(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kam
can pass me when u r free lah, of coz i want!

yes i would not want to be working in india too :p

me n steph boy in little wings, not MFS

kam,

my hb used to go kolkata for biz trip. he always tell me that i definitely will not b interested to follow him because its very dirty everywhere.

pixie,
Oh thanks, I remember wrongly.

Okay, I will drop by your place one day.

pixie/shannonbaby,
:-( Not looking forward to, but bo bian lah. Just stay in hotel and go to the office loh, at least don't have to spend money :p

hey ladies
Would like to ask if any of u use sheet mask ? After sheet mask do u still continue with toner and night cream or just leave the face to soak up the essense from the mask and that's it ?

Kam,
Wow, your first biz trip! Ya, India is definitely not as fascinating as other countries but it will be a brand new experience for you. Like you said, just go office and stay in hotel. That was what I did when I went Shenzhen for biz trip. Get a good hotel to stay.

Chaye,
I think should not put anything else after the mask. Let the essence sips into your skin and be absorbed. If you want, do a scrub to remove dead skin or toner before the mask so that your skin is conditioned for best absorbancy.

Kitsune
Which cc is rae in? I buay than Elliot Liao, wan to send him try out cc. Any reviews for cc ard the east? I went to view a Montessori but px really off our budget.

chaye
recently clearing my existing mask stock so masking myself every 3 days, stop 2 days kind of cycle
i use the silicon scrubber from daiso, very nice leh, my skin dead skin really kena scrubbed off. then put mask, then massage remaining into face after peel off the mask. i dun put anything else liao coz my face cannot take too rich/too much stuff at one go, the oil production will go overdrive
but if your skin very dry kind can put moisturizer after the mask

Kam my hubby going to India too n he will get his vaccination done too. Same for u too right? How long will u be there?

Morning all!

I reached office at 845am and it's totally empty! Usually the boss is the first one to arrive, but today he is travelling. Most only start to come in slight after 9am. And some are travelling as well. Feel strange :p

Tongtong,
Oh, vaccination? No, my HR didn't tell me that. What vaccination in particular? Can you please help me to ask your hub? Thanks!

krystle/pixie
thanks for your feedback. I have asked my coll and most of them still use moisturiser after mask. one of them even wash off, tone and moisture ! I find that strange. For me, same as you guys just remove the mask and let my face soak in the essense and that's it ! Each has different style of doing hor. Maybe I should ask my beautician this fri when I see her.

tongtong/kam

Just to share how my co work. Staff do not have any jab if it's biz trips. Staff only get to jab if posted there to work.

Chaye,
Thanks for sharing. I very kiasi ah. If co not paying, I will pay for myself for those recommended jab like HepA, don't play play.

Kam,
Yes, prevention is most impt and it boils down to your own health. Better get the necessary jabs.. Not sure what is necessary in India... Is Malaria jab one of those?

Today's training cancelled.

krystle,
From googling, the highly recommended one for all travellers to India are HepA and typhoid. If stay longer, or to rural areas or have intimate contacts with locals, then there are HepB, Japanese Encephalitis.

Malaria no jab. Advice to bring along anti-malaria drug. And also anti-diarrhea as food/water poisoning is very common.

kam,

my hb advised is dont drink their water or take the ice when eating out. buy yr own mineral water at all time. hope this help..

kam
Oh then u better go jab on your own if co not paying. Over here staff are normally given Hep A & B (1jab), typhoid & tetanus.

T is very weird these few days. He just refused to step into the bathroom cos the floor is wet. I told him you are gonna get wet anyway cos u r going to take shower. He just simply refuse and cry again today. Bobian, whip out the cane and count to 3 if still dont go in I will whack him liao. Just dont understand why every morning go to struggle to take shower.

shanonnbaby,
Thanks! Yes, my colleague told me the same thing too. She even brought enough supply (for about 5 days) of mineral water all the way from Sg, cos she had a very bad poisoning there and still having phobia. Ice cream and milk also best to avoid. Contemplating to bring my own food, like cup noodle and biscuits etc.

Chaye,
Yup. Going to get the jab done this week. Go for Hep A and typhoid first. I have already received jab for HepB.

