(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kitsune,
For naps and sleep u can try rewards for after. Think they can understand already. I will tell my girl quickly go sleep then later after u wake up can go out, watch tv etc etc.
And she will remember and ask for it when she wakes. Of cos doesn't guarantee she will sleep faster but she will TRY to sleep.

Thanks Grumpus, I tried that before, told her quickly sleep then we will go out later. End up she is too excited to sleep. If I offer small rewards, then she will whine and whine and ask to have it NOW instead of after nap. But yes, I'll try again. :p

I'm thinking of installing ceiling fan in the room cos it's warm and humid even with rotating standing fan and I can't blast the fan at her alone too cos Mei Mei also needs the fan. We never have ceiling fans cos we found it very diffcult to maintain and clean. What brands are you mummies using? Any recommendations? I need those that come with a light as well.

Kitsune
Usually I tell them "bcos mommy loves u v much, when u misbehave, mommy gets v v upset. I know u r a good gal, but doing this this this is not nice." deal with the behaviour, like this action is naughty or not good. Try not to label the child as naughty.

All tat being said, I oso throw my temper n whack! Haha!! Usually the older one Gana more cos I will subconsciously feel u r older, y still so 'bu dong shi'. V sad cos I show more grace to Elliot n more tolerant to his nonsense. He beats jie jie n when I qn him, he replies" I didn't beat jie jie, I only touch her gently like tat."

Both my kids v active, Elliot will even climb up the dining table or go sink pour water! So v siong for a sahm.

Kitsune
Dun get those with lights, gets u giddy I think. I oso installed ceiling fan. Troublesome cos need to drill into my false ceiling.

This am, while sending hb to work, I saw an accident. Saw a blue tent on the other side of kpe. Told hb, he scared I worry, told me prob an animal. On the way home I saw the tent n 2 legs sticking out!!! I called hb, he say it is a giraffe la!!!! Wat a way to console me!

Mom2nat,
Haha, your hub is funny!

Kitsune,
We only installed those ceiling fans with lights in our living room and dinning area. For bedrooms, it's those very simple fan without lights. We don't go for a particular brand, went to the showroom, choose the design that we like, particularly the size and the colour, the materials of the blade, try out the streght of the wind (and listen carefully if it's noisy or not), and that's it. Like Mom2nat said, if you haven't had wiring laid out, it's quite troublesome to install ceiling fan. But I love ceiling fan cos I know for sure we won't use air-con, so ceiling fan is a must, one of the reasons we bought this house was because ceiling fans have been installed in all the rooms!

Thanks, Mom2nat, I'll try out.

Mom2nat, Kam, what are the brands of fans you are using? So both your ceiling fans got no light? Sigh, but I need it if not the gals bedroom got no light leh.

Kam, my living room had an old ceiling fan left behind by the previous owner but I took it out cos I find ceiling fans difficult to clean (must use ladder) and also because I'm afraid it'll drop on me since it's old.

On average, how often do you need to clean ceiling fans? Sorry, I'm clueless about them cos even in my mum's place, we never had ceiling fans. :p

Me at toys r us tamp now, need to run errands Liao.

Kitsune
Mine no brand kind. Hb choose the 2nd cheapest if I not wrong!! Haha. He say cheapest MIC, this one made in Taiwan. Ceiling fan is good, Elliot itchy fingers, I always have to worry abt him touching the floor fan.

Kam
My ceiling fan cuts into my lights. But bo pian cos lights all done Liao.

Mom2nat, Oic, they said if the light is under the fan then won't get dizzy, not sure if it's true. Cos I don't have false ceiling or downlights/uplights for bedroom. Just 1 plain white round light which I'm hoping to replace with ceiling fan with light.

By the way, I was just reading Jan10 forum. Another mummy saw the accident on TPE, looks like it was a fatality.

kitsune,
I didn't know the brand liao, we chose the middle range ones, think it's not MIC. When we didn't have part time helper, we only clean once every few months, when dust started to fall down from the fan :p Now our part time helper helps to clean it about once a month. The 2 fans in the living rooms have lights, no it doesn't make us dizzy, we are able to read well and didn't affect our eyesight. It's about $100 different between those with lights and no light.

