(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

aiyo.. T still hold his color pencil with all his fingers and anyhow draw draw draw. Dont consider this as holding it relatively well hehehe

chaye
i think kids starts to learn how to draw within the lines (or dotted lines etc), before graduating to ABCs...

if a child cannot grasp the concept of writing "strokes" (cultured through dots-to-dots activity books etc), then it would be hard for them to write out the A, B, C, even they know how to write in their mind...but when they draw out an "A" then it would looked wrong...then get frustrated

drawing lines, connecting dots etc...also builds your child's errrr "patience"...my ah boy X dont have such patience lar...he connect a bit liao then give up n scribble all over the pages

but hor, i know some schools n parents teaches ABCs immediately leh...above only my 2cents

pixie
so which of your stuff tat is good at their stage now ? like drawing dotted lines... I wanna get leh

Chaye,
yes, this age is still about having fun, so colouring, drawing and doodling are the activities HR does. But at his cc, they do have something like connecting the dotted line. Think it's to learn to recognise and read and spell ABC first before learning to write?

chaye
fisher price got 6 books. 2 for preschool; 2 for k1, and 2 for k2. i started X on the preschool ones. he destroyed the books but i just let him be...
u can try to get that. coz others more "cheem" ones

kam, kitsune,
tks for feedback..in fact i'm glad to hear this respond cos the less pple know abt this brand, the better cos i am planning to bring in some dresses from this particular brand with my business partner

kam,
tmrl i am gg to USS

steph,
Oh really! Share with me some tips after you go there. We are going next Saturday! Already bought ticket :) Wanted to go this Sat, but tickets sold out liao. Have a great day, k!!!

wah lau eh, im sweating buckets coz working in kitchen. my kitchen most stuffy place in my flat...and i hardly sweat...arggg

chaye
can you go to my bp thread and trf the $$ to my a/c? paiseh to tell u here my a/c details :p postage for this is $1.50 so total is $20. PM me your address hor

good thing about working from home is i get to clear housework...nice sun; wash my blankets n all to enjoy some sunning
我的毛毯重见天日

pixie,
is my 1st time to USS too! But i've been to US Hollywood & i don't expect USS to be on par with USH, 1st is the size, 2nd will be the rides:p

kam,
ok sure! Did u book tic online? mastercard got promo for 4 tic u know?

steph,
Yes, got the tic from their website. Thought mastercard promo is only for cards issues out of singapore (which I have), and for Sunday to Thursday only (which doesn't apply to us).

Steph

We went there on 1 Oct. some rides T cannot play cos of his height. But he played 2 other roller coasters with us ! haha He's brave. I told him IF he's scared just close your eyes and scream so immed he closed his eyes and scream !!!!

We had great fun there starting from 10am right up to 7pm and as we were there on Fri we get to go back again later at 9.30pm for fireworks but we didnt la.. so tired and sticky le...

Overall I wd say is quite small. And the big roller coaster (dont know wat's that known as) is stil closed. And my camera was low batt that day ! didnt take much fotos and Iphone camera sucks !

Buy the popcorn from the pop corn bus near the entrance ! It's very nice ! I was told that we can go in at the rate of $8 just to walk around and buy food and merchandise !

chaye
wah 10am to 7pm, T no take nap? i think by 4pm X would be very cranky liao

sighs, perhaps when X is bigger bah. i dunno when man

am super zombified!! it's only 2 nights of handling both kids alone, snapped yesterday at big C cos she refused to sleep and small C can't sleep due to her voice. Lucky Big C continues to sleep soundly even when her sister wails in the night for milk. So tired, lucky can pass bb to maid when she wakes up in the morning so i can catch some sleep.

Really KOW TOW to all the mummies who can manage 2 kids or even 3 kids + breastfeed + housework all by themselves....hubby is not going to be home for another week plus, hope things can improve before he comes back.

Hi, steph.

Enjoy your day at USS! It can be quite hot during the day so bring a fan and lots of water for your boys.

