(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

pixie, your newphew and niece do nothing other than watching tv?? yea i agree it's not very good as X is with them a lot of time and will sure mimic their behaviour. nvm la be patient, x will go to school soon

pixie, yea, i'm reading up a lot of resources now, and tough to get the books i want from library because it's always on loan, so goign to buy directly from the web instead. actually i'm not really "homeschooling" S because i dont create curriculum for him leh.

pixie, good that x loves green veg! they have lots of calcium, that's why x is tall? hehe. mostly kids who takes lots of veg are tall.

tongtong
bolah, x is tall coz im tall. my hb is of an average height for men...

my nephew (pri 1) goes to school and will come back only in the afternoon. yes he will watch some tv but not a lot

my niece is only 4+ but she watches TV most of the time. else she sticks very close with X to play together.
honestly im wondering issit because her lack of speech makes it such that X doesnt have the "right" playmate to make him talk well?? i know its an evil thought but its been making me ponder much...well, well....

she just lacks the human touch (parents attention), she is really very poor thing. even school principal ask me whats wrong with her. she suspect that my niece is mildly autistic coz she dont look at ppl in the face when we talk to her...

library
can do reservation? only $1.50, then go read + photostat the parts you wanted. thats only if you dont want to buy the books lah...
btw, if you advocate learning thru play, you can go get david elkind's books. i really recommend it.

potty training
on sat, we went giant tampines...to buy a bicycle for x (most of them on sale now wor)
i took x to the toilet (far end of the place, while i was right at the opp end) a total of 3 times because he kept scratching his backside (meaning poo urge).
then hb took him 1 time coz i was very tired (ms) from all the walking very fast (still need to pass by the stinko foodcourt too)
finally in giant (after 4 rounds), x cries and say he "sai sai" liao *faintz*
so he was grabbing his poo so that it wont fall off, and i had to carry him (at odd angle so that the poo wont get stuck to him shorts) and RAN to toilet.
thereafter, he pooed 2 more times (after i cleared up the initial mess). only the last time he sat onto the toilet bowl - because i forced him down onto the toilet bowl.

after much chastising from us, on sunday, he suddenly cried (while at home) that he's got the urge and we sat him onto the toilet bowl..and hey presto a long strand of poo came out.

wah lau, i never knew i could get so excited over poo (like steph's feeling with R)

pixie/tongtong,
It's greenfield montessori that HR is going to, starting next Monday.

Pixie,
Not true for me. Me and hub are veg eater, we eat very little meat, before, during and after pregnancy, even during confinement. HR used to eat every type of veg until he turned 2 years old. Now don't eat veg at all at home. At school, he still eats veg so not too bad. I hope he will slowly change back to like veg. Over the weekend, I have been thinking a lot on his food intake, and the conclusion is I didn't do enough for him, I have not been hardworking enough. Hope I can do more starting Aug.

Steph,
The tv is just next to the entrance, don't really know whether it's part of the play room or not cos we have never seen them conducted a class. Ya, do spot check if you can, but don't be surprised if the kids kept entertained with tv after 5-5.30pm. Actually I think it's very much depends on the teachers. At HR's present cc, the teachers take rotation for the last shift. A teacher likes to let them play at the playground outdoor, which is the best. A few let them play with the toys independently, while a few let them watch tv.

tongtong,
Probably more appropriate to call it "home-learning" than home-schooling? Read this from babyship's blog, where she shared about home teaching/learning (she is pretty good in doing activities with her kids if you read her blog). A couple of her friends started a website on homes learning, read this website - http://www.myplayschool.net/

kam
in the website, it talks about lapbooking.
its a phenomenon, i can tell u! lots of mummies/parents SWEAR by lapbooking. i saw some really enthu mummies before too

pixie,
That's the first time I came across lapbooking from that website. I actually haven't explored that website yet, only read babyship's blog yesterday night. What's lapbooking? Teaching the kids through notebook?

pixie,
the principal replied me on the teacher's qualification query...guess what? she said both the teachers (english & chinese teacher for Z's class) are currently undergoing the Diploma in Early Childhood Education. Both teachers have been sent for relevant training i.e. Curriculum Development and Personal Effectiveness. So, meaning what??