Thanks, Mom2nat, Kam. I'm checking out the reno forums. Seems like there are many brands, KDK, Amasco, Fanco Aroma. I also blur. Normally, such things should be researched by the hubbies but my hubby is too 'creative' to be interested for boring fans. Why do I always end up making the technical decisions eg. tiles, air con, fan, car, camera, comp, laptop, phones? Duh... :p

kitsune
aiyah i oso make the decisions mah. make liao then my hb will pass those "wind breezy" remarks say since i made all the decisions liao why still bother to consult him? as him then he say anything/anyhow etc...frustrating

btw, ceiling fans, KDK sounds good. lasting, i remember from experience

Pixie, hi^! At least my hubby won't make wind breezy remarks cos he really not interested and scared I push everything back to him bah. I also have 2 kdk rotating fans but heard their ceiling fans too close to ceiling so not much wind. :p

kitsune/pixie,
I also do research about the technie stuff leh. Then show hubby, and he decides which one to buy.

I actually didn't sleep well yesterday night asking reading the posts on disciplining the kids, and the love for our kids. Bothered me a lot. It's really not easy for everyone, especially SAHM. Imagine you have to deal with the problem 365/24/7. FTWM can still take leave to have a day off, but not for SAHM if they are not able to get help for the childcare. Sigh, hope we are doing the best for our kids.

We insisted on not using physical punishment. And HR has been behaving well recently, he takes to reasoning and he cares very much on how I feel (eg, when I am not happy, when I raise my voice), think he loves me so much that he puts in his effort to make sure he is a good boy to make me happy :) When I raise I voice, he would say 妈妈, 你不要生气皓皓啦, 我是good boy mah, 我要听你的话的. When I was really angry with him, I would say, thank you, mama is angry because you don't listen to me, can you promise to listen to mama, and he would say yes, then we hug and kiss. At times, when I am not angry with him but just that I am not smiling, I would tell him mama is not angry, but mama is doing something and need to focus. And he gives me a kiss and runs off. He only throws tantrum when he is tired. Other times, he listens to us, takes to our reasoning, or bargain with us the rewards. But then having said that, we kinda do things according to his likes and dislikes, he loves playground so much now, so we bring him to a few playgrounds, indoor or outdoor, to make him happy. He eats more when he wants to, eats less (or don't eat) when he doesn't want to. He takes nap when he wants or doesn't nap if he doesn't want. Night time has been okay cos he loves the quality time spent with me, just he and me, in the room, without meimei. These few days, I brought in meimei and he protested strongly, but started to accept her. He becomes so attached to me that he wants me to do EVERYTHING with him, doesn't want his daddy anymore. I am secretly happy for the strong bonding, but then physically very tiring on me.

Re: Caning and Labelling
I'm guilty of all that! Of course we all know our love for our kids is unconditional but easier said than done...at least for B. I've tried saying all the positive things to him hoping that he'll behave but it rarely works and I start telling him he's naughty, etc cos really run out of nice things to say liao. He also tell me "If B do that, mummy will beat you!"...i know all the negative effects of punishment but it works to a certain degree lor. Whenever he repeats the negative things that I tell him, I will explain to him that mummy punish becos you didn't listen and did something wrong or Mummy is upset becos you didn't behave, etc. He's starting to understand but he actually loves being labelled as the "naughty boy" very much so it's backfiring on me but nearly every method I use also backfires cos he's one tough nut to crack.

Yvonne,
Mr (plus Mrs) Cane would have found themselves a place in my household IF I were a SAHM :p Sometimes when HR is not in the good boy mood, he also likes to label himself as naughty boy, cos in his understanding, naughty boy = doesn't listen to mama, so meaning he can do whatever he wants!

kam
X is only to a certain degree of HR; in the sense that X tried hard to please me, and not to make me angry. so whenever i give him an angry look or non smiling look, his face will show me "is mummy angry or not?" then i will tell him yes or no, mummy is/is not angry. and when i tell him im angry, he quickly sayang me and say "sorry, mummy". i doubt he knows whats "sorry" (think lots of adults dun know that too, right?)...
but yes, he tries hard to please me. but he is still naughty. then i will say, mummy will be angry if you continue to do ______....usually he will stop

i oso dun bear to cane him. only use satay stick to threaten him....but the satay stick dun work leh....

i think my boy also 吃软不吃硬

my girl also 吃软不吃硬, i hardly beat her and if so only smack her palms cos she'll be very scare once i raise my voice at her and she will start to cry. At times if she's very naughty, i'll ask her if she wants to make me angry by doing those things or not listening, she will start her crying episode and come to hug me. Then my turn to be soft-hearted.