Kam , chaye

My hubby is traveling there for 2 days only but hr still ask them to jab for malaria. But Kam said that one no jab one?
I will ask him again .

chaye
ask T to wear rubber slippers into toilet lor
just to make him go in. we know eventually he'll get wet one de mah
my son oso lor, wet abit here n there he will tiptoe (me too, i think he got this gene from me), and asks to wear my bathroom slippers

pixie
Cannot wear slippers la. Later he get hooked then everyday also want to wear I pengsanz. And hor another weird thing is if his crocs is put far away from the door step he will not barefoot and walk to his crocs one leh. He will stand there and make noise de ! very gu niang leh. No matter how I ask him to walk over to wear he will never lor. How har ?

chaye
guai pi hor
i will accept leh, coz if its not detrimental to his growth, i'll accept lor. i console myself saying thats why my boy is special mah hahahahha

my bathroom slippers is outside toilet, x1 everyday wear i oso dun mind. its meant for bathroom anyway mah

i will not fight battles like these, thats me lah

kam
i read that MFS is gonna add more branches to overtake PAP etc to become one of the biggest player
last time in sengkang i wanted to put X in MFS too...like u say, cant go wrong, principal got "heart" kind for that branch

pixie,
As of now, they already have >50 branches leh, largest in term of cc. PAP is more for playground, right?

I talked to one of the teachers, has good impression on her. Just one block apart, there is another MFS near the one we visited a few days ago. We visited that one 2 years back, didn't like the teachers there and the environment, probably that one has existed for some time liao, the teachers already numb. This one very new, just started in May.

Kam
I m considering sending Elliot to cc. He has been v disruptive n restless at home. Keeps fighting with jie jie. Making me mad Liao!!

Pixie
You r gg back to work soon Liao?

kam,
i went to india for biz trip before. bought bottled water from there, it's ok. but remember to use bottled water for everything, even brushing teeth!

i used to da bao food/sandwiches from the hotel in the morning and bring to office for my lunch. dun even dare eat at the canteen there cos the canteen mainly caters to locals and dunno if their hygiene level is the same as ours.

other than that, it's an experience so enjoy yrself! if u hv time, do some sightseeing, cos dun think u'll be going to india for holiday. and if u're taking cab to office everyday, hold on tight, being on the roads there is another experience

so angry with T this morning again. Woke up grouchy and I have warned him not to cry bcos the bathroom floor is wet. So he guai guai go in but duno for what reason he started to cry and make noise again ! He can be grouchy due to slightest thing like the maid taking out his shorts and underwear at one go instead of piece by piece. Like tat also make a fuss ! Another eg is when he wan to pee so we ask him pee in the toilet bowl then he will say he wants potty then when u give him potty he says he want toilet bowl ! and make a fuss out of it with tat er er er irritating sound ! Finally buay tahan whack his buttock lightly with a cane. Then he pee in toilet bowl crying. After a while say fuss again cos he doesnt want to brush teeth ! Buay tahan make me sound like mad woman early morning leh ! slap his mouth to stop all his crying nonsense ! Still no learn his mistakes cos after that go back room to change he say dun want wear this dont want wear that with that irritating er er er noise again leh. Got to talk to him sternly. Say if you continue to be like this nobody will love you anymore. We only love happy boy and not grouchy boy. Dont know he understands or not but I keep repeating what I've said. After a while ask him what did mummy say ? He just shrug his shoulders and said "dont know" pengsanz leh

chaye
dun beat his mouth lah
and dun say nobody will love u anymore; kids take things very literally one

i was told for 1 negative comment to anyone (especially kids), you need to have 5 positive comments. tough right? its scientifically proven to be the balancing point; so its not good to give negative comments leh

usually if X is grouchy and eh eh i will either ask him stand in the corner n calm down (while i rush my stuff)
or i will tell him i wont do anything until he tells me properly (instead of eh eh like a baby) what he wants

brush teeth dun want, ok i skip that. wont fight this battle

dun want wear this dun want wear that - if me, i will pick anything and put onto him since i have given him choices and he refuses. coz late liao leh. cannot afford to ask "so u want this? you want that" etc
if he screams n cry coz i force dress him, i'll let him be and then hold his hands and walk out from the door. then tell him "when you finished crying n calm down then can call for mama"

issit he woken up from sleep too fast? some kids tend to be grouchy every morning when waking up

