(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

pixie,
Thanks. I know most of them didn't live near me, that's why MY is just perfect for us, she lived in Yishun, well, too bad :) It's up to them to judge lor, if cannot make it, then should tell me earlier mah. Kept asking me to let her come earlier, which is impossible woh. For example, last Friday, the bathroom floor was not clean thoroughly, the floor wasn't mopped well (cos my hubby mopped again on Sunday, still quite dirty), didn't clean the kitchen top at all. And yes, she is slow, can only do the basic ones. I will ask my friends to recommend theirs also.

<font color="ff0000">If any mummies can recommend their part time help, please PM me, thanks!</font>

kam
yah!! my 1 toilet wasnt cleaned, and the clothes i hung up myself (MY hang clothes herself usually), the floor was hastily mopped. she darn slow. i feedback to the main lady liao. if this thur she is still so slow despite the norm 3 hours, i will drop her and either ask main lady or another lady to come over

tongtong,
u r rite, so im thinking of getting sambucol or somethink, to boost their immune system. did u give S any supplements?

pixie,
no leh, even before didi goes childcare, he falls sick often also. yes, building up immune system through fallin sick, dats hw d doc consoled me also. :p

aqua / luca,
My boy is those who takes (a bit of) junks, eat everything and anything, and never given any vit/supplement, and doesn't fall sick.

During his first year of his life, he fell sick like 3-4 times. After which, I think he has built up his immune system already, and got used to the environment. To me, giving supplement/multi-vit won't help building up the immune system, unless the kid in seriously not eating well, which is impossible in a developed country like Singapore. Put more focus on the food their eat, drink lots of water/fluids, and the environment they are in. Also, when they are ill, if the symptoms are very mild, try let their body do the fighting and hold on to the med. For example, if there is fever, and it's <38.5C, I don't give fever med, but let him drink a lot of water and rest more, and monitor him closely. I also believe in the great outdoor, bring the kids out to have a breath of fresh air whenever you can.

Aqua, maybe is the new environment/ allergy to the dust or whatever?
Yes !! I have tendered my resignation! But still no good life leh, need to clear lots of reports. Will be sahm first, trading at home, and looking for biz opportunities :p

Pixie, how much is MY charging u ? $10 an hour?

Kam, actually I found my PT helper from the MRT notice board near my place. So definitely the helper stays near me and can come to my place anytime. U might want to try that too.

Luca, is manuka honey, prune extract considered as supplement? I just bought a manuka honey active +12. and he likes it so much that he opens the fridge and ask me to open for him everyday. He also likes the prune extract. I think manuka is a natural food to boost immune too. Also, give blueberries! Natural 100% immune booster. Oh yea, I give him supplement, it’s 1 drop of Sea mineral into his plain water daily. Dunno whether it is this which boost his immune? When I find that he is a bit heaty, I will give a bit of Korean bamboo salt, honey and lemon, or camu camu ( although it’s a type of fruit, I think it’s considered supplement as it has been processed into powder form. Camu camu is powerfully rich in Vit C ). But all these are occasionally, I don’t give daily. Only the sea mineral I give daily.

I agree with Kam’s approach. I don’t give medicine too, but I advocate giving natural remedies. So it’s really up to parents whether they want to feed med whenever kids fall sick, or hold on and let the kid fight the virus himself. Sooner you will realize that the latter actually helps the kid boost his immune system and be healthier. Also, you are what you eat, so give them variety of good whole food.

tongtong,
wats the sea mineral for?
my #2 likes manuka honey too, but issit safe to give everyday? i mean too much at his age now.

Luca, the saleslady told me that it’s safe to give toddler > 2yo daily wor. 1 tsp a day. If they look like going to fall sick, she said can give up to 4 teaspoon a day. But I just restrict him to 1 tsp per day la. Sea mineral – to boost immune lor. If you are unsure whether manuka is safe for kids, then don’t give la. Give other food.

pixie,
Yay!!! join us, join us!

tongtong,
Thanks for the tips! So coincidently I will be taking train home later, so can check is there is any notice board.

