(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i only realised that yest singnet supposed to deliver the modem to me but they didnt!! and we got our new laptop, but no modem...sianz....

just now call up n scold them liao, sighs hope they deliver today or tmr, so that we can have internet connection at home during the long weekend

hi mummies, wana ask advice,
my girl in cc for 5 weeks, but was sick with flu n cough for more than 3 weeks.
my hubby wana to stop sch, so tht she can recover n nursing her health more important....
i reali dilema, finally reach a stage, she wont cry in sch... yet, her cough never go away.
any advice?

morning all,

did i mention tat my workload mite increase by at least 50% with no manpower increase (for time being) in 2nd half of the yr? sianz man .. tink bp monitor equipment must change the highest range liao ... not enuf to measure my bp haha

mylvera, you did mention about the workload but din say 50%. but that's really a lot. they shd increaes ur salary uby 50% too! why dont u switch job

tongtong, she is in fullday cc... v discouraged, she kept having cough n see doc few times, havent recover yet.apparently, her classmates all took turn to fall sick, n the sch got 4 cases of HFMD

Morning, mummies.

Twinkystar,
I replied your email. Please check.

Mylvera,
50% workload is alot... My portfolio will also change tomorrow... More work to come too... Sian... And now my colls said hard to backup my work when I go on trip... I don't know what to do... They better don't ask me to cancel my trip coz I don't WANT!

Aqua,
Could it be the school's environment? If all children fell sick then quite suspicious... Then judging from it, maybe it is better to let her stay at home first? Coughing 3 wks is very long, scared may develop asthma (will it?)??

aqua
issit possible to put her in half day??
well, i just think if your hb wanna pull out - can lah, but hor, eventually your gal will fall sick no matter wat coz children battle viruses and sickness all the time (with or without cc) and this is how they build up immunity...the starting part will be very tough but once they are stronger physically, they wont get sick that often liao.
children have to go thru battles like these and its only a matter of when nia

now regardless she sick or not, cc or not, most impt is to ensure you build up her body well

just my 1 cent worth

krystle
why hard to backup? u doing the stuff alone only and no one else knows??

mylvera
yah ask them to increase 50% pay leh
ok lah be realistic a bit ask then increase 20% pay lor

Aqua, understand your concern. Why not let her go to playgroup first, when her immune system is stronger then let her have full day cc? yea krystle points out that constantly coughing will cause asthma. i think you better bring her to tcm? or make nourishing soup to build up her lungs. and also can try cordyceps. and also bring her to swim.

pixie n kry, half day is nt impossible coz both of us wrking, nobody to pick her from sch. yes. i also v discouraged, finally she dun cry in sch, but her health never get well... also heartpain.
b4 going sch, she onli fall sick once or twice a yr, n usu recover in a week. somemore, now got widespread of HFMD, 4 kids already got it in sch.
my hubby is tinking of send her back to myinlaws house.

pixie,

dun talk abt pay increase lor ... i went ML .. n they penalised me mah ... cos i din contribute 12 full mths... now tis yr is the first time tis boss grading me ... if he grades me low ... i will leave liao .. but b4 i leave .. i will tell the truth to HR n request to see CEO haha

Pixie,
No lah. In fact, I am the spare tyre here who always help whoever's portfolio when they are busy.. Last week told them, they said ok to backup.. Now told me they are getting busy coz month end and some of them are going back to hometown to holidays too... Sian... They are all my seniors (coz I just joined dept for 3 months).. So don't have stuff which I do alone one...

aqua,
dont feel discouraged. No matter what age they start school, sure will have to go through this stage.
My friend only allow her daughter to start going sch when she turns 4 yrs old and its only 3 hrs program. guess what, she has been falling sick since Jan. Every month only attend half of the lesson.

Mylvera,
Me the same too... Previous mgr (coz last yr assessment is still under my previous dept before I transfer) said that coz I never contribute fully to the dept performance so bonus not as much as others.. Not happy about it but nothing I can do...

agreed with shannonbaby
like i said, children sure have to go through this stage, with or without cc. its only a matter of when, how, where only

aiyah i tok as though my boy has been through this stage in cc but PUIZ my boy is not in cc leh KNS

krystle, mylvera
sianz leh, coz you contribute to the company as a whole wat!!
if last yr i contribute to another dept but not yours hence i get lesser bonus then can i say i did not use up your resources so i should be entitled more since i am doing cost savings?!

weird theory...we employees will never agree to management one lah hahaha

pixie, shannonbb
i hope i can stand firm! my parents r also discouraging me, all of them feel strongly tht she is too young n shld stay home till 4 yr old.
me like fighting the battle alone. everyday, i bring her sch, fetch her home n lok after her,i more tired than them, yet i never tot of withdrawing..

aqua
same same lah, my hb not keen in classes so right now weekends i bring my boy to class + settle lunch all by myself. oso will be tired. but for the sake of our child, must be strong. if we not strong, to whom our child can depend on?

yay my positivity is back again!! hah

Aqua,
Think of your girl as the first priority. Is she happy in the cc? She enjoys playing with her little friends? Is coughing really bothering her a lot? Can she still sleep and eat well? If you let her choose, will she choose to be with her grandparents or to go cc? Is she happy staying witht the grandparents?

