(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kam
$1k insurance is for both myself and hubby. Have not reviewed for long long time. I bot insurance for #1 but nothing for Tate at all. Lucky medisheild covers for newborn nowadays I dun need to buy somemore.

Kam,
Wah, the plantation owner soooo rich??? RM10K/day is alot!!! Of course can sit under the shade and shake legs while workers work. But buying a plantation in M'sia should be exp right? How about a durian plantation??? Endless supply.

Icy,
You said contract maid for another 2 years only. So your plan is to look after the kids yourself (since by then they are bigger and more manageable)??

krystle
i planned to contract my new helper for just 2 years only. coz right now, my mindset is that i really do not like an outsider living with us. but i spend so much time doing housework and waste the precious time i/o bonding with my 2 kids, thats why i hired a maid. furthermore to ease my MIL. if my #2 is in IFC, i sure wont hire maid one lo...perhaps 2years later, see how our combined income is and see got the need to extend her contract or not
but for now - i just need her for 2 years...

chaye,
Oh, $1k for 2 is okay then, I thought you said $1k each. For our kids, we topped up or upgraded (not sure which is the right term) the medishield to something something with GE, so everything is covered, I think (I have no interest in insurance products and can hardly remember the details).

krystle,
That's a rare case lah, cos that uncle ah, he owns more than 40 hectar of rubber plantation! Rumous said he is the richest in that region, but he is very humble guy, still driving an old Nissan, and never build big big house. On average, 1 hectar of rubber plantation can fetch a few hundreds per day now. Ya lor, because of its price, the land also more expensive now. Heard it's $50-80k per hectar, used to be about $15k 10 years ago.

But hor, just thinking and planning only lah, don't have that much money yet. But really have to think of ways to earn money through investment, rather than just depending on monthly wages.

Wishing all a smooth and prosperous year of the Bunny!

Wah pixie, going to deliver very soon huh! Mom2Nat, you also? all the best!

Re: maids
i too have my share of maids complaints... my maid is the atas kind, if say her a bit, she not happy, she will give black face one. and she is VERY forgetful, during the CNY recently, she told me she forgot to bathe?! then always will say she is scared of me, dont dare to ask me. i ask her why scared since i never scold her, then she will say she donno, she just scared. i give up.

Re: money issues
agree that it's how you live within your means and how much you can give up i guess. to some people, happiness is very simple, just be easily contented. to some, having to think before spending every penny is a chore, so cannot give up.

FISHER PRICE ROCKER
My friend is looking for a pre-loved fisher price rocker- anyone knows anyone selling?

wah my indo maid's salary $400 will be the highest here, if she agrees to extend her contract in may.

pixie,
got ur pm, m coming with hb, kids n maid. do let us know if u need to buy anything, tks!
will sms u for ur addy. btw, did u give ur 1st maid home leave when her 1st contract ends after 2 yrs? i had to give mine if she wana stay, abit reluctant leh, but bo bian as she said wana go bk during hari raya.

pixie
just collected the goods from your sister !

itok
ya I agree with you. Having to think before spending every penny is a chore then one cannot give up her job ! hahaha. I'm so used to spending my own money now u ask me to be SAHM and spend only my hubby's money a bit uncomfortable lor and yes I will have to think before spending every penny
tat's y still cannot make a decision to be a SAHM leh. grrrrr

oh ya I have a gf who has 2 kids and a SAHM for years. Her hubby is Army Captain. I duno how much he draw la. They sold their car and she really have to think before spending leh. And her hubby is stingy she says. She hardly spend on herself. She only buy books for their children. Holiday is like Pasir Ris chalet kind ? Or just a short trip. I feel so bad for her sometimes when she complain la. But being a Captain in Army shd be fetching about 7-8k before cpf right ?

krystle,
Yes, I hope that I would only need maid for another 2 yrs. My youngest one would be around 4 yrs old while Xavier would be like 6 yrs old. Both would be in school for at least 1/2 a day.

A maid monthly expenses is like at least $800/mth including pay, agent fee, insurance and food. Even if I get a part time helper, I think it would be cheaper. Then, I don't have keep having to keep a look out at home.

