(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune,
You read my FB post? HR didn't want to take nap on Sat and Sun. Sat KO at 5.30pm till next morning. Sun KO at 7.30pm till next morning :) We totally let go already, want to nap, nap, don't want to nap, don't nap, since he still can clock in a total of >10hours per day, so not so bad lah. Except when he gets very cranky (super tired but don't wanna nap), then I will try to make him sleep. When he gets cranky, meimei suffers, cos he likes to beat or pull her hair when he is not in good mood :-(

Kam, yup, I read about HR KO at 530pm till next morning. But RaeAnne is not like that. She gets cranky at evening time around 5+pm if she doesn't get to nap then refuse to eat dinner (even when I bring it forward) and shower. Want to sleep but overtired. Usually she will have total meltdown by 8pm. I'm asking hubby to come back earlier for dinner if he can so that we can have an early night for her. :p

SY,

Starting in CC kids will surely fall sick once in a month. I brought Javin to EYS TCM surprising it works wor. I mix with western medicine for him with 2 hours apart. So his cough recovers within a week.

Tongtong, we usually feed RaeAnne first at 6+pm before me and hubby eat. But need hubby to be back earlier so that we can eat dinner together then I can shower early after that, while he helps take care of RaeAnne/Mei Mei while the maid feeds Mei Mei, eats her dinner and washes the dishes. Managed to feed RaeAnne milk at 8pm and she KO at 9pm. She still won't get 12 hours of sleep for sure. -_-

Kam / Krystle
Pri sch starts at 7.20am, gotta beat the jam on expressways and so on. Unless you live v near the sch, usually takes quite sometime to go to sch. Sending the kids ourselves need buffer oso. Cos convoy of cars queueing outside the gate to drop the kids off. But good thing is after my girl goes to sch and Elliot goes kindy, I have the am to myself. Hee...

Pixie
Old pple always tell you can manage, but when really taking care of bb and kids, you will realise they old liao, no energy. Then expect you to be home on time, your kids active, they can't handle, will complain... blah blah... I left my 2 kids for 4 days when I went hol. Got 2 grandmas and 1 maid at home, they still buay tahan!

So in your case, better to have more help. How to expect 1 maid to look after ah ma, 2 kids, 2 babies, do housework and cook? We ourselves can't do, how to expect another person to.

Mom2nat,
Just read your reply..My god..5.20 am..I think the bus driver purposely told you that to put you off. hahah Indirectly rejecting you...Which kid can wake up at 5.00 am? I can't even do it myself..Probably only bus driver haha.

My niece also attends the same school, also same thing lor..5.45 pick up from Hillview..I find it weird that the school did not change the bus company.

Luckily my boy's school bus comes at a more decent time of 6.30 am. So they use a smaller school bus..Their bus number range from 1 to 30 something...His bus number is 23..It's a mad place at 1.30 pm when they dismiss the pupils. Even then, it's a battle trying to wake my boy up at 5.50 am (give him 10 minutes to be fully awake)..After he brushes his teeth, he will always crawl to the sofa and cat nap while my helper tries to talk to him to keep him awake.

After that I take over and continue..then eat breakfast, drink milk etc...6.30 am just nice..Sometime,s I also wish taht I can give up everything just to fetch him to and from school lor. Avoids all the bus bullying etc..

For your girl side, the jam can be bad..So be prepared. Are they single session as well?

In my household, my parents and maid look after 3 kids (including 1 from my siser although she is gg to childcare soon)..My parents also buay tahan..Every night my dad goes to bed super early like 9pm..

Pixel,
Advisable to get another one. Wait she overload, make mistake, lagi worse.

Kitsune,
It's actually quite tiring to drive by yourself in Malaysia..At least, hubby and I take turns to drive. Otherwise, can dirve until fall asleep especially in the afternoons.

blackbatz
He told me cos in the am, there are oso sec sch students. HIs bus only takes students from Simei, tamp and pasir ris. Coming home faster cos only have pri sch students. He said he was using smaller bus. But tell you hor, the jam can be rather scary sometimes. Yes, single session. There was once I drove pass at 1pm, sch ends 1.20pm. But already long q of cars!!! Anyway sch bus has priority to enter and leave sch, so not too bad.

