(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Pixie, I join you. My hopes/dreams for 2011
#1 - Be more patient with RaeAnne
#2 - Spend more time singing, reading or flash cards to Mei Mei.
#3 - Do well in real estate and earn enough $ to pay back my school fees and a holiday!
#4 - Still have time to post at SMH forums and that Jan08 & Feb08 threads will be more active.
#5 - Good health and fortune to my family, friends and everyone I know.

Kitsune
#1 is a real challange...being more patient is always tough for us humans hor

mom2nat
I only slept at 1.30am leh. Considered early liao but was too tired frm the housework that I chiongz

Kellie
hope ur gal get well soon!!

Pixie, yup, I have to keep reminding myself to be patient with her. Esp when she throws tantrums, whines and cries for every little thing. :p

Wanted to bring the kids to the beach for picnic but it started to drizzle. RaeAnne has no more fever but today, it's RaeLynn's turn. Her fever started 5 days after her MMRV jab on Monday. 37.7 deg around 530pm so we decided to leave her and the maid at home and only bring RaeAnne out for dinner. At 645pm, when I called home to check, it was 37 deg. Tonight also around 37 deg but hubby was worried it will spike up at night so we gave one more more dose. If tom morning ok, then no need to give med liao.

Good morning mummies,

Pauline,
with regards to giving medicine to the kids, i'm like you too, especially my husband. He will always ask me to give at the 1st sign of any symtoms. We will also prefer giving her medicine to help instead of letting her body fight it alone.

kellie,
i have one very good one, but he practice in his house, PM you his contact, you see if you want to use him, he is in hougang and strictly by appointment only. My C1 went to him about 1 yr ago when she dislocated her elbow and wrist.

Forgot to wish all mummies,

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Was super busy with helping my hubby last few days, thus didn't log in.

Pixie/Pauline,
let me join you,
my hopes and dreams for 2010
1) Everyone we know, especially our loved ones be blessed with good health and happiness.
2) My c1 will enjoys school and bring back no virus.
3) My c2 continues to be so easy *cross fingers*
4) My husband's various biz see good results from 2011 onwards.

hi mommies, its been a busy morning for me. ironed my work pants, wash my new toyogo boxes and medela pump parts to get ready to bring to work, pack my medela & also personal bag, prepare frozen fish for weekday dinners in indv containers for #1's weekday dinners.

finally finished everying at 12pm

prata_queen
back to work tmr, any feelings?
she bu de? excited to go back to work?

i would be so so planning on what to wear instead LOL

prataqueen, jia you on 1st day back at work. Sure got many emails to clear n miss your baby lots. Hee.

pixie, I finally went to Dempsey today. so Suaku lor. Ate at barracks, food really not bad.

i am actually feeling happy and excited. that's cos i know my baby will be in the good hands of my MIL who will b taking care of him in the daytime. its been a tough 4 months & its time for a change in routine. oh well, the grass is always greener on the other side.

kitsune, i got security token so i can access & clear emails daily else my inbox will b flooded.

u're not the only one, i have not been to the much-talked-about Dempsey area. and i heard from u all that tamp interchange got new KOI outlet but i haven't even gotten a chance to go out.

Prat a queen, jiayou in bf! I did mine with avent manual for 15 mths plus, sure u can do it too or longer!

Pixie, u r reLly energetic hor, always do so much work n sleeps so late!! Time really flies that u will be delivering soon! Few months time?

kitsune
i went to dempsey only twice...also very suaku, no worries. i not a foodie hunter so im quite suaku with everything oso leh

tongtong
energetic coz daytime (weekends) i nap with x....then recharged liao, at night can do housework or pack stuff, especially everything went to "cold storage" after x grew up...now take them out of boxes, discard the unwanted, keep those that i wanted, repack stuff....
i only realised that i have 3 avent duo motor pump...wah kao!! and i have like 25 of the 125ml bottles....not counting the 260ml and 330ml ones....headache man...
im due in 8 weeks time leh, time really flies

btw, im having slight cramping since yesterday. hope just braxton hicks lah...
yesterday told hb, he asked "huh dont tell me so early pop?"...then went back to his gaming console. sibeh kns
now i make use of this opportunity to whine and ask him to do more stuff.
he blur blur ask me how, i said oh if really continue, must go see gynae and maybe bedrest till delivery leh...kekekekek
then he kancheong say ok quickly go sit down etc liao

Happy New Year to everyone!

