(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

grumpus, mine also. Hiaz.

kellie, jia you, don't let her affect your marriage lar. Hubby is freehold property, children only 21 year leasehold leh.

Worse come to come if you really cannot take it, then put her in full day childcare 7am - 7pm. At least you'll only deal with her only 4 hrs daily on weekdays (assuming she sleeps for 8 hrs at night). That's what I always tell hubby when she drives me up the wall. kekeke.

Pixie
We hold different parenting views from our own peers, dun talk abt our parents! I live with my mom and mil comes by alternate week. Imagine when I discipline my kids, they have a lot of things to add. It is easy to comment!!My mom will say, so young, why shout or be so fierce. But when I was not ard, I heard she took out the cane even! I dun think your boy is naughty, try my 2 kids!! My neighbours can hear them, and even me scolding them! Hahaha...

Your mil prob thinking kids shd be dumb dumb, sit there, blur blur, dun run ard... like us, long long ago! Hahaha...

But imptly, your hb is on your side. Then you wont get into conflicts with in laws, which gets sticky.

blackbatz
I gg perth on 15th. Nat gg to miss last week of sch and even her orientation. Where do you live?

Kam
YOu hero leh, let HR handle knife!! Elliot needs close watch, today he stuffed a tiny fish oil into his nostril!!!

mom2nat,
:) Cos when my mum's not around, I have to cook for our dinner when we reach home. HR sure wants to stick to me. So the best thing to keep him occupied is to let him "help" me with the cutting. I always keep a very close eyes lah, and I would not walk away from him. Luckily he doesn't like the knife so much, he rather plays with the water.

Oh no, a fish oil capsule into his nostril!! You manage to retrieve it without him screaming?

mom2nat
OMG, you always tell us the darnest things!! fish oil up his nostril? winner!

unfortunately my hb is not on my side for parenting laws...he is the traditional type while i am the dun care type. nowadays we get quite tense over this when my hb starts to discipline x and when i interfere....honestly i think those were nothing to be kancheong/restrictive about.
nowadays my hb kept saying i spoilt our son lor blah blah....ZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzz

kam
^5
usually when i cook, X will stick to me too. so he has his own apron, his stool to stand on and help me in preparing n cooking. what to do? ask my hb to watch over him, my hb literally "watch" over him and play PSP or surf net on HP while x plays alone. of coz x gets bored and run to kitchen to look for me lo....

luvv
yes i very scared, my #2 will be a really hard to handle person (totally opp of x).......
so now everyday i pray hard that my #2 will be a mild tempered baby

shopping time!!!

Week 1 (1 – 7 Nov)
Coach And Estee Lauder Promotion
Red Hot Deals At Stadium By Royal Sporting House
The Food Safari & Home Electronics Fair 2010
Guess Sale (Apparel Accessories) 2010
Perlinis Silver Year End Sale 2010
Timberland Outdoor Range Promotion 2010

Week 2 (8 – 14 Nov)
Philips Christmas Promotion
Bossini Warehouse Sale
Christmas Fantasy At Takashimaya (Toy Fair)
Harvey Norman Millenia Walk Anniversary Sale

Week 3 (15- 21 Nov)
John Little Expo Sale
Wholesale Electronics & Gift Fair
Clarks Warehouse Sale
Timberland Warehouse Sale
MPH Warehouse Sale
Nikon Digital Camera Christmas Promotion
Club 21 End Of Season Sale

Week 4 (22 – 28 Nov)
Escada Fall Winter Sale
Arena Year End Clearance Sale
SITEX 2010
Capitol Optical Warehouse Sale

