(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

steph, sorry to say, why dnt u pull Z out of CC? i am very sure once Z is out, his health will improve. From the way u mentioned abt the cc, I dont tink u shld continue Z in that cc. they r simple unprofessional and insensitive to kids needs.anyway, u still hav ur inlaws to help to lok after Z rite?

pixie, pls hang on. i tink it reali a rough patch for u now. being pregg realli makes one v emotional.Is X sensing the new baby arrival and tht why he is throwing tantrums?

Pixie, btw, u wan try tcm or chinese medicine ?
i tink fu hua got sell chinese cough powder,suitable for toddlers and Yu ren sang is even better.

Thanks, mummies. Guess i just needed to readjust my expectations cos i want to be off the brace asap. I was on my bed watching Korean DVD the whole of yesterday to destress so feeling better Liao.

Krystle, yup if i go to phuket will definitely avoid strenuous or high velocity stuff cos my fractures have not healed yet. I am just hoping to be off the brace by then. :p

Kam, I LOVE soft n buttery pineapple tarts. If not for accident, will definitely drive to SK to buy it. Do u have the address? Maybe next year bah. :p

Pixie, poor thing, better ask for some help. Maybe bhbby can take half day leave.

pixie,
*HUGS* Maybe it's because X is not feeling well so he's being unreasonable.
My niece who just started cc this year became very unreasonable and have MANY meltdowns too... her mum even had to talk to the child theraphist!

GP medicine always seem to have a stronger taste than PD's medicine! Celeste is willing to take PD medicine, but when it comes to GP's, she needs to be coaxed and rewarded with a sweet after consuming the medicine. heh.

Steph,
geez.. your cc sounds like the cc my gal was in too. December period so cold yet their air con blast until so high. My hubby commented that once he even saw that the windows were all fogged up! Cannot imagine how cold it must have been inside there! Plus... they always bathe and stay in aircon, with all the wet hair, I'm sure they will fall sick easily. Really don't like air con to be switched on the whole day. Think you must start looking for a new cc :p

sighs

now raining super heavily, how am i going to walk over to mil place with x and umbrella in tow? sure carry all the way

aqua, mcfluffy,
not that i don't want to pull Z out immediately...
Reason being: need 1 month notice for termination and my PILs NOT willing to look after Z full time. The other cc which i am looking at is on waiting list now. As for zoophonics class, the timing is no good so decide to wait n see loh. Now my ILs also chase me to look for cc to enrol my #2 in!
I can't just withdraw Z likedat...many factors to consider unless i quit my job or work p/t which is very unlikely

krystle,
already feedback & write in to the principal about the air-con temp. I think write in to MCYS also not much use unless many parents are doing the same or facing other/many unpleasant issue etc. Well, of course i can change to a better/branded cc but west side v limited good cc around. The good/average ones are fully taken up & on waiting list. Unless i go further central BUT is too inconvenient for my ILs if they were to help me/hb to pick them up from school. haiz...

Steph,
True loh, if after many parents complain and still no improvements from CC, nothing much you can do except for withdrawing Z out. But I understand your situation coz it will be my situation to be faced next year. Die die to have find CC for both my kids or else I really need to quit or work part time...
Meanwhile hopefully the other CC can have opening soon. Maybe you call that CC again and check with status repeatedly so that they know you are urgent?

pixie,
take gd care, hope X can get well soon.

steph,
hw abt finding a cc dat provides bus service like Mom2nat's boy?

CNY is coming le.. has anyone tried which restaurant pen cai (盆菜) is good ? I told ordering and have it during cny period ! yummy yum yum

Steph,
My nephew is attending this cc in jurying east which seems to be quite good. He takes the sch bus to sch coz he's staying in jurying west. If u interested, I can help u ask for the name of the cc.

krystle,
i have check with the other CC on wait list status but the list is far too long & many are urgent case too including mine! Imagine i have put #2 on wait list since Dec2010 for 2012 intake!*stress*

luca,
good idea! but i will have to work on my expenses
Yesterday my hb told me that my FIL asking for $ again...imagine 2wks ago we just gave & now asking for more...haiz
$ not enuff...must buy TOTO to try luck:p

mcfluffy,
sure sure
if not too troublesome for you, thanks!

