust cupsize went up one size only.

i had instant noodles (add canned bak ding) + popcorn last night for supper:p

i am so hungry now cos i skip bfast...

pixie,
I laughed when I read your post, especially "2. your child is born natural want to please you. when you praise 1 hr a week, he/she will want to do all the "right" things to please you".

Why I laugh becos I'm reading a book on "Setting limits for the Strong-willed Child" which says that strong-willed kids likes to challenge instead of please the parent...sobs! How different our kids are and how different the methods we use on different kids. My B don't have the natural instinct to please us. He's more inclined to push our boundaries and test our limits over and over again. He learns things the hard way and trying to get him to please us is quite an impossible mission. It's good to use a positive approach in teaching our kids but somehow I don't have that privilege cos it's different dealing with kids like B. I'm still reading the book but damn the author is so right about how B behaves and how we react. I finally believe that conventional methods of parenting don't work well with B. Now pushing hubby to read the book cos he also need help in handling B's pesonality.

And finally my menses came today...hehehe...no accident.

I would like to recommend a good book too.
'Appreciating Your Child' by Zhou Hong

The book relates how a Chinese man (in China) raised a deaf child to become a top scholar, graduating from renown universities in the US. Zhou Hong used principles of appreciation and created a new movement for child raising - 'The Appreciation Education'.

I went for his talk before and had seen how my friends using his method to guide their children.

Steph,
i stopped bfg and they shrinked. I think my cage ribs expanded ba.

Thanks mummies for the nice reccommendations. Pixie, you have the title/author of the book? i like the idea of "1 hour of praise time per week"

Shannonbaby, is the book in mandarin or english?

Pixie,
That's interesting. But my question is, do you teach X what colour he should colour the sun etc at the first place? We don't, we never tell them sky must be blue, grass must be green, we say it's very nice or well done no matter what colour they use. We don't even ask them to colour within lines, cos that limits they imagination and creativity a lot, and what would he achieve by being able to colour within lines? I support the idea strongly that we should see the positive or good sides of our kids and make that better, but not to pick up on their bad stuff.

Shannonbaby,
Thanks for sharing. Is there a Chinese version? Can you write the author name in chinese words?

I am actually now worried about my daughter, a different kind of worry altogether, that she is too smart! Way way beyond her peers and I am stressed out how we should raise her. No time to do internet search and read books now, but I think I have to start immediately or I would regret. Her learning ability is so incredible. Her nanny is stressed also so she is glad in a way XY is doing to cc next month, else she couldn't catch up with her learning. I don't know how to say it, I am worried. You know what i mean? Luckily my mum will be here soon so she can give me some objective views and constuctivr suggestions.

did u read the news tht a toddler was killed by her mum when she was reversing her car? so sad, he is onli 2...

i cant imagine how guilty the mummy is....

Kam,
I know wat you mean about being "too smart". B is a little bit like that. It's not just the academic stuff but mental development as well. I guess the most important thing is to provide proper moral guidance. They can pick up all the academic stuff easily but gotta take care of their character building. She'll do just fine with a great mummy like you.

aqua,
yup, I read that. Must be devastating to accidentally kill your own child.

But did you see the news about another mummy of 4 who has had 2 of her babies die on her?? She's in court for possible "shaken baby syndrome" and she has post natal depression. She had 4 kids in 4 years and she's 28 years old and a science graduate. Her 2nd child died when he was 3 months old cos she "dropped him on the floor when a bicycle whizzed passed her" and an open verdict was recorded. Now her 3rd or 4th child died again at 2 months and was found with brain injury, bruises and possible broken leg when admitted into hospital. Don't know what to say...I'm sure she's educated enough to know about contraception. Why give birth to so many and so quickly yet treat them like that?

Pixie
May I ask what book are you reading ? Can share ? Asian books dun usually write things like "praise your kids" cos we asian are very stingy in giving out praises. Even our bosses dun really do that eventhough you know that you've done a great job.

aqua
Ya read the news this morning. Sad ! The mummy has to carry this guilt with her for the rest of her life.

yvonne
yup, B is certainly different. he is out of the norm hor. HUGS

Luvv, chaye
i go back to my records and let u know the title &amp; author

i told my hb that if we dont harp on x1's wrongdoings but balance out with his "rightdoings" then it would be better. coz he make few mistakes in a day but many many right stuff in the same day. its not fair for us to keep harping on the mistakes but no praise for the right ones. its like a boss forever harping on our mistakes...
eg for 10 sentences we say, seems like at least 50% are about his mistakes. makes it a very negative relationship

so right now we make conscious effort to balance positive and negative comments....

kam
i dont leh. i never restrict my son what is my "i think its right", unless its super ridiculous. if he says the blue taxi is an ambulance, i will agree with him. i was just giving examples lah, not from my real life experience though. x1 cannot colour within the lines, and he anyhow scribble even till now. but he knows roughly what colour to apply to for simple object. there is no wrong or right i feel

Yvonne,
Gosh, that mum your described should be banned from having any more kids, so sad after reading that :-(

Yes, it's exactly what her nanny said, it's the moral guidance part we are worry about. You see ah, she can learn things so fast, then when she runs out of "proper" things to learn, she starts to learn funny stuff. I have to walk one step see one step, if needs be, I have no choice but to homeschool them.

ok got it.
working parents, thriving families

the author, i always remember vividly, will write a classic example of our bz daily life and dissect it after the writeups. what we can do better and how we can do better

the book has 10 strategies, mostly i forgot coz i skimp through the book mostly (too bz with x2), but i took pics of the 10 strategies with my iphone. now picture back up in my home pc, will refer to it and post what are the 10 strategies

very commom sense ones.