I am also starting to teach Issyen to draw lines via dotted line... Now trying to find suitable worksheets that contains bigger fonts of the dotted ABCs...

Luca,
From their official website http://www.rwsentosa.com/Attractions/UniversalStudiosSingapore

Chaye,
Great to know that you had fun!! I don't know if HR would be brave enough for the roller coaster. I am guessing he would :)

Oh the one after dark one, it's only $5. You can go there from 7pm onwards. Only the main street, and firework at 9.30pm. We have tried. All restaurants are super crowded. Don't make plan to have dinner there.

Pixie,
Last weekend, it's 2.3x.

Luvv,
They need time to adjust to the change (daddy not around). They should be better in the next few days. Meanwhile hang on there! And remind yourself to relax relax, it's okay if they get to sleep late this 1-2 weeks, when they are tired, they will sleep, eventually :)

krystle,
Can try to print our worksheets online?

Kam,
Yes, now trying to search online to see if have suitable worksheets.

Chaye,
I went for the after dark entry in USS too. But that had promo, only $2. Yes, the restaurants are crowded but managed to dine at Mel's drivethru... Just burgers lah, so so loh.

blackbatz
You better liao? Exams next week right? I sian to ferry Nat to classes. Try to find those at the CC downstairs!! hahah...

Pixie
ya he was too excited to sleep la.. only zonk out at 7pm when all the games are closed.

Kam
I guess HR will dare to try it and ask for more !

Luvv
hang on there ! delicate more work down to the maid.

pixie,
enjoy your pregnancy now in peace! lolz but by that time your boy should be more mature ba...

Kam,
i guess i have to be more relax on big C then...

Kam,
i got my tic from their website under mastercard promotion. Mastercard promo is NOT only for cards issues out of singapore leh. So if u booked 4tic, u'll get $25 complimentary gift vouchers.
http://www.rwsentosa.com/language/en-US/Attractions/UniversalStudiosSingapore/Promotions/MastercardPromo

Chaye,
T seem to enjoy himself very much at USS...so u mean only Fri we get to see fireworks at 9.30pm? The day tic allow us to re-entry for fireworks ah? That's gd but not sure if the whole family still got energy for that later:p I heard from my colls that some rides are still not open but they will give F&B vouchers to compensate.

steph

Yes, for the entry tix that you paid, you are given $5 food vouchers and $5 retail voucher each. 4 of u will add up to $20 food and $20 retail vouchers.

and Yes, you can choose to stay within USS if not you can exit and mention that you will come back for the fireworks and they will stamp on you.

It's enough time to try all the rides like we all did except for one indoor rides that my #1 didnt pass the height so we give it a miss. You can even have time to go for 2nd round or 3rd round nearer to closing time cos most ppl have left. That's the trick I think ! hahah

Most rides waiting time is approx 30-45mins and it will be shown on the electronic board outside the Q. The most enjoyable ride is the waterslide which is quite scary but fun. You risk to get wet though. Bring along some poncho if you have cos it's selling like $2 per pc there. We didnt get that wet but I do see others r soaked ! Both my hubby and myself took turns to take the ride with #1 cos T is not tall enuf to play.

yooo...bo liao a bit, just sharing some info
catching up a bit on reading now that my ms is gone...borrowed some books

i've got 1 book titled "divas and dictators - the secret to much behaved child"

you know in market there are so many books with so many techniques on bringing up our kids, so i thought i share this author's

he is a behavioural specialist for kids, especially for special kids...perhaps i think thats why his books are more about behaviours

he advocates the 6-for-1 technique
meaning for every 1 critism, heaps 6 praises. it must be this ratio. it takes lots of efforts but it can be done.
why? because kids thrive on praise. we often emphasise on their negativity but not their good behaviours. by praising your child, they want/yearn to become better behaved.

eg if your #1 snatches away #2's toys within 5 mins, #1 is only naughty for 30seconds, but he is well behaved for 4mins & 30secs. we tend to overlook that...the trick is you must catch your child on the times that your child is doing right. which means, praise when he/she is not doing anything wrong.

praise can be matter of factly eg "you shared your toys", "you put your shoes away". too much of "good job!" or "wonderful!", "excellent" makes your child not believing it in the long run. must praise the good action, not their characteristics...

the rest of the book touches on time out, rewards vs bribes (its a huge difference!), routines and rules. mostly common sense that we take for granted and needs reminding

so mummies, can try the 6for1 method. who knows with consistency, it works for a particular behaviour that you want to correct...

steph,
Ah, this one. We are also not eligible cos my parents get senior tic. This promo is when you purchase 4 FULL PRICE tic.