Everyone here be healthy and happy

My wish for the new year is
1) Crystal Sleep through the night (she wakes 3-6 times a night)
2) She take bottles and I can wean off
3) Both kids in good health

tong tong, yes, let's all jia you to bf for as long as we can. i am proud that i managed for 8.5 mths for #1. Though it isn't long, it was the best i could do bcos milk supply dwindled to the point it wasn't worth the effort to bring the pump, bottles and fridge to go to work.

Kitsune,
You went Barracks @ Dempsey on Sun? I went on Sat leh. Yes, the food was not bad but quite expensive. We tried a variety of pizza and burgers coz we have 6 adults + 3 children. But my kids kept me busy and I did not eat that much. Wanted to go Jones Grocer too but the kids were getting tired...
In the end, we pay $40/pax, very exp to me. Will only go back there for special occasion bah...

Just sent Elliot to sch. So proud of him, no cries no whines. Bye bye and can't be bothered abt me. I see many parents lingering ard, think they r having separation anxiety, not the kids!!! Hoho...
me happily eating macs now. Later go back pick him

Well done Elliot!!
Mom2Nat, lucky u

how come Elliot starts school today, my girl's kindy only starts tomorrow.

Grumpus
Cos usually the younger kids will b crying on 1st day. So only Pre nursary n nursery starts sch today. Less kids now so chaotic. Is Lexie GG sch?

Mom2Nat,
oic, lexie is starting at Marymount Kindy tomorrow. For Marymount, from tomorrow until Thurs, there'll be no K1/K2 classes. Only pre-nursery and nursery.

yo mummies
x starts CC tomorrow too...
first few days need to be on half day thereafter full day

so rushed job, since only got call from centre last fri about this news

Grumpus
Ah, then same lor. They wanna let the younger ones settle in 1st. Tmrw I bringing my gal to pri 1, so prob Elliot can't go to sch for 2 days. Hee... U will b ferrying Lexie to sch daily?

Mom2Nat,
aiyo, like tat also stress hor. lucky Elliot is considered easy. Yup i will be ferrying lexie to sch daily.....errr until i pop lah, then daddy will hv to take over during confinement month. hopefully there won't be too much dramas.

congrats! so many kids just started school for the first time this week. Think my gal considered seasoned student Liao having attended 'school' since 18 mths, Keke.

mom2nat, where is Elliot's school?

krystle, yup agree that prices r not cheap cos the mains r at least $22 or more. hubby n I ordered the cheaper mains with a pot of tea n 1 dessert but our price per head also almost $40. :p

Morning, mummies.

Today is Issyen's last day of honey-moon coz tmr I will bring her to school's orientation and official start day is Wed. I think her school is the latest of all. I am getting worried now and hope everything will go smooth.

Luvv,
Actually I am no against medicine. In fact, whenever the PD precribed my kids medicine, I sure follow the schedule tightly, that's include antibiotics.

But hor, fever medicine is not really a medicine. It doens't cure the disease. It only helps to reduce the body temperature, which is against what the body needs to fight off the bug. http://babyhaore.blogspot.com/2010/10/what-does-fever-tell-you.html

Anyway, just sharing :) I respect your way all the same. We all only want the best for our kids, don't we :)

Here come my wish for year 2011:
1. Get rid of all the negative stuff in the household - thoughts, words, actions, etc. I hope I can keep my cool and not to raise my voice on my kids again, ever.
2. Both kids stay healthy and stay off medicine for the whole year (very greedy wish, I know).
3. Both kids learn good manners, learn to be positive and are as happy as ever.

For myself,
1. Cook more often for the kids and for my hub.
2. Learn how to bake (before that, need to get an oven).
3. Be who I am (not only a mum, but ME).

kam
good resolutions, can be achieved one lah (albeit a bit tough), jia you!!

about baking
i baked during the new year....the oven's temp wasnt accurate leh...sianz totally. must get a oven thermometer liao

Grumpus
The plan was I send #1 n #2, but long distance. Quite stressful, so hb decided to ferry #1. Then go to work after tat.

Kitsune
Elliot at Bethesda Pasir ris, same as icy's boy. Nearby lor

mom2nat, oic, there's a Bethesda linked CC near my place but it's called KiddyArk. I didn't know it was a CC until after I enrolled RaeAnne at Elfa cos it looks like a kindergarten with rooms dispersed all over the void deck.

