(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Steph,
Haha, so funny. Z is very cute. Think people would definitely like him cos he is always smiling :)

That time when we were holidaying at Penang, when we were playing by the beach, there was a couple from the middle east, suddenly grabbed and carried HR and took photos with him. My hubby was so shocked, and all ready to get back his precious son. But they said thank you after that lah, just they didn't ask before carrying him :)

Afternoon, mummies!

ZZZ until just now coz today is my off day (Jpn holiday). Finally a ME time! So decided to zzz late and laze around the whole day doing nothing. Last night also stoned by my boy who woke up every hr.. don't know what is wrong with him... Hm...

Pixie,
Hope that X is getting better. So hard to work and take care of him at the same time.

Steph,
Glad that you managed to ride on the Flyer when the weather was clear. Can tell Z had a good time!

Kitsune,
Love KOI now? Me too. Looking forward to my next cup on Wed when I go gym at PP.

Kam,
You studied in London before right? Can you recommend any cheap and good hotels in London? Coz I may be going in end Apr as hubby is going there for biz trip. I never been there before and now is totally have no idea how to start abt planning in London. Any attractions which are must go? Thanks in advance.

I applied for leave ler.. bt still pending lei.
Very excited to meet all the mummies.. haven met anyone b4..
bt hor.. if i take a cab down.. how to look for the place? Is it near the ah yat restaurant?

Kam: i let u noe once my leave approve ok.

krystle,
I didn't studied in London. I have been to London several times though, cos it's only 1 hour train ride from where I was. Can't really advise you cos I only went to those touristy places, all pretty nice for me. Our favourite is the National Gallery. Accommodation is definitely ex. Good news is end April may not be too bad, price may be doubled starting June. Transportation (train and bus) is pretty convenient, can get you to almost everywhere.

Yvonne,
Yay! Hope you can join us! Yes, it's the same building as Ah Yat. At ground floor. Where do you live? See if I can give you a ride, if you are at the west / north-west side.

tongtong,
Kitsune mentioend her kids are not well meh?

Kam, so this wed i meet u at yew tee mrt or which mrt? Pauline's Raeanne is still coughing ma. so she went to see GP liao.

krystle,
Last time my hubby & i stayed in holland for a yr & we took the europe budget airline (ryan?) to london before. Rem their hotel are quite ex cos everything in POUNDS!! There are some budget ones but more for student. The range varies a lot depend what u want. Juz do a google search. U can even find a london tourist map. Feel that london is a good place to go & very accessible, juz like s'pore, everything is in english, confirm won't get lost, hehe... Either hop on to their bus (got 1 day pass, unlimited rides or via train). Attractions are like Big Ben, London Bridge, London Eye (like our s'pore flyer), oxford road (like our orchard road). If possible, take bugdet airline, fly to paris or nearby cities lah... since already in europe liao.. rem the flight there is abt 13 hrs rite?? Kekeke...go paris buy LV bag ;)

Kam,
U got my msg? My hubby went to FP sale on sat. Cool weather to go into that stuffy warehse. He bot FP laptop for J @ $10 and some other toys like FP phone...etc @ $5. Puzzles @ $3. Of cos', he clean them thoroughly...the box is really dirty men.

tongtong,
Haha, you have good memory. I read that in kitsune's blog but forgot about it altogether :)

JanBB/krystle,
The budget airline is Ryanair. Another one is easyjet. Yes, they are cheap, but operates from non-main airport, ie, not London Heathrow. Yes, JanBB is right, everything seems so ex because it's in Pounds. Last time we din't feel it cos we are in England.

Wah, you stayed at Holland for 1 year ah. We like Armsterdam a lot. They have very nice museum/art gallery too.

Oh ya, got your message. Forgot to reply you. I think I will still go. No need to accompany me lah. I have my HR to accompany me :) I can give you a ride to Boon Lay MRT if you want :)

Kam, Janbb.

Thanks for the London info! Definitely helpful. Just now went google and more or less know where I want to go liao. I am also going to the standard tourist spots like London Bridge, London Eye, London Tower, Buckingham Palace, Windsor Castle... Will also shop at Harrods and the main shopping street in Oxford Street. For the 1st 3 days, I am pretty much alone coz hubby will be working and has no time for me.

