(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wah pixie
must start sourcing le.. cos if you want fresh phil it take longer to come. Some has passport some no passport. Some fresh ones need to take course there and when reach Sg. Very mafan one. cos nowadays getting phil maid in is a bit difficult.

If Indon I duno liao.. speak english no speak english ? mandarin or cantonese ? Fresh ? wah a lot to consider wor

Chaye,
i went to ask a few weeks ago, apparently it's about 2 months for fresh phil...cos of the new regulations.

Afternoon mummies!

Maid issue:

We juz selected one last wk to replace my current one.. My current maid wanna go hk to work, she thot of higher pay and more freedom. She been giving mi black face since yest cos she wanna change agency but i cant i need to return her back to e old agent. She told mi my current agent not gd. i told her u work for employer not e agency.

Pixie: maid make u mad sometimes! hahahaa! Congrat Pixie, fr ur fb then i kw dat u having princess..

Luvv: my frz"s maid drink fresh milk then she secretly pour water into it.. bad luck my frz caught her red handed. next time if u taste e milk is different, u kw wat she done.

Chaye & Luvv: My new maid is fresh fr phili my agent told mi within 2-3 wks, she can come.. my current one also fr phili.

Lynn,
Beginning of this year, when I first applied for the maid, my agent also told me can expedite to come earlier. But apparently it did not happened to me, there were delays and delays... We kept asking my agent why and she said that the phil agent said got problem in the procedures etc...

In the end, my 1st maid came after 3 long months!! HOT! And best part is she only worked for us for 1 mth and told us she wanna changed. Then we found out that actually she did not want to come to SGP but the PHIL agent kept making lies to force her to come... That is why the long delay and still never tell us what is the actual reason. If we had known, we would have asked for another maid already...

So just a caution to tell you need to buffer some allowance time for maid's arrival coz you never know what will be the problem popping up.

Even later when we asked for transferred maid (who is my current maid), she has already been released from her ex-employer but the local procedures and paper work... took almost 1 mth to clear (and that time the agent told us fast can take 2 weeks... crap!)

Pixie,
I agreed with Chaye, if you want maid, better to source earlier...

But I also understand now you are more occupied with your flat and reno... no time to think abt maid's issue.

krystle, chaye
yup, i heard and read on newspaper that now got new rules for phili maid, i actually havent decide if really want to engage helper or not leh.
1. hb must tok to mil
2. mil must agree
3. then can hire one when we settled down in new flat in dec...
thats why i say start looking in jan...i think also need few mths liao. coz the last time we choose our current maid, it took us 1-2mths coz we were not satisfied with what the agency provided.

i doubt can squeeze in and get 1 by the time i pop. headache

Pixie,
I also heard the PHIL govt is going to increase the salary rate for PHIL maids to S$600 but don't know when will implement...

S$600 so exp right?

krystle
yes exp. but i read from papers that no one will want to hire, so phil maids also want a job so they will agree on having a lower or the current rate.
how much is the current rate ah

Some agent still hav their way of getting e maid to sin and e same old salary.. Pray dat my new maid will b here asap and gd. really depends on luck.

Actually i asked a few agencies last wk, most hav their way.. i met an employer who went to pick up her phili maid, i ask her how long u wait for dis maid to come then she told mi 2 wks and heard her salary is $360?!

Krystle: Already started in july. If follow e new rule need to wait for 2 mths but lots of agencies hav their way. My new maid salary is $370.
if $600 i tink i will get indo instead.

Yes, if S$600, think no one will want to employ PHIL maid. I would not for sure.

Now I do realised my maid is higher paid than the rest... No wonder my MIL so unhappy with her and complained she is lazy and yet we paid so much for her.

krystle,
your maid came with experience? I enquired recently with the agency, they quote me $400 for those with at least 2 yrs of experience.

Luvv,
My maid only came with less than 1 yr experience... But then we needed a maid desperately so just took her in as transfer maid.

Hmm... looks like I'm paying my maid the lowest ($330 plus 1 off day per month) but that's because I took a fresh maid. If she continues to work after Aug 11, I'm sure the pay will increase by quite a lot because of the new ruling. My maid also takes out tilam to sleep with the gals every night.

krystle,
your maid's salary is expensive...

Pauline,
yours is indo maid? Indo maids are cheaper but i heard their salary rates now also $350 already.My maid ho mia leh, sleeps on bed and don't sleep with my girls, she gets her full 8-9 hrs of sleep everyday...lolz..but for now new baby, she's quite excited, always run to be the 1st to attend to baby.

Lynn
You are changing maid? The current one no good?
Have you seen tat "chio" maid in our estate? She wears skimpy shorts and tight fitting tank tops. Walk ard with a proud look and q pretty!

Pixie
My previous maid too lazy to rinse the towel, end up she used my kitchen wet wipes to clean things!