imho this book more for eg tweens + teens

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/working-parents-thriving-families-david-palmiter/1023591383?ean=9781934716144&amp;itm=3&amp;usri=working%2bparents

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Working-Parents-Thriving-Families-Book/181872918521032

hoho!! got it from NLB:-

Strategy one: complete one hour each week of "special time" with your child
Strategy two: discover, promote and celebrate your child's competencies
Strategy three: monitor your child
Strategy four: establish enjoyable family rituals
Strategy five: practice sound discipline
Strategy six: promote healthy decision making, independence and adaptive thinking patterns in your child
Strategy seven: take care of yourself and your relationship with your significant other
Strategy eight: emphasize a healthy lifestyle Strategy nine: establish collaborative relationships with other important adults Strategy ten: get help if your child is demonstrating problems that you're unable to fix.

wow u mummies really read up lots from parenting books...i've lotsa stuff to learn...

lunch went JP &amp; bought an evening dress from BYSI for my bro in law's wedding in Dec
BYSI having 15% off for ocbc card.

Kam,
I managed to find a chinese version for u. below is the image. as the one i have is the english version. My friend is the one who bring in the english version.
http://www.secondhandbooks.com.sg/img/upload/1027791291200344_t3.jpeg

Zhou Hong
Singapore : One Simple Path, 2006
The author believes that deep inside a child's psyche resides both an angel and a devil: If you know how to love and understand a child, you will be able to awaken the angel; if not, you will only draw out the devil. The secret of awaken the angel is the use of Appreciation Education. This method is recognized as one of the best education methods in the world. Professors from Harvard, a number of Singapore SAP schools principals and teachers have visited the school in China to learn more about this method. Even the Minister of Education visited them recently on 11 Feb 06.

Without appreciation, there is no education to speak of. One of human nature's most basic, primal needs is to be appreciated. You can even say that every being exists in this world for the sole purpose of being appreciated by others.

This is an important book for parents and educationists. This book has not only influenced thousand of parent and educationists but it has also prompted famous movie director Jack Neo to incorporate the concept into his new movie "I Not Stupid Too".

I find the following passages very meaningful.

The key ideas of this philosophy are:

There is no such thing as bad crops, only farmers who do not know how to grow crops; There is no child who can not be taught well, only parents or teachers who do not know how to teach.

How a farmer treats his crops determined the growth of his crops. By the same principle, how parents treat their children will also determine the child’s destiny.

Just as a farmer prays for his crops to grow quickly, all parents also wish for their children to succeed early in life. However, the difference lies in how they go about attaining that goal.

A farmer ponders day and night about how to improve the quality of his crops—whether he is watering them enough, whether he is using sufficient fertilizer. However, when parents lose sleep over their children’s education, do they think about their innermost needs? Do they fret about how to satisfy their children’s emotional needs?

When the growth of the crop is below expectation, a farmer never complains nor blames the crops. On the contrary, he would reflect on the poor growth in a bid to come up with a reason for it. However, when children fail to live up to their parents’ expectations in their studies, many parents will only single-mindedly reprimand the child. Never for a moment do they stop to think about their part in it nor to do some soul-searching.

With changes in geographical conditions and environment, farmers adapt by altering their crop-growing methods accordingly. However, with changes in the social environment, are parents conscious of the need to keep abreast on their concepts of education?

Kam,

my gal is just like your gal. way too smart in her thinking, nobody believes she is only 3.5yrs old. My ILs always remind me that i need to guide her properly because she is way too smart, in fact both my ILs cannot handle her at all, so far, only my mum and both my hb n i can handle her. She thinks fast n far and good in her reasoning skills. however, my hb says she can never be in sales lines cos she is too atas..hahaha

Kam,
The moral guidance part is really difficult. How do we actually teach them right from wrong. I see the moral values in the youngsters today and I shake my head. Maybe my thinking is old-fashioned but I want them to learn filial piety, respecting others, not being rude to elders, etc which are so not in tune with the current generation's thinking.

luca,
my copy is given to me by my friend who reprint the book in english version. The originl copy is in Chinese version. But I saw it in popular bookstore before.

换个方式做父母
只有不怕孩子输在起跑线上,才能让他们真正赢在终点线上

Lyn, oic, aiya, I flew via tiger airways so I got to entertain my kids myself. RL was restless on the flight cos she doesn't like to be strapped to the infant seat belt. But luckily she can be distracted by food n her sister's toys. Raeanne slept on the way back cos it was her afternoon nap time. :p

i had dinner, soup, fruits but im so hungry again. and hearting for chendol
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
later pester hb to drive me to buy chendol.

Pixie
Thanks for the article, maybe I should read that book. Dun think only teens then got prob, my 7 yr old driving me up the wall. Very defiant n stubborn. I used many mtds but no use after a while. Now my #2 picking it up. Today I heard E tell me maid not to waste his time! My 2 older ones fighting n arguing. The cane is their mom cos wat I say cannot no weight!

Oh, how's GG back to work? Miss bb?

shannonbaby, if it's in Chinese version, then it will be challenging for me to read ;p last night tried to search for it in d library but cldnt find it, will try d bookstores. tks!

mom2nat
miss bb a lot, i tot i wont have the "capacity" to miss my bb coz love x1 so much, but now, i really really love x2 alot....coz initially during ML i kinda bochup her, and spend more time with x1 leh
didnt know that i miss her so much LOL

Me at polliwogs now!!

Pixie
It's good u miss bb. Must b very adorable!! I love to kiss kiss hug hug bb. Now who is looking after for u?