I think my hubby would want a maid all the way, cos it means he dont have to do anything when he is at home.

In the next few mths, perhaps I would be even more busy. My hubby had a new job which requires him to travel 50% of the time.

luca,
I think we have to give maid home leave after contract ends? Else we have to give her the money for exchange with the 2 weeks leave and the air tix.

Chaye,
Yes, an Army Captain should be earning $8K lah. Then should be enough just nice if based on our calculations. But we never include holidays so for that need to save money aside for 1,2 years then can go bah.

Got a friend's hubby who is a Navy diving instructor, $10K! Friend is still working so both very rich and can afford holidays to AUS etc with their 2 daughters. Stay in condo... At least 1 staycation yearly....

Itok,
Your maid funny too. Too itchy wanna you to scold her is it?

BTW, how's your staycation in RWS?

Luca,
My Phil maid's salary same as yours, $400 + $20 (for cleaning my house) since she stays at MIL house. Sometimes I wonder, do I really need to pay her that extra $20 for cleaning my house???

icy,
yes its compulsory. since my maid wana go back, i will just pay her air tickets lor, bo bian.

krystle,
hw often she cleans ur hse? she dun help u during weekends? my maid stays with my mum, she also cleans my house n do the ironing for me, but i never pay her extra leh since im her employer?

Wow so many interesting posts to read esp Kam's "Supper" 2x a day, haha ;) U & steph steady men!!! Got lock the spa door or not or you all like excitement huh??

Re: Maid
I a/c my gal in her toddler class yesterday. Realised half the kids were a/c by MAIDS. Best part was one maid shouted loudly to the kid "SI MI TAI JI" (Hokkien). So disgusted by her "arrogant" look, she thot she so "smart" to speak hokkien, yucks. Wonder she knows the meaning behind. "Kelian" the parent that did not witness this.

Krystle,
Why u never probe further on your hubby's pay?? Personally feel that we muz keep track on our hubby pay, expense, etc. We never know when they will do anything "funny". Not that i dun trust them but is always good that we knows how to protect ourselves. Be smarter behind them is best tactics, haha, notti me hor. Sometimes, i will even peek at my hubby's credit card bill & pay slips to check got any increment not that i know, kekeke.

Re: Income
Feel that the higher you earn, the higher is the expenses. There's never ending comparison & money is always not enuff. Unless, you are inherited with a big sum of money that can last for few life, that is really call "rich"??

Re: The expenses List...
You ladies forgot...facial, pedicure, medicure, spa... shopping... SALES SALES....And SAVING for retirement leh???

pixie,
So how many of us going to your hse on sat? Got how many kids huh? Ask a very frank qns, do u all still want to exchange hong bao?? If so, muz get ready before that ;)

Luca,
My maid cleans my house once every week (weekend). When she comes, sometimes she just fold my dry laundry or do some ironing (a few times only). Other than that, she never help me. I also find it weird why I need to pay her but hubby said better give a token. Coz she is not supposed to work in 2 household so that $20 is just a gesture.

krystle,
true, nt suppose to work in 2 household. we told the agent before, n dat time d maid also know she needs to help me with my chores. ur $20 can so call "cover ur bkside" if maid complains to MOM ;p

btw, ur hb works as a finance manager rite? should be earning at least 8k ba if im not wrong? go ask him lar hee ;p

krystle

If I'm u I wont pay her for that extra $20 but since you have started it, it's very difficult to withdraw now !

How I wish I can get someone just to come in on Mon-Fri from 8am - 8pm kind. Even with that timing, there's nothing much to do anyway cos Tate in cc. #1 will only be in after 1.30pm, sometimes cca, enrichment etc also not in. But without a helper, nobody can do this for me while I work. I've called those local agency before their charges are really exhorbitant ! CRAZY. No choice but to get foreign maids.

