(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Oh ya, for cda top up, u just need to write a cheque or ft to the ocbc/stand chart a/c then govt will top up equal amt next month. For us, when we opened RL's cda a/c at Tmc, we immediately put in the max $6k so that can earn more interest cos cda AC interest is higher than normal savings accounts.

Kitsune
U can hold 2 mths of ur maid's pay cos 1 mth for air tic. The other is for insurance n work permit renewal.

Krystle
Aiya if u wan #3, just go ahead. Can't b bcos of bb bonus then decide to wan a bb. Cos the $$ v fast finish n can't really help tat much. Unless they say 8 mths mat leave or income tax waived 20 yrs! Having a child is a lifelong commitment. Bb bonus are just some perks.

So far I no maternity leave for 3 kids!! Tat is total of 11 mths unpaid leave
no perks for me oso.

Yo mummies
catching up on posts frm last night...
My current and new maid arrangement is after they finished paying their agent fee, we will deduct 100$ off for the next 5mths so that we keep 500$ with us. That's for air tix n stuff lo.

Krystle
nolah not that stressed as moving house few mths ago. I had ms and had to move house. That one lagi stress. Last trimester alot of probs hor. Cannot breathe, backache, blah blah

kitsune
mine 10$ more coz no off day. I suddenly remembered. We only gave her off day after 2whole years of no of days contract

Me back to office today!

No comment on the most recent topics of maid and baby bonus, both don't apply to me.

<font color="0000ff">Chaye / steph,</font>
We went to the Aveda Spa yesterday. The package we bought includes 60min whole body massage, a short facial massage and body scrub too! I think we can also use the jacuzzi etc facilities, but they didn't mention and we didn't ask cos we were not too keen on such things.

The massage was nice! Very relax after that. But hor, the ambient not so nice, to me. The couple room is nothing special but just a slightly bigger room with 2 beds, not romantic, very basic setup and deco only. Nonetheless, we have our noon time supper :)

<font color="0000ff">krystle,</font>
I actually more and more gear towards wanting #3, especially after this CNY back home, see my relatives and friends who have 3 or more children, I very jealous leh ;-P But hor, still holding back, cos it's a very big burden for us financially as we don't have any subsidy for the childcare. My hub is going to tender his resignation today. So maybe wait for a few months and see how he settles down in his new job bah (hasn't started looking yet), since we want dragon baby anyway.

<font color="ff0000">HELP me to vote for HR and XY, thanks!!</font>

Brought the kids for the quick photography shoot. Thought can get some nice photos of them in CNY wear. But hor, still haven't received the photos till now. And the photography session was bad, not enjoyable at all, the photographer didn't know how to engage children, and no one was around to help out, so I did all the jobs, so tired!

Anyway, if you have a few minutes, please click the links below to vote for HR and XY:

http://www.facebook.com/asiaparent?v=app_143103275748075#!/photo.php?fbid=190114304350453&amp;set=a.189372134424670.49934.188466951181855

http://www.facebook.com/asiaparent?v=app_143103275748075#!/photo.php?fbid=190114371017113&amp;set=a.189372134424670.49934.188466951181855

HR and XY say "Happy New Year!" to all pretty auuties!

Kam,
WOW...so u had noon supper in the spa too??

krystle, kam,
i oso gian #3 (not bcos i want girl v much) girl or boy same same lah so long healthy &amp; guai. Let see what other perks govt is gonna announce to encourage me/hb to have #3

steph,
Hehe :) You say leh. Another round at home :)

steph,
Oh, you also gian #3 ah. But I cannot afford to wait too long cos of my age. It's either this year or never.

kam
welcome back!!
wah noon time supper!!! i wonder how u guys suppered in SPA??!!

steph
you gian for #3?? financially we cant have #3 leh. #2 oredi abit struggling liao. i wonder how much do i have to earn in order to "afford" #3....

me and hb earn too little liao hurhur

Kam, wah, u power leh, twice in a day! Think it never happened to me before lo!! Gan1 bai4 xia4 feng1 leh, haha

I will ttc 6 mths later after I settle down with my new job.

wah!! just overnight, 2 mummies fro march11 thread popped liao

making me NERVOUS

yesterday night, i had very painful cramps at stomach....wah liew, machiam re-living the delivery pains again *shudders*

Pixie, ya I think hor, it's not easy to earn n stay in sg with single income . Unless we stay in Mal n hubby works in sg, keke.

