(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mom2nat
dun go out i will be so so so bored..almost everyday i thinkk of places to go heeheeeheeee

kitsune
i agree, ur mil sure grumble de....

Pixie, yup, that's why I ask hubby to be my messenger. No guts to tell her myself. :p But I'm prepared to rush back on Tues & Thurs to put RaeAnne to nap. So, she just needs to bring her to her home on Mon, Wed & fri. Actually, if I can find a buggy board, maybe the maid can help me bring her back from school everyday then i don't need to trouble my MIL at all. :p

kitsune,
I thought of getting a buggy board. But hub doesn't like the idea, so didn't get at the end. The cc very near to your place right? Have to cross a road? We have to cross a road from the car park to our block, we have trained our kids very well that they know to stop in front of the traffic light. If not, hold her hand all the time loh. If not, then let RA sit in the stroller while your helper sling RL. I have been doing that when XY was young. Let your helper try it out and see how it goes?

Kam, need to cross 2 roads to get to Raeanne's cc. Anyway, I spoke to hubby again today cos I thought of buying buggy board from kiddy palace. But he still disagree to let maid bring both kids home. So he called mil there n then n she agreed to bring Raeanne home everyday cos recently RA likes to go to her house but I said just mon, we'd, fri good enough for now. Tues n thurs, if she can help me bring her back to my home, it'll be good, then I'll rush home after class.

Mandy,
Yes, from the SISTIC website, it says everyone must buy a tix. For the plays we have attended, when this was mentioned, it's strictly followed. They count per head.

Kitsune,
Then good what. Best solution. Don't have to feel pai seh lah, one month plus only mah, let RA have some times to bond with her grandparents and don't have to worry if the maid can handle or not.

Pixiepixel, can I check which leapfrog DVD u and steph bought? Steph told me but i cant recall. Wanna get for my #2 too from the amazon spree to learn phonics...

kam, yup, maybe it helps when hubby asks. hee. ;)

btw, can kids enjoy plays now? I have never brought RaeAnne for any so far. Not even a movie but she did go to barney live show last yr but didn't enjoy. :p

Naf, think Pixie and steph have the whole set but the first recommended one is letter factory. I have the whole set too but RA enjoys letter factory most.

kam,
learning set 1 consist:
1) Letter Factory
2) Let's go to school
3) Talking Words Factory

pixie,
thanks for the amazon spree link!

Hello, mummies.
Long time never pop by. Today is Day 1 of my leave! So happy.. Making use of time to do a long overdue health screening and dental checkup.

Steph,
You have the whole set of Leapfrog DVD right? Besides the Letter Factory, do you think the other 2 is good? Currently my kids really enjoy the Letter Factory and I even had it ripped into ipad 2! So I am wondering if I should get the other 2?

Kitsune,
Your course is only for 1 week so don't have to be paiseh to seek help.
Abt the buggy board, I was tempted to get too but it is rather exp and I worried it will turn into a white elephant... So not getting.

krystle,
yup i ordered the whole set. My boys love Let's go to school as it teaches them numbers counting, days of the week, months & animal families grouping etc. The Talking words factory is fun too, Z knows what are sticky vowels & make letters into words like C AT = CAT etc. My #2 loves humming/singing along the humorous rhyming songs...u can see from my FB
U can consider to get the other 2!

krystle,
my girl enjoyed the other 2 leapfrog dvd too. i just bought the 2nd set which consists of math circus, words caper, she's into it now but not sure how helpful is the math one though.

luvv, steph, naf
x1 not very sure abt the maths one but words caper my son loves most, and storybook factory

yesterday he requested to watch "fog" and i tot whats that...and he said, complex words...then i knew he was trying to say FROG
he missing the letter R and i had to phonically pronounce for him

my boy never request for leapfrog dvds before, 1st time and im so happy lor!

pixie,
Thanks for the link. I have added in my order to the link.

RE: Letter Factory
I am ordering the whole set of the Learning DVD set 1 (cos the price it's about the same if I were to get the 2 DVDs). So I am going to have an extra DVD for the Letter Factory. Going for $7. Any taker?

Blackbatz,
Sure. I will reserve for you. But you gonna wait till our new set comes in, probably in about 2 weeks? You okay with that? Cos right now, my kids can't live without the leapfrog DVD ;-)

Steph and Luvv,

Thanks for the advice. I think I just get another 2 DVD which is also selling as a set. Will order from Pixie's sis again. :p

Thanks ladies. Will then order set 1 & 2

Hopefully this can keep #2 occupied while I coach #1 his school work...

kitsune,
Forgot to answer your question about children going for play. Yes, yes, and yes, my kids have been to numerous plays and live shows, of all sorts, children friendly ones. They love them all! They don't have problem at all sitting down quietly and watch the entire show.

If you don't want to pay too much (usual ones about ~$25 per tix), you can start with the Playtime show, like this one http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=panda0711. Tix at $15 before discount, and can be lower to $12-$13 after discount (family and cards. Test test a bit see if your gals love this.

Or bring her to watch a movie for the start. RIO is good, not sure if it's screening now.

Mon2nat,
It's the same with my #1 too! Ask me why he must do work while didi can play and then went on to say "Not Fair"..I think that's the only term that they learnt among their peers.

Kam,
No worries about it. Let me know when u are ready to mail to me, ok...

Kam, thanks, the Rocky Panda play seems not bad, $50 for 4 tics, slightly more exp than movie tics. But wonder if I can bring RL in as well cos she's only 19 mths in July. :p

Think will bring her to watch Rio on Sat morning to test water first. At least tic price is cheaper, hee hee.