10k for a Navy diving instructor ?!?! WAH !!! so easy ! dun even need a degree lor ! Really based on his personal interest to be a diver ! so shiok. haiya.. y I didnt marry a Navy diver har ? :p

luca
my 1st maid, after her 2yrs contract finished, did not asked to go home. so we secretly very happy lor. coz i dont think my mil can cope with so much chores while she's away. but we increased her pay and gave her off day - 1 day PER MONTH only. coz she is badly wanted at mil home lar

chaye
u collected the vitacost thing? my sis looks like me or not kekeke??

krystle
last time i gave my 1st maid $10 per session. but she came few times in these 3 years only.
and when we stayed over at mil place while reno was in progress in November, we gave her another $20...coz we stayed there so she had to do more chores etc

pixie
a bit only la... I have not met you in real person leh only see in you in FB then I compare. She told me she's the youngest and doesnt really look like u at all. hahaaha..

JanBB,
I never probe further coz my hubby will 翻脸 one. And it has been so many years that he care his own finance while I manage mine so we don't ask each other. I understand what you mean about protecting but my hubby is much smarter than me (coz he is Accountant) so quite hard to win him on that. I just know if anything happens, I must die die get custody for both my kids then make him pay for matrimony!

Once I accidentally open his credit card bill, thought it was mine and he already showed me black face.

Aiyo your expenses list is not a MUST lah (although really good to have). So cannot include! But you are a very 幸福女人, your hubby allows you such luxury and even LV bag!!! Your SAHM bonus is quite good.

I never been to facial, have not done pedi/medi since my wedding day! Kekekeke... Shopping yes, I can't deny. :p

As for retirement savings, I assume I will get from my insurance loh.

Yes, hubby is Finance mgr, my guess is at least $6K bah... But he denied leh... I don't really buy it. His coy is listed coy somemore!

Chaye,
Ya loh but that $10K also is like compensate for life coz it is a extremely risky job. Divers leh... No joke too.

re: Gathering/playdate at pixie's hse IS ON!!!!!
Date: 12th Feb
Time: 10am
1. steph+hb+2kids
2. Kam+2kids+??
3. mcfluffy+1kid
4. elmo78+1kid+??
5. janbb+2kids+hb
6. luca+hb+2kids+maid
7. jacelyn+?kid+??
Gatecrash:
1. lynnchong?

kam, please let me know if your hb is coming?
jacelyn, please let me know who you will be bringing too?

OUR PARTAYYYYYY IS GETTING BIGGER!

chaye
orh, u collected at raffles place, that would be my younger sis. yes she dont look like us...errr...i think we 3 sisters all looked differently when we grew up. but our voices are....exactly d same. no one knows who is who if ppl call in to house phone

Krystle, I find it so weird that ur hubby will get angry if u know anything abouut his finance. No transparency at all leh.

chaye
that is a super duper funny image...
unfortunately not lah, my bb is not engaged yet. this fri check will see how lor. after engage can start to wait liao. but i choose c-sect date liao leh. hope X2 wont come BEFORE c-sect date. else my plans all ruined!

krystle,
Hi-5! I also never do a facial since my wedding day. Only did 2x pedi/mani in my entire life. I also don't shop.

But hor, for some mummies, these are a MUST leh. Different preference, different lifestyle.

Pixie,
If all 8 families (including you) come, will be 8 boys and 5 girls. Not bad the ratio. But hor, if only Jan08 toddlers, then it's 5 boys 2 girls.

kam
harnor, then celeste wont be scared lah. i oredi planned to have 2 play areas so that the 10+ kids can spread around the house rather than squeezed into 1 playroom...

ur hb coming along or not har? havent cfm? or working on sat again?

pixie,
Cannot confirm till Friday.

Not to scare you. Both my kids were not engaged during my last checkup at the gynae. Suddenly waterbag burst and ready to come out.

Krystle,
OIC. Understand accountant/auditor are very practical one, many of my fnds also like that, no offence to the same line here hor. My hubby also has a ACCA cert when he was studying in NUS concurrently. Same pattern loh, he also very smart in "calculating" one, haha. Heng, he didn't work in any audit firm cos he is lucky to get a master scholarship in another industry. I'm glad he is not in the FN sector, faint, will sure make his character more & more calculative. Btw, my LV is really once in a blue moon thingy. He never buy me anything for last 2 years already, so sad hor.

