(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kam/pixie

my #1 is in P1 this yr already started no exam. So we are taking it slowly

Chaye,
According to the news, MOE has pilot program for this in 16 schools. And it has been positive. So come year 2013, ALL school will not have exam for PI. Maybe your #1 school is one of the 16?

topic for the moment:
what did you had for lunch today?

me:
i had wonton mee
and cold chng teng

i cannot take cold rite? but i bae tahan broke rules today

huh why chng teng is no no ah??
i dunno all these i only know cannot take cold...

mian xian? issit wet wet kind or what? sounds....yummy!

pixie
Those "cooling stuff", try to avoid.. like grassjelly, starfruit, the big type of banana.. etc

I just had rice with pork and broccoli.

Kitsune,
Maybe depends on individual, I heard of scary stories like breastfeeding mummies getting pregnant when their baby is only a few mths old.

Maybe those mummy, their menses are coming. My menses also didnt come until I stop breastfeeding for Xavier last time. This time round should be the same.

I had "niang tou fu" with laksa gravy :)

Depending on your body bah, I ate everything when I was pregnant, heaty or cooling or whatever, even pineapple, a piece a day :) I don't believe in all this.

kitsune,
Icy is right. BFing is not a guarenteed method of contraception. "Accident" can happen! The catch is you really don't know when you would start ovulating again. So if you have unprotectively sex, there is always a chance/risk that you may be ovulating just ngam ngam that month! And what happened when you BFing is not neccesarily applied this time round. But if you are keen on #3, then no worries, safe your effort of TTC, and welcome the "accident" with open arms :)

pixie
haha a lot of all these old folk myth of what cant be eaten. The scientific one is those deep sea fish with high mercury content should be avoided. But anyway for #2, I also less control.. :p

pixie,
i take practically everything. Hot and Cold (mostly cold) but i avoid grass jelly..i think that's the only thing i avoid?

ok luvv, icy
will keep that in mind. i basically eat anything except cold drinks leh...

hey btw, who been to club med bintan/cherating/phuket/bali?
any comments?? coz they have petit club for kids 2-4yo kind...

pixie
everything in moderation should be fine. :D

I remember mom2nat went club med bintan before. Think quite enjoyable for kids.

pixie,
u sound like a "ignorant" mum having her 1st bb. hehe

i ate everything too, moderation is the key. most important is must be happy and not worry too much lor.

ahhhhh dunno worth it or not? its ard SGD1200 per adult & $400 per child for 3 nites stay - phuket or cherating
i gian the australia one....but must make my own flight arrangements to hamilton island. will skip this one coz i been to hamilton island before liao leh...and should cost a BOMB~

luca
thats coz for the #1, i didnt touch any food for 1st 5 mths due to ms....then 6th to 9th mth i just eat everything except drink cold stuff
so now im like a ignorant mummy having #1 hohoho

RE: Childcare
Very excited to find a cc that runs by the Singapore Buddhist Federation, and it's at Bukit Batok. And it's very cheap, S$400 for full day childcare before subsidy! Going to visit them and see how it is. We'll be so happy if HR can learn about Buddhism at a young age.

Pixie,
It is up to individual lah but if can avoid cool stuff then try to loh. Since you know now... But I also took lots of cold stuff, drinking soft drink w/o fail every day. :p

Kam,
There is CC runs by SBF? Wah, that is good. I am a Buddhist so I second your choice. Hope the env is the right one for HR. I also want my kids in Buddhist schools but only when they are in P1..

Kam/Krystle
I have a cc here at my place call Hui Ming Development Centre and is run by SBF too and their fees is only $35 per mth. They told me it's the cheapest cc you can find in whole singapore. But their waiting list is super duper long... and whenever I call the centre the background is always very noisy with children screaming and shouting de.

The are strictly on vegetarian diet too
No chance I can get in there too.

pixie,
i want SOKA too! it's near my place but they only accept kids from 4 yrs old, no pre-N, only Nursery. They have an open house next April, asked me to call them to register next March.

krystle/Chaye,
Yes, run by SBF, think maybe they subsidy a bit, that's why the school fees so cheap. I called to enquire. They will open N1 class for 2008 babies in December (they said starts 1 month earlier as a orientation to the child). So I can pre-register HR now, intake is first come first serve basis. N1 is 1:12 ratio. Each class has 1 English and 1 Chinese teacher. Curriculum is very similar to others cc, cos it's registered under MYCS. Only different is that they sing Buddhist hymns, talk a little bit about Buddhist and celebrate Wesak Day. And yes, it's full vegeterian diet, which we also like. It's all full house for existing class. We will go this Saturday to register HR and see if has the 缘分 to join this school.

