(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kam,
we've tried logang fishing at the kid's kampung at pasir ris. they allow 1 adult in with a toddler. Yes my hubby did all the fishing and my girl tried to mimic him, a funny sight :p

pixie,
hi*5, me too...so sian...trying to close off my 2009 objectives, self assessment/review, stakeholders feedback but system rejected cos my immediate boss not yet review & comments so i can't close off & have to start doing 2010 Q1 review & individual development plan soon...for sales personnel...very easy, just input the figures & done!

yea mine is quarterly review...got timeline to complete else will kena reminder email alert from HR/boss woh. Individual development plan must some how match co objectives & gotta rate yr own performances like strengths & weakness & area of improvement etc...so anyone wanna work for my company?

steph, dun wan! haha. i'm still waiting for the day when i can quit my job and do what i like. dont like corporate world..

pixel,

Can i know where the nice milk tea shop in Bedok Central?? Popping by Bedok on Friday afternoon. DO u know what buses goes to Bedok Reservoir from the Interchange??

dunno whether u guys still remember me not? its been a long long time since i posted here as taking care of my boy really tires me out... so surprised that some of u already got ur #2! congrats gals!!!

pixie, i want to ask mummies this:

'Do you want to be the boss yourself ie run own business? if yes, what kind of business? or you prefer to work for ppl?'

tongtong,
i want to work for my hubby leh, don't need to make important decisions and get to enjoy the flexibility :p

Hihi quick check while bf raelynn n raeanne naps. Steph your co hiring? Your lunch always got good food. I am tempted. Haha.

part time job not easy to find now leh...especially with reasonable pay...lol you can teach right, better option for you.

tongtong
i wish can expand my milkbag biz, work alone, and have a steady income from it, but alas its just a sideline, not enough profit to sustain my family.
to encourage all new mummies to bf is the best part of this job :p

tongtong
I would want to be boss, some kind of home run biz like baking cakes.. :D Perhaps that is 1-2 yrs plan.

Managing between #1 and #2
I read some of the archive and find that some of the mummies here and managing great.
Feel so guilty today cos I was breastfeeding my ger and Xavier comes and also wants to hug me, but he bang his head right onto my breast and it was so painful. I warn him not to - cos worried tt he will crash onto little sister and also made me painful again.. so I tell him just lie down and sleep. He bang his head onto my breast at me again, and I practically "scream in pain" and scolded him to stay away. *sigh*

Xavier is jealous of mei mei in some way.. Like seemed to want me to carry where he didn't want to before. And bang on the door while I BF little sister.. or just lie on my leg and sleep while I breastfeed little sister. Still trying hard to cope.

Luvv I did receive your pm n replied last night. Sorry for the delay. Too tired n trying to sleep earlier at night or else Noe enough energy in the day. :p I can only relief teach, no Nie qualification leh.

Icy it is like that. Feel guilty towards both sometimes. Try to give Xavier little tasks to do. That will make him happier. I get raeanne to bring my water bottle, on my fan, on n off my breast pump etc.

kitsune,
no worries :p thanks for the reply, will check later, not at home now :)

icy,
he's prob still adjusting to the new member too, not to worry too much, sorry can't advice on this part here :)

just to share.
Milk powder prices increase again!!
Enfagrow 1.8kg is nw $59.70 per tin. Cant believe they increase the price by so much although the ingredient remains the same.

shannonbaby,
the price is ever increasing...same goes to Gain IQ, the 900gm has already increased when they changed the packaging, i'm expecting increase to the 1.8kg soon.

alternatively, any mummies give their tots fresh milk instead? much cheaper but i'm still a bit kiasu on the ingredients part :p

Icy,
Is like that. Perfectly normal. Except BFing, try to let the confinement lady handles your baby, so that you can spend more time with X until he is convinced that you love him as much as before, give him 2-3 weeks to adapt.

shannonbaby,
I got from Malaysia. Enfagrow 1.7kg is selling at between RM82 to RM90 (S$34 - $37). Wah, a lot cheaper hor, used to be not that much of different leh.

pixie n luvv,

I am so surprised when I saw the price, cos they really increase too much this time round. Nothing change, only the colour of the tin changed from yellow to orange.

I give my gal fresh milk once awhile, but not very often cos nw she is on 50% breastmilk n 50% formula milk.

Shannonbaby how does your no. 1 take your ebm? Mix with fm or neat? I dun know how to move my frozen ebm faster cos finishing those stored in bottles Liao. If it is those stored in milk bags there is at least 250ml per bag n raeanne can't finish it in one day cos I mix only about 50ml into her fm each time. :p

Shannonbaby,
OMG increase again? Xavier on milk strike now, I hope that it is because he was sick.

