(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Blackbatz
I better try hang onto my job, or else later gana retrenched! If I started out as a working mom, I dun think I can be sahm. But be sahm liao, dunno how to go back to work!!

Yvonne, ya, my mum told me that he might be scared ofnsome incident, probably he slipped on a wet floor something like that. Will try her 'old ppl ' method tomorrow trying to calm him. Anyway, I know he had encountered some unhappy incident in pg, so will keep him at home first.

Mum2nat, you r right! Seems like I am a sahmaid . Probably that makes me very stressed n starts talking nonsense when scolding him. He had a meltdown before bedtime cuz he refused to bathe. Whole day no bathe wor. Poor him, had such a lousy day today.

TT
Thanks, so paisey, I can't associate the names to the nicks!!!
We have our bad days, kids too. We know wat to do, talk it out, go shopping... blah blah... but kids v poor thing, only have us as their supporting pillar. Give him more TLC. Helping him thru his diffcult times is not spoiling him. I used to think I wan this this to be my way, to be right... blah blah.. then I realised, no need so regimental lor. A child is a child. I usually feel v bad abt scolding and punishing after my girl sleeps. I look at her so angelic and innocent, I will wonder how come I was so mean and couldn't control myself!

Mom2nat,
Victoria N - bebe_yan
Victoria T - angelsky
Jade T - eNnmum
Jazry C - pixie

HTHs btw, i think i don't have u in my fb leh...hehe

Mom2nat, Jade is e&emum(bluerose). She seldom posts here now.

TT, poor thing. Can understand your frustration. RaeAnne also went through a phase of weird behaviour. She doesn't like the fan and refuse to let us switch on any fan. If the fan is on, she will switch it off. But she keeps waking up at night cos it's too warm. Tried the air con then next day she didn't want air con either. It was very frustrating for me cos end up she never nap/sleep well. Can wake up every half an hour, how can the adults rest? Thinking back, maybe it's because I said if the fan is on while her hair is still wet, she will catch a cold so she 'skipped' logic and think the fan is bad. Cos she hates us to dry her hair with a towel nor a hairdryer. Also, when the fan is on, she may have gotten cold at night and pee. So, she may have associated the fan with peeing at night, and getting wet and uncomfortable, then scolding from the adults. :p

There's one period, Raeanne also refuse to shower, keep saying wait, wait when me or the maid ask her to shower. I think she's asserting her independence and testing her boundaries. Then, one day, we asked her, do you want to shower in Mei Mei's bathtub? And she said yes. Maybe she didn't want to shower sitting/standing on the mat anymore, just wanted the novelty of showering in a bathtub and playing with water. So, after that, she's ok cos everyday can bring a different toy to swim in the water with her.

Maybe you can try making it into a game? Don't force him to shower but entice him to 'wash' his favourite toy or wash his own shirt in the kiddy bathtub. Let him take out the shirt he is wearing now, then let him add some shower gel into the water to wash his shirt properly. Sooner or later, he'll want to jump into the water himself, then you can shower him? Or let him shower himself with your help?

Now, she's gone through these 2 phases but still at her change 5 shirts a night phase. We are still trying to overcome this. -_-

Mom2 nat, thanks, very well said leh, U r really a good mummy! Shd learn from u more, hehe.

Pauline, wah change 5 shirt a night, is it becuz she is diaperless at night now? Today s mood is good, probably we went out. Yesterday whole day at home, tot maybe that's why he was in super bad mood. He din reject showering today when we got home n he mopped the floor after playingnwith water on the floor. At first he complained wet after mess was created but after seeing the dad bringing out the mop he volunteered to mop. So weird. One day one kind of behavior. Really made my head spin. Anyway, I will just learn to be more patient with him la.

As for saying full, he din say at all when he was outside but started to say when he was at home. Have decided to bring him to the doc to check whether he is really kam chek.

Tongtong, change shirt nothing to do with her diapers lor. She just keep nitpicking about her shirt. Wear for a few minutes then ask to change. This one too hot. That one not nice. We have 2 fans blowing at her, one ceiling fan and one standing fan. How can it be hot? Weird pattern lor.

hi mummies, any of your kids taking Mamil gold, I have free samples for 1-3 years to give away. 2 packs of 2 sachets each.

Thanks Luvv for the clarification.

So quiet here... everyone enjoying the long weekend

Mummies HELP!
Planning to drive up to malacca for the weekend with one night stopover in JB.
Need hotel recommendation for JB. Near the shopping, food etc and safe.

yooooooooooo mummies
so much work today, shagged....

blackbatz
i wanna apply to be sahm too but my hb reject

nowadays thinking of the $$ spent on cc fees for X and the fees for maid (soon to arrive), i headache. better continue working lo....

mei,
"like" your video, hope u win.

