(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kam, Mylvera, kitsune: yeah, my saga started all over again. My hubby argued with my MIL last week and she wanted to go. I was the one who keeps her stay and now everything they said they are here because of me, so whatever they say, I have to swallow it. Not easy at all.
After all these, i & my hubby decided to be on our own. We don't need any help from anybody. It's really difficult to have 3rd party in the house, coz we have to care for them too.
It's not that they help me to look after J, but what I need is extra person in the house so that J can be happy during my confinement month as I can't bring her out.
MIL is here to help me with confinement but my hubby is not happy with her cooking.
This morning they switched on the TV, and my J was not so interested in watching. They said this is the way for J to learn how to speak which I don't agree but have to keep quite.
PIL insisted that Sesame street program is good for J, but she is not interested at all, but they just let it on and J got bored and clingy onto me. ;-( Quite stressful for me.
Just to endure another week....
I am counting down....

Blessedbaby,
This is really not an easy time for you. Especially during confinement when you have #1 to consider/take care and you also have to nurse #2 too. And during this period, we tend to be emotional...

Actually, your PIL are the 1st I heard of who so approved on toddlers watching TV. Most grandparents will be against or just watch their own programs (like my ILs coz she don't understand English so naturally won't switch to sesame street for my girl to watch)...

Maybe you politely tell them that children's attention span is short and ask them to switch channel or engage in other activities with J? Maybe like walking in a park etc?

Tried to post so many times today but failed. :p

Steph, I introduce activity books to raeanne but she only vandalized them. :p

blessedbaby I know what u mean. During my confinement, I also needed someone familiar to distract raeanne n give her attention cos I was busy with the baby. Luckily it was school hols then. Difficult to make ils see our point sometimes cos they will feel that they raised their children the same way n they turned out fine. In fact for your ils, all their kids are outstanding so their way must be right. ;p

steph,
I have introduced sticker to HR during my confinement. But he didn't stick on the book, he stuck them on the drawing board. But it's okay, helped to train his fingers. Now he's not interested in sticke.

He does colouring at school almost everyday, 2 pages per day since he was 18 months (started playgroup). So I seldom let him do colouring at home. If he wants to do, he gets papers and colouring set on his own :)

Blessedbaby,
If you think you and hubby can handle J & J without the help from your ILs, then you can consider to let them go. But then, like you said, it's good to have an extra pair of hands to help out, esp wih #1.

I definitely can't handle two on my own during the first 2 months. Luckily my mum is just so great :) Must give her a big big hug when I see her on Friday :)

me too..trying to post many times this afternoon but failed!

icy, kitsune, kam,
i have bought 1 sticker book but don't know when is the best time to introduce to him...not sure if he will enjoy or appreciate such activity. Hmm..will try out during/after CNY bah

As for the coloring book, hb has also standby roll of plain papers (from ikea) for him to scribble/draw but the roll is still kept in our store room like white elephant cos over the wkend, both kids at home & R will always disturb Z on what he is doing...if R see papers, he will sure wanna get a piece of it from Z's hand too...and the paper sure gets into his mouth...cos now he almost grab anything & put into his mouth to chew/bite
So we have to put away any sharp objects like pen etc.
However Z loves to scribble/draw over at my PIL's place. Guess what? He loves to use the ball pen (the ball pen is kept on my BIL's study table & is within his reach if he climb up the chair!) & drew on the sofa, wall & on his arm, hands & legs too! I have bought crayola crayons & washable markers quite some time ago...hmm..perhaps it's time to let Z try it out rather than using ball pen which is toxic hor.

blessedbaby,
Z not so patient like J & his attention span is short so i scare the sticker book activity might bore him or he may just stick it elsewhere instead of the book...hmm...will trial & error then will know how he will react towards such activity

morning mummies!!

talking about drawing
X got the aqua doodle wall paper so he can doodle there and wont draw elsewhere...

i wanted to post yest too but smh down....

paging for enemum
u want pigeon teats? i have BNIB pigeon Y cut teats. my boy has stopped drinking milk for more than 6mths liao i 10000% sure he wont be using teats & bottles. if you keen in the size/cut, i can sell them to you cheap?? let me know

gd morning...
i am feeling so tired. recently J keeps crying, throwing temper when he is at home. it is such a struggle to even ask him to go to bath. i really duno wat is wrong.... we tried watever means.. asking him wat he wants.. giving him things.. he rejects all and just lie down on the floor to shout/scream/cry....

