(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

blessedbaby,
Way to go!!! You want 6 children (or more!!!) in total right? So after the twins, you still have another 2 rounds to go :)

Exactly, so basically, if you predict your fertile period will not be during weekend or public holiday, then its better to deliberately schedule to take leave during fertile period. Dun try to ‘save on leave’ and ttc at night after work. Chances are you won’t enjoy the process + sperms are tired + mood isn’t relaxed.

Of cos there are the lucky ones who strike at first try, but personally for me, we conceived during Christmas so I believe the relaxed frame of mind makes all the difference.

hehe later all go back hm rape hb...ask hb eat more raw oysters:p

waiting for my colls to shut down their pc n have dinner celebration (2 of my colls oso same birthday month as me!) tonight!

Chaye,
Wendy Goy = wendyg (last time always here but now no more liao)
MyLow = mylvera
Stephanie Ng = errrr not sure

Yay finally mylife spill her secret liao. U know how tough it was for me to hold my tongue? Hehe
went to gynae for 2nd visit. Bb very active kept waving arms and legs...I went alone today.

Baby dust to whoever needs it. My #1 & #2 were conceived within a mth. #1 tried 4 times, #2 tried 3 times.
My baby dust is power baby dust!! :p

Yay finally mylife spill her secret liao. U know how tough it was for me to hold my tongue? Hehe
went to gynae for 2nd visit. Bb very active kept waving arms and legs...I went alone today.

Baby dust to whoever needs it. My #1 & #2 were conceived within a mth. Both #1 & #2 ML 3 times.
My baby dust is power baby dust!! :p

Now after the girls are in dreamland, i have time to read more and post more!

grumpus: i knew it was mylife long time ago. ;-)
I read from FB and knew that she is arranging nanny to look after Rylee. Kill me mylife, the reason you gave in fb is not accepted by me. Hahahaha. That's why I use microscope to look at your recent photos and yes, I knew for sure that you are pregnant. ;-))))))))))))) Come into this thread, see everybody is on guessing game, and I smile inside. Very happy for you

Kam: my husband doesn't mind how many children we have. In fact he is very happy if I am pregnant NOW. I am very fine with it but when I think of #2, I want to give her the same attention as I gave to #1. BF her as long as possible, and after #1 goes to preschool nest year, I can enjoy some time with her first. ;-) But if I am pregnant now, I am ok with it too. and we want 4 kids. iF I can strike 2 boys at the same time (90% not possible and my gynae said it's not advisable to have twins), I can officially close my shop.

Lynn: am ok. How are you with 2 kids? I also got supp card from hubby & only use this card to pay for all daily expenses. and as kitsune' hubby, my hubby withdraws some cash almost every week, some for me and some for me. Now have to save money coz we are planning to send kids to good schools and let them learn some music instruments.

Pauline: #3 will be soon as I want to close shop asap- am not too young anymore. better chop chop and close shop. "evil face".

prata_queen: I think you are fortunate to have your MIL to come and cook for your kids. If you knew my MIL, sure you will have more headache even though she has good intention too (she wanted to rearrange my kitchen during my confinement, brought her own kitchen stuff and put in mine- but luckily my hubby stopped her doing that w/o me saying anything and she got the message.My MIL is very hygienic and I am not (well, i know what I am doing and what I give to my kids) Hahaha. and REALLY, my kids are hardly fall sick. You should try to relax more and enjoy these days.

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">THANKS for all the CONGRATULATORY messages!</font></font>

Blessedbaby
I'd hate to burst ur detective bubble but hor, looking for a babysitter for Rylee has been ongoing since like forever, even BEFORE i know i'm preg...so the reasons i quoted was REALLY my REAL reasons. She was getting super sticky, and i didnt want to always rely on my mom to babysit whenever i need to run errands or do my own things so i've always been on the lookout for a good babysitter (young lady) to play with her. So haha, the source of u suspecting me for that is really not valid leh.

And i also hate to disappoint u and grumpus but i dont think my recent FB photos show much of me being preg. If anything, the photos merely show i put on weight, and as much as i like to blame it on the pregnancy, err...it was all just fats.
Cos i'm only 8wks+ now, and those pics shown, i was merely like 3-4wks? Cannot be showing rite? hehehehehe

Lynn
We bought a unit at The Hermitage, near Olympic station cos we love this area. But frankly, it's gonna be a headache when Rylee starts schooling next time cos most intl schools are located on the HK island side.
Will cross the bridge when it comes bah

kitsune
again, watching the drama serials and sending Rylee to school is not part of or due to my pregnancy leh. Cos Rylee is going to a Waldorf school and still accompanied by me. She will only start kindergarten next Jan (when she turns 3) and only then the crying will start i think but i hope she will adjust before #2 arrives in April. As for watching TV series, aiyah, it's jus me...a movie/series buff lah.