I fetched Elliot to Julia Gabriel b4. A usual am heavy traffic takes me abt 40min. If jam, 1.5 hrs! So imagine when the bus driver needs to pick 15 - 20 kids!

I was supposed to send and pick Nat, but plans change. So just take one step at a time and c how lor. I oso heard abt bus bullies, but cannot worry too much.

tongtong,
XY will be going to the cc right after CNY (18 months then). We don't want to send her to cc cos her nanny is really very very good. But it's her nanny who tenders resignation leh. She said she is aging and wants to take a break from the kids. XY is another very active kid and that makes her more tiring. She already told us to take care of XY till CNY. But we are still hoping she might change her mind, or hoping XY becomes more managable when she starts talking. There is still hope :)

mom2nat,
Oh, school starts at 7.20am ah, so early, I didn't know that.

Tongtong, she woke up at 11pm to pee, 520am asking for milk then 645am wet her bed, tried to put her back to sleep
after maid changed the bedsheets but she only slept for 15 mins, then came back to my bed n slept until 845am cos i still got to wake her for school. -_-

Kam, hr is early talker so I guess xy might be the same too? Anyway I think her nanny is very responsible cuz she knows that she is aging n scared that she might slip an eye on her?

Pauline , good wor, that considers sleeping thru what.

kitsune,
HR has been sleeping for 10-12 hours every day since long time ago (8-9 hours at night plus 2-3 hours nap). I read 10 hours is what the toddlers this age need.

tongtong,
Oh yes, my mum and her nanny said she will be talking anytime soon. She babbles non-stop! Think she will be earlier than HR.

Oh, her nanny is those very organised and down to every single detail type of person. Don't think she is worry of slipping an eye on the kids, but more of her physical constraint. She is going through the menopause now, which makes her tires out more easily. Good that XY is walking steadily since 1 yo, cos before that, her nanny also told me carrying XY giving her bad backache cos she's heavy and solid!

Kitsune,
So now RaeAnne is sleeping diaperless?

Kam,
Ya loh, sad to let go of a good nanny... Really not easy to find such a good helper where you don't have to worry. But on her viewpoint, she is right to have a retirement too... My mum used to be a nanny too and that was when she was only early 40s... She also complained tired already. But now is taking care of own grandchildren so complain also have to take care. :p

mom2nat
agreed totally.

yesterday i was quite shocked when my mil say "hope your #2 is more guai. X is very tough to handle"

im like "huh??? really?"
i honestly do not think X is tough to handle. if compare X with yvonne's or kitsune's etc, im sure X is a very mild boy. i am really not sure why my mil says he is very naughty.

when x is with me, i hardly find him "challenging".

what i can guess is that my mil is a very traditional woman. everything cannot this, cannot that. thats why she needs to restrict my boy so much. hence lots of running around him etc etc

eg yesterday she told us, they went NTUC. X wanted to touch the fish and the prawns. she had to stopped him constantly etc, find it very tiring.
but when we go NTUC, i will let X explore the fish n the prawns. then he will be satisfied, and wont whine or zoom ahead to touch this or that.

i honetly dont find x very naughty. but i do not know why she said so. perhaps her age is a huge factor but still.......
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

kam
the sunday times ran a story on kids sleeping late last sunday...our kids at this age needs 11-13hours of sleep, not 10 liao

btw mummies, yesterday went for my detailed scan...

im having a big baby again. perhaps its in the genes. meimei is big sized (long bones, long limbs, big sized), so was korkor when born.

easier to take cae of when out, but during the 2nd n 3rd trimester my body really very pain from the heavy load

krystle,
ya lor, have to respect her decision. It's true that being a nanny is one of the most hard earn money. Huge responsibility and being tight down the whole day, and not a lot of money leh. Think she can easily earn that money if she goes out to work.