Luvv, no, mine was fresh filipino maid when she joined me in Aug 09. Haha, that's why I make the maid sleep with the 2 gals. My motto is maid cannot be more hor mia than me. As it is, I'm the one who makes RaeAnne sleep and RA always gets up and looks for us in our room when she wants to pee or if she has a bad dream. It can be 3-4 times a night lor. But, maid does need to wake up to change/soak bedsheet if RaeAnne pees on the bed. :p

Mom2nat, wa, chio & sexy maid, take photo and show us leh. Kay poh...

Mom2nat: She wanna change not mi. My maid came in Jan 2010 less than 1 yr, she wanna go hk to work cos higher salary and she can gain exp.. So far we only scolded her once, all e while i closed 1 eye. Actually she juz wanna gain exp only not work for $$ cos she is quite rich. Yes, i tink e "chio" maid is fr blk 7A? my inlaws area also got a sexy and pretty maid she works for ang mo family, at first, i thot she is one of e resident there.. hahahaa!

Pauline: My current one also fresh phili, new one also fresh phili. If ur maid is happy wif her current salary then no prob.

krystle: exp phili is $380-$420. we selected one exp phili $420 but she dont wanna look aft children and elderly.

maid,
Mine also fresh maid $340+$20 for no off.

I consider lucky, so far no nonsense from her. Just blur blur at times but I can close one eye. Afterall, there is always someone at home so she cant do much weird stuff, plus she love my kids, think she also the culprit for spoiling my girl.

Lynn,
seriously i wonder why we even bother to sign the 2 yr contract when they can break anytime and we still end up having the obligations to pay for their air tickets.

icy,
i think that's the most important thing for our maids, to love our kids :) good that yours did, i think mine to a certain extend adores mine too but love...not too sure..lolz

Lynn,
Maids nowadays so choosy right (not only us)?
My 1st maid also told me that she can't look after kids and not good at housework... Then why did she come here for? Be queen?

Lyn, I don't think she'll agree to the same pay after Aug11 cos she has aunties and cousins working in Sg. Definitely know her rights and will ask for higher pay. :p

Luvv, when my maid said she wanted to go back for home leave this Dec even though her contract is not up yet. My agent assured me that she will make the maid pay for her own ticket because if she has not reached 2 years, I don't have to pay for her air ticket. I think it depends on her agent and how supportive he/she is.

Krystle, my agent's tongue very sharp. She reprimanded my maid when she was new and always want to dress sui sui. Ask her she come to work or sell body. :p

But even my agent cannot stand my maid now, when I call her to complain, she will tell me change the maid. :p

Talking about maids..guess we all have our fair share of headache.. I think nowadays maids are the ones who are choosy.

Most of them want to work in HK la..can dress up, higher pay, off day some more. S'pore is just a stepping stone for them (or rather training ground)

Pixel,
Maid does not drop from the sky.. Usually need about 2 to 3 months. So you have to work backwards and start searching for one around Nov or Dec..Paper work, study for English exam, health checkup etc..Sometimes, agent only revert to u at the last minute (like 2 weeks before the maid is suppose to arrive). In the end, youhave to choose again and wait.

New Filopino don't come cheap. My previous maid seem to come from quite well to do family. She too wanted to end her contract earlier, so that she could go to HK or Taiwan..Sigh..

kitsune
I took photos with my hp! But back view! Next time I try to take front view. Her shorts is those mini demin kind!

krystle
I agree, now is maid choose employers! I went to the agency. The agent will call out " filipinos and wan to look after children, come out"!! Not i choose them, is they choose me!

Lynn
I think blk 7 or 7A. You know, the previous maid they had, had 3 tattoos! Elliot say and told my maid "aunty, dirty". Faintz... Frankly, I dunno why these pple get sexy maids for! I v curious who are the employers!!

blackbatz
Actually this maid a bit mad one. Dunno if her employer knows. So far I have heard 2 person telling me they saw this maid breastfeeding the bb! I duno isit really bb sucking, or she put bb's face right to her breast area. My maid oso saw, tot she was the bb's mom initially!

Mom2nat,
If the employer hears it, will susrely go crazy la..

I think the maids like to work for ang moh cos they are very ching chia...for eg..Maid can watch tv and so call holiday when employer goes on holiday etc..

Anyway, have heard of horror stories from ang moh employers also. Ang moh employer thought that maid was so good with kids and "everything", so asked the maid to continue to work for them when they moved back to Europe. Everything appeared fine until one day, the school called the parents and said no one came to fetch the kids. Employer rushed to school and looked for maid. It turned out that maid went out to moonlight while kids were in school..Euro $$ lagi better..

mom2nat
wah your stories always never failed to fascinate us...LOL
power maid leh!!!!