Yes, definitely will go Paris and it is my dream city!! Hahaha... Check that can take Eurostar (bullet train) and not very expensive too.. Like 90 euros/pax for return trip. Wah, getting excited and hope can really go. Waiting for hubby to confirm that he can extend his stay there after the 3 days of biz trip.

krystle,
And the admission tickets to all these places are expensive also. Places that are free - museums and art gallery, it's free admission though they ask for a (optional) donation. It's an effort from the government to encourage people to visit museum/art gallery more often. Oh, British museum is nice. Out of the places you mention, think Windsor Castle a bit boring, all other okay. The morning parade at Buckingham Palace is usually very crowded and need to wait for a long time. Shopping wise I cannot advise, cos I don't shop.

We have been to Paris also. But we don't like it. But think you would certainly like it cos it's shopping paradize! Paris is not as nice as I thought it is. But worth a visit for sure.

Kam,
Windsor Castle is boring huh? Coz never seen a castle before so thought of going lah. I think I will like Paris too.

krystle
i been to UK once, i think more than 10 years ago, for backpacking so i doubt my experience would be helpful coz its 1. outdated; 2. cheap trip
i stayed at all backpackers hostels kind. yes, i took the fast fast train (dunno issit europestar or not). liked the big ben, (no london eye yet), london bridge, buckingham palace...all the touristy places like kam said

i prefer UK over France. perhaps coz the french were really snobbish to us asians at that time. things may have changed but certainly you feel the french vibe

out of the 3 countries i toured, i prefer italy. super friendly, cheaper (as compared to UK), and sunnier. UK's weather is always a topic starter. i feel their museums or tourist spots more...magnificent?

btw, if you got time, can pop over to brighton its very near london and its a seaside town. with very good fish n chips

Kam
a fren of mine will be joining us at the wed gathering with her daughter who is also a Jan08 baby, she jus never join us in this discussion thread. Pls can u update ur rservation accordingly? Thanks!

Pixie
I love Italy too!! The people are friendly and the cities are jus lovely with a dash of old charm to it!

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">See you tomorrow!!!</font></font>

Jan08 Mummies Meet up

Date: 24th March (Wednesday)
Time: 10.30am till after lunch
Venue: SOL Playground Cafe at Turf City http://www.solplaygroundcafe.com/AboutUs.aspx

1. Mylife + Rylee
2. Mylife's friend + daughter
3. Kam + Hao Re
4. Elmo + Amanda
5. Yvonne + Brien
6. JanBB + Jayden
7. Tongtong + Shaun
8. Violetice + Ian
9. Kitsune + RaeAnne (and maybe RaeLynn)
10. Yvonne(gerger66) + Gwen
11. Shannonbaby + Shayne<font color="ff0000">(??)</font>
12. Pixie + Xander <font color="ff0000">(??)</font>

Confirm will have 10 mummies + 5 girls and 5 boys. If both shannonbaby and Pixie can make it, then will be 6 boys and 6 girls :)

I will call them again this afternoon. Note that the table is reserved under my name, Mrs Kam.

agreed mylife!
but the guys all very short. i was surprised.
aka danny devito kind? hah...
maybe 10 yrs later (now) they all have grown taller...:p

hey grumpus
i overlooked your post about the marketing strategy (too bz yest), thanks. informative and something to chew on...

aiyah kam
i still dunno can attend or not coz x is not having viral fever but dunno recovered liao or not. must check with my mil, and monitor till tonite then i can tell u all

paging for elmo
can i sms you tonite to confirm if im going? if im not then you have to find your own way to attend liao, paiseh. i have your hp number

Hi Kam,

I have to give the gathering a miss.
Need to bring my boy to the PD for his UTI review and discussion on the preventive measure at 10am.

tongtong
i honestly tot server down wor hahahah

super sleepy....
waited for the washing machine to finish the cycle till 12; had to mop floor etc - yesterday
shag shag

Kam,
Sorry, I might not be there tomorrow cos having flu liao. You mummies enjoy!