Morning mummies ...

mylife your kodomo is now pack in my luggage LOL .... but softener I only get 7 I think I miss count sorry ....

pixie
usually I patient one. I will ask him why what happen ? what's wrong? what do u want ? all in a nice tone. Then he will be able to tell me. And most of the time it's trivial things. But these 2 days I can hear him er er er when I come home when I go work and even middle of the night ! past 2 nights I got to wake up and he keep crying for no reason. Ask him thirsty izit, want pass urine izit, stomach pain izit. All shake head and er er er continues. I told him u can talk u talk dun er er er.. After that it happen 2 more times leh. I buay tahan le. All accumulated in me. I better go drink some liang teh later :p

Hi mummies, need urgent advice here.

I just got my period this morning despite partial BFding. I pump 2x at work and total latch on at night. Will my milk supply be reduced now that my period has come?

Chaye,
can understand how u feel when kids dun listen to us and still "whine" alot, can be quite irritating if it happens often. i battles with my #2 everyday on brushing his teeth until sometimes i give up forcing him to brush. but will keep reminding him if he doesnt brush, his teeth will not be nice, and next time he doesnt have strong teeth to eat his fave sweets and chocolates ;p

pixie,
saw dat u have a spree on EDM, d products seem not bad, n its cheap, wat product are u using? u noe if the concealer is good?

grumpus,
Thank you very much for sharing!! I wouldn't be so careful to use bottled water to brush teeth if not for your reminder! Okay okay, I will be very very careful, esp water comsumption, I need 2-3L of water per day to survive.

prata_queen,
Depending on individual. Some will some won't.

Chaye,
These few weeks I also not very patient with my kids leh. Little small thing would make me angry and shout/scream at them. Feel so bad after I calm down. HR certainly understands that and learns the bad from me liao, my girl also started to learn and understand well. I try and try and try loh. I am very drained leh, gonna take care of 2 kids on my own everyday, plus the cooking and housechores, hub hasn't been back before they go to bed for a few weeks liao, he is so tensed up with his job, again. Sigh, guess that's not an excuse for me to go loose. Must must must must must try harder....... Good thing is my parents are coming in 2 weeks time!!!

any mummies order from pelangi website before? do u know how long it takes to delivery?
thinking of getting some flashcards from them.

QQ
thanks a lot!! *muacks*

Chaye
I second pixie. Dont beat his mouth and say "i dont love u" lah. Very heartbreaking and traumatizing for a child. Anyway, when we go on and on, they will tune off, which is why he said "I dont know" when u asked him what u said. Perhaps it's best to prepare in advance? I find Rylee cooperates well when i tell her in advance of what i expect of her. And then use the "if...then" consequences. For eg, i will tell her "we're going to the toys rus to pick a present for her fren's bday party, not buying toys for u. Now, if u behave urself, then perhaps u can get a ___, and if u dont, we'll go home straight away". I will remind her one day in advance, so she can be prepared mentally. Then, when day comes i'll say "rem mommy said..." and she'll understand. For ur case, maybe the night before take 2 sets of clothes out in advance. At least he feel he HAS a choice? Just ask him this or this? If he refuses both, then u say, then do u want to go to school naked, then everyone will laugh Silly Tate! and turn it into a joke lo. I think he jus er er er to get attention cos u have been mang chang with him? Sometimes kids fuss and whine becos they jus want attention and they also dunno what they want. I know we ALL need lots of patience dealing with preschoolers, but these few weeks rylee has been super guai, obedient, and cooperative. It's like a whole new world! Maybe she really got tired of all my yelling and nagging haha.

When ur super angry. Dont hit him. Walk away even if it means he's late, ur late etc. If he runs aft u, or cry, and u think ur losing it, jus walk away. Calm yourself down before u go back to him to handle him. 1) ur showing him how YOU manage ur anger and 2) u will avoid hitting him and making him feel unloved.

