(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kam, so hav u found new cc for HR? i think it is reali tough to find a nice and clean cc,and the to hav gd teachers even tougher... kekke

pixie, aiyo x so cute leh haha.

yvonne, does B listen or understand u when you explain things to him?

Outing: Count me in!!

yvonne
its hard for me to imagine, coz when we last met (our kids were still 1y+ rite) in macdonalds with grumpus, B doesnt really looked like a spirited child. my sister's #2 is a spirited child and i dont see that in B that time...hurhur...the fox tail havent come out issit?

btw, what i meant was, different personalities let different ppl cope with each other. like you (introvert) cannot match B (extrovert). so those personality books (especially for parents) will let u know more indepth about different (and sub) personalities so that you are more aware of B's ways of behaving.
it wont help you to discipline him but at least understand him more
no worries wont take it offensively

grumpus, my girl is can 'talk' v well.. or rather very talkative... but luckily, we manage to find a cc whic is supportive of toiletrained kids. when she joined , most of peers in diapers,but her teacher will bring her to toilet. reali blessed tht she got a truly 'nice, caring n patient 'teacher!

kam
yes i understand that. thats why i asked the other way round. will other CCs let toilet trained kids NOT to wear diapers? coz i heard more of aqua's story than the other way....errrr...get me?

setup:
HR still wear diapers in CC? toilet trained liao rite? will the teachers still ask him to wear that during nap etc?

tongtong
ms oredi in since the day i found out. today is quite bad leh, cant even walk normal pace...must hobble...only told my boss lar

aqua,
Yes, will be going to the Amazing Star at CCK. Actually there are 2 others montessori school available, but I am tired of looking already. So stick to this one. Will see how it goes and wait for the vacancy at Cherie Hearts @ Gombak.

It's funny that all the cc with no montessori mentioned are full. only those with montessori labelled still have vacancy. All these cc that I am looking at are within the same price range, ie, 600-700-ish. Making me wonder is it because parents are worry that montessori program are too relax and hence the kids may not be able to catch up with the mainstream? But nowadays all cc, be it montessori or not, as long as registered with MYCS, have to follow the mainstream curriculum leh.

pixie, oh i tot that day you went for scan you said you dint experience MS after the first day you found out ma. if you told your boss liao then i think he should be understanding to let you work from home?

Kam,
sincerity is better than empty promises. I approach a wait n see attitude, will see how the cc perform & Z progress come September

oh ya, given a choice i am sure u wouldn't wanna transfer HR away to another cc but things have turn sour (things no longer felt the same after what the principal has said to u right?). What most important is the principal's perception towards you has not changed at all & how to continue collaboration with you in future? Then again, think on the bright side...maybe it is also gd for HR to have a change of enviroment & expand his social circle more widely!

pixie,
OIC. HR's cc practices that once toilet trained, then no need to wear diaper loh. HR is not fully toilet trained yet. It takes longer because he poos very often! So the teachers only let him go diaperless after he has made his 1st big business of the day. At home, we didn't do much, lazy lah, so the process is very the slow. Though not bad.

steph,
Exactly! You read my mind! Ya lah, can only think positively!

tongtong,
All before subsidy. And yes, I have $0 subdidy. Most likely XY's nanny is going to take care of her till the coming CNY only, then she mostly doesn't want to be a baby sitter anymore. So we are aiming at the Cherie Hearts @ Gombak for both of them.

pixie,
little wings did not object diaperless for Z but it is us (me & hb), we think he is not ready yet BUT wont object the teacher to train him. Since Z still not fully toilet trained & we dun wanna add too much stress on him for a start. Firstly cos he gotta adjust to a new enviroment, secondly he is still not too use to a stranger (the cc aunty/teacher) to shower him & he will cry leh so is best we let him adapt slowly...go slow & steady. Once he is comfortable with the enviroment & teacher/s, he'll be able to toilet train more quickly n successfully i supposed

aqua,
tks will take note

chaye,
my cc nap is abt 2.5hrs. You mean different centre gave/allow different total nap hrs ah? I thought more or less the same?

steph, yea i agree that you let z go slow and steady with his toilet training, becuase he is still adapting to the cc ma.

tongtong,
cc at workplace is definitely guarenteed more ex than those at residential area. Some more the Cherie Hearts you asked is at Raffles Place right, sure ex lah. But this one at Gombak doesn't open on Sat, so maybe that make the price a bit lower, in fact, it's lower than other branches.