jess
maybe its just a phase and he is frustrated about not able to say what he wants/needs.
X is like that nowadays too. once after the 2nd bday, the nonsense lai liao (T-2)
but i'll just let him cry/scream and after he recovers from the episode i will just hug him, and see what he really needs. sometimes really dunno one leh, but after hug hug he'll be ok

Jess,
Nothing wrong. It's a phase of his growing up. Just be more patient and persist in your way of dealing with him. I take it as a good sign, as this might mean that he is learning/exploring something new. Good luck!

pixie
haiz... i really cannot take it lei. i think i am going crazy.
then my parents did came over to my ILs house few days back.. my dad keep saying the house very dark.... very 'yin'... haiz...

i really very lost liao... duno wat to do... tried very hard to be strong and positive.. but each day returning home.. it seems to be like stretching my limits...

nowadays my boy testing limits very blatantly
last weekend we went to my gf hsewarming, he saw lots of pkt drinks on the coffee table and he kept leaning over the table, wanting to sip but dun dare, and keep grinning at me to see if i let him sip the drinks.
after i said no then he stopped doing that liao.
he leaned over for like 10x...machiam like zhao cai mao (prosperity cat)'s arm like that

jess
u say ur hb helping u with J rite??
dun dwell about what ur dad says lar, old ppl say all the weirdest stuff. when i moved house, my dad says the shelves on my living room is as though like a "sword" so its sharp and NG for my house.
fenghui/superstition but in times like these, just ignore for a while lor. got much more pressing things to handle than house got sword or penknife of looks black/brown/purple right

if u keep thinking u going crazy etc, you will...ur mind will just believe it...
so must be positive...
soka ppl say mothers are the sun of the family. we must always be strong/have wisdom/positive for our family....im sure u agree right?

jia you! feel down u sms me ok

pixie
i can sense tat my hubby also cannot take it liaoz. cos we really duno wat J wants anymore....

i knw wat u mean. but at tat instant when J keeps crying, it will just make u snap!... haiz... i very lost...

Jess,

Hugz....i went through that with my girl a while back..doing everything is a struggle, bath, eat, change, sleep, all is a battle....i also felt very tired and drained, somemore i'm SAHM lei...i can imagine u feel worse having to deal with all that after a long day at work...but hang in there ok??

our kiddos are older and sometimes it's ok to let them cry for awhile...i also felt very bad to let my girl scream and cry but sometimes the more i try to talk to her the more she just scream so in the end i just let her cry it out and when she calm down then talk to her nicely....my mother says machiam she needs to cry to let out her frustrations too....we all adults can rant and rave but they can only cry and scream lor...

dun stress so much ok?? most importantly is for u and hb to stay calm. It's just a phase and will be over soon!!

Jess,
It is good that you shared with us your feelings here. We are all here to listen. Don't feel down coz CNY coming. This is a passing phrase and I am sure J will be ok soon. Especially since CNY is coming and he will going visiting so he will be feeling happy and excited.

If you really can't comfort him when he cries then only has to let him be loh. When he feels better, he will come to you and hug you.

jess, take care and be positive! i know talk is easy but you have all our support here. i'm also very pessimistic but i think i have learned to be positive after knowing u all here hehe.

when will be ur new house ready?

Jess,
Some kids are like that. Maybe he is really enjoying a good time at outside or your mum's place and feels relunctant to go back home. As working parents, as much as we would love to play with him, sometimes we are so tired and have no energy to interact with him. Maybe have to cultivate some interesting activites at home so that he will enjoy and look forward to when at home? My girl likes to sing with her microphone and sit on our laps to watch videos from laptops when she is home with us. Coz these 2 things are not avail in my MIL's place and she is always happy doing these activities.

thanks all for ur advise....

tongtong
my new house will only be ready in 2-3 years time... wont be so fast.

krystle
maybe lor... like wat u say.. maybe just too tired..

i really am trying very hard to be positive le.. but so tired... i duno y i give myself so much pressure....