Chaye
last yr we ordered peng cai from boon tong kee... the chicken rice place. It's not too ex, not too cheap. I have to say the ingredients taste flavourful. Maybe use lots of MSG? Can't tell ...haha but ok lah not bad lo

this yr my mil too bz with newborn, will cook a 1pot wonder consisting of all the 好料like abalone n all the 山珍海味, so we will literally have 1dish n 1soup for reunion dinner wor!

I look at those pen cai in newspaper I drool liao lor.. but duno which is good. I wonder if they do delivery !!!

steph,
will be abit more siong, but better than compromising Z's health and "consoling" urself to think dat things at d cc will get better soon. i got 1 colleague's inlaws also always asking for more $, but still complained dat their kid is hard to take care. my fren is so fedup, quit n be a SAHM. but i know not everyone can be as lucky as her, say quit then quit lor. ;p

pixie,
1 pot of wonder sounds not too bad leh, at least convenient for ur mil.

Pixie,
Sounds like your MIL is preparing for 佛跳墙. All the good stuff inside 1 pot!

I will be having my 1st round of reunion dinner with my parents, siblings and my relatives tomorrow night at my mum's place! Steamboat but I never like steamboat lah... Anyway, easier for my mum to prepare so cannot complain.

Next round will be on CNY's eve at MIL's place. 100% also steamboat coz my FIL loves it. Cannot complain too. :p

luca,
yup i know what u mean...sometimes i pity my boys...cos their mum(ME) didn't provide the best for them
no wonder 2 days ago, Z said, "Mummy, stewpid you!" I was trying to figure out what he was trying to say to me then when he repeated his sentence...i realised that he was saying, STUPID ME!OMG

mcfluffy,
the cc looks good but i am sure the school fees wont be cheap, sure around $650+ cos my coll's gal is in town for kids for $650+/mth. I will check it out one day! Thanks!

chaye,
Last year i had reunion dinner with my parents at this Ban Heng Restaurant at Boon Keng Road. We had Mork Jumps Over the Wall Set Menu for $888++ for 10pax. Their Monk Jumps over the wall is v authentic & the gravy/soup is v nice. This Sat reunion dinner also at one of their Ban Heng Group (Shanshui Palace) at Raffles Country Club
You may wanna try their Pen-Cai in claypot for $288 for 8 to 10pax or $188 for 4 to 6pax. Free delivery charge! Tel: 62985285 / 62910407

steph
I'm sure a food lover like you will definitely answer my questions !!! you tried Monk jumps over the wall or Buddha jumps over the Wall ?

Have you tried their pen cai ? foc delivery is good ! thks ya !

steph,
*pat pat*sometimes its very hard to be "perfect" as we got our limitations too, but we are all trying our best to give the best to our kids. dun feel sad, probably he still doesnt know d meaning and use it wrongly on u.

krystle,
why dun like steamboat? as we dun often eat steamboat and its only reunion dinner that we can eat steamboat, so i always look forward to it. ;)

Steph,
I don't like the way food is all being put inside 1 pot, maybe the presentation way... I also hardly take soupy stuff so don't like loh. Especially other people will put lots of veggie inside but I don't take veggie. And yet I can't possibily restrict people what to put in right? Hahaha, I am very choosy hor.

krystle,
then have ur own steamboat lor hee :p im the opposite of u, luv veggie n soup. healthy mah

so do u usually eat something 1st since u not eating much during the dinner?

chaye,
the menu says Monk jumps over the wall, not buddha woh..i am pretty sure!
I have not try their pen cai yet so cannot comment.

luca, krystle,
i can't remb what happened exactly but i am sure Z don't know the real meaning of the word 'stupid'. I just wondered where he pick it up from??

Yo mummies!
Never heard of monk jump over wall leh!!!

Steph
Harnoh why z scold u stupid ah?

btw I'm at gynae waiting for my turn. I gained 1kg over 3weeks heng ah not too much weight gain

Luca,
Hahaha, I just don't take steamboat. That is the easiest! But if CNY reunion dinner then no choice have to take loh. But my MIL and my mum know my pattern. Usually they will cook additional 1 dish to suit my taste. :p So I still eat as per normal lah. Will not eat before hand.

That explains why you are so slim lah! Wish I can be as healthy but old habits hard to kick.