Pixie, relax!!

Btw, I can't gatecrash this sat cuz hubby wanna go his colleagues place for potluck at 11 . Too rush Liao. U gals enjoy!!

tongtong
aiyoh sobs sob i tot can see u n S leh...
next time ok? i badly want this meetup to have as much mummies + kiddos as possible coz im gonna pop soon and i want to catch up with everyone heehee

correct lor, unless my hb earns like 8-10k a mth then prolly i can afford 2-3kids, while i be SAHM.

Wah kam, u 'supper' champion! How nice to have another round, bonus leh:p no wonder you say hot date &amp; shiok!

Re: #3
me too, can't wait too long (age catching up) &amp; i dun fancy dragon bb...if snake bb, i'll be 36

pixie,
#3 will be bonus &amp; if girl lagi best (that's my wish/dream). I always like big family, 2 kids is too little IMP. of course back to reality, financially will be tight but sure can make do (afford), save more, spent less on lavish stuff (no/limited overseas travel, no spa, no restaurant) etc. Well...wish is wish...painful to think if i gonna give up so many stuff just for #3...haiz

Pixie,
Thanks! See you this Sat. Not sure my hub will come or not, hope he can. If he can't, then it'll be me and my 2 precious. Do you want me to bring anything else except the bak kwa?

tongtong,
You started working liao?

steph,
Hehe, the hot date helped to create the mood mah :)

Kitsune,
At least you got precaution to hold back some money then should be alright.
Make sure you don't lose out.

Mom2Nat,
#3 thought is coming on and off... I am not sure too coz many uncertainty next year. Baby bonus is just another additional factor to evaluate, it is definitely not the main factor. I am also thinking more on long term too.

Why you don't have maternity leave at all for 3 kids??? Sorry, did I miss out something?

Kam, Steph.
We are the gian#3 threesome. Also due to my age, next year dragon year is the last time. If don't have means don't have liao. Financially, #3 is a huge burden! Especially now I am having trouble finding a CC for both my kids and may need to quit work next year to look after them if no CC. The possibility of #3 is getting slim unless my hubby got sudden huge promotion bah.

Kam,
So your hubby decided to quit that hectic job? I think should be a good move. It is ok, now job mkt is not bad and after CNY, many job openings. Don't worry.

You are very very power!!! Can have supper at a spa??? No one will come in meh???? Must be very exciting and high climax ya? Hahahaha. I can't take that kind of excitment. :p

kam
no need to bring anything lah. i have helper liao, she can help me prepare. i just make some snacks in advance. we all can eat n play at the same time coz the playdate may be a chop chop affair for some.

all welcomed to reach earlier than 10am!!

Pixie, yalor, his colleague already booked him long time but nit confirm the timing till last week then confirm 11 am. I got to make something to bring there, cuz potluck ma. Maybe another gathering before u pop??

Ya my hubby also said he will try to earn 10 k then I can quit again!!

Sometimes I wonder how the other SAHM survive only on hubby's income? Must be hubby really earning lots or they are very good at savings??? Currently, I am trying to figure out the costs and I feel myself unable to fit into being a SAHM comfortably, getting allowances from hubby and my whole family can survive solely on hubby's income. Maybe partly I can't figure out is that I don't know my own hubby's income? Hahaha.

wah Kam not romantic still can have supper and go home still can supper again ?! POWER !
no protection ? so tat you can have #3 this year ?

NOT FOR ME. we talked abt it last nite after supper. He asked me what will happen if we kena #3, I told him abort lor. He said it's easy to say la but when really at the hospital to do it will we do it lor. And if really abort, will it haunt us every now and then ? SCARY sia. So he says better take precaution EVERYTIME !!!!! and YES, we took precaution last nite

Krystle, huh u dunno how much ur hubby earn? Anyway, after being a sahm for 8 mths, i can tell u that it's not a very nice feeling to see my savings depleting daily. N I can't spend as happily when I go bc to kl. So decided to work again. Nevertheless, I really enjoy being a sahm for this 8 mths n yes, its a very fruitful journey for me!! Can't measured by $$ one

Pixie,
Thanks for the enlightenment! No wonder, I felt I was missing something here. :p SAHM is very 伟大! Govt should do something about it!!!

