(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Pauline/Yvonne/Grumpus
Thanks for sharing. At least I know now how other couple work out their finances if only left with 1 income. Really have to sit down with hubby one day to plan plan plan.

pauline's hubby so sweet hor.. maybe I should try opening my empty wallet and see got any reaction from him or not. hahahaha

Kam
I wanted to impart to her the right values too. Right now she is learning all the bad things from sch. :p I guess this is another stage of her life. That's why I should be there to guide her the right path. But I see other colleagues also no problem with their school-going kids. So I duno whether am I over-reacting for now. Some even tell me P1 is just the beginning.. when they go to Sec 1 and teenage years they will be out of control and will NOT listen to you anymore !

Yvonne,
Great mind think alike :) We are so determined to not to enrol our kids to any enrichment classes. More so because he has to attend full day cc and that's already more than enough structured learning for him. Yes, totally agree, we wanna to make sure he has the love for learning, and we believe the learning through play is the way to go cos children learn best when it's fun. And we have agreed there will be no tuition class when they start primary (okay, I think too far ahead :)).

interesting topic! Another SAHM here and I'd never regret of being one. ;-)
My hubby pays for everything. I spend every single thing on his money. I think you should discuss with your hubby and see how he thinks. It's difficult at first as you are not getting used to staying at home and spend other's money. You may think that looking after kids may waste your time. For long run, it is worth it to see them grow and be with them every single moment.

Kam: I am one of the mummy who does not enroll my kids to any enrichment class. I am happy the way we are now. Stress free environment. ;-) And my girl (s) doesn't lack of anything. she catches up everything through play.

SAHMs & FTWMs all have pros n cons...all comes down to what u want, your priority. How often can we have a win win situation unless you come from a well to do family background perhaps. Be a tai tai, self coach yr kids, have maid/s etc...how nice but just a dream for me.

I did not enroll my boys to any enrichment class, not even any music appreciation classes or gym classes etc. I also wanted a stress free enviroment for my boys like what i used to enjoy during my childhood days. Even though i am not academically high flyer in my studies, i am still surviving with a decent job & most importantly having the right values. His future will have to let him (my boys) figure it out on their own! Call me bad mummy cos i didn't path the road nicely for them but that's part n parcel of life. Then again, same like Yvonne, i will also try to enrol them in a good primary school.

Blessedbaby,
Sure your girls are doing well under your care :)

steph,
We have the same thinking as you, ie, they have to figure out their future on their own! For their schooling years, I think a good teacher will make a lot of different (I can still remember how much I like a subject because of the teacher not because I like the subject). But that is out of our control. And so yes, we also hope to enrol them to a better school, hoping that better school = better teachers?

The only classes that my hub wants to send Hao Re to is probably music classes, for the fact that he really does enjoy music and movement so much (for now, at least). We are going to sign him at Staccato for another term.

hello mummies
today ms quite bad, even no mood to type. only read posts...

i also dont wish x to start any enrichment classes. i dont emphasis on academics, but more of learning through play so no academic classes for him. i just want him to play and have fun and learn social skills, character building etc

about SAHM or FTWM:
unfortunately grumpus's colleague's statement will not hold true for me. my hb earns the same as me but 1/3 of the pay is transport allowance which he needs to use up (and even eats into the rest of the pay) for car premium, insurance, petrol. if my hb pays for bills, groceries, car. we wouldnt have any $$ left for x's school fees, my insurance, his daily allowance, and even our food...
so, as much as i want to be a SAHM, the only choice for my family is that my hb be a SAHF, while i work. but i will not let that happen because my hb is not so onz/pro as me when it comes to bringing up our children. expect everyday to pass by in a daze or blur kind. so might as well dont quit job...rite

i wanna ba sahm i wanna be sahm i wanna ba sahm i wanna be sahm i wanna ba sahm i wanna be sahm i wanna ba sahm i wanna be sahm i wanna ba sahm i wanna be sahm :p :p

hi mommies

again, long time no "see"!

Wahhh how come revisiting the SAHMs finances again? I think i'm like grumpus, hubby gives me a monthly sum to spend on my own stuffs and then he also pays for everything else (Rylee's school, toys, groceries etc) but i will also use the money to buy clothes and toys for rylee too. Like Steph said, there will be countless of pros and cons between SAHMs and FTWMs. All boils down to what u want. But i'm like blessedbaby, i have no regrets taking this step watching my baby grow. I'd do the same if u ask me anytime.