Steph,
I don't think Z pick up the word from your ILs as I assume they don't speak English at home. Maybe in school from other kids? I heard my girl scold stupid to my maid coz she heard my MIL scolding the same words to maid too. See lah, learn such bad manners and yet can't blame them as the adults are displaying a bad example...

I always have to tell her it is rude and she should never say that. But like what you said, they don't understand the real meaning and why should not use that word anyhow.

Steph,

U must be v shiok to hear that from Z. Gosh... There was once Evangeline picked up this word after an outing with my hb's frens cos one of his fren's wife like to use this word and keep using it during the gathering...

I was pretty upset with her and explain to her that it is a naughty and bad word and she shouldnt use it again or I'll punish her if I ever hear it again. Den, it stopped. She doesnt dare to use it again and know it's not right to use this word. the most I allow her to use is "Silly"...

Then, we have to always watch what we say infront of them as they pick up extremely fast!

Separately, any mummies know where I can do IQ test for the little one???

Pixie / mom2nat,
Hope your boy recover fast for the CNY. You two pregnant ladies please have enough rest.

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">To all mummies - 新年快乐,万事如意!</font></font>

Don't think I will have chance to log in again. All ready for our CNY holiday. No internet back in our parents' at our kampung. May have wireless access when we go shopping centre, so may check in FB on and off. Enjoy your CNY!

i second Kam's wishes

GONG XI FA CAI to all mommies here!

Pixie
Sent u the items i want but didnt hear from u. But then again, reading your difficulties here, so wont chase u lah. Will text u when i reach Sg, hope we can find time to meet up one more time before u pop ok!

Kam, gong xi fa cai!! So nice u going bc home soon. Me still got to wait till next week.

Pixie, take care!! X had meltdown cuz he wasn't feeling well la. Think u seldom scold x? Ever since I started looking after s, I realized I had been scolding him till I buay tahan with myself Liao, so decided to be good to myself n back to work. I still scold him today leh even though today is his birthday!! I think I got too much expectation Liao so not fair to him. he was very upset that I am going bc to work son today he kept calling me non stop mummy mummy for more than hundreds time. I m sad but bobian, I need to let go lo.

Kam / pixie / steph
Thanks. Elliot's nose dripping mucus. Dunno isit he was crying v long while maid trying to bathe him last night. By the time I put him to bed, he say v cold. Sigh...

Pixie
You shout your boy will listen ah? I raise my voice at him, he will jump and cry even louder!!! Then I will find him so pitiful! But I shout at my girl it works. Sigh... It is so tiring.

mylife
no worries, i have sent the email to my sis to check for stock...sunday meeting her for reunion dinner, if she got ready stock i will take from her liao, mai tu liao!!

tongtong
u going back to work? when ah? part time or full time? why the need to?

dunno issit he not feeling well or what leh, he is constantly like that for the whole of this week liao...me n hb buay tahan him...i now even need to follow him to toilet when he pee (he usually pee by himself one leh!)....i slow a bit to follow him he will lie down onto the floor and cry....wtf??!!
360degree turn...i ever seen his mood like that before but its like once in a blue moon and only for 1 day but this has been going on for a week........i hope it goes off soon!!

godsent
why want to test ur gal? she is very smart? tell us leh! we wanna kpo heehee....

mom2nat
i hardly shout at my boy. at most, i raise my voice to a stern one...if i shout means BIG BIZ liao...so he very scared today that i made such "loud" scoldings...he immediately kept quiet. my today's scoldings were 2 x of my shout...errr if you get what i mean. just imagine after i shouted finished, my throat was painful!! like commando in NDP like that lo
老虎不发威当它是病猫...............

anyway different child, different strokes lah. my boy eat soft dont eat hard...today i asked him to go off, he dont want. he glanced at me sideway and then look ahead again (watching tv). i stalked out of the house hor, he oso not scared he alone at home leh!! stubborn temper!

btw, i gained 1 kg over 3 weeks; baby gained half kg! phew! not much weight gain...my appetite not as fantastic as x1 time leh...stressed maybe
so my baby is 2.5kg at 33weeks

Pixie
YOu hardly shout ah?? I shout until neighbours can hear!

1kg over 3 weeks in 3rd tri is quite normal. I eat and eat all day. Even now I still thinking wat I can munch!! So you gg for C Sec? How big was X when he was born?
I slept so little last night. This am I doze off at sofa then took another nap from 1.30pm to 4pm, but woke up like 4-5 time inbetween. *yawn*

pixie
okok, kam sia ah!