Chaye,
Thanks for the tips! Hope HR and XY would enjoy it.

Pixie,
Thanks for sharing!

steph,
Something info on USS I posted back in June:
Universal Studio

Do a quick check on the website:

<font color="0000ff">Okay for our toddlers:</font>
- Hollywood (Pantages Hollywood Theatre: Monstro City) - No restriction
- WaterWorld - No restriction
- Far Far Away (Donkey LIVE) - No restriction
- New York (Lights, Camera, Action! Hosted by Steven Spielberg) - Children under 122cm MUST be accompanied by an adult
- Magic Potion Spin - Children under 100cm MUST be accompanied by an adult
- Treasure Hunters - Children under 122cm MUST be accompanied by an adult
- Sci-Fi City (Accelerator) - Children under 122cm MUST be accompanied by an adult
- Dino-Soarin - Children under 122cm MUST be accompanied by an adult
- Amber Rock Climb - Children under 122cm MUST be accompanied by an adult
- Shrek 4D adventure - Children under 122cm MUST be accompanied by an adult
- Madagascar (King Julien's Beach Party-Go-Around) - Children under 122cm MUST be accompanied by an adult
- The Lost World (Canopy Flyer) - MUST be at least 92cm and accompanied by an adult
- Enchanted Airways - MUST be at least 92cm and accompanied by an adult

<font color="ff0000">Not ok for our toddlers:</font>
- Jurrassic Park Rapids Adventure - MUST be at least 107cm and accompanied by an adult
- Madagascar: A Crate Adventure (COMING SOON) - MUST be at least 107cm and accompanied by an adult
- Ancient Egypt (Revenge of the Mummy) - MUST be at least 122cm
- Battlestar Galactica: CYLON - MUST be at least 125cm
- Battlestar Galatica: HUMAN - MUST be at least 125cm

chaye
good mah, like that 8+ can KO liao?
if x no mid day nap, i put him to bed at 7.30pm...early hor? i lurrrvvvee it, can get super long "me" time

hmmm i just went to NTUC to buy some stuff for tonight's dinner...
the bill ard 9+...if i da bao, me n hb pays max 7bucks...
so cooking for 2 really not economical hor

hey steph
i realised im not wfh this coming monday too leh...so how?
this sun i deposit x at mil place. any chance you can meet up with me sun evening?

Pixie,
Really ah? I am thinking if I should start cooking for 2 on weeknights.... instead of tabao...

But what you bought, could be spread over for a few day's meal (not just tonight)??? Maybe???

chaye
x is early with everything leh, from waking up to lunch to dinner to sleep. if no mid day nap, i will put him to sleep at 730pm, he shld KO by 8pm
then sleep until next day 730am lor

his lunch is 1115-1130...early hor?
his dinner is 515-530...early hor?

after dinner, take a bath, wind down etc, just nice to sleep early mah...imagine if eat at 6-7pm...by then digest food, wind down etc, oredi 8+ or later...by then put to sleep oredi 9pm

krystle
tonight, only some greens can be saved.
my dishes for tonight is real simple
1. big pot of soup with ingredients
2. steamed fish

inside the soup got 4 prawns, some yong tau foo stuff, string mushroom, chicken, xiao bai cai...i think 1/2 of string mushroom n xiao bai cai can save for another meal...

do you think its worth 9+? btw, the fish is only 2+ nia leh...

chaye
btw, i heard in UK is even more hiong. because it gets dark early, kids sleep at eg 6.30am hor
wah!!! i will be very happy hahahaha...
my corlick from UK relocate to sg to work, her kids now in SG, still sleeping at 6.30pm ok. wakie at ard 6am...and they still take mid day nap of ard 2 hrs!!

btw, her kids oredi 3.5yo n 5yo

pixie,
Think it's not cheap to cook, regardless of the no of pax. But it's about healthy diet rather than $$.