ECAs
I'd also want my girl to grow up stress free. Hubby and i agreed the only classes we'll send her to are swimming and piano. Swimming for healthy and surviving reasons, good sporty habit to have and piano, well, not to push her for life career purposes but more to have music in her life. No Kumons, Shicidas for us. But who knows what will happen in the future yah? Maybe she will like it?

Prata queen
read a bit about ur lamenting. Agree with others, what ur MIL did was quite nice, and i'm sure ur also aware. but having said tht, i also know where ur coming from. it's one thing to have good intentions, but it's also quite pikchik at times. Altho i'm not a VERY particularly mess free person, when my MIL comes over to my house and mess up my "order" i'd feel pikchik too. So dont beat urself up over it. Try apologizing to ur MIL directly urself, i think she'd appreciate it. But after that, also try telling her nicely, what u'd appreciate her to do ie clean up aft cooking, etc. Elderly are like that, they are like children, need constant reminders. U cant expect her to rem jus becos u said so once long time ago. In a way, try handling her like u would handle ur toddler. Keep reminding, have the patience.
Btw congrats on the upcoming arrival of your #2!

Talking about #2, haha, i also know who the mystery mommy is.
Steph is right, it's all out in the open in FB leh.
Let me give u all a clue, her #1 is a girl and she hardly comes in here. Haha. Any guess?

Meetup
Frankly i've lost touch with Sg places that i dunno where are all the suggested venues leh!
I'm fine as long as it's not too far away cos this time round, we're not renting a car upon our return. Since Rylee can run and walk ably now, tot we'd cut the cost and take cab instead....have to save more cos we bought an apartment in HK!!

We're also looking to sell our Tampines HDB flat in Sg. Anyone knows anyone who might be interested?

Kam: I know it's MYLIFE. You go and read pixel's post.
and yes, I AM VERY SHARP AT LOOKING AT PREGGIE WOMEN. YOU GO AND LOOK AT MYLIFE'S PHOTOS ON FB. It's obvious.

HOHOHO. Am a bad mummy. I can't hold my excitement when it relates to babies. ;-))))

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">MYLIFE - CONGRATULATIONSSSSSSS!!!!!!!</font></font>

Very happy for you, and Rylee and your hub :) Take good care!

Prataqueen, Chaye, haha, thanks. I think my hubby also does that out of necessity cos I don't see him in the day cos he leaves for work early and comes home straight. There is obviously no ATM machine at his workplace. So, he rather give me the cash first once he gets it rather than I ask him for cash (eg school fees for RaeAnne) and he has no access to ATM machines.

Congrats! Mylife.
No wonder nowadays always see your FB posts on watching drama serials plus sending Rylee to school. Trying to watch more tv and settle Rylee before no. 2 arrives? ;)

Blessedbaby, so soon? I also love babies but hubby not keen on no. 3. So, I might as well start a new career next year then... :p

Who is OnZ(ttc) for #2 or #3, 2011rabbit/2012dragon baby??

1)blessedbaby?
2)i know QQ ttc #2 hee
3)kam?
4)jess #2 *pass power babydust to u!*

Confirmed 70% stop ttc
1) ME!
2) ?

Who wants/wish for twins 2011/2012 baby?
1)none dare??haha:p

Congrats mylife!

mylife: u bought apartment in hk? which location?

SAHM: cant comment much cos juz started my life as sahm for a month only. I"m those who can spend almost all my salary paying credit bill monthly consider "big spender"?

But i hav cancelled all my credit cards, now only got a sup card fr hb. hb always warn mi "I cant afford to pay few thousands for ur bill" hahhaaa!

Blessedbaby: how r u?

jess, dun give up, okay! like i always say, u mus be positive and keep urself happy . onli got many mummies got pcos n conceived , thereafter recover. so u r not alone

yeah... i am fine nw.. after being down for a whole week... haha
just let nature take its course...

alamak. y are we chatting when we are sitting side by side.. so funny.. hahaaa

Jess and Aqua,
Haha, you two funny!

Aqua,
Why you cannot be freed? You can also make the change mah.

Steph,
Wah, you change your mind so fast. At 2.58pm, you still 50:50 considering #3. At 3.09pm, you 70% confirmed close shop. Maybe at 3.30pm, you decide to try for a twins :)

Ya, I am thinking of #3, seriously. But not now. Aiming for a dragon baby if hub agrees to have #3 :)

Lynn,
Wah, big change for your huh. Cancelled all your credit cards. But got supp card, still can spend, maybe more carefully :) Hope you adapt to your SAHM real well soon!