Hehehehe, it's funny how all of u said the "clues" that gave me away wasnt really clues cos it was all unrelated to my pregnancy leh. But the only person that suspected and was right due to my FB update status was Steph. She said i gave myself away cos i said something about "cravings" and being tired all the time...that part was true lo....hahahahha

Anyway, i would have announce earlier if not for my m/c in April, so this time round, a bit paranoid, and if u all noticed, i'm not past the "safe" 1st trimester yet...but heard the heartbeat liao, so a bit more assured it's a viable pregnancy. Frankly, my pregnancy with Rylee was a smooth and uneventful one, so after the m/c in April, all of a sudden i realised there're soooo many ways to miscarry so got a bit paranoid all the time. Sigh.

Kam
If u rem, i was also hoping for a tiger baby (same as us) but my mom is of the pantang thinking "一山不能有兩虎“, thats why when i miscarried in April (the baby would have been a tiger baby) she thinks it's fated lo. Anyway, rabbit baby also good lah, same year as hubby.
As long as healthy i'm happy!

Jess
LOTS of baby dust to u too. Actually, i dunno whats PCOS but i dont think i can conceive easily too (based on my age) but we also used "help". I used the Fertility Monitor. Quite chun to predict my ovulation date. And then i used Preseed.
Hope that helps.

Actually, this pregnancy also take me by surprise, so i havent even plan any logistic issues since u all know i'm a big supporter of bf-ing and cosleeping. Dunno how it's going to work out. Strangely, the thing i'm worried about most is when i go into labour, and stay in hospital overnight, how is Rylee going to sleep cos she has never slept without me all these 2yrs + .

mylife: youll be surprised by my detective systems. It works for many. LOL

about Waldorf education: how long do you send Rylee there? I am still dont know if I have made right decision on Montessori over Waldorf. It's a tough decision and really hope it works for my girls. ;-(

Mylvera, no aunty visit plus my hubby not taking any chances. So unless I can convince him, it'll be close factory liao. Think I'll ask him again when Raelynn outgrows her small shears cot cos if he confirmed don't want no. 3, I want to sell away the cots/toys/bb clothes and clear space in the baby room/wardrobe liao.

Mylife, yup, read about your miscarriage. That's why so happy to hear you conceive again. Especially now that you are mentally and emotionally ready.
Rabbit baby nice, I would love to have a rabbit baby. Only comes around every 12 years leh... :p

blessedbaby
hahahahha, ok lah, Ms Sherlock Holmes. Anyway, are u asking me how long i've been sending her to Waldorf school or how long do i planned to send her there? If it's the former, then i've sent her there since she's like 16mth old? We love it there. No regrets choosing Waldorf over Montessori. Her teacher did explain to us the major differences of montessori and waldorf. Basically, M ways are teaching and guiding a child. For eg, u give a stacking set of toys to a child. If the child plays it any other ways, the child will be stop by the M teacher and the teacher will gently guide the child HOW to play the said toy ie stacking it tall. But the W way, the same toy will be given to a child, but she will be free to play with the toy any ways she wants. She can lay it horizontally, diagonally and pretend it to be a flying spaceship, a war ship, etc. W ways believe not to restrict a child's way of learning. Not to quash his curiosity to learn things his way. W ways believe that eventually, the child herself will be able to come to discover the "original right" way of playing with the toy ie stacking it vertically without any prompting from the teacher. This is the MAJOR difference between M and W ways.

Having said that, both ways promote "learn thru play" which is so wildly used to advertise for all learning centers now. They have their similarities too. Personally, i feel the true M way in HK is very strict. Like u have a certain way of pushing a chair back into the place. And u have to do it like ten times if u cant get it right. Some people believes this is good for disciplining a child, which i reckon would be good too IF the child is not as "high spirited" as mine. LOL

Lots of people tot that by letting the child freely explore the W way, it means no disciplining and that children of W ways run amok in the class. It's not true at all. I learned a lot of gentle discipline ways from the teachers in Rylee's school. They are like miracles calming even the most havoc kids in a very gentle way.
As for how long i planned to send Rylee there...probably for another kindergarten year before she starts school in whichever intl school that'll accept her cos most of the Intl school here accepts fro Reception onwards which is 4yrs old.

