(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

tongtong
it is a workday for me. Only students and teachers holiday!!.. hahahaa..
i can take leave.. no issue de. hahaaaa... where are u all going?

weekend i am also fine.

kam, will 10am too late? earlier better as the morning sun is the best but not the afternoon sun, hehe. just my suggestion la.

Other suggestion: yvonne suggested the AMK playground, which looks cool when i passed by.

other suggestion: bukit timah park, botanical garden, east coast.

checking out the forum with pumping milk..

Step, to answer yr query, undergoing training means the teachers are untrained, new to early childhood. It means they have just started attending early childhood courses.

RE: Lapbook
I love making lapbooks. currenly making it with my students in school.
I hope I have the time to do it with my gal on weekends too, but it seems tough as I need to handle my boy also at the same time.

Good morning ladies,

rec'd good news yesterday, the cc text me say they are going to refund me the deposit and take C's last day as 30 july, so i've saved on almost one month's fees.

prataqueen,
the trial at Mygym was great, C enjoyed it so much that she refuse to leave the place...go and try it!

Re:Lapbook
read and heard about it but this mummy scores zero when it comes to art and creativity.

tongtong,
thanks! pls email me at [email protected]

Steph,
totally understand, don't worry, he'd prob be already settled in by now :)

tongtong,
I also think earlier is better. But then if the dad is not coming (cos it's a working day), then it may take more effort to get the tod ready and take transport to the venue? I don't know, I am okay with 9am actually cos HR usually wakes up at 7am.

Oh, okay, I missed the AMK playgroud suggested by Yvonne.

Where is Bukit Timah park?

Pixie,
Weekend is also okay, majorities win. Cos Yvonne suggested 1st Sep.

Shannonbaby,
Ya, I felt the same. I so wish I can do more with HR, but very difficult when I have to take care of XY also. E.g., HR is very much into cutting with scissor. I have to watch XY so carefully so that HR doesn't accidentally cut her with the scissor, and XY keeps picking up the bits on the floor into her mouth. Too busy watching her, so HR is left alone playing with his scissor.

kam, you reminded me about activities we can do with our toddlers.
i tried cooking with him last weekend - hb had to go back to office on a sunday am (crazy company), so i wasnt feeling well but had to cook for both of us.
we shelled prawns, cut mushrooms into bits, pluck the leafy vegetables, wash rice, boiled soup....it was fun...

will mummies here let your child handle such dangerous stuff? eg stove, knife, scissors?

btw, where can buy small sized apron? X kept wrapping a towel ard his body and say "cook, cook" so i did a makeshift apron for him

kam, yea i think make it 10am then, maybe not so rush for everyone hor. The bukit timah nature reserve got a forest park, inside there got a playground too.

pixie, shaun has started cooking with me quite some time ago. yes he has been using scissors for quite some time. As for knife, he will hold the handle while i hold the upper part of the knife, so we cut together. He knows that he is not allowed to take the knife on his own till he has grown up. We made sushi together and he ate a lot! I din use aprons leh, if he is wet i will change him.

pixie , oh yea, i just started to "allow" him cooking with me on the stove last 2 weeks when we heat up our chapatti on the pan. I constantly remind him not to touch or be near the pan cuz it's hot. OKla, i got to do it with him. I know it's dangerous but he keeps pestering and said he will be careful. Many disagree with me but oh well, I just need to be extra careful.

Luvv,
That's great! Oh, then can use that money to sign her up for mygym :)

Pixie,
I cannot do all these with HR because of XY. Even if my hubby is taking care of XY, about 5-10min later, XY will crawl/cruise to look for me. And my hub happily continue to do whatever he was doing (tv, newspaper, PC) and leave the 2 kids to me, till I pass one back to him :p

tongtong,
Oh the nature reserve. But that one is more difficult to access for those not driving? But good for me, cos it's the nearest to me.

Oh, you wanna come to my house ;-)

pixie,
i always keep c out of the kitchen, so never tried cooking with her.

tongtong,
sushi making is a great idea, at least won't be needing the knife for the most part :p

Kam,
going to your house seems great..lolz..we can have a potluck party :p

Steph,
have you order the Eric Carle's books? My girl is very much into the hungry caterpillar and the mixed up chameleon.

kam
got to count me out of the outing le cos it's Wed.

Which AMK playground did Yvonne mentioned ?

Pixie
I dare not let TT try using any sharp objects like knife & scissors cos I have to watch over him closely if he does... Kitchen is really out of bound for him and I havent tried cooking with him cos I lazy to cook :p:p:p

I very much wanted to make sushi too leh !!! how to make har ??

tongtong, pixie
cooking together, sounds fun.

i have not tried it with J yet. But he is into washing the dishes nw. hahaha... so he washes his own plates after meals.

kam, oh bukit timah near your place? i dunno leh, hehe. anyway yea, go to your house, why not! hehe. let's see where the majority wanna go first lor! I second potluck party suggested by Luvv! haha!