Steph, I think I'm joining your club. Don't think I can convince my hubby on no. 3. :p

1)blessedbaby?
2)i know QQ ttc #2 hee
3)kam?

Confirmed 70% stop ttc
1) ME!
2) kitsune_sg

aqua,
with 2boys, i am pretty emo mood nowadays but ok lah, still happy with my boys. Another addition (a gal) will be great but i seriously doubt so when i looked at my terror boys...haha...30% due to hubby not ready for #3 yet/now.

Ever since Z started CC (in July), he's got alot of funny &amp; annoying patterns/habits:
to name a few...
1) loves picking up rubbish from the dustbin(my home not public dustbin) &amp; played with the debris (erksss i know is dirty but he just repeatedly do it no matter how we punished him (soft &amp; hard approach all use liao) even resort to cane then he'll stop but after few hrs, do it again!
2) loves throwing toys/stuffs all over
3) loves wearing shoes (his sandals or my heels etc) and parade all around at home
i cannot imagine #3 doing the same routine like Z, i will die of high blood/heart attack (maybe cos i got low blood pressure so wanna spike me!)

CONGRATS to MYLIFE ! Boy or Girl this timer round ??

jess/aqua
you 2 funny sia ! hahahah

steph
Me definitely wont think of having #3 at all... dont even dare...

1)blessedbaby?
2)i know QQ ttc #2 hee
3)kam?

Confirmed 70% stop ttc
1) ME!
2) kitsune_sg

Confirmed 100% not ttc
1) chaye (hahahha)

kam, i wish i can be SAHM temporary as I cant stand wrking with a bitch with no substanc and throwing her weight around

hmm..very soon, Jess will nt sit next to me liao..sobs sobs

steph, i tink cc got good and bad influence, u mus weigh carefully and monitor ur child closely, guide him to the right way. i also agree tht childhood shld nt be stressul and most important is my child happiness and health.thus, my girl will be stopping cc soon.

chaye,
This year tiger. You forgot still have to be pregnant for 9 months leh. TTC now will get rabbit baby. TTC after Apr/May 2011 will get dragon baby.

Where's mylife? Came to stir up the thread then left liao. But cannot blame her also, cos preggie mah, got valid excuse.

steph/pixie,
Did we guess the right mystery mum? OR there is still another preggie?

Chaye,
Another 8-9 months to go before we TTC. Should be enough time for my hub to think carefully.

kitsune,
Maybe your hub will change his mind, one day?

Kam, don't think so leh. Asked him a few times already... Answer always no leh. Maybe he will change his mind after RaeAnne sleeps through the night and sleeps early but by then, no more rabbit baby. :p

Mylvera, my da yi ma does not come as long as I BF. No accidents possible one... hee.

To all mommies ttc, jia you!!!

Hb and I tried for 6-7 mths for #2 (#1 was an accident) &amp; after the 3rd mth of trying, I bot ovulation kits to improve our chances. Went thru a period of self doubt and emotional rollercoaster before I finally conceived in Dec 09. It so happened that fertile period was during Christmas &amp; there was the hols or weekend so the mood was more relaxed.

Timing is impt, maybe u can try tracking or predicting your fertile period &amp; try to take leave during the period?

mylife,

CONGRATSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!! i sort of suspected when i saw yr fb photos, but didn't know for sure :p

blessedbaby,
#2 is most likely another girl. detailed scan is next wk

Jess,
dun stress yrself too much. i also hv pcos, mine is very severe case one. took 6 mths to conceive #1 and 1 yr plus to conceive #2 with drastic measures taken. u can PM me if u want to know/understand more.

1)blessedbaby- YES YES. ;-)))))
2)i know QQ ttc #2 hee
3)kam?

Confirmed 70% stop ttc
1) ME!
2) kitsune_sg

1) blessedbaby. Want 2 boys. HAHAHAHAHA

Grumpus: girl is good. I love my 2 little girls. ;-)

prata_queen,
I couldn't agree more. To be able to relax when TTC is really important. Think I have shared this before - a friend of mine who just gave birth a few months back, they had been trying for years, like >5 years, and they are already 38 this year. Each of the husband and wife runs a business on their own, so they are very very busy, like no leave and no rest and definitely no holiday, and constantly worrying/thinking about thier business. They went through all the check up, and both are normal. They decided to give one last try. They both arranged their work such that they didn't have to touch any work for 1 week and they went somewhere to relax. And bingo, baby is now nearing 6 months old :)