Aiyah, send both girls to Waldorf lah...no regrets!!

kitsune
u very funny leh, which zodiac sign is not here every 12yrs one leh. Thanks for being happy for me. I'm very happy too. Jus hope this will be a smooth and healthy pregnancy for me. This time round my MS not so bad. With Rylee, i only vomited a bit at night. But major loss of appetite. This one, altho feel slightly nauseous, no vomitting. But also loss of appetite. And veyr very tired. Then again, the fatigue could be due to taking care of Rylee. For once, i'm praying for more MS cos more MS = more healthy pregnancy rite? Crazy me.

After this #2, i'm asking hubby to go for vasectomy liao. Dont want any accident for #3!!! Definitely close shop!!

blessedbaby,
i know it's a typo, but i burst out laughing when i saw u typed in yr post:
"my hubby withdraws some cash almost every week, some for me and some for me"

mylife,
we're in the same situation cos i'm also a sahm and lexie is also super glued to me. i also wonder wat's going to happen when i hv to stay in hospital and how i'm going to cope when #2 is born. even now she refuses to let anyone else give her milk and put her to sleep, be it nap or at night. so i never hv time to do anything myself cos i either hv to rush back in the afternoon for her nap, or i can only leave after her nap.

but like my mum always tells me, aiyah now she so big already, 1-2 days dun sleep properly never mind lah. so i guess when the time comes she prob won't be sleeping much those few days :p

Mylife, no lar, if you read my earlier post to Kam, I want rabbit baby mah so I'm envious. I would love to have a rabbit baby cos I'm rabbit too. If I miss this one, cannot possibly wait another 12 years for the next rabbit baby liao. By then, my kids will be in their teens. LOL.

OHHHH!!!!!!

Pops in and see such a great news!!!!

Congrats mylife!!!!!!

Must must must prepare Rylee well for your #2, I didnt prepare Xavier well, he cry buckets on the night that i go deliver Crystal.

I will stop at #2 too. Crystal not such an easy baby.. i really scare already.

grumpus: I Laughed when I read your post too. My husband doesn't understand why I laughed so loud. ;-) Yeah, my typing mistake. ;-) Should be "some for me, some for him"- I just being greedy myself.

Pixel: i "knew" mylife has to announce her good news before 1 Oct. ;-))))))))

Mylife: I'll pm you re M &amp;W education. I registered my girls at both schools, but I am leaning toward M in the end. Share with you via PM.

icy
what do u mean by preparing Rylee well leh? Can share any tips? I'd hate to let her cry like that if i go into labour and jus her dump her crying at home
it'll totally break my heart lo

Just that day, i went to tour Matilda hospital right after we knock off from her school cos her school is at The Peak where the hospital is. Brought her along with me and she was very guai. Kept asking me where are we going. I said going to hospital to see if nice to bring baby there next time. When i asked her this hospital nice for baby, she said "Yes!".

blessedbaby
there's no right or wrong in choosing education for our kids. At the end of the day, it's us who knows our kids best so for me, i jus knew W way will be the right fit for rylee.
I reckon u arrived at that conclusion based on your gut feel for ur girl.

Actually, i'm not purposely announcing before 1oct lah, jus dat i told pixie and steph earlier, i'd announce once i hear the heartbeat

grumpus
awww...like icy said, i really hate to see rylee cry leh.
Praying my labour will be in the daytime then she can participate. And i'll have time to "settle" and explain things to her. But i still worry about night time lah. Hopefully i can have natural birth, recover fast and get home fast. It's frustrating sometimes that they're so glued to us isnt it. But i always try to tell myself to think positively, that all these gluing is a result of our strong bonding... i'll miss it once she grows up and no longer "needs" mommy.

mylife,
I don't have much tips haha, just try and prepare your girl to be able to sleep with someone else other than you or your hubby.

I did a bad job. I forget to expect that my labour might be at night whereby hb need to stay with me the whole time. Whereas if I stay over in hospital, hb can still go home and sleep with Xavier at night.

So I only prepare Xavier to sleep with hb when I not ard. When both of us are not around, he was very very very upset. He cry and cry, wanting to leave the house, slept with his shoes on.

Rylee is older and more sensible, I think she will understand, perhaps try to prepare her for the day, tell her that she might need to sleep with grandma?