Ya loh, I am also waiting for my hubby to earn $10K then I can quit.

krystle,
Yup, we both think the hectic job does no good to the family at all. Not worry too much, cos his line is still quite hot.

Tongtong,
I only have 2 CC near my place and both are full this year already. I just placed my kids in waiting lists for both centres for next year. So no centre can commit at this time. So worry... Then there are 1 pte CC behind my place but it is in a ind park. I don't like that kind of environment and rate is $800+! Too exp and I am not sure if pte CC have subsidy. Can anyone advise? Any subsidy for Cherie Hearts, MMI Little Skool House etc???

Yes, I don't know how much my hubby earns!!! Duh... Never know for many years liao. He only told me his first job was $1K/mth as a/c asst but that was donkey years back and we were not even married then. I never really ask whenever he changed job. Even if I said "got increment"?, he just brushed it off and don't reply. Then I never ask further... So far he is still contributing the larger portion of household expenses so I just close 1 eye.

krystle,
As long as the cc registered with MCYS, which almost all do, working mums will have subsidy. Cherie hearts, MMI, Learning Vision, Mindchamps, Patschool house, etc etc all have subsidy.

Kam,
Thanks for the info! Haiz... But the rate after subsidy for Cherie Hearts etc are $500+... then all these pte CC are further from my place and I got to consider transport expenses (ferrying to/fro).. Means need to add up to $700/mth x 2kids = $1400/mth! Siong....

krystle
i know my hb's precise earnings, each single cent goes to where. because i was doing planning for "wifey-to-quit-and-be-SAHM-scheme"; but i have to depend on my own savings for the next eg 1 year to top up hb's earnings. this is ONLY factoring in bills and necessities n all....
but now we've got maid liao, cannot quit lo...see how after #2 is 2yo...

infact, my pay goes to all household/maid/cc bills + expenses, while hb's pay is just enough to service our car + his own personal bills....pathetic rite...
and somemore i need to save up for our joint a/c, my own personal stash. so can you imagine how thrifty i am nowadays. even 50cents kueh vs 80 cents keuh i have to think twice (no need thrice though :p)

haiz....FTWM and her troubles
SAHMs also got their troubles

mylvera,
Simple as in just serving home loan, and pay for daily necessity, with no car and other luxury?

Home loan - $0 (assuming you take long loan so don't have to pay cash, but have to make sure to have enough CPF fund)

Utilities bill - $100 (no air-con)

Public ransport to work and to play - is $300 enough for husband and wife? No taxi.

Food - $300x2 persons for adult = $600 (assuming $10 for 3 meals).

Food - $200x2 persons for kdis - $400 (including FM and solid).

Handphone - $100 for two?

No internet access at home and no SGV.

That's the bare minimum? That's $1500 per month, excluding cc fees (assuming both working). Including cc fees, about $2000 per month?

If have car, have to add easily $1500 per month for loan and petrol and car park etc.

mylvera,
gd qn! i wanna know too...

anyway, my coll who earns abt $5K+ mthly &amp; hb (finance mgr) earns abt $8K+ mthly...stays in condo (3+1unit) in district 13 &amp; only have 1 son still complains $ not enuff?? i really scratch head! BUT they spent on branded items (bags &amp; watches) &amp; seldom go on overseas trip (overseas trip will be on business trip on business class woh), only short trip to HK/BKK/Malaysia &amp; hardly eats in restaurant. See...such good life &amp; pple are still complaining...damn...
i think for such a background, you could easily have/support 3 kids in a $500+/mthly CC with maid yah?

Kam,
u forgot to add in parents allowance? usually is between $200 to $1K for some.