Luvv, yea you can try sushi making with Chevaun. oh yea, last week we cut together wor all the ingredients, oops:p

Chaye, the AMK playground next to Mcdonalds , the one opposite AMK library.

Kam,
yes..but i can only start after my confinement i suppose, cos hubby not free to bring her on regular basis...

Tongtong,
Shaun has very good behaviour unlike C, she's so uncontrollable at times...lolz...

tongtong
thks for the info ! tat is a newly built playground and it's sandy type

who can teach me how to make sushi ??? Maybe youtube can find sushi making demo hor... :p

re scissors
popular bookstore sells plastic blade (not the normal metal blade) scissors for less than $2. I bot those for my #1's 2yo birthday party pack for her friends at cc.

it can cut thru 1 or 2 sheets of paper at the most & is child safe.

re mygym
luvv, thanks for feedback. Too bad there was no slot for me to join you. mygym tampines didn't call me lei.

tongtong
yup, X also wanted to look and he'll want to stir fry or stir the soup but i told him we have to be careful before i allow him to take the handle etc...
i think my hb will disagree with me too, but i feel the more i say NO to him the bigger curiosity he has. thus he has the strong urge to know whats a knife etc, and in the end dunno how to handle and hurt himself.
so i thought by letting him explore thru the safe way would 1. satisfy his curiosity 2. learn how to handle knife, scissors the safe way 3. learn new stuff

Thanks Tongtong, I will watch out for 1030pm show. Dun know whether can settle raeanne by then. Also, can 7 months plus baby take herbs? :p

prata_queen,
The scissor HR is using is a real (metal blade) one meant for kids. So it's blunt end. Don't think he would hurt himself.

Talking about party pack. I want to prepare some for XY's 1st birthday party next week. Don't know how to start though, cos never prepared any. We would have about 40 kids to the party. Because her party will be at A&W restaurant, which is kinda cheap and not much food, so I wanna make it a little more special by giving the kids a specially packed party pack. Idea, anyone? Where to go to get all the necessary stuff?

jess,
That is a good idea
For our moms to bring them on playdates:p

Re:cooking
Have not started. But mix the batter for making pancake together with him :p

Kam, skp is a shop that sells a lot of plastic bags, plastic containers etc. U can ask around, most hdb estates have one. I only know east side locations so not useful for u. :p

chaye, pixie,
by the time i reached office, the milk stains already dry up so no need to wash again otherwise wet n cold under office air-con.
smelly cos of the puke milk mah.

kitsune,
just bcos Z can verbalise himself better, makes it more painful for me...cos he was begging me not to let the teachers carry him away from me, the feeling is like i am dumping him. It just felt terrible. Anyway, i called the teacher before lunch, he's no longer crying cos his chinese teacher is with him now. I just wonder if i should try to bring him to the cc tmrl again or just let my FIL do the job?

Luvv,
The EC books, what other titles would u recommend? I have not order yet, waiting for hubby to look at the titles list then decide

pixie,
My hubby let Z try explore the real scissors (metal blade) & he enjoyed cutting thru the papers! Initially i was against the idea to expose him to sharp object cos i scare he might hurt himself. Then again, hubby said i am over-protective. Since he is curious, we shld let him try but thru the safe way lah. As for knife, not yet. And i hardly have the chance (time) to cook for the boys although i love to try. Will see how

shannonbaby,
tks for answering my doubts! I just wanna make sure is not otherwise & i've got the message correctly
So, the cc teachers can be untrained ah even though they were employed as qualified full time teacher? Shouldn't there be some minimum requirements (qualification) set by MOE or MCYS being a cc teacher?

Re: Gathering on 1st Sept
i can't cos the places are too far (inconvenient as no car, no direct bus etc) & is on a wkday. If wkends then possible

party pack ideas

what I did for tricia’s 2yo celebration at school was to buy 15 of the plastic-blade scissors and 15 boxes of pentel crayons. The scissors were distributed by the teachers to the older children since they have better hand-eye coordination.

Being time-strapped, I simply bought a pack of white label stickers (rectangular), 1 sheet of birthday themed stickers & pasted 1 sticker on 1 sticker label at the left side, then used colored pen to write my #1’s name on the right side & stuck it on the box of crayons / paper packaging of the scissors. Voila! I didn’t even wrap the scissors and crayons up. That was it for the party favors. You can put all the items in a colorful bag & assign someone to give them out to the little children.

By the way, each scissor and crayon costs less than $2 after Popular 20% discount. Popular currently is having the 20% discount till end July (for members) & you need to present the coupon which is found in the members magaizine.