Btw, yesterday I met Mandy at the pre-nursery registration. Guess what? We were there at 8am sharp and we were both on waitlist liao...arrrrghhhhh!!!! Now I gotta think of alternatives liao...sob sob

yah im scratching my head too...8am on waiting list then those who got the spots came at what time and what time does formal registration starts??

pixie,
Or that means a lot of "informal registration"? Through contacts, through back-door, etc, etc???

Eh, can you give me the contact for another part time helper? My hubby said this current one no good leh. My mum asked me to change also.......

so sleepy at wrk nw, today wokeup super early at 6plus.... reali nt used to it.

kindy registration for 2011 starts so early nw in mar??? nwadays... parents so kiasu, reali pity our kids...

kam
huh ur mom around ah??
ok the rationale is, all the pt cleaners they all stayed far away from you so by the time they reach home its going to be very late.
yours is 6.30 - 10.30?? by the time they reached home, oredi 11+ almost to 12 u know...no wonder they complain...

i will call up the main lady today, she told me she has another friend who cleans too and most prob dont have to pay the add. $5
but i cannot guarantee this ok? else, anyone who goes to your place can only cope for 3 hours...

kam
i dunno why but xiao yun (i feel) is very thorough. maybe 1st time she's careful but i like her cleanliness...but she only managed to finish 80% of the chores coz she cannot pace herself well due to her thoroughness

pixie, she still hav flu n cough, more than a week! never sent her to cc, coz many kids there also sick with same symptons or fever, kept her with myinlaws plac.

so ironical, wans send her to cc to learn things n more independent, in the end, the illness push us to send her bac to myinlaws place... one big circle back to the starting pt.... sighs

aqua
precisely this is what i dread. i push for x to be in cc but if this happens, my mil n hb would say "i told u so" and there goes any further chances of putting him to any learning places liao...
haizzzzz

nevermind, nothing is impossible

have you tried to boost up her system??
sambucol, colostrum powder, multi vits etc
im sure tongtong posted those "popular" ones before?

Hello, mummies.

Drop by to say "Hi" coz tight up with work... Now is "忙里偷闲"... server is slow so come in the chat..

Yvonne,
Really huh? 8am already waiting list? Is it already got a long queue in front of both of you? Scary leh... Now I am worried for my girl liao. But registration has not started and there is nothing much I can do leh.

Tongtong
It will be harbourfront MRT but still need to take bus. I think quite a lot of buses will reach pasir panjang wholesale centre...

pixie, nw she still in medication, dunwan to intro those yet.but all along we did giv her colestrum, mebe will try sambucol later on??? but we always gav her lots of tomatoes, got vit c, still get flu so easily???

aqua,
i gave my boys vit c daily too, n they hardly eat "junk" fd, but still they will fall sick like once a month. sometimes i wonder why other kids can eat whole lots of fd but still dun fall sick dat often, so my verdict is my boys' immune system is naturally weak, haiz!

aqua, many fruits have vit C, dont think tomatoes has the highest level of vit c wor. should give variety of fruits adn veg la, then can fight the virus better.

krystle, thanks! i still havent figured out which bus to take yet.. uhm.. dunno whether to take smrt or sbs bus

luca, then boost ur boy's immune system. dont think giving vit c is better than giving food/fruit based vit/min. Just need to work harder to boost the immune system la

dont forget that our body needs all the vitamins ( n not vit C alone) and minerals to work most efficiently.

tongtong, yes. we usu giv her green veggie at home during meal.she dun eat biscuits or junk at home. when she was at my inlaws plc, she was seldom sick. mebe onli once a yr, so clearly, it is the new environment.
everymorn, when i send her to sch, i dun see her runny nose.but every evening i pick her home, her runny nose came... either she cried too much in cc till she got flu or she kana the virus?

aqua
i dunno much about vitamins, but we adults take vit C to "stop" flu; but i think it does not apply to kids? they need a range of vitamins &amp; minerals in order to be strong.
just different from adults. their level of requirements oso different from our level of required vitamins &amp; minerals. so eat vit C + A regularly is not enough imho

luca
maybe your boys in cc thats why the fall sick easily? on a positive note, they are building up their immune system everytime they are sick so its not 100% bad :p