Chaye/steph,
HR's current cc take nap for between 2-3 hours.

tongtong,
I'm SAHM for 1 year and 3 mths liao

kitsune,
Same, I usually whack him in the evenings too cos patience already running low and gotta prepare dinner and get him to eat. He's usually quite ok in the mornings but everyday after his afternoon nap, we start to "fight" liao. Maybe he's ok in the mornings cos he's used to the routine but there isn't any fixed routine during that 3-4 hrs in the late afternoon. Everyday when my hubby come home he will know if I had a good/bad day by looking at my drained expression...hahaha.

pixie,
Yah lor, the fox tail haven't come out yet. The older he gets, his personality really shows. He spends his sat mornings at my in-laws place and they (my sil, mil and sil) rotate in shifts to keep him entertained and out of trouble...talk about being a handful! The 3 of them are totally drained by the time my hubby picks him up around 1pm...hahaha...he has that much energy.

kam, oic! then it's really not worth putting them near at workplace leh, city area, so polluted somemore wor, curric all the same, but more ex! ok la the rental is ex, so can understand that.

yvonne, will b play with his toys quietly or must engage somebody to play with him?

yvonne
sounds very much like my sister's #2. she at home needs parents, maid, and mil to rotate and look after. she bounced around non stop, and is very very hyper and refuses to take instructions.
you'll get very affected by her hyperactivity and sensitivity (cries or get angry easily). affects your mood rite?

steph, kam
i was thinking hard about full day CC for x (if mil cannot cope with #2)....
can i eg ask the cc to let x nap at this timing, or all kids must follow the same timing?
or eg i ask cc to let x sleep for 1.5 hrs instead of 2.5 etc?
because i want to strictly adhere to let x sleep early at night. so he cannot sleep too much/too late in the afternoon
aiyah. how ah? i bet the CC wont let me have them do that

tongtong,
B don't like playing on his own, he'll end up getting angry and throwing a tantrum. He likes playing with people but the problem is he doesn't want to stop. I'm alone with him at home so naturally I will need to fix dinner or just sit down to recharge my batteries but he cannot accept that and will go hysterical when I tell him we need to stop playing.

pixie,
Yah lor, I get very drained and depressed at the end of most days and if I punished or whacked him in the process, I'll feel guilty too. That's why I seldom come in here now and don't really read the mummies' blogs cos it makes me feel like a lousy mum when I see how well the other children are behaving. I even told my hubby I might need to see a psychologist...hahaha.

I am on leave today and went to 2 CCs to take a look at the environment. Initially, wanted to start J on full day CC in Dec or Jan 2011 cos term 4 of his playgroup ends in Nov. Then my mum can go help out at our family business in the morning till 3plus 4, fetch J back at dinner time. However, something cropped up..my grandma who is also helping at the business threw tantrum at the part-time worker and she was not happy and quit. My uncle was furious and now not enough pple to help our liao. So my mum wants to start J on CC in Aug/Sep after the current term ends.

Kam,
When I walk past my area, I saw Amazing star at SK too. It is at the landed property area.

yvonne,
B has grown up so much from the last x when i saw him at GGB. He's still a handsome boy

Pls dun feel like a lousy mum, you are the best mum that B could have. It is not easy to raise a special kid u know. When u said B belongs to a spirited child, did u specifically look for/seek any specialist opinion & they classify him as a spirited child? If no, then u can't conclude him as one bah?

yvonne,
B looks so different from when i last saw him at macs.
he was so quiet and guai then. now can see he's the type with a mind of his own.

pixie,
Don't think they will allow. Yes, every kid in cc follow the schedule, eat, sleep, learn and play. You worry too much lah. HR sleeps 2-3 hours in school, at night he still goes to bed at 9pm what. Maybe the first few weeks is tough, but once he settles down with the routine, he is okay one, don't think too much lah.