SOKA is good ! But I dun hv any around my area !

Yes leh Pixie $35 leh really jaw drop. I called last yr they dont even want to put me on waiting list cos way too long :p

Pixie,
I thought $400 already very cheap cos FTWM got $300 subsidy, so only have to pay $100 for full day care. But your $35 is really, jaw drop!

Chaye,
really dirt cheap! so waiting list must be super duper long.

Kam,
Vegetarian diet is nice but do they use glutten a lot in their menu? A lot of trans fat and msg in them right?

Kam,
Your memory super good! Mine already gone after giving birth...kekeke

Pixie,
Like kam said, I've been to Club Med Bintan and we loved it! Very relaxing and all meals included...they will even prepare porridge or whatever you need for your kid. B was only one when we went so he stayed with us instead of joining Petit Club. But we saw the GOs with the petit club members and they were having fun making sand castles, swimming, playing games...but won't X get separation anxiety if you leave him there? We would love to go back there again but the ferry ride is the killer...I get terrible sea sickness and the 1 hr trip was really horrible.

Kam,
I thought those cc set up by SBF are meant for low income families cos it's heavily subsidised. Do they impose an income limit?

Just sharing some info I found on the web. We've been suspecting if B is hyperactive/ADHD cos his behaviour is so different from his classmates and kids in general. I just realised that he's considered a "Spirited Child" - some call high-maintenance child cos they demand so much of their parents' energy and attention.

An excerpt from the article I read called "Raising Your Spirited Child".

You've seen us at the market: we're the ones whose kids are screaming, climbing on shopping carts, begging for candy or a toy. You've seen us at restaurants: our kids hardly eat. Instead, they run around or pop up and stare at other diners. You've seen us at the playground: our kids run, jump, climb, slide, and change activities with blinding speed. You've heard about us: our kids are described as "handfuls." We're the ones who are often asked, "Are you sure he's not hyperactive?" We're the parents everyone has advice for: take a parenting class; be stricter; be more lenient; spank; have tested. But despite all your experience with us, you don't really know us. We are the parents of "spirited" kids. And through Postpartum Education for Parent's Spirited Children Support Group we are learning more about our special kids and how to manage them. Our children are normal but hard-to-raise. Difficult. Challenging. And certainly a handful.

In 1956, Drs. Alexander Thomas, Stella Chess and Herbert Birch began the ground-breaking New York Longitudinal Study, following 133 people from infancy to adulthood. Their goal was to define temperamental characteristics of children as they matured. Nine traits were defined, which we all have in some degree. It's that degree which determines whether a child will be mellow or spirited. The work done by these researchers has been expanded by two authors, Stanley Turecki, M.D. in "The Difficult Child," and Mary Sheedy Kurcinka in "Raising Your Spirited Child."

Using Kurcinka's terms, the nine traits are:
Intensity -- strength of emotional reactions. People often remark how "alert" an intense baby is or how much "personality" she has. While average kids will giggle at something funny, intense children burst into peals of laughter. When they are happy, they are always smiling, laughing, singing. When sad or upset, they are desolate, inconsolable. Intense children are very easily overstimulated. When too wound up they lose their impulse control and often hit, bite, pinch or kick for no apparent reason.

Persistence -- we value persistence in our society, and spirited kids have it -- they will stick to something for a long time. But they also have the negative kind, stubbornness. They "lock in" to ideas and have trouble unlocking. They can never take "no" for an answer; they'll ask for the same thing 20 times in a row if allowed.

Sensitivity -- low sensory threshold for noise, lights, emotions, temperatures, tastes, smells, clothing. Spirited kids are physically sensitive to environmental factors. Lights can't be too bright, noises too loud, clothing too tight or scratchy. Dressing a sensitive child is a special challenge: shirts have itchy tags, pants have elastic waistbands, and socks are full of lint and other booby traps (Kurcinka asks, "How do you deal with a child who can feel the 'seams' in tube socks...?").