pixie,
Think it's common loh. Remembered I told you my mum asked me to buy cane to discipline HR the first few days she is here? I told her my boy not that naugthy leh, he's just exploring. Now she agrees with me ;-)

RE: Sleeping
Oh, you mean they change from 10 hours to 11 hours? Or is it all the while they recommend 11 hours? I forgot where I read that already, either from magazine of from the www.

pixie, kam, it's 12-14 hours of sleep for toddler aged 3. raeanne definitely does not get enough. occasionally if she naps at nai nai place, she can take 3-3.5 hrs in afternoon then sleep at 11pm -7am. so still dun have 12 hrs. :p

kam
im glad ur mom agrees with you. my mil dont agree leh. even i subtly tell her the "right" aka angmoh way to handle the exploring is just to let them explore, she just wont take it coz she scared x will fall or will cut himself or will hurt himself blah blah.

will x hurt himself from touching the fish or prawns? no, i dont think so. after touching, wash hands can liao mah...the more we restrict, the more they want it. very simple logic...

i cannot change my mil mindset as much as i try to...so forever, X is very notti to her and my HB. my hb also same mindset as mil....

sleeping
yah, i quite surprised too but the article gave a gauge. unless i remember incorrectly, but should be this range liao

Mom2nat,
Transport no choice, got to get ur girl to nap on the bus. But my boy will rather chat than catnap. a week before school got to get her to wake up early. At least you are home. If anything, you can always fetch her. When are you leaving for Perth?

kitsune/pixie,
There is no way HR can sleep 12-14 hours a day. Night time is earliest 10pm, morning have to wake at 7am. So max 9 hours, but on 50% of the time, he only sleeps at 11pm. Nap time at cc is fix, 2 hours. On weekends, he usually takes 2-3 hours of nap. So total up, will be 10-11 hours per day.

But I don't worry lah. He is growing up well, all active and healthy and happy. Though I always think that a little more sleep would have been better :)

kam
x sleeps at 8.30, KO at 9pm. wakie at 7.30. meaning its 10.5hours....then nap 1.5hours so total 12 hours

weekdays KO at 9pm, wakie at 6+, nap 1.5hours so total perhaps 10hours

i told my mil to let him sleep earlier on weekdays but she cant do it. once i move over to JE come dec he dont have to wake up so early liao so can sleep more

can i ask u mummies a qn....about sleep too?
after x's fever, i realised he wants to sleep alot MORE. a 1.5hrs nap is not enough. nowadays he wanted to nap more than 2hours...and he can sleep very early at night (he request to go to bed)...
im not sure why he is so lethargic nowadays. issit growth spurt etc? or i should be monitoring his sleep patterns?

pixie,
The older generation is not used to the new methods of upbringing. Actually I also have a similar mindset as your mil...keke. But my B is different lor, if I allow him to explore, he will just go on and on and wouldn't want to stop. So I take the easy way out - don't even let him start. My boy is that type "Give him one inch he take one yard"...so gotta restrict more until he can exercise more self-control.

Re: Sleep
Nowadays B sleeps later at 10pm or 11pm and wakes up around 7am but he makes it up by taking longer afternoon naps of around 3.5 to 4 hrs.

Yvonne,
Wah, B can nap 3.5 to 4 hours ah? Power!! I thought HR naps 3 hours already pretty good liao. He did 3.5 hours before, but never 4.

Pixie,
Maybe X's body is recovering itself after fighting the fever, so he is slightly lethargic? Since he initiated the sleep then let him be loh. When your girl comes, it will be more distrupting to his sleeping patterns by then coz he will be curious abt his little sis and wants to play with her / disturb her etc... Or the other way round is little sis's cries will disturb him.