Yvonne,
B is so cute! Haven't seen him for so long already! Aiyoh, can sense that you are really very stress out leh. Relax! afterall B is growing up so well, and I remember you mentioned that he did very well in classes also right, that he learns very fast compared to his peers? We all have our own problems also, different types of problems. HR has had his bad days also, but I seldom mentioned here or in my blog, because at the first place, I don't want to recognise/label that as a bad thing, I just see it as a phase and try (have to keep reminding myself) to be very relax. After a while, he gone over the phase and becomes okay again. Each child is different and unique, we don't just say this for fun, it's true, every of our todds is so different and unique, be it good or bad, appreciate who he is. You probably need a break? B is still going for classes? Come and meet us for an outing?

Steph,
It's not ADHD which needs medical diagnosis. When I classify him as spirited child, it's referring to his temperament and personality traits. He's like any normal child just that he's MORE intense, persistent, sensitive, etc etc. His overall character is just stronger than other children so he more difficult to handle. It's not a medical condition so I can't bring him to the doctor.

pixie,
little wings will gave parents a monthly routine schedule list for the kids. Like a timetable, eg
8.30 to 9am - breakfast
9 to 10am - outdoor/class activity
10.30 to 10.45am - shower
11.30 to 12.30pm - lunch
12.30 to 12.45pm - change diaper
1 to 3pm - nap time
3 to 3.30pm - snack time
I can't remb exact timing schedule but something likdat so I don't think the CC will encourage or let you change timing according to your request else very messy if all parents wanted to follow own timing woh. You know what i mean?

Kam,
*sob sob*...trying hard to relax and have a calm mind to deal with my little monster. When he's good, he's really an angel who melts my heart but those days are usually short-lived...hehehe.

I don't mind meeting up but weekdays are better for me...weekends always packed. Anyone wants to meet up on teachers' day, 1 sep (wed)??? It's a school holiday mah...hahaha.

yvonne,
i see n thanks for the explanation. I agree with kam, u really need to loosen up, take a break ok.
Nowadays it is quite common to see children display any or all of the 9 traits of a spirited child but how often do parents realise/discover that? Perhaps as they grow older, their temperament and personality might change for the worse or better...we can't tell can we? Whatever it is, i am still learning to relax too cos i've got TWO monster leh:p

Yvonne, yup ESP if she doesn't want to nap or deliberately shout loudly to wake Mei Mei up or distract mei mei when i am trying to bf, then I get super chek. Haha, u should read my blog n u will feel better. Mine has lots of posts on how naughty raeanne is. I dun 'self censor', good or bad, everything is in cos I am documenting it like a diary of real happenings mah. But maybe next time when she grows up, she will ask me for compensation for beating her. Hee. ;p

Pixie, elfa cc nap time also 1-3pm.

Yvonne,
Who is the author to the book of Spirited child?

Verene,
so you confirm the cc already?

Pauline,
is it that bad? Now i'm scare for C, she's rather clingy nowadays, demanding my presence besides her all the time. Especially after trying to get her to cc.

yvonne, *hugs* to you, you are doing great and dont get affected or compare your child with others. When you cook or on PC , what will he be doing? I think you can bring him to outdoor more, to the nature, or to the park or even playground to release his energy. come meet us, dont be so stressed up. yeah 1 sep is ok for me!

kitsune,
just went to read ur blog since u said u never self censor. now i truely understand wat u mean abt RA being a spirited kid.
dat pic of RL sleepin on the bumbo seat is so damn funny :p n when she smiles, she look so like u

Verene,
that's fast!...

i'm withdrawing my girl, talked to the principle, agree that we should also give more time to my girl, well, throughout the whole session, she kept asking me what we observe is it becos my girl told me or whatever. And even the playground incident or whatever, she said that as parents, we should guide and explain to them..i was thinking, explain what? that adults do tell lies? I guess i expected too much from a childcare environment ba. From what she mentioned, seems that she think we're going to place her in another CC which i kept insisting that she's not suitable for childcare environment...and she asked me..."based on what?"..err..really don't know how to answer her since i'm not a very vocal person from the beginning.