Perceptiveness -- Perceptive kids notice everything around them. The smallest detail seldom escapes them. However, these details provide distractions which make completing other tasks difficult. Perceptive kids are often accused of not listening, when in reality, their attention is simply focused elsewhere. Adults have learned to screen out stimuli which are not important -- for example, we often drive on "auto pilot," not paying attention to anything around us except the other cars. Yet, we complete our task without mishap. Perceptive children have not learned to screen out extraneous stimuli, nor have they learned which stimuli are more important to attend to than others.

Adaptability -- to transitions, surprises, changes in schedule or routine. This is the trait that causes a child to melt down about a sandwich. She can't handle getting rectangles when she was expecting triangles. She's not being picky or demanding, she just doesn't adjust well to changes or surprises.

Regularity -- of eating, sleeping and bowel habits. Spirited kids often have irregular body rhythms. As new parents we are told that we will soon learn to distinguish between our baby's various cries. But for the parents of spirited kids, this is not always the case, since the child's eating, sleeping and elimination patterns are not regular. My own daughter, now 4-1/2, still has some problems sleeping through the night, and usually gets up before the sun. Nothing we have tried improves her sleeping patterns -- that's just how she is, and we have learned to adjust.

Energy -- activity level. Most (but not all) spirited kids have limitless energy. From morning until night they are moving. My daughter tap danced all through my pregnancy. When I had an ultrasound at 17 weeks the technician said, "I'm having trouble getting a good picture because the fetus keeps moving too much." Nothing has changed since then!

First Reaction -- to new people, places or experiences. Take a spirited kid into a new situation and they will turn shy and clingy. They need a few minutes to warm up. Ask a spirited kid a "yes/no" question and the first answer will most certainly be a resounding "no!" With a little encouragement and patience, these kids will try something new -- we just have to wait until they're ready.

Mood -- While some spirited kids have generally happy or sunny personalities, others tend to be serious, analytical and cranky. They are not trying to be difficult, this is their disposition, which is directly linked to brain patterns. These kids tend to see what's wrong with things instead of what's right. They don't display their emotions easily, so determining when they are happy is hard. There are no management techniques for moody kids; parents learn to cope by realizing that their kids can't help how they view the world.

These nine traits do not each exist in a vacuum. They also interact. An energetic, intense child may turn into a whirling dervish in an exciting situation, as she becomes more and more overstimulated. An irregular child who is starting to lose it due to hunger may reject offers of food, because of his automatic first reaction, then may continue the rejection due to persistence (persistence seems to interact with all the traits).

Yvonne, thanks for sharing. YES! YES! YES! RaeAnne is definitely a spirited child. She fulfills all the 9 traits. That makes her very difficult to look after. Hope and pray that Mei Mei will not be like that. One spirited child is already a BIG handful. :p

Yvonne,
u are not alone. I think Z is considered a "Spirited Child" too.

Yesterday morning i was at NUH A&E dept cos i fainted in the toilet at home. When i regained conscious, i found myself lying on the cold n wet toilet floor & i struggled to the bedroom where my hb & Z was. Hb was startled to see my pale face. He sent me to A&E immediately.
I stayed in the observation ward for about 3hrs plus to wait for my detailed blood test results. Everything turn out ok except my white blood cell count abit on the high side. The doc said that this could be due to me being badly dehydrated as i was vomitting & having watery stools too. And also superb low blood pressure again. Anyway luckily there were no cause of worry. Given a week MC to rest. As long as no fever spike abv 39deg & no vomitting or blood in stool/urine for the next 3days, i am ok.

Yvonne,
Thanks for the info sharing. It is very useful. I am so ignorant, never heard of the term "Spirited Child"... But I think the article is true, not all difficult to handle kids are hyperactive/ADHD.

But it made me wonder why a child behaves in such a way? Is it in-borned with? Or external environment? Parents' upbringing?
I think many kids are nowdays are really quite a handful.

Kitsune,
JIA YOU! Although RaeAnne can be naughty at times (which kid is not?? Hahaha), there bound to be some sweet, gentle side of her. I am sure this side of her will grow stronger under your patience teaching.
Yes, for now, 1 active kid is enough to handle. Mei Mei looks more demure to me, so you don't worry lah.