Week 5 (29 Nov – 5 Dec)
Max Mara Year End Sale
Aigner Sale
The Body Shop Festive Savings
Sports & Fitness Expo
Penguin Books Warehouse Sale
BCBGMAXAZRIA End Of Season Sale
French Connection End Of Season Sale
Tang + Co End Of Season Sale
YSL Sale
Gucci Sale
Bally Year End Sale
Gap Year End Sale
GUESS Year End Sale
Salvatore Ferragamo Year End Sale
Banana Republic Year End Sale
G2000 & Fox Warehouse Sale
Mayer Year End Sale
Tefal Christmas Sale
Metro Christmas Magic
Harvey Norman Home & Kitchen Appliances Clearance Sale
Courts Megastore Year End Sale

Week 6 (6 – 12 Dec)
Giordano Warehouse Sale
Calvin Klein Jeans Sale
Akira Warehouse Sale
MaxStudio.com End Of Season Sale
Karen Millen End Of Season Sale
Guiseppe Zanotti Design End Of Season Sale
Hugo Boss Year End Sale
Dec 10 DSquared2 Sale
Panasonic Lumix Promotion
GEOX Year End Sale
Furla Year End Sale
Canon Digital Camera Christmas Promotion

Week 7 (13 – 19 Dec)
Mango Fashiontastic Year End Sale
Nine West Fall/Winter Collection Sale
Steve Madden Fall/Winter Collection Sale
Massimo Dutti Year End Sale
End Of Seasons Sale For Miss Selfridge, Ben Sherman, Warehouse, Dorothy Perkins, Topshop And Topman
Miele Warehouse Sale
Dunhill London Year End Sale
Raoul End Of Season Sale
Asics Warehouse Sale
Samsonite End Of Season Sale
Gramophone Year End Sale
G2000 End Of Season Sale
Esprit Year End Sale

Week 8 (20 – 26 Dec)
Ecco Sale
Converse Warehouse Sale
New Look Fashion Sale
Fox Fashion Storewide Sale
Courts Megatex Expo Year End Sale
Sony Year End Promotion
Thomas Pink End Of Seasons Sale
Hush Puppies Apparel Storewide Sale
Metro Expo Sale

Week 9 (27 Dec 2010 – 2 Jan 2011)
Zara Sale
bYSI End Of Season Sale

Re: Discipline
I think no point affecting marriage and relationship with hubby over discipline of the kids. It's ok to have different methods, one devil and one angel mah. I normally don't interfere when hubby is punishing B and I won't save him lor. Only tell him to listen and apologise to daddy. If I really don't agree with hubby's method, I will talk to him after that and suggest he use another method cos B don't take his method well. Less conflict lor.

Re: Sleep
I think generally girls tend to sleep less?? I noticed my nieces also don't really nap well. As for B, napping is part of his routine and I always tell him he needs the rest otherwise he will start throwing tantrums. He seems to accept and probably he needs it too since he uses so much energy. I never regret sleep-training him cos we really benefit from it lor...he takes only 5-10 mins to fall alseep for his naps and he will automatically ask me to make milk when it's time. Really save me alot of energy to chase him around or get angry with him.

pixie,
^5, funny it's all the boys (X, S and HR) get to do the cookings :)

Ya, ya, my hub is also like your hub. He would say oh HR wants to look for you, don't want to play with me leh (actually he's watching tv), what can I do?

But in general, he agrees and follows what I practice.

Kam / Pixie
I din see the fish oil cos was in the room, my maid dug it out. The fish oil is from vitakids, v small. Sigh... Today he use the kueh bulu as a telelphone to "chat" with jie jie!!

I dun like kids to be in the kitchen. Cos Elliot no "law" kind.

V common for hb and wife to quarrel over kids, household and inlaws. But I find we used to quarrel more when we were younger, I told hb cos now busy, not much time and energy to quarrel! Hahaha...