Do you know there is a new shop at United Square, Petit Bowl, selling organic veg/fruit puree. Think it's a viable business. From the respond in the Sep09 thread, quite a number of them actually becomes regular customers and get their puree from the shop, so they never have to spend time making it at home. This is especially a selling idea for most of the nowadays working mums, who doesn't want or doesn't know how to cook. And I can tell you almost 90% of the mummies go for organic for their little ones, even though they themselves don't take organic. You can think of something along this line for your biz idea?

tongtong
yes $10 an hour

add on to kam's idea: make you own (whatever health food) n start BP to sell off. see response how n work from there. no need overheads like storefront, utilities bills, staff etc

Luca, I have compiled the list of food to boost immune system.

These nutrients can be obtained from an organic whole-foods diet consisting of fresh fruits and vegetables, nuts, seeds, beans, and whole grains.

Let our toddler eat about 10 tablespoon of fruits and veg per day.

1. orange veg – sweet potatoes, carrots, squash, pumpkin. Vit A is important for our skin, first line of defense for our immune system.
2. mushroom , like shitake– help in production of white blood cells to act against foreign bacteria
3. Lemon – ideal food for restoring acid-alkali balance.
4. broccoli, spinach, green leafs veg like kailan, green beans
5. Yoghurt – important food, especially after taking antibiotics.Antibiotics destroy most of the bacteria in our body. It destroys beneficial bacteria as well. So got to take yoghurt or prebiotics rich food like asparagus, bananas, yoghurt, to restore them back , for our stomach.
6. Eliminating sugar intake! Can take raw sugar, or molasses in cooking or baking. Excessive sugar ( refined white sugar) suppresses immune system.
7. seaweed, algae
8. blueberries ,orange, strawberry, kiwi, apple, papaya, banana,
9. flaxseed, sunflower seed, pumpkin seed, sesame seed, almond, walnuts, cashew – I add grinded flaxseed, wheatgerm, lecithin, ground almond, into his plain yoghurt
10. protein rich food like soy, tofu, miso, tempeh, eggs, lentils
11. healthy fats- olive oil, nuts and seeds, avocados
12. alkaline based grains – millet, quinoe.
13. fruit and veggie juices- include carrot, beetroot, apple
14. drink lots of water! Ok I’m not sure whether the stuff I added into his plain water helps boost his immune, other than purely plain water with sea mineral, sometimes I add aloe vera , prune extract into his water and let him drink in cup. He likes it, so I just continue to do it la.
15. wholegrain, wholemeal
16 zinc rich food – beans, yoghurt, eggs, milk

Kam/pixie, thanks for the info! I don’t know that united square has this shop selling organic bb purees. Yeah, I have been thinking to do that too, but don’t think I have enuff capital to open a shop just for that now. I have ever thought of selling my soup stock too :p If I sell organic puree through BP, do you think got business? or maybe i should just try first la. spending $25 to promote health and also to achieve self actualisation,, why not hor! that's always what i want hehe.

ahhhh talking about healthy food, i was reading (still in progress) smart food for smart kids, and for tongtong's point#9, they have an ideal ratio of seeds, mix them all up together and can give 1 tsp daily...
tonite look at the book again n post

pixie, but there's a risk for sellling homemade bb food. if bb encounters any discomfort, diarhea or anything after taking in the food they purchased, they sure poinpt the fingers to the seller wor.

Tongtong,
no harm trying. You can make a visit to petit bowl, get their pricelist and menu. You gonna at least beat them by price, which you surely can. First time mums are really pretty clue-less when comes to weaning. Put lots of info on your (future) website, offer advises, etc. It's not easy, but it's a good thing that you are doing :)

yup, you have to be very clear in you bp that you puree the food in strict hygiene etc, and most of the time you get bombarded with questions, you must oso dish out lots of advice too...

eg my milkbag biz, the mummies from buy from me -> how to store bm -> how to increase output -> wean off time ask how to wean off; its all ask ask ask :p

so its a through &amp; through process that you may have to support

same same lah (to me)
want to sick sure get sick, dont want to sick no matter how wont get sick one lo :p

ok i too optimistic liao

I agree with Pixie. When comes to food, esp for bb, people will bombard you with lots of "concern". But as long as you declare it beforehand, and state clearly you don't take any liability, should be doable.