Chaye,
No matter what, I don't beat the kids. Not even lightly. My hub is very right! If you do it once, you will do it again and again!!! I used to beat my girl buttock with my hand when she was younger, when she was very hard to be put to bed. I struggled so much and my hub warned and warned me cannot start beating her. I lost it one night and beat her. Then without me realising, beating her buttock became my habit to make her sleep! It took a long long while, and it's mentally exhasting to stop this. You have to stop doing it! Same as scolding/shouting at them. Once I started that, I repeat it again and again, and it would take me a while to quit this. Doing nothing good to the kids and to myself. It makes my blood boils, head exploding! Yes, walk away is the best method. Good luck!!

sigh... Kam, I feel bad after I've calm down lor. This whole morning was bad when I reached office. Still trembling with anger and remorse. sob sob. I will try, try, try not to hit him again.

ok mylife will tell him what I expect him tonite.

Luca
Their concealer v good, my fren n i private spree it and she got 2x of it....
I never use their concealer so i got the travel size to try, not bad...but my face is more suitable for gel, cream, liquid type of makeup, not powder, so i not very "yay!!" on their concealer.
But i have been using their eyeshadow n blusher for 2yrs liao...i like it lor

If u keen, next spree i sms u again yah

thanks thanks
so sian that this is happening. i thought BFdg = no menss.

re losing temper at kids
i'm guilty of that too (who isn't), especially after a hard day at work, rush home to cook for them & end up the fussy #1 says she wants rice when i cooked noodles or she wants macaroni when i have cooked guo tiao.

once, she dropped the corelle bowl on the floor. while it didn't break, the rice was all over. Since that was an accident and the bowl didn't break, i tried not to flare up. But when she next flung vege (using her fork) onto the dining chair opposite her, i got so fed up i took out the hanger and hit the table. scared her till she cried.

i oso flare up, who doesnt

when he purposely do something wrong, i will bring him to the notti corner and get him to stand there...

but if he do something wrong and apologise to me, i will say thank you and then wont harp on it coz he knows he's sorry abt it. eg 2 days ago he was pooing on toilet bowl and dropped his power ranger figurine into the toilet bowl. my maid n i gotta use chopsticks n plastic bag to fish it out...yuks
x1 immediately said sorry when he dropped it into the bowl. so i didnt scold him

yest night he wet his shorts while sleeping and i pulled him up to change shorts, he apologised too, so i didnt scold him

but i dunno he really sorry or not? im thinking he is bah

pixie, if my #1 apologises i guess i wouldnt be so angry. she seems full of pride at a young age. when she does apologise which is rare, she does it grudgingly and rolls her tongue to show her displeasure.

i wonder where she learnt to roll her tongue. not from us at home i'm sure

re: losing temper at kids
well well i got my fair share of stories too (i think pixie witnessed some when we met up last month yah)
i recalled last month, one of the wkend, we brought Z to Tiong Bahru hawker for lunch. Hubby ordered a plate of fried carrot cake while i Q up for prawn quo tiao soup. When i returned, Z had almost finished his plate of $2 carrot cake. I prepared & cut up some guo tiao & fishcake for him as he requested...guess what? We cleared his oily plate of carrot cake & all of a sudden, he flare up...he threw his fork at me! And pushed the bowl of guo tiao+hot soup towards me...the soup spilt out by the forceful push & some soup landed on my cloth (top) & my bag! Gosh i was so mad at him for such unacceptable attitude & temper! I raised my voice v sternly (almost wanna beat him but didn't) & refused to let him continue eating until he apologize to me & admit his fault. This stubborn boy refused, stare at me angrily & even walked away on his own, off the chair & from the table. He just walked far from our sight while my hubby followed behind him secretly. After 20mins or so, he calm down after hb explained to him then he apologised to me. Haiz...that's my boy. Just a phase, will outgrow

well TT is also not SHENG YIU DE DENG ... sometimes she also throw tantrums .... and she even behave like what Z is doing throw fork or whatever on her hand when she angry .... i oso scold her and I do it on public ... cos I wanna tell her she cannot behave this way at home and even in public .....or anywhere