Falling sick is unavoidable until she builds up her immunity. But if the sickness is bothering her, then it's not good.

Don't think that you are doing this alone. Actually your hub and your parents are all supporting you, on the basis that they want the best for your girl, just like you.

aqua,
yea yea i seconded kam!

today so busy doing hsekeeping (after exhibition so many stuff to tidy/throw/report)...later gotta complete my development plan for 2010 (training & p/t courses etc) sian....so many things....

Verene,
I am ok for 11th Apr trial, thanks!
Oh when u said out tots will attend the class alone? what do u mean? without any teacher ah? or just the group of us for that day 'private trial with teacher/s?'
So, we meet at Popstars City, 11 Unity Street #02-01 Robertson Walk at 10am? Did they advise whether we need to arrive earlier for the tods to warm up? Need to bring any socks? pai sey ask so many questions ah..

kam, for sure, my girl is happier with her grandparents, afterall she juz join cc 1 mth,cannot b compared to grandparents.
she definitely choose grandparents coz everymorn when i bring her to sch, she still weeps n say she wan stay home.

Steph,
I think Verene means for this class, no need parents to accompany, just leave the kids to the teacher. Yesterday night still physco my hubby to go cos can meet so many mummies/tods, but now think I shouldn't. Cos I don't think HR is willing to be left alone with the teacher in a new environment.

Aqua,
Does the school allow temporarily withdrawal? You may want to stop her for a while, let her fully recover from the cough, then try again. But be prepared when you start her again, the bugs might come back, and it's a vicious cycle...... Or you hold on for another 2 weeks or 1 month, see if she can recover from her cough and start to enjoy the classes. You try the nan pre-packed xing/bei xing mixture thingy before? It worked very well for HR leh.

Kam,
huh..oh i see, if that's what Verene meant. Hmm..i am ok to leave Z alone with teacher in a new enviroment but if we can't see (watch n observe) what's going on in the class, how are we going to judge if they will enjoy the lesson hor? and also how to assess the teacher? and i am afraid the teacher can't handle Z...have to run after him ah!haha

aqua,
Oh no, that's bad! Really so jialat ah. How many tods in her class? Your ILs free to take care of her anytime? They are not working?

steph,
I am okay to leave him. But not sure if he is okay to leave me :) Haha, I can imagine already how the teacher runs after Z.......

kam, 5 kids in her class. no, my inlaws went msia. i also freak, when i hear tht, realli men, i shld be more 'kiasu' n 'kia see', like other parents.

aqua,
To make you feel better, I think the incubation period should be over already. If she didn't get it, means she won't get it. Just monitor her closely, if got fever, quickly visit a PD, early intervention is very efficient to cure a disease. Mild HFMD is not difficult to handle, HR got 2 times :-( Call the cc and ask what's their next step, and how they clean the toys/cc. Take urgent leave for tomorrow, since Friday is public holiday already.

kam, thks for ur kind words. i m crossing my finger n hoping she will be fine. yes, prob tomorow me or my hb will take leave.

hmm... shd i apply leave for 6 april? very tired haah my record not very good too .. apply lots of leave liao :p too stress .. nid to break .. else how to b superwoman?

Kitsune
Monogram Tivoli is nice. I beow this bag when I am in HK, cheaper by 7%. But end up buy totally PM.. haha got from hb as bday and for delivery girl girl.

Now euro is lower, my friend going london.. also pondering what can be purchase there.

verene,
OIC, the todd can't be a/c by adult ah? Then maybe i will give it a miss. Cos going to "promote" J to another class next mon onwards and he is going to attend w/o me too. Gonna to expect lots of crying games from him. Dun wan to further confuse him. Thanks for organising ;)

krystle,
Dun worry abt paying the GST at our custom. You can check in some small item. If not, handcarry the bigger one & even drop some smaller item in it when u check out. This is what i did last time. All in all, i bot 1 big item + 2 small clutch + 1 small item. Of cos' fold & check in the paper bag separately. take it as those stuff are not newly bot.

I need some advice on porridge. Is carrot, potato & sweet potato all belong to the "yellow" vegetables? How many time can i give my boy a week? Also how many eggs can i give a week?