Oh yes, X is VERY EARLY for everything! 7-8pm is dinner time for HR! Nowadays he only goes to bed at 10-11pm :p

krystle,
Depending on what you cook bah. If it's 2 simple stir fried dishes, shouldn't be ex.

chaye,
tks for info, noted!

Kam,
tks for the detailed info

pixie,
Sunday evening ok with me...but i scare i slip my mind...if u remb, sms me ok? tks!

Eh pixie,
u lucky mummy! My Z goes to bed after 10.30pm or 11pm hor
11.30pm-12midnite - some hsework n supper+tv (ME time) then zonk to bed by 1am!

pixie,
so which means X sleeps around 11-12 hrs a day? with nap, will be more, rite?
i wish my boys can sleep dat early.
they will take around at least 30-45mins to fall asleep, coz #2 likes to talk. :S

steph
ok lah...but u ok to meet at my mil blk as usual or where u wanna meet?

kam
now got #2 everything must 省省省 but just now i was also telling myself, its home cooked food, so nevermind bah

i oso dunno why X is early for everything. i think my routine started from beginning when he was a newborn, he slept at 730...then slowly as he grew older, he started "lunch" and "dinner"...all the timing must match his "early" night sleep. hence everything push early if we count backwards
and also at my mil place. for eons, their lunch n dinner always served at 1130am and 530pm
i couldnt take it when i got married with hb...who eats dinner at 530pm??!! now, we all eat dinner at 530pm during weekends :p cheyyy

pixie
that's very early ! hahaha T dinner is 6.45pm and go to bed ard 10-1030pm. He will still mumble muble until 11pm then KO de. Next day wake up 9am

steph, luca
nowadays, if x got mid day nap, he goes to bed at ard 8.15pm...KO by...hmmm...8.45 or 9pm. i consider this "late" liao. i think i very rigid when it comes to this...
no mid day nap, goes to bed at 7.30, KO by 8pm

so, he takes 11-12hrs of sleep a day lah, including nap.

got 1 time i left mil place late, x havent sleep at 8+...he wakie at 630am weekdays because need to go school. so i assume my mil will put him to bed early since he wakie early. but no lor, my mil still TUT TUT put him to bed at 8+...but that timing is for a 730am wakie. if 630am wakie, i will push back 1 hr...u get what i mean?
my mil let x sleep lesser, he of coz very happy lar. so i told my mil, since he wakie at 630, 8pm can push him to sleep liao. he dun want coz he pushing boundaries
until today i never check with my mil what time she puts him to sleep. 没眼看

chaye
sleep late wakie late. no matter what combo, the caregiver can enjoy the "me" time - be it morning or night mah. if x wakie late, i can spend the "extra" time to sleep more, or settle housework..
we all get to gain some lo

what i meant was, x dun dare to say "no" if i put him early to sleep but he can insist on not sleeping early at mil place even though he has to wakie early at 630 the next day. clever rite...he knows he can bully 奶奶

pixie,
my girl also lunch at 11am and dinner at 5.30pm. if we are out we also eat at the same time as her.
but hor, her afternoon nap she can drag until 2.30-3pm then sleep then at night drag until 10+ then sleep. morning still wake up at 7.30am.
so hor, doesn't mean everything early means they sleep more...hahaha

Pixie,
Yes, you are so lucky. X so cooperative to zzz so early. My schedule is abt the same as steph loh.
Issyen wakes up 8am morning, lunch at 12nn, nap at 2pm, dinner at 6pm, sleep at 10pm loh... By the time I can KO, is after 1am for sure...

Your dinner sounds ok for $9+... coz got fish lah... Not too bad.