Tongtong / Pauline,
sometimes we let our girl play with bubbles in the bathroom for a while, sometimes it's playing with toys, sometimes ask her to "wash" her hanky..all to entice her into the bathroom. Cos once she's willing to step inside, she will bath without resistence.

krystle
I had went there on the first day. More sales on clothes lik esprit, giodano, g2000... pillow and bedsheets. Actually about the same every year, the queue is super long then, abt 30mins wait even tho there is like 35+ cashiers.

Kids stuff not much, i guess it is abt the same kind the shopping centre also have during sales. :p

Hello, Icy.
Thanks for the info... If just clothing, then maybe not going as based on experience, the clothings on sale were not that nice...

morning all,

back to work n jz shoot back at my boss for his "IDEA".

Warao .. ask me to pay few hundreds for staff's retreat? no $ dun eat so exp one lah!

early morning spoil my mood.

mylvera,
Huh, got such thing meh? Have to pay few hundreds for staff retreat? The first thing that comes to my mind when retreat is mentioned - FREE meal/trip!

Nez,
There isn't too many hotel in Ipoh. And I believe all are not expensive. Not that many you can choose from. Maybe you should choose based on the location of the hotel.

Kam,

precisely lor! cos the boss giam ... n he doesn't have budget (or failed to budget??) so eat into our $$? i asked him to fly kite lah. being sole breadwinner of 5, I cannot afford it!

but he still dun buy it wor... still reply n "scolded" us hahaha

Mylvera,
Aiyo why your boss like that..? He should pay what coz he is the bigger boss leh. Siao, tell him you are not going and definitely not going to pay!!

BTW, can ask those mummies if they open 1 CDA a/c for each kid? Can we do that or only can have 1 a/c regardless of no of kids?

krystle,

I am definitely not going. I cannot afford to leave my kids at home for 3 hrs event (dinner itself is 2 1/4 hrs n the travelling back home?) my gal still needs me before she can sleep leh n she sleeps ard 7+ 8? I don't mind paying a small sum (n they can even claim the amt that coy gives me even if i dun go n i will not complain that the dept use my $$) even if i not going but few hundreds??? crazy! I don't print $$ lor

CDA account

1 account for each kid. don't think can combine.

Mylvera, last time I got to pay for my own D&D ticket ($50) and attendance is compulsory cos got to go there to work. Arrive early and receive the VIPs, give them their table number, parking tickets etc. I was also very unhappy, but my boss think I'm trying to create trouble when I refuse to buy ticket. $50 I can have very good buffet dinner on my own lor. Somemore we got to go early and work, cannot participate in any of the pre dinner activities. :p After I transferred to another dept, I boycott D&D for a few years. haha.

Airasia got free airtickets from Jul 11 - Nov 11 but only marketing gimmick lar, I tried 3 different set of dates, all not free. :p $356 for 4 tickets to Bangkok/Phuket. Is it cheap? :p

Finally going to pay registration, deposit and uniform at Elfa today. Went down yesterday and they actually gave up my waitlist due to a miscommunication. End up got to start her in mid Dec cos the principal said too many kids starting in Jan. Got to pay $1003 in cash or cheque. Heart pain. Must really go and find work next year so that can get full CC subsidy. :p

kitsune,

tat is too much! Committee members shd get FOC attendance mah. I am in the committee every yr but I do back end job .. n every yr the main committee head will ask me to join in for the trial dinner n the D&D (but i nid to pay for the actual D&D cos not working there). I rejected for all hahaha anti-social?

my boss always complained that my section n me are anti-social. so wat? do u hv to force me to mix ard with ppl whom I cannot click after office hrs?

mylvera,
I also anti-social, not by choice, but because of the kids, I am going no where :) But last year our co actually arranged the D&D during lunch time, so that more people (like me) can attend, pretty good. But we all have to pay for the tic lah. D&D is no longer free since many years back.

Any mummies brought the kids to genting before?
May I check is 3D2N enough?
My hb and I intend to self drive to genting.
Which hotel will u recommend, and can the kids go into the theme park?

Kam,

I oso anti-social cos of kids. last time with my ILs ard ..mayb still can sneak out .. now tat they no longer need to come my hse ... how can i sneak out? ask my bring my whole kampung there ?? crazy ..

Mylvera,
Thanks for the info. Think I will go and open another CDA account for #1.

I don't like D&D too. Too wayang liao.. Once my ex-coy even planned in such a way the seating were pre-determined and you got to sit with people from diff dept + 1 senior manager!!! Sianz right? No mood at all but forced to go (luckily don't have to pay $$$)... What is a D&D if we don't enjoy ourselves?