Thanks Pixie for the long list!! Wah, how come go so many sales? I was thinking of gg Robinsons sale at expo today... but go oso buy rubbish.

yvonne
i agree with you. i find myself guilty of shielding x from daddy. so nowadays if my hb scolds x, i will not interfere and if x looks for me as 靠山 i will ask him to apologise to daddy too.
but hor but hor, if i dont agree with hb's method, i will talk to him after that and suggest he use another method....but my hb dont believe me or wont try one lah. my hb quite stubborn infact
then nowadays instead of quarrelling infront of x, we will quarrel "behind" when we start to tok about "alternative methods"
coz he will not take in; and i will be disappointed

Yvonne
Sometimes I find hb too quick in correcting the kids. I think he should give more leeway. Funny leh, I punish can, but he punish I dun like! TO me, I at home all day, buay tahan is normal, but he only spend tat few hours with them, so need to give more grace lah! Hee... double std

mom2nat
end of the year = christmas sale & end of year sale & new year sale mah
retailers wanting to dig out our $$ from pockets, of coz everyone having sale lor...

yest i went orchard, quite empty at taka, tangs etc. i think everyone waiting for the sale to arrive leh

haiz.....so how? how to get my hb to be more open minded about alternative methods? im not saying my method will 100% work all the time but im only hoping that he understands WHY x is doing things this way. once we understand why, its naturally easier to correct our son

im only grouching here la

Pixie
I bot parenting books and told hb to read! hahahaha.... But of cos being a christian, I bot him christian based ones and he more receptive. Aiya, can't change them overnight, gotta hope hbs oso grow up and not be so stubborn. Hahaha...

You v free hor, alwys shopping!

mom2nat
my hb dont read books. he is not receptive towards lots of things, thus he dont trust ppl easily kind. quite cloistered family culture...
so its kinda tough to get him to understand the language of kids...im still trying

hey i dont shop alot lah. when i meet my gfs, then we will try to squeeze in some time to walk ard...this mth is my last mth of "freedom". come dec, every night bring X home liao, no more meeting of friends, facials etc liao leh

so....u going lorbinson to get lubbish?? :p

Pixie
This kind of sale if buy Lubbish one lah! Got once, my hb and I cheong there walk walk at 8pm, just b4 the store close. NO one and so cold! Hoho...

Oh, you no bring X home, no wonder you so free can shop!!! hahaha... So far, I can't go to work, cos logistically we dunno who is gg to take care of the kids! Can't trust the grandmas or maids fully.

mom2nat
harnor, i no bring X home...next mth onwards i bring X home liao lor. 搬家...i super wish i SAHM leh..............

mom2nat, well said. I also dun like hubby to lose temper on raeanne cos he faces her for a few hours daily. but he usually very auto, he will bring her out to nearby Ntuc to buy bread or groceries after dinner if she is v naughty in the day to expend her energy n give me some quiet time to take a leisurely shower.

Pixie
U sure u wan to b sahm? From maybe 48 hrs a wk(wkends) tat u handle X, soon will be 48+ 50(10hrs a day), to 24x7 a wk for sahm!! I think u prefer b tai tai go shopping, high tea n no work la!! Hoho....
I never aspired to b sahm, but end up din work for 7 yrs Liao, except for a short stint trying to do part time. Dun think anyone wAnts to employ me Liao, so hb better dun sack me from my job!! Hahaha

Mom2nat,
I feel the same way but no choice, we gotta to be "united" in front of the kids so they can't run to the other parent for help whenever such things happen. We are with the kids 24/7 so it's ok if we lose it but they only see them for that few hrs a day, of course they should have more patience...haha. I usually bochap liao when hubby comes home so he has to bathe and change B and get him ready for bed. So i try not to comment much since he's also doing his best.

Those who are giving Friso 3 now, do you intend to upgrade to Friso 4 when they turn 3 in Jan?? I'm still thinking whether I should switch to fresh milk for day time and let B drink Friso 4 for his night feed. Do they still need to drink so much milk after 3 yrs old?

mom2nat / pixie / yvonne,
I also agree it's not good to argue/quarrel in front of the kids. We don't do that, esp now, have to be so careful, cos HR picks things up very quickly, have to make sure he doesn't learn the bad things from us.