Kam,
Same here, B will say he's a naughty boy when he doesn't want to listen and insist on doing whatever he wants. He actually enjoys it very much so the labelling doesn't seem to work on him cos it doesn't hurt his self-esteem leh...

pixie,
Then X is actually very guai liao if he's worried about you being angry. B care less whether I'm angry or not and he doesn't try to even please me a single bit. He only gets worried when I tell him I'm not going to bring him home if he continues with his bad behaviour when we're out. Going home is a big deal for him so he will say he's a good boy and will be guai gaui when I threaten him with that. It sounds horrible for a mummy to threaten his son about leaving him outside but that's the only thing that works! Using the cane is actually better than smacking with hands cos sometimes we may really lose it and smack too hard. Although the cane will leave a mark but it doesn't cause any injury unlike using our hands.

yvonne
is B a very stick to schedule boy? without schedule he will have lots of meltdowns etc?

X is more n more naughty nowadays. i just take it that it comes with him growing up and being more assertive of himself...

Luvv,
I think in general, all kids like to 吃软不吃硬, to a varying degree.

And how have you been coping the past few days?

Pixie,
yes, very hot! My girl couldn't sleep well last night due to the heat. Luckily HR was okay. Else I don't think I can wake up this morning

Your report not out yet ah?

Where's steph? Waiting for her to tell us more about the USS leh!

kam
i very gek sim ah, my report i paid expedited fees they keep delaying. i now high BP liao, dont explain liao...once i have news i will post here to update

recently too much bad news for me to take, i very moody hoho

hot weather:
i myself dun sweat much but im feeling the heat leh!! wah just now went to hawker centre for lunch, all of us sweating bucketloads...coz we ate handmade noodles...itchy backside

pixie,
B follows a routine when he's with me although I don't stick to it all the time. But I try to make it a point to inform him what's going to happen next and he tends to behave better. But he takes advantage of my hubby and everyone else (in-laws and my mum) and they can't really control him cos they simply give in to him most of the time. I'll have to say he's usually at his best behaviour when he's alone with me but he'll still push my buttons to see if he gets a different reaction...

Kam,

I heeded your advice, relax on bigC and she's been sleeping late these few days. So atmosphere quite relax on both of us. If SmallC need my attention and BigC is demanding attention like asking me to play with her etc, i resort to the tv for her for a while. Other then that, she will play on her own in our room, ample room for her to run around to play cos we have 2 bedrooms combined into one. She's been very good to smallC, never disturb her when she's sleeping, and always the 1st to run to SmallC when she's crying..etc..sometimes when SmallC insist on sleeping while i carry her and BigC wants me to play with her, i'll play with her while carrying SmallC. Less tiring then trying to insist that she sleeps earlier.

Pixie,
how's your sleeping arrangement when no. 2 comes along?

Re: BM / FM

DH gave me the date line to stop expressing in mid Nov, tried bargaining with him to extend till mid dec....unsuccessful so far :-(

Kam,

i am here

Z enjoyed himself very much at USS, on the rides especially. After 1 round of the Canopy Flyer & Enchanted Airways (roller coaster), he wants to have a go again but the waiting time puts us off. For the 1st ride at the Canopy Flyer, we waited like 40mins due to service interruption twice & for the next queue will be like 45mins long! We didn't try the Treasure Hunters cos the weather was way too HOT! I kenna sunburn leh

USS is really very small, we completed the whole tour (excluding waiting time for the rides) in less than 3hrs.
To compensate for the few rides/attractions that were not in operation, USS gave us $40 retail/F&B vouchers

You don't have to bring along your stroller, you can rent from USS. Bring along their cap, keep the kids under shade if possible cos the blazing sun (afternoon sun) is really no joke! Can faint! Drink lotsa water!

luvv
i hope by march (due date), X is still sleeping between 8-9pm
if so, i will set the same schedule for my #2 as i set for X when he was infant...i.e. sleeping at night at 7-7.30pm...meaning after i knock off from work, rush home, must fetch both #1 & #2 back from mil place. then put #2 to sleep immediately, while hb looks after #1....then after bb sleeps liao, i will settle #1...
most prob i'll try to put #2 in another room, then let X resume co-sleeping with us...usually X sleeps thru the night...bb wakes up for feeds, i oredi planned to get me n hb take shift. i.e. from 7.30 - 1am; 1am-6am...rotate lah see who wanna take early or late shift...it works for us during X's time

hopefully this tentative planning is workable...most importantly to make it work, #2 must sleep at 7.30pm (like when x was young)

Pixie,
GIRL!!!