about maids working for angmohs
those angmoh colleagues i have who have helpers, they all have fantastic relationships. because all my colleagues say its very very cheap to pay for someone who cleans, cook, and look after kids etc...so they very happy and nice to these helpers...
and these maids are very onz and very willing to please my angmoh colleagues...its like a 2-way thingy

hmmmmmmmm

issit the way we treat them makes their attitude a huge difference? i wonder sometimes

i just realised yesterday that if i have a maid before i deliver, i need to train her and look after bb at the same time. i rather not to...maybe i receive my new help only in my 2nd mth of confinement? i no energy to look after bb myself n start training maid.
ideally i want my mil to train the new maid

aye talking about maid
yesterday we went to mil place for dinner. then only realised that our maid is off for the day. she's got 1 day a month off...
then me and hb upon discovering that, quickly asked mil (who was cooking dinner) if she needs help...
my hb was stir frying peanuts while i was showering X
as usual, BIL & SIL in their room, lazing around

so when dinner was served...i was washing up dishes every now and then, clearing up table. then i asked my hb to wash another portion of dishes....just helping around

as usual, BIL & SIL threw the dishes into the sink and walked off. FAT BIL still tell his mom that she didnt cook enough for all of us (true), coz he took his share of the noodles, almost none was left for the rest of the ppl...
in the end i ate 1 tiny bowl of noodle soup....

if im my mil i sure tear my hair n go crazy over this pair of lousy couple

kam
wah!! u must be really happy
i guessed as much, coz your fb messages put ...with your parents....so i guessed they must have extended their stay

pixie,
Yes, I was very happy. Can be pampered by my mum for a few more days. The kids are very happy to be with their grandparents too. And my hub has no problem living with them at all. How I wish if they can stay with me on a long term basis.

Steph,
So you are joining the trip to Cameron?

PIxie
Maids with ang mohs v good life. They got TV, hp, computer, own room... blah blah... you go down orchard rd hor, see those maids, dress up nice nice bring the kids, sometimes oso wonder are they maids or the moms.

Who is doing your confinement? Cos if you get the maid in earlier, she can learn how to handle bb. V impt to get a maid who loves bb and wan to take care. A lot of maid nowadays dun wan to.

mom2nat
my mom. she is having a bad leg so she say can only help me for a mth (last time #1 time she stayed for 40days)
so the remaining 2,5mths i will be alone at home, plus handling X. i hope can cope lar...
i dont want to train the maid during this time leh. i guessed my hands will be very full and i actually hoped that my mil can train her heehee...lazy lo...

unless!! i can get the maid in 1 mth before i deliver. daytime stay at mil place n be trained for the month...by then i deliver she knows what to do liao

mostly we will be needing her to do housework and/or cook. she will not be handling the bb

Pixie
Now u have a maid n she is leaving? Some pple I know overlap the maids, so can hand over the work. For me I'd rather get a maid in early, in case not suitable can change. If wait till bb a few mths old, might go into depression handling bb n maid!!! Have maid oso headache, no maid oso headache.

mom2nat
nolah i will hire 1 more maid. the current one still here but we will not be paying our share for her liao lor...
we need 2 maids to assist mil in:
cook/clean
look after bedridden ah mah
look after 3 kids
look after 2 babies

pixie, agree with mom2nat, I also rather get the maid in early so that they r familiar with the housechores, can bond with no. 1 plus learn how to take care of baby during confinement. I even more kiasu, got the maid in 4 months before I deliver so that I can change her if she is no good. I put in extra buffer so that even if I do change. raeanne has time to get used to new maid before I pop.

pixie
I had maid 2 mths before I deliver. Actually more like for Xavier to get used to her, and the maid get use to the house rules and the normal house routine first. Then when the small one comes, we will slowly see how we can get her involved.

Also give some time to get used to the maid and in case she doesnt want to work with us. We also didnt let her handle Crystal until she is like 3-4 mths old. But she never cook, mil prefer to cook on her own. Once I asked her cook fried eggs with onion whereby mil always cook before.. the product become scrambled egg with onion.. bits and pieces one.. hahaha.. in the end I take over, cos I still have a fussy sil.

Hi pixie,

Your mil household is shiong to work for. Almost sama sama like mine! Having 2 maid might not relieve but more headache for the manager ( your mil ). I think she really very kind not to reject.

still on maid issues ?
hahaha ya Pixie, agree with mom2nat and Pauline. You should get your maid to come in early. You better start sourcing NOW le ! It's not one day u go down to agency and found the perfect person immediately de. Got to cast your net wide wide cover a few agencies convenient to you. Why the agency must be convenient to you ? Cos if you need to send her back also easier ma. HAHAHA *touchwood* la

kellie
if we dont propose another helper, my mil will have 1 maid to help out but same amount of work to be done..........the lesser of 2 devils? take another extra helper lor....

kitsune, icy
i also hope to have the helper in early leh. but its not ez to find one so fast now...i pop in march, then she has to come in after CNY. from now till CNY only 3 mths. judging from previous maid selection, we choose veryyyyy long (dunno why?)
if she comes when i pop, i sure no time to train her. but cannot throw her to mil for training. its not fair to my mil mah...
i just hope she can come after CNY...thats the best case scenario liao