Jess,
I didn't just said it only. I have been through that (HR just cried/screamed for don't-know-what-reason, lasted a few days), not one, but 2 rounds. There was a few nights I almost broke down, couldn't take it anymore. But I know I have to hang on, cos I am a mum. And I keep reminding myself, he didn't do it on purpose, there must be something that he cannot express, or something that's bothering him (eg teething), or something new that he is trying/testing out, all of which you are not able or you would never find out the reasons for it. When you feel you cannot take it anymore, go elsewhere (eg, toilet, bedroom, kitchen), take a deep breath, think of something positive, cool down, then go back to him again. He needs you most. And trust me, it's a passing phase. He will be okay very soon!

jess
from another perspective, you may wish to think that "i dont need to know what J wants everytime"

coz you said "we really dunno what J wants". i think you & ur hb are just having maternal & paternal instincts to provide everything your child wants. but sometimes they do not want something but feel something which is perhaps new/uncomfortable/strange to them so they will cry/scream/shout.

you do NOT have to provide for, everytime for them. just being at J's side is enough. if he really needs something bad, he will show you in his own way. if he never tell you clearly. just let him vent his frustrations (like grumpus said)

take a step back and look at the big picture (of his emotional well being, loving him as a whole etc) instead of the small picture (fufilling his needs for the present)

Kam/pixie
okie..i will calm myself down and just be at his side. maybe tats all he needs.
tonite going out with my colleagues.. so hopefully when i go home, things will be better.

Morning

wahhh morning so many post liow!

yea kam, pixie well said, well said ah

Jess,
u are not alone...i have my fair share of Z's episode...his temper tantrum, his non-stop crying, whining, screaming, throwing his toys etc...bring it on! But like the rest said, yes IT'S DEFINITELY a passing phase & i've survived
You will too! JIA YOU!
Eh, btw...u or your parents/ILs got habit 拜床母?

steph
my mom got 拜床母 for my sis's 2 kids coz staying with my mom

jess
just 拜拜 lor haha...weird rite...like u offer joss sticks at the end of the bed where J sleep in the room at. no need to be at his bed. your bed oso can etc. same room can liao.
my mom offer joss sticks and got huat kuey

morning all!

im suffering both T2 and 3, #1 can get super cranky, at times a little bit of things he not happy, he will cry and it will get louder and louder till we respond to him, or say sayang him.

Pixie, Steph.
I also performed the ritual of 拜床母 too for both my kids. Coz elders said better to do and for the good of the kids. I see no harm in that so did it loh. They say it will make the kids behave better at home. I can't say it really works coz initially my boy is very very cranky. Nowadays he still cries at night when he is tired and wants to sleep but we can see it is getting better.

jess,
like what i explained to you in our MSN chat earlier on the 拜床母...same like what pixie & krystle said, my MIL also do it for both my boys.

kam,
i sold my 3mths old Ameda dual pump for $250 (still got 9mths warranty left). And also depend on the condition of your pump & any free valves/spares included etc. But under WTS section, pple all looking for budget like less than $180 for a used ameda pump although left with warranty still & pump no re-sale value

pixie,
my new shoe for today & also put on my new OPI nail polish (i ordered from BP with my coll recently)
to my toes for donkey yrs:p
So, what's yr 'unique' shoe for today?

3629873.jpg

Hey, u tried the bak kwa from Hu Zhen Long 胡振隆 before? Not bed leh.
http://www.chinatownology.com/huzhenlong.html

my nice coll bought few pieces of bak kwa (not branded) for me to try today

3629874.jpg

steph,
$250 very good price woh, but cos yours still have 9 months warranty lah. I want to sell mine so thought should sell it while it still has 6 months warranty, may be able to fetch better price :)

kam,
how much u bought the pump in the 1st place? i bought mine for $350 so still lugi $100 but consider i loan a brand new pump for 3mths, worth it lah. I think yours can fetch $200, try in WTS or perhaps your Sept09 thread & see if any kind mummies wanna buy an extra pump loh

steph,
Hehe, just posted at WTS. I bought mine at $318, used for 5+ months liao, if I can fetch $200, I would be very happy loh!

Sep09 thread doesn't have good review on Ameda, a lot of them use Medela, cos got 1 mummy used Ameda at fist, but she got very sore breasts and can never emptied her breast, the LC said it's the pump, and true enough, after she switched to Medela, she has no problem after that.

If, only if, I plan for #3, I might get a Medela and do exclusive pumping :) Day dreaming......