I was buying abt $52 per tin at TCM store.. now becos of the mlk strike, i am not sure if I should buy more tins to store.

kitsune
bm in the bag can be used today, tomorrow and day after tomorrow. no worries. i used them over space of 3 days also np leh

Pixie forgot to say I have 2 white cots. when is your friend due? May decide to sell one in future since raeanne wakes up many times in a night. May resort to getting hubby to sleep with her on the ikea double sofa bed instead. :p

kitsune,

My No.1 take the EBM or Frozen EBM directly. I will pout 180ml into her milk bottle, and give her when she wakes up and before she sleeps at nite. When she is at home during weekends, she will have Frozen EBM (150ml) mix with 30ml of FM during mid-day. She only took FM when she is in school or when we go out in the weekends nw.
I am trying to clear my Frozen EBM nw as alot a expiring soon, so sometimes, I let her bring 2 packets to school and the teacher will heat up for her to drink.

kitsune
my friend due in 3mths time bah
u keen to sell me? any pics for me to see?? good lor, coz she stays at tampines (the new BTO flats i think?); she can collect from you

about bm
i mixed bm and fm during weaning. x took it well but not everyone is ok with it so, subjective hor

Shannonbaby, that's good. I tried to mix more before n raeanne made puking sounds cos very fishy. I also scared of the smell. Fresh ebm is ok, maybe I try giving her that after her afternoon nap. :p

Pixie wa that's very near cos I am staying at 700+ Just behind her flat. Okie I talk to hubby n see if he wants to raise the white flag first. ;p

kitsune,
I dare not give Xavier my EBM yet, cos I never pump much, rather keep for my girl. I did let him taste have 1 spoonful and he went eek and puke.

kitsune, icy,

I think EBM taste like Enfa milk, cos got the fishy smell, thats why my gal is willing to take?? I also dunno why she is willing to drink. I start giving her when my boy is 1 month old.

sad lor kitsune, half yr oredi no take fm liao, i need to think of creative ways to get him take the fm. my pediasure 900g tin oredi opened for the past few mths still half tin left
looking in a way - i saved on fm lor hor

another + point is, he took mostly bm during the whole fm/bm stint. glad lor

Wah... What a busy day for me... Work work work... Can't even finish my work and still have coll asking me to help them... Haiz... No time to come in here and talk...

Tongtong,
I have a few translation agencies contact but now sure if they require french-english translation... Maybe later I email you the contacts and you forward to your friend?

Luvv,
You want your girl go Kindermusik? Very funny leh, they called me last sat to see if I am interested to enrol in the trial class. Problem is I contacted them back in NOv and now then they call me!!! I already enrolled my girl into Seimpi... Waited so long to response... Will lose customers leh.

Pixie,
I finally tried KOI! Very nice leh, sweetness is just nice (I ordered 70%). Can taste the tea loh (i tried many bubbles teas and most of them got little tea taste). Having a good time chewing the pearls. Hubby also loved it! Thanks for the good recommendation. Only thing is that very expensive...

krystle
i oso think its very ex....
$3.50 is more than a pkt of rice for lunch leh...but i dont mind heehe
u take 75%? i always take 50% or 25%

Icy: it's like that when you have small baby and a toddler to take care. Try to give X more time and also give him some tasks to help you and baby. He will be very happy to be involved

Question: Do you think our tods use their memories or logic to solve the puzzles?

My answer is that they use their memories. Coz I have been observing Jo doing her puzzles, she can do them very fast. So I guess must be from her memory??!!

Milk Power: I went to baby clinic last couple of weeks just for weighing my 2 kids. the dr here asked me if Jo is taking milk powder still. I said yes. She told me there is no need to give 2 years toddlers milk powder, as they can take calcium from their diet. I dont know how true, as it seems to conflict from singapore dr advices.
Over here, they recommend to give 3 serve of milk and dairy daily:
1 serve=
= 200ml milk (fresh milk)
=200g yogurt
=30g cheese
=1 cup cottage or ricotta cheese
= 200ml calcium enriched soy milk
= 1 cup custard, milk pudding

and the dr also advised me that i should stop Jo from drinking from bottle. We should only give them milk/ water from the cup. Only use water bottle when we are outside.

Just to share the above. When I have more time, I will share more abt what to put on the table so that we can provide more nutritious meals for our kids also we roughly know how much is enough when comes to meal/ snack time.

Krystle, oh ok thanks!

Blessedbaby, my boy is drinking from cup since long, including fresh milk, but coming to the 3x milk ( morning, afternoon and bedtime) he still want his milk in bottle. I think it has become a habit. I told him he is big boy and no more bottle already, he will protest and keep saying bottle. I also dunno how to wean him off the bottle for the 3 x leh?? And yea, I don’t give FM , I give oatmilk.

blessedbaby,
Thanks for sharing. I think it's not really a conflict, but it's more depending on what's the diet our kids are taking, how well our kids eating, and it's also up to the parents' to decide if they want to continue to give milk.

For HR, I will definitely give him milk (be it FM or fresh milk) as long as he is willing to take. That's because I don't know what he eats exactly in the cc (though I have a copy of the menu, but I can only imagine how's the food like), and I don't cook often for him. And now he is not so interested in food. I like to think that the milk is a supplement for him to have a more balance nutrition.

On whether to continue to give bottle or not. That doesn't bother me either. As long as he is able to drink from cup besides milk, I don't mind him being a little bit baby-like and continue to drink from bottle until he outgrows it himself.

Just my opinion.

mom2nat
koi: 1 in chinatown, 1 in marine parade, 1 in toa payoh, 1 in ang mo koi

blessedbaby
about the drinking from bottle, i think its not widely discouraged by the healthcare professionals in singapore but i ever watched a tv prog (local programme) and the expert says, once reached toddler stage, can take off the bottle liao.
healthwise - i am not sure of the reasons.
mental wise - it is because toddlers associate bottles as their childhood and they tend to be baby-ish still if you encourage baby-ish ways i.e. drinking from teat.
once our kids reach toddlerdom, they should act as toddlers - no more sucking on teats/nipples etc.
some toddlers goes back to baby-ish ways because we parents still do not wean them off bottles etc.
the expert says we dont notice it but psychologically it does affect them. coz they keep thinking they can act and behave as babies coz they are still drinking from bottles