As for X's recent development, i reckon it's call "testing your limits and boundaries". He's reaching an emotional maturity. Our kids at this age, we no longer SEE them developing (other than growing taller of cos) cos from here on, it's all in the brain. We will NEVER know for sure what's going on in that little brain of theirs and we also can't compare cos every child develops differently at different stage, jus like when one can crawl, the other can stand faster way back when they were babies, rem? So it doesnt mean X throw tantrum now testing limits, and others don't doesnt mean X is maturing or others not. Aiyah, very complicated. But most importantly, we as the parents need to stand firm and know our own rules that we set for them and be consistent. Got to keep cool when they do these stunts lo. ie throw himself on the floor. Grit ur teeth and thicken ur skin. After a while, he should learn he cant push the limits and that rules are rules so he'll revert back? It's tough on u now cos ur preggie and all, but hang in there bah?

Rylee also is a handful, always testing my limits, always curious, dismantling things etc. Sometimes it gets the better of me too. And i will yell at her big time. But aft that i will regret also. For scaring her cos scaring is definitely not the right way to discipline. I scold, scare, threaten, bribe, everything also tried before, my mantra is "whatever gets me thru the day" when i'm feeling really really ultra low and stressed. Sometimes also think maybe i'm a bad mother compare to others, thats why my girl so naughty? Haha, but that's not true lah. Rylee's school teachers say she's a very curious child, so i TRY to see the good side of it, probably only when she grows up? Hahahaha. But one POV the teachers cautioned is, whatever form of disciplining method u use, as and when u change it, be expected to have the behaviour worsened before it gets better. Like if ur used to yelling, then suddenly u decide i will not yell anymore and "lun", u wont see the child suddenly "gets it" and be a better kid, he/she will test ur limits and patience more before understanding. Know what i mean?

At the end of the day, for me, dealing with Rylee always drains my energy out. So i always tell myself i "have to pick my battles" ie those not so important i will let it slide a bit, but those very important i will insist. And i think rylee knows that now.
Avoid meltdowns by picking ur battles. Tats not to say ur letting him having his way, but well, just letting him THINK he can have his way but on your terms. Usually i'd jus shrug and let Rylee choose, take it or leave it. But when u need to say no to something u die die wont let him, be sure to offer an alternative that u know he wont resist. Always offer a rejection like "We cant eat the cake now, BUT how about i let u pick a cartoon to watch for 20mins" so it sort of sweetened the rejection. Works for Rylee lah. Now she always try to "counter offer" by saying "how about this" to me too! LOL.

Hope it helps...pardon my cheong hei-ness

ohhh...forgot to add, sometimes during my "low" times, i'd comfort myself by hoping, if a child needs to be notti and rebellious at least once in her life for a while, let her be notti and rebellious now and not during her teenage years! hahahahaha

disclaimer : this is purely as a fun fact for my own self consolation and not to say "guai and obedient" kids of other mommies will rebel in their teenage years! :p

mom2nat
yes i going c-sect, 4th march...i have the whole of feb to shake leg, thereafter will be facing x2 - feeding, pumping, changing, burping *shudders*

x1 was 4.07kg when born, x2 would be the same or bigger than korkor coz she takes after me - big boned.

i feel like eating bak kwa but have to lun else hb scold me again....not much things at munch at home leh! blame it on the lack of amenities of my place...

yest night, i slept max 3 hours only, coz had to monitor x's fever. afternoon nap 1 hour, coz need to shower n rush work while x naps...

btw, today i signed papers to donate my cord blood to scbb...u store your children's cord blood in private banks?

mylife
yoohoo!!
thanks for the long post, i understand what u mean...
the part about pick battles, yah man, i think lots of books talk about this...
i do offer an alternative, but he will still get too emo until past the point of no return for his anger level...
its very difficult to bring a child with high anger level back to normal so fast, so yes, i have to grit and bear with him with he screams n cry, then still the same old tatic - firm, talk, reason, and explain...it seems like this is the most effective tatic...he dont like harsh punishments

i keep explaining the same old things until very tired liao hohoho...

sometimes i so gek hei until i get gastric. sibeh jialatz

just a passing phase, i sure know he will revert back to his old self soon

u jiayou with rylee too! curious kids are always driving parents crazy but then again, grow up liao can be inventors heeheehee

Pixie
Wah piang, 4.07kg ah! Did you have natural or C sec then?
Nope, I din store or donate the cord blood.