Pixie, was it the new oven that you bought? What brand did you buy in the end? I got a cake mix which I haven't used. Supposed to bake over Xmas/New year but both PHs have passed. keke.

pixie,
Which oven did you buy? So I shouldn't buy the one you bought? :) Can share with me your "research" on oven? Saw the photos your posted on FB, at least something came out mah :)

HR watched a baking/cooking program on Cbeebies last night, and he asked to do that.

Hi, mummies. Do you have any good catering for mini buffet to recommend? I am thinking of catering 20 pax, budget not more than $10/pax.

So far, I searched and found Mei Hao 99 catering is cheapest at $8/pax. Has anyone tried it before? Good reviews or not? TIA.

Happy New year mummies!
Brand new year.. I'm starting my part-time work from tomorrow onwards! Hehehe... hope the year would be smooth sailing!

oven
i bought the eletrolux 30L microwave + oven (or was it 30+ L?)...
can microwave, convection oven, grill

its good! but just temperature not accurate, or i too newbie to get my cookies right.
the instruction say 180d for 8-10mins, i had to bake at 200d for 18mins!

kam, if you want fuss free kind, get a 26L or so standalone oven/toaster. tefal is good. my mil who bakes almost once a week (bread, puffs, pastries, muffins, cakes)....and she using tefal....for a year liao. so meaning if it suits a regular baker and it lasts, why not?

its all with dials on the oven, rectangle than squarish, and the door opens from "up" towards you instead of swinging from right to left kind

Mom2Nat,
Elliot is so cool on first day of school. Can see that he is enjoying. Now this is 1 less thing for you to worry. :D

Xavier wanted to cry again when he is back in the car, pouting his lips and refuse to answer me anything about his school. I think tomorrow I will have a harder time.

Krystle,
All the best for tomorrow. I think I am really the one having the anxiety. lol

Krystle,
I ordered MeiHao during my gal's full mth celebration cos tried it before at my fnd's son full mth & loved their food so much. Fnds & relative also feedback to me that the duck & yam paste is very good ;) I juz placed order for this CNY 1st day for my parent, a bit ex cos is CNY. 25 pax abt $500+.

Mcfluffy,
U not teaching anymore?

itok,
My boy's snack time in school is 12noon. His lesson was 11-1pm last yr.

I'm keeping my fingers cross for tmr school too. Having a dec break does no good at all, my boy seem to "over enjoy" these few weeks. Haiz, when i tried to remind him that there will be sch tmr, he juz cried out loud juz now. His fav teacher is on maternity lve until may. And this yr he will be promoted to nursary class with most classmates but a totally new teacher. Realy need to pray hard tmr ;)

icy & lynn,
is your boy still at seimpi? Did you buy a keyboard at home to practice? I juz signed up for my boy ;) Think I'm the one more interested to learn music, haha ;p

New Year's resolution or more like my wishes??
1) Maintain a good r/s with hubby.(Need more couple time & holidays)
2) Minimise the shouting & scolding to my kids. (Need to control my temper)
3) Spend quality time with my kids, esp #2.
4) Good health & happiness to my kids & family.
5) Strike toto, hahaha. Then I can be a super happy SAHM forever ;)

Janbb
Yes, Xavier and Rayden is still at Seimpi. Xavier have a keyboard at home, think Rayden also have a mini piano at home. Where did u sign up for Jayden?

Actually at first Xavier loves to practice a bit with his piano book at home but now he just anyhow play at home and never follow the notes at all. But I think the class is good, the boys all knows their notes well.

I think I also learn a lot from his class!

icy,
We will be attending @ Funan. How abt 2 of u? Same class? Alrite, will buy him a keyboard if he shows great interest in the lesson after a term ;)

Janbb
We are attending at White Sand, pasir ris. Both of them are in the same class.

BTW, did you let your girl attend any class? How do you make sure both also have a "balance" of some activities/class?

My gal juz turned 18mths ;) Starting fr this yr, I will a/c her to zoophonic twice weekly class fr 9-10.30am. At the same time, my boy is attending class fr 9-12noon.

Maybe will enrol her in shichida during weekday when gorgor is in school too. But still waiting for a good slot.