I suspect your hubby shld have abt 7-8k lah, that's why dun want to reveal, hehehe. Will he support you to be SAHM?? If so, Gan Gan Lai!! You can start this topic with him & see whether his income is able to sustain?

Kam,
Happy to hear that your hubby going to change new job. Good luck to him & hope he can have more time for "supper" with you & quality time for your family.

JanBB,
Thanks, I hope he can get a better one. But hor, his boss said think about it, haven't said okay to his resignation yet. No matter what job he is taking, won't affect our supper time :) But ya, I am hoping to have more quality time for the family.

You don't gian for #3 meh?

krystle/kam
Monthly facial is a must for me leh :p plus a monthly massage session which is a package paid too. I can skip mani/pedi cos I dun really like. I can do it myself ! But I cant massage myself ma.

krystle
since your hubby so not transparent then suan le lor and it has been like tat for years. But I just find it weird la.. husband/wife what's there to hide. I'm the one who manage all the finances in the family. I'm not very good at it but have to do lor cos he's not doing it ma. His bank accounts pin code are all with me. He didnt even know his pin ! I issue cheques for him to pay for whatever cards bills n he signs for all. I'm just like his PA la.

so hungry, time to eat bak kwa...

krystle, janbb
i asked my hb about his pay, he oso very defensive. then i explained to him why i asked, he ok liao. but after that, he immediately demanded MY breakdown of MY pay too...
so being calculating not only applicable to FN sector males lor...

krystle,

your maid stays at your mil house the rest of the week and only comes back to your hse on weekends? for me, my maid goes to my mum hse every weekday in the day and comes back to my hse in the night. weekends is stay at my hse then sometimes when my hubby working, we will go to my mum's house. at my mum's hse, she will help to wash my son's clothes, mop floor and iron once a week. i never give her any extra $$ coz to me, her workload is very light already. she dont need to cook for my son or my family, dont need to make milk or feed my son. just help to bathe, change clothes and PLAY with him. she herself told me she got very little things to do.

my staycation was spoilt by the heavy downpour that weekend. festive hotel not good- the room we had, the sofa bed a bit dirty. and we also couldn't go to the man made beach at hard rock.

Janbb,
agree with you- still have to add Savings to the expenses. ya, some maids are very ya ya... when the employer is not around, they handle the kids like they are the boss like that. i've seen for myself too and I also think, if they behave differently when the employer is around.

icy,
my husband is like you. he will want a maid so tat he don't need to do the chores.

kam
my last checkup with gynae...i oso dunno when?
im seeing gynae every friday now, till 4th mar (also fri) which will be my c-sect date...

actually i play punk a bit one lar, coz my c-sect date is almost 1 week later than 38 weeks. so got chance that #2 comes out earlier than c-sect date.

how??

pray not. i plan to check into hotel Mt A, wash hair, eat supper kind leh!!

1. steph+hb+2kids
2. Kam+2kids+(TBA-hb)
3. mcfluffy+1kid
4. elmo78+1kid+??
5. janbb+2kids+hb
6. luca+hb+2kids+maid
7. jacelyn+2kids+maid
Gatecrash:
1. lynnchong?

pixie,
Last checkup cannot predict one mah, till the kid decides to come out loh.

Wah, you are so near to delivery now. Excited!!

Kam,

My bottles steriliser bot 3yrs ago has suddenly broke down few days ago. Then i told my hubby that is a SIGN not to have any more babies liao, hahaha ;)

Actually will be good to have #3 but i'm so scared to start the cyle again...from preggy to confinement... think liao...very scare.

Quite happy that now my #2 going to turn 2yo soon. 90% stop at TWO. The other 10% confirm is accident, haha.

pixie
c-section got to fast leh no meh ? last meal like must be at least 2 hours I think. I cannot rem le

janbb,

i also audit industry leh- u offended me already ahem ahem! hahaha.. just kidding lah.

actually although im accounting trained by nature, I am not calculative about $$ at all. personally, im not good at managing finances, i can just spend without thinking. it's my husband who is the more practical one and he will always caution me, think before i spend. that's why he also very scared if i bring up the topic that i want to be SAHM, coz he said i must learn to change my lifestyle if it's just going to be one income.