Steph, I guess it is not easy either way. Raeanne couldn't talk at 18 months so she was screaming n crying herself hoarse, bang her hands against the locked door so hard it must have been painful. I tried explaining to her that I will come back n fetch her but dun know how much she understood. Just have to harden the heart n go lor. I think better if u let your fil bring him bah... :p

Hi prata queen,

Glad to hear tt cos the principal looks really young lor. But I saw tt she has a lot of certification n when we talk to her, we find her really experienced n passionate bout kids. Btw, we r paying $600 after subsidies....expensive a not?

Hi Kitsune,

Thanks! But actually I would like to hv just one more so tt amanda would hv a companion but have to see if hubby is agreeable. Even so, we have to wait till next year cos I just started my new job not too long.

Hi Steph,

My office is at Changi n I stay at Buangkok so need to wake up early to come to work. Although my working hours start at 9 am but we hv flexible hours. And thus I prefer to come early so that the traffic is not so heavy and I can take the opportunity to clear my work.

Btw, do most mummies work late here? What is the usual OT hours u will put in each day? I really hope to hv a job which I can leave on the dock...how nice rite.

Re : 1 Sept gathering

I would love to join the gathering too but weekday is quite tough. Can we hv it on a weekend pls? How about picnic at Botanic gardens?

Tongtong, aiyoh! raeanne slept at 10+pm n I totally forgot to watch the show at 1030pm.

Elmo, oic, ya, u planning for dragon baby then? ;)

Morning all!

HR is fighting another bout of flu. Started on Sat. Fever (very mild though) come and go. Runny nose and a bit of cough. Not too bad. So let him fight with it naturally. Hope he would clear it by today or tomorrow.

Elmo,
I knock off work on time everyday, for the past 4 years :) Sound like an ideal job for a mum right? But I am thinking of changing job though, hoping to get a change of fresh air, kinda stagnant in this job already. If I ever go for another job, I will make sure that I can knock off on time everyday.

morning mummies...

Wanna ask you ladies.. do you give your tods an egg daily har ?? I heard some say good to give egg everyday but some say no. So far I seldom give them egg at all :p

kitsune,
yup not easy either way & inevitable to go thru this process for #2 hor. Last night Z threw tantrums, kept pestering my hubby to open the fridge for him. He whine n cry loudly. We asked what he want & why he wanna open the fridge, he couldn't tell us. In the end, we gave him yakult & some choc cakes, he was satisfied n happy liao. Sigh...their mood can change so drastic one! Oh today, we let our FIL bring Z to cc cos hubby dun wanna be late for work again.

elmo,
i dun work late unless i need to rush or coordinate some important events/exhibition. I can leave on the dock & co allow flexible hrs so that's the main reason why i have worked in the co for almost 9yrs.
I dun get paid for OT. If there's a need for OT, usually is 1 or 1.5hrs/day.
hey thanks for the link to the EC books
Do u order using the US$ or SG$ rate ?

Chaye,
I used to give HR 1 egg per day. But now no more. He doens't really like egg that much also. I give whenever he is willing to take.

Steph,
Yesterday I was thinking, maybe it will be easier for #2 to adapt to cc, esp for our kids with age gap is small, cos the big brother/sister will be there also, so the #2 will feel more comfortable to be left at the cc??

elmo, thanks for the intro to the website.

steph, u can try the trio bear series (brown bear, polar bear and panda bear) and the hungry caterpillar 1st, i think these are the most popular ones.

Elmo
Re school fees of treasure box. I seem to remember I was quoted $480 for the cc at the pasir ris branch. However we did not enroll her in the cc & transferred her once she graduated from their infant care. Now you are quoted $600? Hmm, its either (1) I remember wrongly (2) different branches charge different amounts (3) they raised their fees.

But if the teachers are good at the Parry branch then you may not mind paying. Tricia’s Kinderland charges 660 after subsiday. It used to be 570 until Jun 2010 then increased to 660 in July 2010.

Who is the ‘young P’ with lots of certificate – Juvine?

Eggs
I give tricia 1 quail egg a day, sometimes alternate day. She has eczema & egg allergy since young but I feel she’s old enuf to take eggs in small amt so quail eggs size is ideal.

Kam, Steph, yup I think it's true. My ex colleague has three gals and the third one entered cc at 2 years plus last year while her two sisters were still there. First day, my friend put her for half day cc, next day change to full day Liao cos the gal adjusted so well.

prata_queen

I heard tat although quail egg is small but it's packed with more nutritional value than a chicken egg ! hmm.. maybe I should switch to quail egg alternate days for TT !

kam, kitsune,
true but also depend very much on our children's adaptablity. During my 1st 3days sit in the CC, i witnessed a 20mths boy crying so badly for his mummy while his sister was in the nursery class. So, the teachers also no choice but to let the sister accompany the younger brother throughout the brother's class. So, in other words, the sister couldn't attend her own class properly...then again, perhaps only for the initial period lah. Once the baby brother is more or less settle down his emotion then ok bah.

Luvv,