Steph,
Thanks so much for the info! Oh, really so small ah, 3 hours bo liao. Then it's good also lah, if the kids or my parents get too tired, can go home early.

kam
when i get more votes liao then announced the gender

i was super pissed....i paid for expedited results, i called to chase, they say:-
11am: no fax frm lab, call at 3pm
3pm: got fax liao but cant find my patient record; will call me back
3.30: i called again coz i very agitated liao. they still say cannot find my patient record...the fax was slipped into the folder...arrggg. i insisted i hang onto the line to wait....
waited 20mins...
finally found my file
they just tell me, normal
wtf? what normal? which chromosome? #21? then #18? #13? #12? #9? #8? #22 ley? normal or not??! i oredi feel like screaming liao...in the end, they say gynae will call me back

then i think they told doc i wasnt happy, gynae called me but i was bz with work, he called my hb...then i returned call, i scolded doctor....
super relieved nevertheless

kam
the nurse (receptionist or whatever u call them) could be saying normal only for #21 down syndrome, but im testing whatever thats in the spectrum leh!! be more specific lah!
i oredi very bad mood liao since Saturday and its unfortunate that they misplaced my record/fax

Pixie,
Understand your frustration lah. Cos you opted to pay more for a faster results mah. So at the end still have to chase them etc :-(

What did your gynae said to you?

He said all chromosomes are all good, and tell me the gender. Then apologise for the hiccup. He say aiyah dun get agitated over the hiccup. Wanna slap him liao coz the fate of my bb lies in the test results leh. He knew I was very angry. I was out buying a drink n I was half screaming in anger, half crying in relief
aiyoh.....不懂要哭或笑或生气

Pixie
Congrats everything is fine
Naturally we anxious, but I always try to console myself tat "no news is good news"... my previous gynae used to tell me tat. Who is your current gynae.

Pixie , dun get angry especially when bb inside leh. Anyway, My guess is boy.

Prataquuen, what's ur budget for juicer? A real good juicer would be slow juicer which can retain the nutrients n enzyme. Phillip one is fast n not very good but it's cheap lo. Hope ur kids eczema will recover soon.

Kam, hr can sleep so long for nap hor. These week s has nt been napping. So he went to bed at 7. But I had hard time prepRing diner cuz he din nap.

pixie,
my guess is a boy!

i am waiting for my nuggets & popcorn chix to be ready in 15mins!
Gosh...my eyes very sleepy liao but stomach still hungry:p

hmmm...nobody around today?

Am feeling under the weather. J got it from me and he is sick too. Coughing quite badly. Brought him to Yu Guo for 3 times already, still the same. Wondering if i should continue bringing him there. Lukily he is ok with chinese medicine. No need to bribe him with sweets and stuff.

Next year, he will be starting school at Catholic Kindergarten. Glad that he is in the morning session too. I realise that 1 week later would be his brithday. Mummies, can share how u celebrate their birthday at childcare? Cake? Goodie bags??

Pixel,
Glad the results are fine. My guess that it is girl

steph
how do you stay slim despite you
1. eating supper frequently
2. eating "junkfood" like nuggets and popcorn chix?

super envy.............

btw, u cooking supper yourself? or order etc?

pixie,
my guess is girl. so when are u gona announce the results? nowadays d thread is so quiet, duno must wait till how long to get many votes. :p

luca
aiyah patience is a virtue leh LOL

thread quiet, we can talk about other topics

hey anyone (esp the west mummies) knows whether we need to pay to go to chinese garden or jap garden? who still goes there nowadays anyway?

pixie! my vote is a gal.

very happy for you that all is well. makes one wonder as to the accuracy of the blood tests etc that all mothers go through.

tongtong, my budget abt 200 bah. why slower juicer = retain more vitamins? The philips hr1865 is now retailing at courts megastore (tamp)for $169. i saw it last weekend & there was a demo. still considering...