Issyen does not have 12 hrs for sure too. She will go to bed at 10pm and at most KO at 10.30pm. Then next morning will wake up at 7.30am (coz the little bro will make noise and wakes her up). Then her nap is around 2 hrs.

krystle
i think so too. but its weird to see him wanting to sleep so much. eg weekends after a 2hr nap i wake him up he can cry and say dun want to wake up...but i very scared it will delay his night bedtime so i die die get him to wake up....
yah, bad mummy i know :)

yvonne
hmmmm yours is special case. yours is dont even let him start because if you do, you/B will be suffering frm repercussions....
at least you found a way to tame your B

Sigh, RaeAnne refused to nap again. I lie down beside her cot but she just walked all over in the room playing, peed once and pooed twice but still refused to sleep. She keep wanting to go out and play but I refused cos yesterday when I let her out, she tried to feed sleeping Mei Mei bread and of course poor Mei Mei woke up and cried. End up mei Mei was too sleepy for her dinner yesterday and had to nap at 630pm.

I had to threaten to lock RaeAnne in the room with her toys since she doesnt want to sleep and I don't want her to disturb Mei Mei. Then she said she wants to sleep, I had to watch her like a hawk before she finally fell asleep at 250pm.

Hmm... Is it toddlers this age are starting to drop their afternoon naps? Must ask the PD next time I see her. :p

pixie,
sleep is the best medicine :) If he is active as usual during the awake time, then just let him sleep as much as he needs lor. I usually don't wake HR up from his nap cos he would get very angry.

kam
hurhurhur ok really. when i wakie x up, he will say "hmm" like replying you "yes" like that. but he is just humouring me only chey...

i wanna tell u mummies something funny...

today my hb woke up with a start, saying "shit!" ...means he overslept...rushed like crazy. bim bim bom bom everywhere. i was snickering at him gleefully...

he went to work liao i finally could go back to sleep...then i started dreaming (of having sex with an ex colleague??!!)....blah blah and suddenly, i woke up and said "shit!" too...coz i overslept by half hr. missed company bus and all

so.....
i ORBI good rite

Haha. Pixie, so funny!! Unless u r still ml when u preggie now, else too deprived from it n dreamed of it! Hehe.

As for older generation, ya u r right, they everything also cannot. Even helping us to cook o r sweep floor also cannot leh. They will think that the kid will create more mess than helping. But i bochap also la, just let mine do, n ignore my zhang bei lo.

Kam, how old is your nanny? It's really not easy to handle kids nowadays. Last time when my mum took care of s, she sprained her fingers lo. S heavy weight too ma.

Wanna ask u all, do u all still carry your toddler? I think my arm going to break soon lor. Cuz i so skinny how to carry 14 kg .

tongtong
u really veryyyyyyyyyyyyyy skinny leh.. and your boy is not small size btw
i still carry my boy even till now ley. i find it ok coz im big sized and naturally got more strength? dunno hahaha..

precisely!! why my boy cannot go kitchen? why cannot chop vege? why cannot cut fruits? why cannot stir fry? why cannot touch the dustbin? why cannot take the mop?

i think i kept letting x explore, and x is having the same mindset that its OK to touch/do all the "taboo" stuff, thats why my mil kept saying he is very notti...need to rein him in all the time. in her eyes, i spoil market lah. but i dont care....

pixie,
haha, funny!! so you still active or not? get the hub to come back early tonight :)

tongtong,
XY's nanny is coming 50, she looks very energetic and happy every day, full of positive energy!

I still carry HR, when he asks me to and I am not able to talk him out. But I only carry him for a short while, like 5 min, then I put him down or distract him with something. HR is 15+kg and he is tall, but I am very short, so very siong on me also.

pixie/tongtong,
When I told my mum I let HR handles a "real" knife (with close supervision) to cut the veg, my mum was so shocked till her eyes popped out :) Even HR playing cutting with his scissor, my mum also freak. But after a while, she saw it for herself that HR can really handle a scissor well, then she actually enjoys doing the cutting activity with HR (she draws and HR cuts out whatever she draws). The handling on knife no chance to proof to her cos I don't have to cook. She has no problem with the sweeping and mopping though cos these not dangerous mah. My mum is not afraid of the mess, she is more scare of the danger, esp that she scares HR may use the tool to hurt XY accidentally, so in a way, she is a more open minded mum, giving that she is coming 70 yo already.

