(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Morning mummies, happy new year!

RaeAnne keep fussing this morning looking for Daddy, after 5 days of seeing Daddy in the morning, she not used to it liao. :p

Morning, mummies.

Hope everyone had a good CNY celebration! I am also starting work today but work from home.

Wonder if Pixie and any other mummies met up with Mylife y'day?

Good morning mummies. Happy New Year.

I am in dilemma whether to resign and stay at home or not. Scare SAHM life i cannot take it. Staying with in law but they refuse to help out. Morning 7.30-8.30am settle Javin to sch whereby sch bus come to door step to pick him up. And #2 got maid to take care. Only help out a while in the morning also dun want. Just can't understand what is going on in their mind. Practically they just need to after the maid. And HB want me to stay home look after the maid and make sure in laws dun create trouble for the maid and do some work for HB. He give me monthly allowance and CPF contribution. But the thing is i dun like to be home with in laws. Mil is really a difficult person to be with. If i stay in my own house no problem being a SAHM. HB only requested me to stay home till #2 is 18 months then i return to work force. I feel that staying home to supervise the maid is a waste of time. i still prefer to be financially independent. Mummies i need some advise? Do you think i should resign to stay home?

Jacelyn,
This is just my view about your situation. I think your HB got to set a correct mindset abt SAHM. To me, just staying at home mainly to supervise maid is really pointless. Then what is the purpose of the maid right? Like what you said, since ILs are around, why can't they help. They just help to watch over maid what, not very tough right?

To me, being SAHM will mean spending quality time mainly with the kids, not supervising maid and watching over ILs. I don't know what you should do too. THis is a rather tricky situation. But looking at it, it seems like being SAHM is the better solution. If you continue working, you will be worried abt if maid taking good care of #2 right?

Jacelyn,
I agree with Krystle, it seemed very weird that ur inlaws refuse to help just for tt 1 hr. Did your hb go and ask them why?

I also with in laws. I know it is not easy to be with them 24/7. HB wants me to look at it from the point of the kids, bonding and training the child. So you have to plan how you want to handle #2 as a SAHM. After 2 yrs with Xavier as SAHM, I find my effort not wasted. I am sure, I made a difference to Xavier compared to if my mil looking after him alone. MIl side.. 1 ear in and 1 ear out. :p

Jacelyn, agree with krystle and Icy. Don't think you will waste time being SAHM for short term. Can spend more time with your kids. As for your ILs, is it because they have other commitments or active social lives so can't look after the kids at all? Or was there any unpleasantness in the beginning so they wash their hands off totally? After all, your maid is doing the hard work and they only need to supervise right?

Mandy, yup, I am looking for a mini freezer but I prefer Mitsubishi brand. Saw it at my friend's house. She bought from WTS thread. Looks good.

Jacelyn,

I share the same point as Krystle, Icy & Pauline. Firstly, you shld feel happy that u have a chance to select bet SAHM or FTWM, many mummies here are waiting for this day, u know ;)

Why not u try to think in another way, this period will be a great time for you to bond with #1 & #2. Be it a short or long period, you will not regret, trust me ;p You can start planning to attend class with your #1 or #2, play/teach #1 stuff at home, bring them out shopping, meet up with friends, relax a bit. After all, we have been working for at least 5-8yrs rite? Is a perfect time for us to slow down our pace unless u belong to the career woman pathway that wish to climb up the corporate ladder? If you want to return to workforce, you can do it 1 or 2 or 3yrs later...is anytime that we wish. BUT the growing up stage for our children is only this period. After that, we can never find it back.

Dun quit your job if it is for the sake of maid & in-laws. You will end up complaining abt them & confirm there are many things even small matter that will make you unhappy in future as you dun like these arrangement in the first place.

hello mummies!!

krystle
yes i metup with mylife yesterday (together with grumpus) for polliwogs, and bfast before that...mylife was kind enuff to pick me n send me home...wow thats good life for me heehee

jacelyn
i agree with the rest of the mummies here. if you read the full term for SAHM, its means Stay At Home Mother, not Stay At Home SUPERVISOR so i think priorities are looking after your children; not looking after your maid, so that your maid can look after your child?? it makes no sense

if you buay gum with your ILs, no matter u work or be SAHM u will still buay gum with them...anyway if they dont want to look after your children nevermind, if your hb is supportive that u quit, then u just quit & look after your 2 children (with help from maid). just take it that your ILs are here for a permanent holiday and they dont need to do anything lor...let them rot...u have a longgggg life ahead with your hb & 2 children...focus on that can liao
if they wish to be served and slack, so be it. ur maid can do it while u look after kids yourself...

a lot of mummies wish to be in your shoes leh...

things will work out fine so jia you!!

Pauline,

Saw u spreeing with Daffy on GNC products. Are GNC products when u buy from spree as compared to buying from the shops here??

mandy, it is cheaper. Eg. the echinacea I bought from GNC is $88+ but much cheaper if I buy through spree. But best to check out prices beforehand to see if the item's worth it.

jacelyn,
If you're not willing, nitty gritty things will seems like big problems for you if you become a SAHM while staying with your inlaws, end up r/s with hubby might suffer. You might want to consider seriously about it.

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 25 responses!! I am hoping to get 5 more so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary and confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

pneumoccocal jab
Anyone brought their kiddo for pneumoccal jab recently? RaeAnne is already 2 so am thinking of bringing her for jab. But not sure if it will definitely cause fever. If yes, then better to plan it on weekend when hubby is around so that I got extra pair of hands bah. :p

kitsune,
lexie took the jab. no fever too. PD said fever very rare but did warn that the jab itself is very painful so the jab site tends to get tender and kiddos may be grumpy cos of that...

I am officially a SAHM from today onwards. Thinking of taking up a Dip in business and human resource management. Anyone took this course before? I need feedback....