Steph,
Take care, ok? Luckily there is no major cause of worry. Take a good rest for the week. Come in and chat loh!

yvonne
congrats on finding some truth!
i saw this book in the library before and flipped through.
actually with so many books available hor, nowadays there is this gradual trend of calling children who are NOT technically autistic or having ADHD - "spirited" children. or they termed this as "autistic-like"

its very difficult (or also very easy) to classify children who are tougher to handle as having autism, aspergers syndrome, or any autism-specturm disorder ADHD. so nowadays doctors and specialists are less quick to diagnose children as such...

last week, starhub tv channel xx talked about children taking pills for ADHD and the show talks about the side effects of the medication, and if it does good or bad to the children.
now the trend is shifting to no medication for ADHD liao

Krystle, haha, ya u r right. Raeanne is very 'tie xin' though naughty. Yesterday, i was commenting that i am very sad that the leaves of my curry plants have been plucked off naughty neighbours' kids. The plant looks so bare now. Raeanne heard me n said 'me put many many curry for mummy'. I am wearing crocs audrey which has a ribbon in front. She always tells me when the ribbon is loose n ask me to tie.

As for raelynn, i used to think she is more a textbook baby. But the way she screams nowadays, n after turning 6 months, start to keep waking up at night, I am also a bit scared that she is influenced by her cheh cheh. :p

pauline, krystle, mandy, chaye,
thanks, i am feeling better now

Gonna do a spot check later at Z's CC on how the teacher/s doing n how Z is coping and later going for my haircut too

steph
hv u tried calling that Friso delivery line to order Friso milk ? I just called. They only hv 900g size and buy 5 get 1 free for total of 6 tins. So each 900g is about $23.33. good deal bo har ?

yvonne
paiseh missed your post about club med bintan
i thought it would be a good opportunity for x to take a plane flight so wont be going to CM bintan (ferry) but perhaps Phuket or Cherating. they are the same price lei, even though Cherating is in Malaysia while Phuket is in Thailand!
i doubt x will have seperation anxiety. got play he will say byebye to us one leh...very realistic fella.
we dunno want to go or not coz for 4d3n its 1.2k per pax and with this amt we can go somewhere further liao

chaye,
i just bought from NTUC on Tuesday their bundle promo pack (2x1.8kg+1x900g) for $116. So each 900g abt $23.20 and i used my dad's senior-citizen concession card, additional 2% off and using Uplus card/fairprice credit card can top up linkspoints leh so more worth it to buy from NTUC than Friso although is free delivery but no points to accummulate woh. Me cheapo mummy so gotta think of more $ saving cos now both my boys drinking Friso3, very xiong ah!

steph
so did the doctor gave you any MC?? u at home or work?
btw, when you called ambulance, did they ask you which hosp you wanna go? or just insist NUH?
we all hate NUH to the core but staying at JE, seems like no choice if anything really happens *touchwood*, coz i heard you now no longer have a choice. ambulance will zoom to the nearest hosp for you

steph,
Take good care. Once you are done with the tests, don't worry too much. Think very likely that you were dehydrated. When you dehydrated, your blood becomes thicker and hence less oxygen was sent to your brain so you blocked out. Plus thta you have low blood pressure. I have low blood pressure too, kinda just hit the bottom side of the normal blood pressure. I used to faint quite often as well, but I am a lot better after giving birth. Just to be careful when you are changing posture etc. And I drink a lot of water everyday.

"Enjoy" your 1 week mc!!!

Yvonne,
Oh, really? I didn't know the SBF one is meant for low income families. The lady didn't tell me on the phone. We are going to visit the centre this Saturday and I will ask them then.

I am looking at 2 other places also. One is Cherie Heart at Gombak camp (have to be on waitlist), and the other one is Amazing Star Montessori (has vacancy). And XY's nanny is our backup plan :)

It's very interesting to read about the article on "Spiritual child". I think every child displays a few of the traits to some extend. I personally think that parents have to be very careful before labelling the kids. Every kid is a handful at times, I think.

pixie,
Yes MC for this week, now at home.
oh i didn't call ambulance, my hubby drives n accompanied me there. I just walk in to A&E dept early morning before 9am i think. Luckily i am singaporean so got govt subsidy else registration would cost $190!! i haven even seen the doctor then gotta pay liao. No wonder pple say, 'can die but cannot sick'.

Kam,
If u read my FB reply u'll know. And thanks