No centre can be perfect to our liking so certain things can compromise, we close one eye loh.

and very soon, X will be korkor liao

prata_queen,
Ya, I read that. I am actually thinking of something else - that elmo may be planning to expand the family, hence she asked about the infant care :)

pixie,
Ops! Totally wrong idea. Now I know what's lapbooking - a project book or file folder, laid out in a creative manner, that fits in the child's lap. It is a wonderful hands-on home learning tool.

kam
its actually very simple.
its like a mini folder etc that your child even can do on their lap.
for example, the theme is animals with 4 legs. so you find all sorts of activities that your child can do. eg cutting & pasting, drawing & colouring, writing - all related to the theme.

by then your child will go through many mini skills while doing lapbooking. like how cutting + pasting teaches hand + eye coordination, spelling, counting blah blah; while at the same time they learn thru the fun way of animals with 4 legs...
which means your child learns alot from very simple activities
and they remember. because thru lapbooking your child enjoys the process and remembers the outcome

Never thought of not buying a ticket for barney show for raeanne. I guess i dun dare to take the risk cos if they found out, plus an old malay neighbor thought raeanne was at least 3 years old n she was surprised when I told her she is 2.5 years old.

Hehe, kam very sharp neh, Elmo got good news to share too?

prata_queen,
HR hasn't gone for the trial yet. Now you remind me to make the call. Will try to do it this weekend.

Read from the FB both S and C enjoyed it very much. Luvv is even thinking of signing C up! Made me wanted to bring HR for the trial.

Hi Kam,

Did you visit Ichiban Montessori? Greenfield is just 1-2 houses away. Javin is in Ichiban. The Gombak camp CC i heard very good reviews but they are very full.

Jacelyn,
Yes, I visited Ichiban. But sorry to say we don't like it. I read/heard better review on Ichiban than Greenfield, but we go with our own feeling. Gombak camp one is really nice! How's Javier at Ichiban so far?

prata_queen,
I remember they mentioend >$400 per term.

pixie, so is your niece autistic? my niece was like your niece, mildly autistic too, but she has improved a lot as her case is mild.

Thanks for recommending me the book. i have so many books to finish! really dunno how .:p

Hey so funny leh when you talked about X's pooing experience.

Mandy, i dont know, maybe do until 6yo. This is my plan now for the moment lor, anyway we wont know what will happen in the future leh, maybe i give up halfway , or i might be so enthu that i will continue thru primary?? hehe. Anyway, i will do step by step la.

kam, HR is not eating well these days? yea you are right, i think i'm doing "unschooling" and "home learning" as what you said hehe. Thanks for the blog link, am going to read now. Pauline and Rachel from that blog, which one is babyship?? and what is babyship's blog addy?

prataqueen, did mygym call u? anyway shaun wasnt attending the trial la, he was in the gym for 2 terms already. he really enjoyed it and still asked me to bring him there everyday. i'm pretty upset that we are not continuing maybe because got 感情 with the teachers liao.

jacelyn, try to boost javin's immune system, jiayou!

Jacelyn,
OIC. He enjoys the cc beside falling sick? You adjusted to your part time working life already? Better or worse than being a SAHM :)

tongtong,
Both are not babyship lah. One or both is her friend. Her blog is http://babyship.blogspot.com/ Ya, I think when you don't use the term "homeschooling", you would feel less pressure and enjoy more? Home-learning is a good word, we, be it SAHM or FTWM, are going home-learning to a different extend, right?

tongtong, actually i think our scarce resources ie $$$ can be utilised for enrichment such as Berries, I can Read or Tien Hsia.

nope, mygym did not call me.

No offence, but the benefits of mygym is more intangible while the 3 i mentioned above are more directly related to P1 success.

Any mommies intending to enroll them at 3yo?

I intended to enroll in Jan 2011 but hubby says the chinese language teacher from china at #1's cc is doing a great job & he sees no need to spend extra on Berries.

I agree the teacher is great but still would like her to attend Berries. Maybe delay 1 yr & enroll when she's 4yo.

Pixie, oh i tot joan is one of the owner of that blog :p

Oh, S has finished his 2 terms ma.. and i'm not working liao, so definitely wnana save $$. And for the 2 terms there, i roughly know what they do already and do the same at home with him lor! like the circle time which he enjoys so much wor. I actually do morning song with him everyday, then after that he will request for "mygym's circle time :p

kam, thanks for the link!!

Hi prata queen,

Oic...I went to the one at Parry Avenue. OVerall the environment is good. Not sure bout the teachers though. Hopefully they are good too!

Hi Kam, pixie

Hee hee....oh no, i m not pregnant. Will definitely break the news to all if I am. I just wanna start Amanda in school so that she will be more sociable. I m just few months into my new job so I guess the 2nd one has to wait le. Furthermore, my hubby not really keen to hv a 2nd one. Hee hee...

elmo

i heard the parry branch is more established & has word of mouth reccomendations. The pasir ris branch is newer. Hope Amanda enjoys her new cc.

Is the cc fees still $480?

elmo,
u are so early...u start work before 8am? hey yr new job need to travel alot?