Kam u mean flexi hours offer u higher pay or fixed hours? For me I will go for higher pay cuz either case my time with the kids will be the same. If I not around he shd spend mite time with the daddy which is good for me too

Blackbatz,
Noted. Will contact you later then.

tongtong,
It's the fixed hour job that can offer me more $$. The flexible hour one would take times to build up the revenue if I am lucky, if not, then it's a lot less than the fixed hour job.

kitsune,
My gal has been going to play before she turned one :) For my gal, she has no problem at all. We just went to a similar play like the Panda thing. She loves it! And she learns a few new words too after the play.

For RIO, don't buy the 3D tix, get the normal tix is good enough for the kid. Hope RA likes it!

steph,
Yes, I would think The Very Hungry Caterpillar is more like The Gingerbread Man show. Audience are seated in their allocated seat and watch the show on the stage. Little or no interaction, but it's still very good.

While the Playtime one I suggested to Kitsune is to ask all audiences to be seated on the floor which is just beside the performance stage. There is a little bit of interaction with the performers and the children love to get close with them and the stage.

Steph
If the hungry caterpillar is same like previous years, then it is not bubbly like Ginger breadman kind. It uses special lightings n hand puppets sort of things to create a black backdrop n special effects. I went abt 3 or 4 yrs ago. Very nice special effects, but dunno enuf to entertain my boy or not. wasted $200 watching Disney on ice cos E din enjoy. Now contemplating this show

Mom2nat,
Probably it's the same thing, I haven't been to one, just heard it from friends. Hungry Caterpillar is going to be shown at the Fusionopolis, so good for the west side mums :)

steph,
RIO is nice, cos lots of cute birds! And the story line is good. Easy for the kids to follow. I went with my friend. Her son is more active than HR kind, and he is able to sit still and watch for almost the entire show (started to move a bit and talk a lot towards the end of the show). My 2 kids were just glued to the screen :p

Haha mom2nat, I agree. Sometimes my #2 will ask me y Kor Kor has homework n he doesn't! And my #1 will grumble he has to do work while didi get to watch n will be distracted...at times so tempted to just put one of them at in law house while I coach the other but then they will look for each other...

Btw, anyone know how to do tt via AtM? I had problem tt to pixiepixel sis last night as page just kept stuck there... Time to clean up the old lappie...

Mom2nat,
i oso wasted $105 & Z don't enjoy Disney on ice too
But is a gd exposure/experience for kids who can sit still (longer attention span) i think. Z's english language not v good as we speak chinese most of the time to him so i think maybe not this round, scare he wont understand the content/story:p

Kam,
i saw the RIO trailer, seem interesting like Bee Movie which Z enjoy watching. But hubby say the movie is 2hrs ah...so long...we wonder if Z can sit still.

naf,
RIO is a movie.

steph,
We speak mandarin at home too almost all the time. HR picks up English well at his cc. He can understand English well. He even said he prefers English than mandarin. For new word, we will tell him both in mandarin and in English, and repeat that word in both language till he saves it in his memory.

No need to think that much lah. If he cannot sit for the 2 hours, just leave the cinema loh :p

kam,
HR is well versed in both language, that's v good!
I don't want to waste my $ mah so must think loh & also my ah lao not so patience to tahan Z's hot butt (not able to sit still/tantrum etc):p

Naf
My neighbor put her gal with another nb when she coaches the other 2. Exam time ok la, but if everyday thing, gotta think how to handle 2 or 3 lor. V headache, cos #2 will scream n shout cos dun listen to maid or mil. Then #3 will wake up crying. Sigh

kam
u make me gian to bring x1 to watch the hungry catepillar leh

steph
x1 watched rio last last week, ok for him
he talks loudly for 2x only, and i shushed him, thats all

grumpus
got such movie?????? how come i dunno???

diaper free operation: in progress
yesterday x pee in bed twice. in the end, he pee different places, no more space for him to lie down coz everywhere was wet. then he very sad muahahahaha...so i told him thats what you get when you pee on the bed...

so the 3rd time he woke up groggily and say wanna pee,....ok good boy at least

still WIP (work in progress)
but now he die die dun want to wear diapers liao

kam
ok, i wanna bring x to the show...can you let me know if the panda show or the hungry catepillar show...which one more interaction? i newbie at such plays
then i select seats, free seating one issit?

grumpus,
Oh, now is showing thomas liao? Probably it will be one of our weekend program :)

Pixie,
Great!! Save money on diaper! He will learn to wake up and pee sooner or later. Just have to be patient with him during this transition period. HR usually sleeps through without having to pee. Now if he needs to pee, he will come to me and tell me, and I just say, okay, you go to pee, remember to close the door when you are done, and I continue to sleep, hurhur. Good ah :)

Hungry Catepillar is allocated seat. Panda show is free seating. To me, Panda is more fun for kids this age. It's a short play, aboug 45 min without interval, so just nice for our kids.

Pixie,
It's a special screening at orchard cineleisure. It's only a one hr movie with shows only on 4 wkends. This wkend is the last wkend already. We figured it's a good intro for lexie n don't hv to worry too much abt Aly making noise since it's for kids.

actually i everytime bio GV mums and babies promo
it says foc for kids below 90cm
sighs...are our kids below or above 90cm liao ah?
this week is toy story 3

pixie,
i booked my tics 3 wks ago and only managed to get for this wkend! the rest were fully booked or only single seats left.

LOL
maybe next time can hiong
coz the past few weeks either the cinema too far or the movie not suitable
my son would love toy story 3