kitsune,
lexie didn't sleep today also. last night she slept at 11pm, this morn 7.40am wake up liao. today chase until 3.30pm still dun want to nap. now she's happily playing with hb. u say pek chek or not lei.
but it does seem that alot of the toddlers are starting to drop their naps.

tongtong,
i am 7 mths preggie and i still carry my girl lei. everytime i carry her my back want to break liao.

pixie,
my mum also sometimes say i give lexie too much leeway. cos i also let her do/explore almost everything. but my mum thinks that if we do that then my girl will hv no control, even dangerous things she will also expect to be able to explore cos she's too young to understand. so to my mum the best way is just NO to everything.

grumpus
ur mom's thinking is like my hb!! 100% mirror! same wordings oso
when they show no control liao then its time for "prep talk" thats my backup plan lah

i recently proved to my hb that x can be guai when we go out for long trips as long as i explained to x our rules before we go out. it's been working for the past 2 weeks so i hope my hb can see the "light"

how do i change his mindset. very old fashioned neh

pixie,
hahaha...i dunno neh....yrs is hb wor. mine is mother, i can one ear in one ear out...kekeke...
actually lexie is super guai when we're out, we went HK and she was so easy to handle.
but at home hor, terror....is it she dun get to let out her energy enough at home...hmmmmmm

grumpus
nolah im not asking you im just wondering out loud. i sure have my ways, sooner or later, slowly but surely....
she at home most carefree of coz terror lah. go out then guai guai, she knows her social skills liao wor

grumpus, sigh, at least she managed to nap till 4pm do she was super grouchy when she woke up. Bo chap lar, sleep a bit better than nothing at all. Today try to serve dinner early then try n put her to bed earlier. Lexis also like that? I also dun know what else to do Liao. :p

kitsune,
yes lexie's been doing that. if she naps she will nap only at 3ish. i try to wake her by 5pm but still at night 11pm then can sleep lor. next morn 7+ wake up liao.
i also dunno wat to do liao, today i really buay tahan already just dumped her on my hb.

Pauline,
my girl has been skipping naps for the longest time, sometimes she just doze off while lying down, most of the time she will suddenly jump up and seems fully recharged.

Pixie,
you scare ah?? seems like you've been saying this at least twice "seems like both girls have the same traits ie not willing to sleep and have lots of energy kind hor" HAHAHAHAHA!!!!

Grumpus,
i'm like KAM, accidental parenting, relax~! if want to nap nap, don't want to nap doesn't matter. I will try to put my girl to sleep at 9ish~10pm at night, if can sleep, sleep, if cannot sleep then try again later. Of cos i always HOPE in my heart that she will sleep earlier so that i can have more me time.

Luvv, so yours also has been skipping naps ah? I don't mind if she misses a nap if she's not grouchy. But when she's grouchy and throws tantrums and vents her frustrations on everyone (mei mei, me and maid) then I get super sian. Tom sending her to MIL house so that hubby and I can go for a movie. I suspect she will nap 3 hrs at my MIL house. -_-

Luvv,
hahaha i wish i can be like that. but my girl is super glue and the only time i get a break is if she naps. and if she doesn't she gets even more super glue or has a major meltdown.

Hi Pauline,

my no.1 Is exactly like your RA. Always so fussy and Like to throw temper. Really can push me to the limit....she really cause a major drift in our marriage as well. Crazy to blame my own children for this. Like now she is having Her meltdowns moments also.

I can only pray hard that she will grow out of this pattern when she turn 5. This was told by a fortune teller.....

my girl will only becomes grouchy and has meltdowns(without naps) if she's stuck in the carseat, other then that, she's quite easy to pacify and get distracted. other then that the she meltdown occasionally when we tried to discipline her.