Talking about kid's falling sick, I am so blessed that my Jo never been fallen sick since she was born. ;-) I think eat everythting in moderation and alot of fruits do help to build immune system.

kam/pixie/kitsune,
We can only register in the last phase cos phase 1 for siblings, phase 2 for catholics and phase 3 for public. I think there were more than 10 people in the queue liao, Mandy was infront of me, but only the 1st few got a slot...sigh! Registration starts at 8am so I think those people might have started queuing at the gate at 7am?? Only hope is to wait until the orientation in Oct and see if anyone pulls out but doubt I have chance cos I'm 6th or 7th in the waiting list. My hubby so shocked that it's really so kiasu so he said he will take leave to go queue at 7am next time...hahaha!

Kam,
I confirmed not going tomorrow...started mild coughing liao...sian!

steph, did you happen to be at koi at TP at 5 plus yesterday?

i happened to walk past and saw you...but you with colleague and dunno whether you 'know' me,...so i did not say hi =)

re supplements
i'm considering to give my girl supplements before she starts school, so far she hardly fall sick *touchwood* she's only eating fruits daily now, i read that honey can improve immunity so thinking of trying that for her and for my hubby too, seems more natural then the normal supplement of pills.

kam,
besides more fruits and vegetables, HR is not taking any other thing like honey or mineral? My girl also takes all the adult food and junk food with us :p

kitsune,
It's a church kindy which starts from pre-nursery level but it's 3 hrs programme instead of the usual 2hrs for most playgroups. If B got in then at least I don't have to worry for the next few years cos he will stay put until K2

Mandy,
Not sure yet. I checked the PCF a few blocks away but their N1 is only for 2 hrs so no point cos I might as well let B continue in his current playgroup then try to register again for N2 in 2011. What about you? J is in cc at the moment right? You don't want to let him continue in the cc??

Oh yah, I also thought of sending him to Apple Tree playgroup next year as alternative cos my neighbour told me they're good.

Yvonne,

Nope, J is not in CC. My mom is looking after him. Hubby was saying maybe wait for next year. U heard of Ascension Kindy?? Not too bad too. But abit far though.

Had a nice meet up today? remember to update us with photos!

Kitsune,
I already registered my boy for pre-nursery 2 weeks back, cos i wanted morning sessions. It is for next yr, yet the deadline is end of march.

Haha had a good gathering. Thanks to Mylife for the ride to turf city. The naughty gal too shy n dun like to share toys. Faint :p I left early cos did not bring pump n wanted to come back to feed Mei Mei n put raeanne to nap. She slept at 215pm in the end.

Pixie let me know if the $ for my share is not enough then I top up n transfer to u. Mine is waffle with hot dog ($9 I think) n smile potatoes ($5) ala carte.

Nice gathering indeed, so nice to see all the boys and girls, all have grown up so much already :) I didn't have any photos to share this time, cos the stupid me lug the DSLR there to only find out there was no battery inside :-( Have to wait for others to upload. Please upload on FB or wherever that allows downloading, thanks :)

tongtong,
tks for the list of food.

saw the pics, the kids must have enjoyed the most. i saw a calculator on d table, did somebody brought it to calculate the meal? :p

hey kitsune urs is enuff.
strangely after getting all the $$ &amp; including tongtong's share n my share, I am still $15 short :p should have missed out something coz my calculation for each pax is accurate at that time.
mylife thanks for the mags u oredi spent alot on mags for me liao dun buy next time lar hokays
quite guilty coz I didn't really look after my boy mch n he fell down. I got home n saw his feet near inner ankle have some skin peeled off n it was hard for him to wear shoes so I had to carry him the whole way frm sk to je just now

Hee, nice gathering but couldn't spend much time chatting wif all mummiees cuz my boy wanna ran out to the playground, so got to follow him.

Pixie, did u get the mushroom $back which they never serve? I will pay u 15 right for the pasta n fruit juice.

Anyway, I went to myoffice after taking a lift from kam, n shaun fell asleep on the mrt around 3pm, very challenging for me tocarry him walk across the overhead bridge.

Mandy,
Oh yes, I think Ascension Kindy is also quite popular but too far for me...will have to let him take school bus. I still prefer somewhere nearer to home

morning mummies
sianz...working again ........

yest supposed to visit the church kindy but since our mummies + toddlers gathering was so late, x napped and woke up late, missed the appointed time, so no chance to visit the kindy....argg!