So far, have not put in green vege yet... what is good for them?? Peas & what else?? Paiseh, cos hubby & i dun take vege at all so dun even know what vege can a todd take.

I just doing speed reading on previous posts and want to contribute my 2 cents worth on cc/playgroup/etc
. When there's pros, definitely will have cons too! Our kiddos learn lots of stuff in school but will also have to fall sick often to built up their immunity. Falling sick is not always a "bad thing" but if it's continuous over a long period of time then it might be better to let them rest at home for a short period.

My in-laws also said we are very kaisu to send B to playgroup at 2 years old and he can't even talk properly. But after 3-4 months of school, now they say he learn so many things and his chinese improved tremendously! So now they understand why I insisted on sending him to playgroup...hahaha! The beginning is always tough cos kids fall sick often and everyone starts to "pour cold water"...but it will get better!

JanBB,
For your boy, carrot, potato and sweet potato can give as often as you want, especially if it's cooked with porridge.

For egg, one egg a day is not a problem for our tod this age, considering he doesn't have allergy issue.

What type of green veg? Any type, all veg are safe for consumption for our tods. For cooking porridge, you may want to try with brocolli, pea.

Kam,
Yup, i cooking them with porridge. Heard that if given carrot daily, the todd will turn "yellow"... but not sure if 3 or 4 times a week is ok or not. Other than carrot, i'm not too sure potato or sweet potato also belonging to the same kind of yellow vege as carrot? Any idea?

Any of your todd is also drooling now?
My boy has been drooling for 3mths+ but no sign of the last 4 molars yet. So dun think is due to teething. Kind of worry as my fnd told me that if the drooling persist until 3yo, they will need to see specialist & go for speech therapy. It is really scary when i did some research online which also tell the same thing.

JanBB,
No, only carrot, cos it's very rich in beta-carotine. The orange flesh sweet potato also, and anything orangy. But carrot has the most. Potato definitely don't have. Small quantity not a concern, unless you give him 1 whole bowl of carrot in 1 day.

Yes, HR still drools. After talking to you that day on the car, I went to check his teeth, and surprised to find out 1 lower molar has already fully formed without us knowing it. The other side not yet. And I didn't manage to see the upper ones, not sure is already out or not. Is he drools a lot? If it's not excessive drooling, don't think it should be a concern.

Shannonbb & kam & steph
Thanks for the vege info. Will need to change my porridge menu next week ;)

Re: Drooling
Yup, he drools quite a lot. Sometimes to the extend that i need to change his shirt in every few hrs cos the area near his chest is always wet. But sometimes he is ok. Wonder why. Suspect maybe due to certain food that he is sensitive which cause the drool. Still monitoring, hope is not too serious for him. After i read abt excessive drooling, learnt that we as parent will need to remind or teach them to swallow saliva. Always thot is juz a passing phase, didn't know that it can be a serious problem.

Haha last night show hubby the alternate sukey gucci bag. Ask him nice or not. He said not bad. Told him lv trivoli ( which he also said nice) is beyond my budget n he said just buy the one lar. Budget never mind. Hehe

but I ask him if I dun buy bag can exchange for holiday or not? He said can, Sentosa Universal Studio! Faintz!?! Like that I rather choose bag lor. ;p

last night mil came to visit. Harp on toilet training again. So sian, just beacuse her friends' grandkids can do it doesn't mean we have the means n energy to do it mah. Last time raeanne everyday go over to their place, she said want to train her. End up also bu Liao Liao zhi. :/

also she disagree with sending raeanne to cc next year, said will always fall sick. It is true to an extent lar. But unless I want to be sahm forever, how to avoid cc? :p

Yvonne last time I send her to pg, she also said the same thing. Dun even know how to talk how to go to school? :p

oh kam, forgot to thank u for the link - info on constipation!

R's constipation seem to improve on/off but he sure don't poo daily type (only if we r lucky). he usually poo every 2 or 3 days...his stool is always huge (diameter of a 20cents or even bigger sometimes leh) & hard to expel kind (always stuck at his anus) then after the initial stool is out, the rest is soft but still huge loh...dunno why likdat...sighhh...my MIL need to give him pearl barley weekly to cool down his heaty constitution then he wont strain his bowel when gek sai. We already changed his diet & avoid BRAT diet intake & also make him drink lotsa water (abt 500ml per day) but still sometimes he will constipate loh. His anus very red ah...got blood when he poo leh..so poor thingy. MIL & me scare long term hor will develope piles on R. Today is the 3rd day still no sign of gek sai from him

Janbb
Xavier had been drooling on and off. and He bite his pacifier side way very loudy, had been going on for 3 mths too.. i cant see any teeth yet, but his saliva went dripping like nobody biz.