Any enrichment course to recommend? Tot of bring Javin for some weekend lesson....

morning

Jacelyn,
wahhh so fast u quit yr job? don't need advance notice ah? SAHM job not easy, jia you woh! Pardon me...i thought by being sahm is to spend more quality time with your 2 kids? But u are thinking of taking up a Dip (full or part time?) u sure wont stress out yrself hor...cos u mentioned ILs not helping at all to look after kids & watch over maid etc.
For enrichment course, i think some mummies here sent their kids to:
staccato (music lesson) or Seimpi School of Music
GUG
zoophonics http://www.zoo-phonics.com.sg/
shichida
Little Neuro Tree

Steph,

I thinking of upgrading myself. Thinking of taking up full time course as it will be off peak hr study time. While Javin in sch. Cos dun like to be at home 24/7!!! Not mentioning with in laws. Cos i already on maternity leave for 4 months haven got back to work, even resign also no need advance notice. My boss good wor! Btw did you send Z for any classes?

Jacelyn,
oh i see, u gotta manage yr own time liow cos with 2kids, difficult to concentrate study while they need alot of our attention at the same time! I hope i got the courage to upgrade too but i can't sacrifice my 'me time' when i only have very limited time to myself each day 24/7/365. Your boss/co. really gd hor...so u are still entitled to 4mths paid ML?
Nope, no sign up for any formal classes, only let Z attended trial classes.

Kitsune,
I brought my girl for pneumoccal jab too. Also no fever.
But she did cried for a while.

Jacelyn,
So fast made decision and actioned on it? I thought 4mths ML cannot be used as notice period? Anyway, if boss ok then good loh. You want to study diploma? Sure that it will not take up much time? Coz also got to do projects and exams... I was thinking since you are becoming SAHM, can spend more time to bond with #2 rather than letting her to be taken care by maid... Actually I would like to further my Jap studies but now really no time. It is good that you have the thought of enriching yourself though, if financial allows.

My girl goes to Seimpi Music school on every Sat. So far so good loh. She enjoys the singing in class. But comes to practical like recognizing notes etc, she is still not very good though... Anyway, it has been 3 mths since she attended so I think should give her more time.

Actually, i dun really like to send Javin for music lesson. More of english, chinese or gym class... For furthing my studies, i already got a Dip, but is in the chemical field. So tot of doing something else i also dun wan to stress myself up. So now still enquiring.

Jacelyn,
I have not tried Shichida for my girl but I got a few friends who send their kids there. Quite good reviews. But I heard it is rather exp...

Biz course can also be stressful. Coz I am a biz graduate myself and also having a MKTG dip. There are many projects and they can really take up your time other than lesson time. Where you need to do research and write reports... Not sure if you are readily prepared for that. If you see it as a useful skill that you will use when you return to the workforce some day, then maybe it is worth considering.

Or you may want to try something that is not so heavy? Maybe a language course or cooking classes?

Thanks, Jacelyn, Grumpus, krystle. 3 kids with jab but no fever. Sounds good. By the way, did you all claim medisave or use cda account? Is it very mafan? My usual PD - cash terms only. :p

Mandy, vit c and echinacea gummy sweat is to boost immune system and help prevent cough or cold. But it's for kids 4 years and above. I bought wrongly but ok lar, Raeanne has no problems swallowing.

krystle
which day is your gal's lesson at Seimpi? Who is her teacher? My girl goes for Sun 3pm at Funan and Wed for whitesands branch. I am thinking of sending Elliot in a few months' time

Mom2nat,
My girl is attending Sat 9am lesson @ Funan Seimpi. Her teacher is Yan Ying. She is ok lah, just that she is not a master teacher level.

Why your girl goes to classes at 2 different locations?

Icy
Wat is the timing and day Xavier gg? Who is the teacher? Caryn 3pm wed isit?

Krystle
Cos she just started on their Smart prog. And there are 2 lessons a week lor. One only Funan have, and I live in Pasir ris, dun wanna go 2 times a week to Funan.

Hi Pauline,

Want to ask if you start pumping since day 1. Want to ask where u bought your freestyle? Seriously is it safe to buy from BP? I have deliver on 18 now already engorged until buay tahan, so wonder should I invest in a good pump but me also like u Sahm with no income dun wish to burden my husband further.

morning all

kellie,
Congrats! How was your delivery? Hope everything went smoothly for u

hey i remember u asked me about my #1 (born at 37wks)& #2 being born premmie (at 35wks) & any difference in terms of their development right? So far, my #2 (12mths now), still dunno how to walk on his own while my #1 at this age, can walk a few steps steadily on his own liow. What i can say is #2 fine & gross motor skill not as good compare to my #1 at this age. As for speech development, #1 1st word was calling 'papa' while #2 1st word was calling 'kaikai' aka go jalan jalan

Both my kids are down with fever
#2 fever started on Saturday morning while #1 started on Sunday noon. We suspected #2 could be due to teething...hmm...dunno what trigger #1's fever though
maybe too much CNY goodies/junk...too heaty liow.

Seimpi, reminds me. I must call white sands branch n ask them to put me on waitlist if they have weekend morning class. Problem is they r closed on mon n I always remember on mon. :p

Kellie it is quite safe. Both my pis advance n freestyle r direct from USA with no warranty. Yup I sold my Pisa to raise capital for freestyle but a bit regret lar cos tmc LC said Pisa is best for clearing blocked ducts. :p

mandy,
KOI tea taste was very nice, the sweetness was ok for me too. But i can't judge on the pearls cos it was abit hard (supposed to be chewy)..maybe b'cos i kept it in the fridge overnight bah. I think the milk tea+pearl must drink it fresh to savour its original taste, cannot keep overnight.