chaye
huh really ah?? then i eat EARLY supper (not kam's or steph's type of supper though...)
my op time is 8am. must be in Mt A by 6am, so i intend to slowly go there ard 4-5am...
so before that, eat something nice at 10-11pm?
(after putting x to sleep at mil place)

kam
yah lor, near hor?
i have officially 3 weeks and 3 days left....everyday i countdown liao...
and 3 weeks and 3 days is the "play punk" c-sect date which is ard 39weeks lo (instead of the usual c-sect@38weeks)...get me?

pixie,
actually mine also leh, coz she does most of the cooking and the fetchin of my sons to school, so we allow her to go away for 1 week only.

Janbb,
do u still have the contacts of the doc who "cure" the pigmentation on ur face? thought of doing leh.

1. steph+hb+2kids
2. Kam+2kids+(TBA-hb)
3. mcfluffy+1kid
4. elmo78+1kid
5. janbb+2kids+hb
6. luca+hb+2kids+maid
7. jacelyn+2kids+maid
Gatecrash:
1. lynnchong?

revised post coz elmo78 just cfm she coming along with amanda only

Chaye,
Funny leh, Jan08 mummies be Pixie's midwives!
But hoh, I also think Pixie is popping next week. Normally #2 is earlier...

Pixie,
X1 popped at week #???
Agreed with Kam, engaged or not does not really matter. It does not mean engaged means ready to deliver. That is what my gynae told me. So he never told me if I am engaged or not. Coz if contraction comes, waterbag burst, it does not matter at all.

Tongtong,
Actually my other friends also find it hard to believe that I know nuts about hubby's pay. I just hope he don't take for granted the privacy I am giving him loh. Such thing also hard to control. If he wants to be funny, nothing I can do too.

JanBB,
He rejected my proposal of SAHM many times liao! But recently he is starting to think coz no choice as maid got to go next year, and if no CC. And best of all, MIL will have to take care of his bro's baby if his bro TTC successfully. Definitely MIL will not able to look after my 2 kids.

Itok,
My maid stays with MIL on weekdays + weeknights, only come to my house on sat AM for 3 hours cleaning then go back to MIL's house. So my maid is really my MIL's maid and to me, only a part time cleaner. My maid is really good life. Even when I go to my mum's place on alternate weekends, I don't bring my maid. Coz my mum hates maid and ordered me not to bring!

Your staycation kena spoilt by rain ya? Jan was really not a good mth for staycation??? I never pull out the extra bed in Hard Rock room so never check the condition too. :p Only counted myself lucky that I can swim the following morning before checkup. So you never go USS?

pixie,
ya lor, we have to manage somehow without her. my bro will be changing maid soon, hopefully she will be as "good" as my maid, then can ease my mum's burden.

pixie
10-11pm before 8am c-section is no problem la. And hor after 8am section u cannot eat anything till the nurse pass u leh. cos they worry u will vomit due to the side effect of epidural. I only allowed to sip milo slowly after my c-section cos I was shivering with cold and ask for more blankets n milo.

Ya agree with Kam. my both cases also no engaged but water just burst tat u cannot control de !!! Jan08 get ready on 12 Feb !

luca,

U can refer to this website & make appt. The doc is the one in that pix.
http://www.nsc.gov.sg/showpage.asp?id=31

Aiyo, u are testing my memory, haha, i really can't rem the doc name leh. He is the head of this laser dept. U can call & enquire ok.

Btw, my pigmentation seem to come back again. SIGN. Partly becos' i m always outside & did not use their given after laser cream day & nite, lazy me.

Itok,
Haha, yes yes, i thot of u...that's why i said no offence to mummies in this line. Guess my hubby "calculative" character is in born one. Sometime, even my MIL (his mum) also Buay Tahan, haha ;)

krystle
x1 was induced at 38 weeks. so if i chose to wait till naturally at that time, i oso dunno when...so cannot guage x2 based on x1 history liao lor. but at 38weeks, x1 still not ready to come out. no signs of natural labour

aiyoh hahahah u all apart from the imaginative supperrrr stories to share oso very imaginative about 12feb...
i take a bet - wont one lar!