Yvonne,
I am also haven't decided if I should upgrade HR to the next FM. Right now it's very convenient for me cos both of them drink the same FM. Maybe I will do a comparison of the nutritional value and then decide.

After 3yo, can cut down milk intake to 500ml (1-3yo recommended 750ml), that's according to what I recorded in my blog http://babyhaore.blogspot.com/2010/04/how-much-food-is-enough-for-kids-age-by.html

<font color="ff0000">Ovulation Strips</font>

Any ttc-ing mummies out there want? Giving away 17 strips that i hv left over, those cheapo ones bought from internet. Expiry 06/2011 so dun wish to see them go to waste.
Just PM me yr address and I'll mail them to u, FOC.

Yvonne and Kam,
I am having the same thoughts too... But more or less decided to stick to Friso 3 until Sep next yr so that my 2 kids can share the same FM.

I had a dream last night... that I was preggy again??? Hahaha... So funny. It was quite real until I woke, almost thought it really happened.

krystle,
do u use protection? if no, then maybe yes it can happen

anybody facing frequent or excessive dropping of hair? wat shampoo do u all use, can share? im using loreal, d 1 with royal jelly, should be good but doesnt work dat well for me.

Luca,
My hubby is taking the precaution measures.

That is why when I woke up this morning, I was half wondering if it is really true...

Me Me! Hair dropping everywhere and every min... I am using Vidal Sassoon. My hairstylist said I have oily scalp so hair tends to drop easily. I also need to change shampoo. I used Shiseido Tsubaki before and it is good! But problem is only available in Japan, and hard to buy here...

I am thinking of switching to Dove... Is it good, you think? How abt any Dove users? Any reviews?

krystle,
do u wish for it to be true? hee

i thought of Dove too, but recently they've got new packaging, intensive repair or something, sounds like for seriously damaged hair, so kinda lost which 1 i should try.

silkpro seems good too, for hair loss.

Kam, pixie, I think because boys stick to mother more so naturally will follow whatevere the mother does? That's how guys learn cooking? Hehe. S uses knife too but we hold the knife together la.

Hai, today is a bad day for me cuz I caned Shaun!! So terrible la me. I am a bad mum. I even told him to get new mummy cuz I wanna go back to kl Liao. See, I talked nonsense to him when I was super fumed up. If can't stand him anymore I will go back to work Liao!!!

krystle
tsubaki got!! you can find in those heartland shops or chinatown. CK also have....i like tsubaki too but im using kose salon style range. also very good!
those shops like venus etc kind lar

Luca,
I don't want it to happen so quick.... Hahaha...

I tried Dove hair loss therapy when I was experiencing massive hair drop after 4th mth of delivery. Actually it worked for me... Just that now not that serious so not sure if want to buy back this range or try others...

Pixie,
I also heard from my friends that those small shops have but they can't give me the exact name or place... And I really hardly shop at these heartland shops, chinatown or CK.... So to me, hard to buy loh.

krsytle,
Ah, so you want it to happen.

tongtong,
Aiyoh, what S did to make you so angry? It's okay to be angry and upset at times, cos you are still a human mah. But try not to threaten S with those words, very heartbreaking for him leh. What my friend (a SAHM) does when she cannot take her son anymore is to lock herself in the bedroom for a few minutes, for both the mum and the son to calm down, then give each other a hug, and start over.

Luca,
I only bought the small 200ml bottle of tsubaki from japan, it is around $9.00.
I think the big bottle 400ml is around $16.00.... Not sure how much the shops will markup in singapore?