I am not sure if Rylee is a light sleeper or not, cos her sleep might be slightly affected when bb comes home for the first week. Xavier is ok, he just sleep thro everything at night. Anyway, I don't dare to shift him to my mil room because I am afraid that he think we just dump him for his sister.

Good morning aqua!

Mylife, congrats! Logistical issues are most headache when #2 comes along :) I'm prepared to rough it out with both in my room, just hope C can adapt and accept.

icy,
good that i'm having c sect and will be during daytime, so i hope she won't be too upset when i'm not around for 2 nights with her. Already warned Hubby not to travel for the 1st 2 weeks, else she might get very very upset if there's a new sibling and her daddy is not around.

luvv, hav u chosen a gd date for csection?
dun forget to pack ur binder in ur hspital bag.
wow, it mus be v excited now, waiting for the Delivery date

aqua,
yes it's the coming monday, 7 more days to go...i packed my binder in but i think it's a bit loose sp plan to get a new one at MAH and can interchange thereafter. Now need to sterilise my pump, buy confinement herbs, get my hair trim and that'll be all i guess.

luvv, yep, have a nice and enjoying week... spent lots of time with ur no.1 and hubby this week

hav u chosen a name for no.2? or will wait for the shifu to choose for u?

aqua,
Hubby is still bz travelling in and out of malaysia this week, i'm hoping to go on a date with him but looking at his schedule, a little too demanding on him :p however i'm going for a family BBQ this friday, saturday also feasting with inlaws and sunday evening will be attending a wedding dinner :p

Already chosen the names for my #2 as mine is scheduled c sect, hope to settle the BC in the hospital before i get discharge.

mylife, I got the Ursborne First Experiences book and there is a story about the mummy going for delivery with Daddy while the older siblings are taken care by their grandparents. Maybe you can use that to explain to Rylee and rehearse (like fire drill exercise hee hee) so that she knows what to expect including sleeping with your mum if she allows. If you treat it like a game, maybe she will be more willing to play along. ;)

By the way, anyone keen on Children's Day gathering organised by Young Parents for mass gathering? Saw it from another mummies thread. http://www.youngparents.com.sg/huggies/

Morning, Aqua and Luvv!

Luvv,
That's so exciting, just 7 days to go!

Mylfie,
I got the clue that it's you from one of your FB post when you said soemething like, it's Sep already, hope everything will be smooth.

<font color="ff0000">RE: Preparing #1 for the arrival of #2</font>
My experience was about a year ago, and so may not be so relevant to yours now, since your #1 is older and easier to communicate now.

Anyway, the most important to make sure is you acknowledge and understand her feeling. Any sensible toddler will surely sense the "danger" of their love being snatched away by thier little brother/sister. You have to reassure her many many times that you love her all the same, if not more. Get them involved, don't let her feel like an outsider. She won't hurt the baby, so don't stop her when she says she wants to sayang or carry meimei, you just have to help her to handle the baby. We let HR stay at the hospital with us from the 2nd day onwards till I was discharged, and that probably helped him to feel he's not being left out. We all stayed in the same room for the first 4 months. Initially HR woke up when baby cried, but after a few days, he got used to the crying. And he started to demand for night feed and that continued for about 1 month. We just let him be, thinking that it's probably a way that made him feel more secured. Spend as much time with #1 as possible! Besides BFing, think I spent almost all my free time with HR during my 2 months at home, while my mum took care of the baby. To me, I think you should think and plan how you should do with the logistic, but don't say like die die must stick to it. See how your #1 respond to the little one, and then make changes accordingly. Sure it will work out fine!

Kam,
you let HR stay in the hospital? The nurses allow? we thought of that too but scare if the hospital environment not very good for her to stay, she can sleeps better at home.

luvv
im delivering at MAH leh. but never been there before. how issit? my fren say very old hospital. but i heard forum mummies saying MAH quite "cozy" looking like TMC also...hmmmmmmmmm?

and what name you intend for your #2??