Mylife
Quite true abt picking your battles part. But usually I am fighting wars all day. UNtil I get so drained. No energy to think of how to twist and turn to win my battle. End up either I throw temper or ignore. With 1, I can still try to reason... with 2, v tiring and they fight and argue all day. Aiyo...

mom2nat
i tried natural but after 12hours of waiting, i dilated pathetic 1.5cm only so straight go OT for c-sect. then when the gynae brought out x1, everyone in the OT very funny, kept exclaiming "wah! heng u c-sect ah, heng u c-sect ah!"
it was a funny moment i can never forget...imagine i go natural...i sure tear all the way to anus and back!

Pixie
I dilated 2cm abt 2 weeks b4 my #1 was born... but she was late, wait until cows come home. I really wonder abt this #3.

Oh so you gg to give birth much earlier than me.

Pixie, why u can't try natural leh? Big bb also can come out natural ma. I donated cord blood to scbb too. Am going bc to work full time. Did not intend tomfind job but my ex ex ex boss came to me. He short of staff ma. Then I thought ok la, maybe its time to go bc Liao plus got salary adjustment, can't resist ma :p and I dun like scolding s cuz I feel very bad n hurt, very unhealthy. I will miss the time I have with him at home n when we go out, n I will miss cooking good food for him, n I will miss lots of things. But maybe working is temporary too . I will quit again when the time is right again .

Mom2nat
how heavy was ur #1&amp;#2?

Tongtong
can, of course can. But I dun want to go thru waiting for 12hrs and in the end knowing I didn't dilate again and pay for emergency csect fees. Not cheap leh and I dun have a pay adjustment *suan suan* kekekeke
wah good luck to your new life as ftwm. No matter how x throw tantrums, I oso dun bear to be long away frm him. Just now go gynae n then to kiddy palace to buy x2 stuff, my mind kept wanting to chiong home. Haiz...we love our kids so so so much hor!

Yippee, it's x bday now liao !!!

pixie
4th Mar!!! Haha, why not 3rd leh? One day earlier, and ur girl will have same bday as me!
Possibly very emo next time wor! Hiak hiak hiak!

Aiyah, i TOTALLY understand ur weariness. I feel exactly the same. But honestly, i see u talk to X, VERY patient liao lo. Sometimes i feel like recording myself and jus press PLAY. Kekekeke. Aiyah, thats why this forum is for, when all things seem pressing, come here and vent lo.

Mom2Nat
I know! I also still TRYING to pick battles. On good days, i rem this. But on BADDDDD days, all out of windows and i yell too. Like u said, no energy lo.

tongtong
ohhh...back to work so soon? I agree with what u said, Jus today i was talking to a fellow mom (same school as rylee) about working moms vs sahms. Same old issues. Never ending pros and cons. She was saying some working moms overloaded their kids with activities during the day, signing up for lots of things. But then again, if they dont, the kids will jus sit around at home watching tv with maid. Also pointless. Vs SAHMs can stay at home, talk and play with ur own kid, but i also pointed out we ended up scolding them all the time as opposed to cherishing the time with them more. Haha. Kids! we go crazy being a sahm, miss them like crazy if ur not with them!
Jiayou!

Pixie, maybe second one won't let u wait for so long leh? Hehe. Hey u still dun wanna go rest ah, u preggie in third tri Liao leh

My life, very true leh. Because I think I with him 24/7, he can't be so obedient to me all the time. N I dun like him to do things the opposite way lo. That's my fault not his, so when I scolded him i felt bad. He is just a kid after all, it's my problem for not able to control myself , I m adult Liao leh, yet can't control. N when I m angry I feel that my health will be affected. U know la, I so health conscious, I just want to be good to myself! Actually now I am a bit regretted for signing the appointment letter !! Hai. He was an angel 2 days back when he was sick leh, so I sayang him so much. But when he recovered monster act again. Hai, they really made us mad lo.

Pixie
#1 3.6kg, 2 stitches
#2 3.875kg, no stitch no tear

Zoo? X recovered Liao? I have 3 gatherings this wkend, but prob let E rest at home tmrw w my mom n maid.