Kam,
u so cute...foc bfing advise..hee
hey u got a very gd buy at $318! If, only if, i plan for #3, i will still get Ameda (tried the Medela mini electric for #1 & i hate it, cause very sore nipples...until bleed
My massage lady (Mdm Rokiah) said Medela breastshield not suitable for me & can't empty my boobs well & asked me to get Ameda. When i tried for #2, yes it worked very well for me

But if u r willing to invest more than $400-600plus for Medela PIS or swing (heard they are quite gd...i think kitsune is loyal supporter) then u can consider. For me, it's just too ex unless i intend to bf for 1.5yrs or longer...

steph
today bring X back so no "new" shoes, just very tattered black flats.
but im wearing a cheena top today tho. with the cheena buttons, maindarin collar, and cheena cloth and all....CNY mood liao mah

never tried HZL but if got chance, sure will gobble them up heehee

kam
dont forget to pass me the unfinished bak kwa from msia!! :p :p

eh mummies with iphone
u all got install any GPS apps so that your iphone can also be used as a GPS when driving? if yes, share the name of the app that you have!

talking abt bak kwa
i was just telling jess yest, after i ate few slices of bak kwa before i went to sleep, the next morning my poo was so fragrant - bak kwa smell in toilet!!
abit gross har?

Pixie,
You dressed so cheena today? Really in mood hoh. Got competition in office is it? I don't have such cheena dress... never thought of buying one. Hmm.. wait until my figure slim down (fat hope!) then buy lah.

I got no CNY mood leh. Still working at home and house is still dirty and I have not started house cleaning yet!

Afternoon,
Feel so tired after seeing gynae. My girl is already engaged! Already being told not to move ard too much if I don't want to pop so soon.. The day is near. :D

Jess,
I think it is a passing phase for Javier. Xavier was like tt for 2 weeks then it get better now.

Pixie,
That is really funny. But I think it can be true, what goes in will come out. Some said if eat durians, poo poo will have durians smell too. I am not sure coz I don't eat durians.

Steph,
B loves his Sesame Street Sticker Activity book. In the beginning, he will anyhow paste but now with more practice he's getting better at it and will even try to paste the sticker on the correct picture. As for colouring, he used to anyhow scribble but now I try to teach him by drawing a big circle/square/etc and asking him to colour the insides. So far only stickers, colouring/drawing, reading and puzzles can keep him focused and occupied for the longest time. My PD said all these "quiet" activities helps to stretch their attention span and in turn they will be less hyper and more "controllable"...I hope

Jess,
B also learnt to sit/lie down on the floor to cry and kick his legs...dunno where he picked up that habit. I'm also very drained from fighting with him all day long but it's a passing phase...unfortunately it comes and goes. It's part of toddlerhood so we just have to learn to tackle their behaviour. I realised for B, he's trying to be "independent" as in he wants to do everything by himself and if we do it for him, he throws a tantrum and has a meltdown. So I try to be more patient and let him do things on his own until I can't take it anymore...hahaha!

krystle
office no competition. today everyone wore corporate. only me dressed down coz later running about. i wearing top lah, not dress/cheongsam. i oso cannot fit in leh...

only today i started to have CNY mood coz today is last day of work. after that - 10 days of bliss with my boy!!

icy
good luck. who thought of your gal's name (crystal)? nice name!

steph,
Haha, I should say "sharing" and not "advise", cos still not qualified enough to be one, and some more I don't really enjoy BFing :)

Or I should go try out which one suits me best before I buy one, IF, only if I plan for #3.

Pixie,
No problem! Will surely bring bak kwa for you! And can pass to you via our special free delivery service :)

krystle
got got got!! if i eat durians than i will come out durian poo. especially papaya. whenever i ate papaya my poo will have strong papaya smell

We brought B to the zoo yesterday and he spent an hr at the waterplay area. This morning when he woke up, his cheeks, neck, ears and under his armpits were all covered in rashes! It's like small red dots which we suspect is heat rash. His face is also ignificantly darker/redder like sunburn...but we did apply SPF 50+ sunblock on his face/neck and hands so not sure if he's allergic to the sunblock. Anyone has experience like this? The rashes feel warm to the touch so it's likely to be sunburn or heat rash?

wahhh icy...when is yr EDD? Ask yr gal to wait huh after CNY or she in hurry to get ang pow?hehe
u started drinking young coconut juice already?