Luvv,
Before I was admitted, we kept asking the TMC staff at the checkin counter many times and the answer was "cannot give you an answer, it's judged based on case by case basis. You have to ask the sister-in-charge when you have delivered". So yes, the nurses allowed, and the sister actually encouraged us to bring him here. They were very kind that they even brought extra pillows and blanket for HR. But eventually he slept with me on my bed :)But it maybe a little more challenging for you cos you will be c-sec? I already came down walking and took shower on the morning of 2nd day. So I can handle him, no problem. But you may need more rest on the bed, BFing will alredy give you enough thing to do.

pixie,
when i delivered there 2 yrs ago, the stay was pleasant and wonderful, old hospital? but their maternity wards were refurbished and i heard they expanded and renovated again. Nurses were very friendly and helpful too. English name is Caliste :)

Kam,
i think we'll see as it goes when next week comes.

luvv
how do you pronounce caliste? "ke-list"?

ok thanks for your info...i oredi cfm to my gynae last week that i will deliver at MAH this time. He also told me that MAH is nowadays more value for money compared to TMC. another gynae told me the same when i went to cfm my pregnancy 2mths+ ago at some clinic near my place

Follow on and update <font color="ff0000">(in red)</font> from Steph's post last week:

Next Gathering

Proposed date: 1st October, Friday
<font color="ff0000">Time: 10am?</font>

Venue suggestion:
- Botanic Garden, Jacob Ballas Children's Garden
- Rochester House, The Playhse
- peek-a-boo at kallang lesiure park
- Marina Barrage
- Vivocity (Level 2: Play Court – Open-air courtyard featuring engaging and interactive water features
Level 3: Sky Park – Showcases an outdoor amphitheatre and play pools, the size of four Olympic swimming pools)
- book function room at someone's condo?
<font color="ff0000">- Sand play at East Coast Park (suggested by Superbee)</font>

Let's brainstorm the venue since we've got plenty of time from 1st Oct ya

<font color="0000ff">My input:</font>
Wanted to go to Rochester House yesterday evening. But parking was not easy, so at the end only drove through and went somewhere else. It's quite a distance from the MRT also.

Jacob Ballas and Marina Barrage is not that convenient for those who doesn't drive.

pixie,
you're right in pronouncing.

TMC is the most popular maternity hospital, i heard they revamped their wards recently also. Not sure of their charges though.

luvv
revamped wards same as MAH's revamped wards leh i heard. same-same in the level of "poshness"
same charges, but MAH is slightly cheaper than TMC liao nowadays

Kam, you missed out on my suggestion. I thought it's a convenient location since food and games are already included for kids below 3. Got goodie bag worth $60 some more. haha.

Next Gathering

Proposed date: 1st October, Friday
Time: 10am?

Venue suggestion:
- Botanic Garden, Jacob Ballas Children's Garden
- Rochester House, The Playhse
- peek-a-boo at kallang lesiure park
- Marina Barrage
- Vivocity (Level 2: Play Court – Open-air courtyard featuring engaging and interactive water features
Level 3: Sky Park – Showcases an outdoor amphitheatre and play pools, the size of four Olympic swimming pools)
- book function room at someone's condo?
- Sand play at East Coast Park (suggested by Superbee)
- Children's Day Party organised by Young Parents http://www.youngparents.com.sg/huggies/

pixie,
Ya lor, because when MY leaves at about 10-10.30pm, it's the time when I am (very) busy putting the kiddo to bed. This Friday, I will pass the DVDs to her as soon as she steps in my house :)

kitsune,
Sorry, missed that out. I saw this on the magazine the other day.

Aqua,
Maybe the first thing is to decide if we want to have it outdoor or indoor first. So we can minus out some suggested venue first.

Indoor play:
Peek-a-boo
Rochester House
Book function room at someone's condo?

Outdoor play:
Jacob Ballas Children's Garden
Marina Barrage
Vivocity (Level 2: Play Court, or Level 3: Sky Park)
Sand play at East Coast Park
Children's Day Party organised by Young Parents http://www.youngparents.com.sg/huggies/
Hort Park

Mummies interested to join the 1st Oct gathering, please state if you prefer an outdoor or indoor play:
1. Kam - outdoor
2. Aqua
3. Steph
4. superbee
5. mylife
6. yvonne
7. kitsune?
8. please add your name

Mummies interested to join the 1st Oct gathering, please state if you prefer an outdoor or indoor play:
1. Kam - outdoor
2. Aqua
3. Steph
4. superbee
5. mylife
6. yvonne
7. kitsune?
8. Jess - outdoor but do we need to have wet weather plans?

Any toddlers did food allergy test before? I wanna let Javin do as i fealised that everytime he eat apple he will fall sick. Dunno its coincident or really allergy ro apple. PD advised me to a few more food but i duuno wad other food can be tested.

Jacelyn,
You can try google "allergy to apple" and see if Javin shows the same type of signs and symptoms after eating an apple.

Wendyg's son had done the allergy tests probably more than a year ago.