My plan is spend time with #2 in the morning when #1 is in sch. Then whole afternoon will be #1 to do seat work at home while #2 at my mum's hse. Then late evening, the two of them will be together again ;) Weekend will be enrichment for them. Very packed SAHM schedule, haha.
How abt u??

Hi mummies !! Tate started his cc today too ! He's good there. I've wanted to bring him back after lunch for nap but he sees all others pack their pillows to another room so he followed too and say wanna sleep there with them ! So I let him lor.

So I went to coffeeshop for drinks and saw his PG classmates parents and they all managed to get into another cc further away and ask me transfer Tate over. So I backside itchy went there to hv a look. And wow all new lor cos just opened today. The place is bright the toys r new. Beds r new, tricycle is new. But the form teachers look like tea lady to me lor. When I speak to the Chinese teacher her language is so so only I wonder how gd she teach :p. Din get to speak to English teacher. They still hv vacancy for 7 slots ! Now the class is only 8. That time when I register still tell me waiting list chances v slim !! Arggh. Their daily menu and daily curriculum is all pinned on the board. I'm impressed leh.

The only minus is it's fully aircon at 24c. Even then if a child is there for do many hours sure will feel cold at the end of the day rite ? And bcos it's new, I duno where the teachers r from and duno whether can they stay long or not.

Compared to YWCA the teachers r there for many years and r very experienced.

Oh ya and this sparkletots is only 288 after subsidy but YWCA is 350 after subsidy!!!

How huh? Aiyo... Y we humans always hv to make decisions ?

Janbb,
Thanks for your comments about Mei Hao catering. OK, I shall try it.
Coz quite reasonable at $8/pax and since it is not yet CNY...

You wrote that Jayden will be attending Seimpi @ Funan? Now you may not know who is the teacher yet but try to avoid a teacher named Cecilla. She is not very good. I heard Teacher Shirley is good. Too bad I already withdrawn my girl from there if not our kids could be in the same class.

Wow, sending Jayna to school so early at 18 months which mean almost now already right? That day my mum reminded me that I need to register Issey for pre-nursery this year for next year's school. I was stunned. Forgot that by 2012, he will be considered 3 years old. To me, he is always a small little baby, not so mature and understanding like his elder sis.

Kitsune,
Are you letting RL to attend PG at 18 months too???

Hmm... Wonder if I should let Issey goes to PG earlier...

chaye
ur backside really itchy leh
anyway, can put down your name. this week see tate happy at YWCA or not. if happy, continue. not happy, jump to sparkletots lor

use Tate as the deciding factor bah?

yeap, the "brand new" cc X will be attending is also 24hrs aircon which i really dont like but they say will adjust temp if parents request. dunno if they will really do it or not, must spot check once in a while??

JanBB
You have everything nicely planned out.

I havent think about the details, quite neglect #2 in terms of learning etc. Xavier just started on pre-N this year from 8-10.30am daily. Seimpi is on sunday. Crystal is ard 11 mths old, I am thinking of starting her on something when she is ard 12-18mths old, either enrichment or playgroup. I see if I can slot one for her on sunday or weekdays, then I can leave saturday for family outing day.

eh chaye
u pack pillow into tate's school bag today? or cc provide pillow?

i still havent decide if i should being blanket tomorrow or not leh, jialatz, how ah???!! helpppppp

Pixie

backside damn itchy. Lol. See already drool at new cc.

YWCA no provide pillow. I packed his pillow is for him to hug not for putting head. In fact the teacher told me is best that they lie flat w/o pillow no need pillow at this stage. You better bring along blanket just in case la.

I went back to sparkletots 2nd time just to bring my hubby there to WOW him. I saw most students r lying down for sleep and the aircon is at a comfortable temp.

Krystle,
Thanks on the seimpi feedback too ;) Will find out which teacher then. Why did u pull her out? Thot age 3 to learn music is perfect?

Icy,
Same here, #2 never attend any class before. Only bot her to kindermusik trial for fun in last dec. (Guilty me) Glad that i'm still on no-pay lve to spend more time with her in the classes this year ;) You can do it too. Spend time with her during gorgor's sch time.

chaye
can you pack so many things into tate's school bag? towel, change of clothing, blanket blah blah??

i dont have a small blanket, thing is....perhaps a towel (as a blanket) should be enuff