Pauline,
how's your maid now? changed her mind?

Luvv,

I dont like the idea of going to many places to look and see cos I am flicker-minded. End up i will be left with no decision. :p The principal told me they had bought the next door house and will expand their premises. mayb J's class will be at the new place next year. I like the idea of them expanding the area.

Luca, haha ya lor, some days, by the time raeanne sleeps, I sm too tired to even post about how bad my day was. :p my raelynn so poor thing! ;p

Luvv not yet but my agent is asking her family to SMS n tell her not to ask for home leave so I act blur n lie low meantime. ;)

Pauline,
Good that your agent can help in this, else you really need to place your girl into cc, Elfa does has good reviews. btw, i think i saw you, your girl and your hubby in Tampines mall basement 1 on wednesday night. I was inside Bee Cheng Hiang, by the time i come out, you were nowhere around.

Verene,
Kinderland's fees are quite steep right?

Ya, my agent's staff very very fierce one. Even my hubby said ask carine dun scold the maid. But I like her cos my maid scared of her.

Oh really? Should have called out to me, i very blur, can only recognise a few mummies whose blogs i read. U got a blog too? Can share?

Yup I went to interchange to collect my specs. Then went to buy oyster mee sua from ximending snacks. Hubby ask me why suddenly want to eat that, told him I scared cannot go Taiwan in dec after all if the maid die die wants to go back. :p

I have no blog now...eh..don't do updates, quite lazy with the updates...lolz..i'm in your FB list ma...update through there lor...went for movie on wednesday night with hubby, guess we can't do that anymore when no. 2 arrives :p

Luvv,
The author is Mary Sheedy Kurcinka.

tongtong,
I will usually surf net and cook/prepare whatever I can when he's sleeping otherwise I'll switch on his favourite TV show to keep him occupied. If he's in the kitchen with me, he always tries to grab my knife, scissors, etc...we had an incident the other day when he grabbed the knife when I was washing my hands and dropped it on the floor...it landed 2cm away from his feet...sigh...he's an accident waiting to happen.
I normally bring him to the playground for a little while before his class. You'll be able to differentiate him from other children cos his classmates are all playing normally but he'll run, scream and laugh loudly even though he's playing on his own. He gets high and over-excited and will be covered in perspiration after 10-15 mins of play so I also don't really want to bring him liao.

Re: 1 Sep Outing
I know it's a long way from now but it's school holiday mah...hahaha. Now always have to plan according to his holidays. But I have no idea where to go...any suggestions? I can think of these...

Suggestions:-
1) Jacob Ballas - Kids can do water-play then we proceed to botanic gardens for picnic? Bring your own food?
2) AMK MacDonalds - the playground at the park next door has been upgraded recently.

Went fir dept outing at Safra Mount Faber for bowling the whole afternoon ! Shiok. Then went shopping at OG cos got sales and bot 2 pairs of shoes and some pj for kids. Hubby got nothing. And went for facial after tat ! Came back mum asleep cos down with fever and my #1 cough and running nose. Both have seen doc. Sigh.

Steph/KAM
Very good sleeping hours ! But some kids u know nap only like 1 hr then wake up then how har ? Will he disturb the rest of the children huh? Tat's y I ask la :p

Luvv
U really decided to withdraw your gal ? Then stay at home for a while or look for other centre ?

Luca, i think she does love Mei Mei in her own way but still naughty lar. Like to disturb her n test our reaction. Nowadays I tell her dun wake Mei Mei cos if she wakes up n cries, u cannot sleep n mummy got to feed Mei Mei cos she will be hungry. But still doesn't work all the time lor. :p strangely when Mei Mei was born, all say she looks like hubby but now I also think she looks more like me.

1 sept, what's the plan? I got dental appt that day n hubby should be free.