How about monthly groceries/toiletries etc?
plus medical bills (if any)
and personal + kids life/endownment/critical illness insurance etc?

the list goes on n on...faint

wat about clothings? hmm....

how come ar.. no offence ... but i have seen few lower income families with lots of kids .. n still surviving .... is it that we are asking too much?

steph,
Oh, yes, have to add on those.

Parents allowance - lets take the medium $500

Groceries/toiletries - $200 (??, I am not sure cos I usually buy a few bottles when something runs out).

Medical bills - hard to estimate. For our household, it's minimum.

Insurance also minimum for us leh, I only top up their medical insurance, haven't bought any life insurance for them.

chaye,
Wah, you pay $1000 each month for insurance???

mylvera,
For clothing, we hardly buy leh, like once every few months for the kids, while for ourselves, till the existing really old old cannot wear liao, then we buy.

It's all about is it a MUST or a NEED.

mylvera,
nowadays got too much online shopping (BP/spree/fb) temptation to resist:p

my malay coll got 4 kids (eldest 10yrs &amp; youngest 1YO) both working (engineer &amp; executive level) no maid (got car, stay condo)...can survive leh.

Luvv,
Agree. And how much you want to "sacrify" of your existing lifestyle.

They are cloth that you can buy at $5 or you can spend $100 on a piece of cloth.

Mom2nat, gd idea but my maid now trying to save $ to repay debt to her uncle, today somemore bringing her to open bank account, i think she will rebel if i i try n take 2 months at one shot. maybe, take $500 like pixie said bah. :p

Household expenses definitely $ no enough. Some things can stinge but some things can't eg children's cc, enrichment n insurance. After this car accident, then regret never buy hosp riders for ourselves, only for the kids but Bo bian lor cos limited funds mah. Now want to buy kenna all the exclusions, many things cannot claim. But now since no more car, save on parking n petrol bills.

In summary,

1. Home loan - $0 (assuming you take long loan so don't have to pay cash, but have to make sure to have enough CPF fund)

2. Utilities bill - $100 to $150 (with air-con)

3. Transport (with car) - $$1200 (installment + petrol + parking)

4. Food - $450x2 persons for adult = $900 (assuming $15 for 3 meals - $10 for 3 meals is not very realistic).

5. Food - $200x2 persons for kids - $400 (including FM and solid).

6. Handphone - $100 for two?

7. Parent allowance - $500 at least x 2 (both sides) = $1000

8. Groceries - $200

9. Insurance - $1000

10. Kids' CC/Education - $350x2 = $700

Total = $5650/mth????? Faint.... My hubby really needs to earn $10k to support the whole family.

Kam,
My insurance is burning a pocket too! $1400 for the whole family (me, hubby + 2kids). My kids' insurance covers life/endownment/critical illness insurance. For medical, not an issue currently coz my coy covers for my whole family (hubby and kiddos need to pay 25%).

Jacelyn
welcome!! I just pm-Ed u my hp n addr

mcfluffy
i think got kam's XY mah at least. I just pm-Ed u too

Krystle
I pay less for some pay more for some but all in all yes that our roughly household required income at the very least.
S C A R Y

Happy Chinese new year. :D Enjoy the meet up this sat. ;D Cant join in since having a mini bday celebration at home for #2.

Kitsune,
My maid also going back in dec, her pay is $340+20. Not sure if she is staying on with us, but I hope she will. Hate to retrain another maid. I am also worried that she will go back and then never come back again. Till now she never have a bank account and I never retain anyof her money.

I hope I can contract her another 2 yrs then I dont need maid anymore.

Pixie, Kam.
Yes, super scary! Now working out the figures really made me wonder how I survive so far???

Now my only investment is thru insurance. Besides, quite tempted to buy my coy's shares but now the price is quite high... Don't dare to buy. :p

krystle,
You know how the rubber and palm oil price has been rocket high this year? When we went back for CNY, all our villagers are laughing, they are so rich!!! They can easily earn a few hundreds ringgit a day. One of them with huge plantation, earn more than RM10k per day, no joke! They don't even have to work, hire people to do the job, just sit there and collect money. Of course, the price won't stay high all the time, but just for this year, they are all very rich. Making us wanting to buy plantation in malaysia as investment.