Kam,
Hehehe.. I don't know leh, seriously... take things slowly bah. Still want to be mum of 2 until end of next year.

krystle
its not very ex, also ard this same price. or lesser
if you know the exact name of the shampoo, i can help u buy coz when i visit gynae in TPY, they have 3 shops side by side (competition), almost all of them carries tsubaki range.

luca
my kose shampoo is 9.90 nia. but unfortunately the one ive been using (coloured hair) i cannot find anymore, but they have the spa one, which is just for normal nice good hair. they dun have hair fall kind....its very limited lah for kose salon style range

pixie, krystle,
i was hoping to get a cheap but good shampoo, will try tsubaki when i can find it, thanks!

wats ur plan for the long weekend? share ideas? thought of going peekaboo

Kam, he became very peculiar lately ever since he started pg. Anyway, I have stopped his pg Liao. Lately he dint want to get wet, dun want wet floor, dint want to wash hand, don't want us to have wet legs, n will fuss when his shirt la ir whatever is wet. N even checked n touched our foot to see whether they are dry. He said if the floor is wet he can't play with his truck n lorry. So we cannot mop the floor too. But he play with water can. U say la, angry or not. He refused to wash hands n always use his dirty hands to eat things or bute his finger. N said he is very full evereytime he is bored. Till I suspect he got kamchek. I very stressed when he said very full veery full. So i caned him when he kept saying that. After that he din want me to vacuum n mop cuz he played with candle till the floor is so slippery. Fed up with his fuss, so told him off that daddy is getting a new mummy for him who is dirty as him n don't do housechore. He also very funny, said i want old mummy, don't want néw mummy. Ok I will try ur friends method. But think he will cry n shout outside the door, dunni whether will calm down or not. I really very peek chek leh!!!

Pixie,
Thanks for the offer but never mind. I keep a lookout in Bedok or Tampines area bah. Coz also troublesome to get it from you too. Don't want to add additional burden to a preggy.

Kam,
Oh so Shichida really closed down? Hubby told me y'day and I could not believe it. Thought their schools are very popular?

Luca,
Sad to say tomorrow I am working... Cannot make plans... my hubby's friend asked us to go JBP for free also cannot go.

If I see Tsubaki, I let you know where too.

If you are thinking of activity for the kids this weekend - head to the Asian Civilisation Museum, they have special program for the kids, copied from thier website:

The Little Explorer’s Travels
06 Nov 2010 - 07 Nov 2010
Saturday and Sunday
12pm to 5pm
@ Asian Civilisations Museum, 1 Empress Place

Kids, take an exciting trip through Asia only at the Asian Civilisations Musuem! Journey to the colourful worlds of China, India and the Middle East through exhilarating performances, wonderful workshops and fun kids’ craft. Listen to thrilling tales of adventure, dress up in exotic outfits and look forward to an afternoon of pure fun!

Free admission to galleries from 9am to 7pm

krystle
no worries i tot can help u since i work + you stay = bedok mah

tongtong
S is really very weird!! never heard of such things before leh. did you ask him apart from his "reasons", any other reasons why? seems like he got his fears. address from there?

Shichida:
i think last week news leh. its the tanjong pagar branch...i quite surprised too

tongtong,
That's really weird. You have to stay super cool to help him tackle whatever issues he is having. He plays with water but cannot see/touch/feel anything else that is wet, and don't want to wash hand? Bring him for a waterplay or the splash park and see how he reacts? HR has been refusing to go to the swimming pool and refuses to play at the kidzworld at the zoo for a few months already. But he plays at other waterplay area at the parks. And asking him to take shower has been a tuff job for a few months already. We also didn't know why, we just wait for him to outgrow that.

He says he is full, maybe he means he feels discomfort at his tummy leh? Cane him to stop him saying that doesn't sound right leh. He's like that only with you alone? When your hubby at home, does he behave differently? How about if you offer him his favourite food? The same thing he says?