So far for my current coy, no D&D coz cost cutting measures. Hehehe...
But kena "hinted" by my boss that I should take part in more social activities in office... sianz...

Kitsune,
Wanted to ask you a long time ago... You worked in Changi Hospital as PR before?

You sure wanna go back to workforce??? Hahaha..

I see you not bad leh, SAHM and still can bring the whole family for tour.

But Elfa's school fees so exp???

krystle,

pixi is right ... our jan babies not eligible. mine eligible cos mine is #2.

go for #3 lah ;) den can open another CDA account

Pixie,
Oh, you are so right! #1 cannot enjoy CDA funding... Sianz... Need to share from #2's CDA a/c... Not fair leh.

Abstract from Baby Bonus website:
All your children born on or after 17 August 2008 will also enjoy Government contributions in the form of a dollar-for-dollar matching for the amount of savings you contribute to your child’s Children Development Account (CDA). If your child is born before 17 August 2008, he or she will enjoy the Government matching contributions in the CDA if he or she is your second to fourth child.

hello mummies

kitsune, u going for holiday again? i tink $300 plus for 4 pax is consider ok, i am also going bkk, each pax is ard $85.
elfa sch fees is X leh, are u enrolling the one at tampines or simei? i ever considered too, but they hav limited vacancies las yr, n the place is fully aircon-nt sure if it is gd for our toddlers???

Kry, why do we need to open CDA acc for no.1 ?

warao!! got difference meh?

From $375 reduced to $340? no $ go eat cheaper food lah ? y must go imperial dining (cruise) or even carousel (hotel type)?

buey song ... jz sent another email out! waiting to be bombed !

elfa school fees is $470 for half day after minus $150 subsidy.

krystle,, yup I work about 5 years in PR dept then switched to another dept. after I quit, my holidays for whole fam is always to Malaysia leh. Either fly budget air during promo or take coach bus. :p but I am thinking of working so that can afford enrichment classes for the gals eg. piano lessons.

Aqua,
Thought of taking advantage of Govt's dollar to dollar's contribution for #1 too... Since not possible then have to share CDA account with #2.

Mylvera,
You are my role model leh! #3 "gan gan lai". I still hesistating...

Kitsune,
I think I have a friend who was your ex-coll in corporate comms @ Changi hospital.
so qiao.

Be it taking coach or going to Msia, it is always nice that can take trip as a whole family and your hubby is so willing to pay. I definitely won't bet on my hubby doing that.

Shannonbaby,
I bought my #1 to Genting in Jun. We stayed at Resort Hotel which is nice and the outdoor theme park is just outside the room view. But walking to the indoor theme park is further as compared to first world hotel..

Yes, our toddlers can enter into both indoor and outdoor theme parks. Indoor is more suitable for our toddlers.

mylvera > company retreat if need so much? crazy leh, ask the big boss to pay la, since he's the one who suggest. siaoz.

Pauline >when are you going to start giving them enrichment classes? the fees i'm saving with sending her to pre sch, i can bring her to enrichment classes with those. I'm thinking of dancing class at NAFA but they starts at age 4 only. And also Chinese/English speech and drama class.

krystle> ya lor, got to share the CDA funds cos no1 no have.

aqua,

cos

1) boss did not budget for it? if he budget, mayb can get more sponsorship from coy? right now coy only sponsoring $24 per staff per year for retreats / dinners or get together (whatever name u wana call :p)

2) boss insist on going "high class" places for dinner .. cruise cum dinner? or hotel's dinner so that the junior staff can enjoy at our expenses?

now he made my blood boil. he earns so much n yet so niao? n even insist I must fork out few hundreds? well, i really feel like telling them that I do not mind writing to HR to get my share (from coy) to be used for this dinner but I will not go. rather den to sponsor few hundreds??

work issues dun wana settle. got time to settle such "trival" matters?

krystle, u mean Amelia? no lar when I joined that dept, she already quit. she was preggie with no. 2 then. She rich tai tai lar. not like me. Hee.

luvv, thinking of music appreciation at yamaha next Jan for Raeanne.

aqua, I enroll in tampines cc one.

Kitsune,
Yes, my rich friend tai-tai, Amelia. So envy her.

Luvv and Kitsune.
I think starting enrichment classes when our toddlers are 3 or 4 is a better age. I think I started my girl on music lessons too early and she is not really learning much. Felt like a waste of money. Anyway, I stopped her from Seimpi already since she will be going to Pre-N next year. Want to let her settle down on her daily school routine and slowly sees what is her interests.... If by then she still likes music, I will enrol her again.

Pauline / krystle
i would want to wait for her to settle down in N1 too and to be more mature, i.e. can sit down and listen to teacher before i'll sign her up for the classes.