Anyway lousy morning for me. This morning, we sent Z to CC cos my FIL got a medical appointment in the morning. He was still eager to put on his school uniform this morning at home. When we reached CC, he was ok to walk into the school too. He placed his shoes in his designated shelf n eyes started to turn red & watery....just when i thought i can pass him over to his english teacher, he started sobbing n it became uncontrollable until he vomitted his milk which he took before we went out of the house. Must be the car ride & his cough+crying which made him puke! His puke also kenna my dress, my shoes & my tights! Hiyo...messy...the whole floor also soaked with his puke(milk)!
So he cried on/off & kept cling onto me like a koala bear. Hubby kept chasing me cos we were late for work liao...so no choice, have to be hard hearted...i asked the teacher to help me carry him into the class...it was of course unwilling & i kinda have to force him over to the teachers (need 2 of them to hold him) as he was struggling so much & so hard...he was literally wailing for ME..."Mummy来Mummy来MummyMummyyyyyy" i felt like crying...like someone stabbed a knife to my heart...is that bad loh

Steph
i understand how u feel. initial stage is like tat. but when he settle down his emotions, he will feel better. everything step we take, sure got pros and cons.

just like nw i pull J out of CC, i can see he is very happy with my parents. But i can also see he misses having friends. yest when we were outside, he was so happy that a little boy played with him... and he didnt want to leave.

so did u went back home to change or head to work?

Steph,
Oh, sayang sayang. That's the worst part of being a FTWM, I totally understand how you feel! He would be okay at the cc, don't worry too much, k!

Jess,
This is already his 4th week in the CC. Past 2 weeks, he was ok...more or less settle down his emotion. Perhaps that was bcos he was particularly attached to his chinese language teacher & this early morning his chinese teacher was not in the CC yet, will only be in at 9.30AM so he kinda felt lost i guess & insecure bah. The teachers said that he has got very strong separation anxiety. I just have to give him more time.
Nope i didn't went back home to change cos late for work liao. I just clean up myself at the cc & making sure no obscene stains left loh, wet n smelly onli

steph

What a morning. Can imagine the scene and we have no choice but to hard hearted and put him into the teacher's arms. But you went to work wet and smelly leh...

Later lunch time buy a new dress to make yourself feel better !

Steph, it's like that. Raeanne will also act up n cry if I am the one bringing her to pg. Tried n tested a few times Liao so that's why I only bring her back from pg but dun bring her there Liao. I agree with u, really heartbreaking to hear them scream n cry for you but got to be hard hearted n go. I did that to raeanne when she was just 18mths so Xander considered 'xing fu' Liao, at least he is older n can verbalise himself better.

Elmo, oic, why your hubby not keen on no. 2? Amanda so cute.

Jess, how's Javier? Seldom hear from u since u started new job. Must be much busier at work ya?

Sigh, my bro just SMS last night that he has hfmd n he carried raelynn on Sunday night. Arghh!!! Me, hubby n raeanne all got it before but not raelynn. Wish there is some prevention medicine that she can take. :p

steph
then did u go into office's toilet n wash more??
smelly ah?
aiyah that hurts hor, to see him crying like that. but no choice leh...

Pauline
J is gd
happily playing with my parents everyday. haha. as for work, slightly busier due to the office move. and nw, finally moved in. -_-"
thanks for asking. heehee..

alamak. cry until vomit.

but must be prepared. even after Z settles into cc, if he has been away from school for 1 week or more eg holiday or illness, chances are the kid will cry again when gg to cc

steph, dont feel bad, *hugs*

jess, let's bring the kids out together to play again lor! i went bukit timah last weekend, and shaun had so much fun at the playground and walking around the park.

pauline, oh, you and your hubby also had hfmd before ah!! tonight channel 8 ,1030 got the program that talks about herbs for preventing or relieving hfmd. watch tonight!

Twinkystar
yes, finally.
next time can ask both our mothers to bring them out. haha...

tongtong
sure sure. I am looking forward to gatherings too.
Did i missed out something? is there a gathering on 1 sept?

Jess yea, there will be a gathering on 1sep. that's a wed, is it a working day? If not, we can gather earlier hehe, during the weekends.

Let me get the ball rolling......

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Fun at the park</font></font>

Date: 1st Sep 2010 (Wednesday, but it's a school holiday)
Time: 10am
Venue:
1) Jacob Ballas Children Garden
2) Marina Barrage
3) Other suggestion

Mummies who are interested:
1. Yvonne
2. tongtong
3. Mandy
4. Jess
5. Kam
6. Pauline(?)

We will gather and let the toddlers run around in the park and play with each other. Hopefully mummies can have some time to sit down and chat. Each family bring some fruits/tidbits/drink to share? Not a proper meal, but something (healthy) for the kids to munch on. Probably won't do lunch, cos most tod will need thier nap by then?