But afterall, luckily, he still prefers the "old mummy" :)

Been busy these few weeks with my reno. Finally all done. Sat furniture will be coming in. But the whole house is still filled with dust. Dunno where should i start cleaning. Cleaned windows already but today went up to see dirty again.
Now we are really broke liao. All saving poured out to renovation....
Mummies here, SAHM do you all still have maid to help out? Cos i am thinking i am only wking hald day morning and Javin go to half day CC, maid is home with #2, so by noon i am back. Javin also back home. Its like pointless to have a maid. Or rather is better for me to work so financially will be better...

Pixie, kam, I feel that he purposely say that he is full when he is bored one. If I immediately offer him biscuit he will want to eat, then I ask whether he is still full, he said no more Liao. Looks like he is seeking attention but dunno why he must say full when he is not?

As for his weird behaviour, he is ok to go shower if he is back from outdoor, but not when he is at home whole day like today. Ask him to shower, he keeps saying later. He is ok when washing veg or playing water in the bathtub wor. He didn't want the living hall n bedroom to be wet. Just now i was being locked in the room cuz he said my feet are wet after I shower. So I can have luxury watching tv in the room wor.

It's just weird behavior. Dunno whether he has compulsive behavior? Shd I bring him see doc? Hai..

I just wonder, whether ur tod will throw tantrum everyday?
He wasn't a crying baby to start with, but recently due to his weird '. No wet ' behavior he will cry whenever it's wet. I m getting very stressed with his fuss leh. Just feel like throwing hum to my mum n take a break

tongtong,
You must be really stressed out by S. Did something happen in pg?? Sometimes kids are too young to voice out their fears or concerns. He may have been frightened by an incident or something but doesn't know how to tell you?

When my niece was in K1, she fell off the swing in school and was so affected by it that she had nightmares and refused to go to school. Although she's old enough to tell the adults but she has a lot of pride so she refused to say anything and was so stressed out.

Yvonne
It's good your hb helps out. My hb oso handles my #1 when he returns, but oso will lose temper sometimes.

TT
My girl used to have a phase she v scared of public toilets, cos she scared of the flush. Sometimes we dun understand their fears, maybe seem ridiculous to us too. But they are kids!! They are only 2+. They are not like us, can think and speak logically. By inputting new mommy to him, is telling him you are replaceable and like threatening him. Imagine one day he really say he wants new mommy, wont you feel v hurt? Take their words with a pinch of salt. Things tat you dun like, dun emphasize. If he v bothered abt being wet, dun mention it, dun ask. and when he makes a fuss abt it, reassure him and change topic. Dun dwell on it. They are too young to take much reasoning and they are too innocent to purposely make you angry or lie. If he tell you he full, so he can avoid eating more, shows he is clever
It is frustrating to us, but it is a way of learning for them. They dun just learn following our instructions, they oso wanna to test our limits, try their luck! Errr... I think I do tat when I was young and always gana scolded! Haha...

Frankly hor, I used to scold and punish my #1 a lot, cos no helper. Everything I need to handle and she is a difficult child and super sticky. With Elliot, I can really feel the diff, cos he naughty, I can still laugh it off. Cos I not as stressed out. Maybe you try to take a break, dun try to correct him too much. Tell yourself it is a passing phase.

Jacelyn
You need to ask yourself if you are financially sound with a maid and if you really need a maid. I can't handle 2 kids, cook and I dun like to do housework! Hb comes home doing housework, not much time to play with #1 and I din even have time to cook cos #1 was sticky. End up order tingkat.

So I asked myself, am I a SAHmom or SAHmaid. If mom, why am I spending most of my time cooking, cleaning, laundry....?? I shd be spending my time playing and enjoying my kids!!! My #1 napped little, so I hardly have time to do anything!! And I will get angry with her v often. So we decided we needed a maid, so can relief hb and me. So now my main job is to play and watch my kids. I feel happier and less frustrated oso. But tat oso means no income for me and less freedom!

Need some help to on this. I dun really know who are the mommies in my fb!! Can help me to associate their names to their nicks?
Victoria N
Victoria T
Jade T
Jazry C