(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wooweeeeeee...finally finished changing my
1xqueen size bedsheet set
2xsingle bedsheet set
all by myself & now waiting for the washing machine to spin dry

spring cleaning almost 80% done...clearing my storeroom later & also pack+put aside my old clothes (mostly pre-preggie ones) that i can't wear or not wearing in 3yrs from now. Looks like still a fair bit to go...

tongtong,
it's not due to any food woh cos i didn't take any special food in particular over the wkend except my reunion dinner...i had buddha jump over the wall set menu with my family
All the good stuff...shark's fin, whole abalone, bamboo piths, dry scallops, sea cucumber, fish maw, pig trotter, chix & chinese herbs etc...that explained why i felt feverish on Sunday nite. I asked my mum & she told me perhaps my body was already heaty plus the buddha jump over the wall tonic makes it worse loh

kam,
no leh, i don't remember i have this allergy reaction before. That's why i quickly changed bedsheet...in case of bed bugs etc that causes my sudden allergy! By the way, how often u all change bedsheet huh? mine is 2 mths once leh although i know i shld do it often like once a month but really no energy (lazy) & time to do it

yeah Janbb,
looking forward to Thursday! Oh...like what mandy said, honey milk tea still taste very sweet so in this case, i will take 25% sweetness will do! Thanks

Steph, ok la maybe too heaty so the heat was expelled out in the form of rash. You wil be alright hehe. eh, 2 months once so long ah. Mine 2 weeks once wor.

steph,
Our part time helper helps us to change every 2 weeks. She suggested to change every week, I say no need lah :) Before we got the part time helper, I only changed when I cannot tahan the smell, that is like 1-2 months. Your part time helper doesn't change for you meh?

tongtong,
Z sleep on 4inch mattress on the floor.

kam,
oh i see. nope my domestic helper don't do it cos i never requested her since day 1.

steph
harnor my pt helper change for us but on those alternate weeks that she never come, we change ourselves.
1xqueen; 1xsuper single
plus floor rags, mats, cushion covers n all

steph,
why didnt u request for it since u r lazy to do it urself? :p

i change every alternate week. 2 months seems too long leh.

Pauline: aiyoh, with your own mum, you can "talk back" huh. Now with PIL, I cant say anything, thats why feel "itchy" and upset. ;-(
Today they even say that: why dont I use reusable diapers, why didnt I toilet trained J? Why this and that? and further shit, they brought their 50 years old TV for us (I & hubby hate having TV in our house and we definitely don't want our J to get addicted to TV at all).. but they just brought in and said that it's good for J. come on, this is my daughter and they decide what I should do to her! Lucky, my hubby told my MIL that: since you r very good at talking, why don't you do it by yourself? then they keep quite but I am very upset and annoyed.
They even said so many things that makes me super pissed off. Aggghhhhh!!
When I nurse my #2, MIL said that I can go have rest too. I told her that these days hardly to have rest, but she said: why can't have? if you know how to organise yourself, you sure have enough rest." Hello!!! what is she talking about? I mean even of well-oragnised, I find it is hard for me to close my eyes soz we have things to do, and have 2 kids to look after. Do you get what I mean? ;-((
It is always easier said than done???

blessedbaby, ya lor, I agree, with my ILs, I got to 'zip zip' my mouth but they are not like my mum cos they really hands on with my gals. So even if I don't like their methods sometimes, I still respect them for it. My mum is all talk and no action. :p

Morning, mummies!

My maid arrived yesterday. I hope she will be a good help to my MIL...

Can ask those mummies employing maid? I got a silly question leh. For sanitary pads and overseas calling card, do maids pay for themselves or I have to buy for them? Thanks.

blessedbaby,

*hugz* ignore them. they will b coming back to sg soon n u will b away fr them. i know how u feel (with all my saga haha). my suggestion is to close 1 eye now. let them handle #1 while u rest n concentrate on #2 cos when they left, u nid all the energy. dun waste energy now.

blessedbaby,
Ignore bah, MILs like to talk and talk like they are so capable during their time.

Understand what they say always make us frustrated, i will have my fair share of the talks when I deliver too.

krystle,
All the best!!!

My maid brought her own sanitary pads, but later on I got buy for her since for 6 mths she only had $20 pay (no off).

I only let her call back home on the day she arrived my house to let her family know that she is settling well. And she really not "automatic", called for 30mins and finished up my $7 phoenix card. Since it was also new yr so I close 1 eye. But the following month, she requested to call home again, I told her she can write letter or get her own calling card if she wants. Then she decided tt it is ok not to call, (testing her luck). I don't want her to make it a habit to call every mth. Quote my friend, we are only obligated to let her send letters home. :p Me bad hor. Actually must see ur maid have exp or not.

Actually checked with friends and they said that they only allow their maids to call back during special occasions like birthdays, new year.. even if it is their own calling card.

blessedbaby,
**hugz** Aiyoh, thought you have kinda gone through one round with your ILs and in good relationship already. Now started all over again ah? Don't take it to heart lor. Let them say what they want to say, since they are not going to live with you for long. Tell them that they can do what they want to do with J, but don't tell you what to do with your daughter.

Krystle, good luck on your maid. My maid buys her own calling card, I always make sure she sets aside $10 to buy phone card first cos she tends to spend everything once she gets her pay.

Icy, initially I let her call once a month with no fixed date/ time but that side always never switch on hp or husband not back yet. And she will be do emotional when she can't talk to them. Then I told her to tell them that she will call on the 8th of every month after 8pm so that they will standby the phone.

kitsune,
Ur maid spend on what? She don't need to send money home? BTW do u insist that your maid keep a min amt of savings in her bank a/c everyone. Something like saving up for an air tix, in case she wants to go back home before contract end?

Which calling card did ur maid get? Had been researching what is the best calling card to get.

tongtong
haha... then maybe he saw the wrong person ba. he just said looks familiar..

icy
i told my maid tat she needs to keep min. $500 just in case she wants to go back before contracts end... but nw contracted ended.. she shopped so much these past 1 month tat she is not bringing much back... duno wat she worked for~~~

luca,
my domestic helper come for a 3hr cleanup + ironing of clothes fortnightly so not much time to change bedsheet & i feel better to do it myself lah...will have to get my lazy butt moving!:p

We just celebrated R's 1st birthday last Sat, actual day on 8th Feb

oh i will not order polar butter cake again...dun like the butter taste

3627484.jpg

Rayden is so cute! Happy belated birthday to Rayden! Can still remember the day when we found out that you were pregnant with #2, and your struggle, etc etc etc, now 1 year old already......

RE: maid
i brought sanitary pad n calling card for my maid. only once, i let her pay herself for the calling card. But she very zi tong, so far only call home a few times, abt once a mth. I also bought her toiletries etc le.
btw, do u all give ang paos to maids during CNY? if yes, how much??

Re: Maid
I buy my maid $10 calling card every month starting from the day she arrives, she can call home any day as long as after her chores and at night before she sleeps. Once she finished the card, it's her problem, i.e. she can either go and buy a new card or wait till next month when i get her one again.

Icy, Pauline.

Thanks for your comments. I think I will buy the sanitary pads for her for the 1st 6mths. Like what you say, she only got $20/mth... And y'day when we checked her cash, she only has $14.10 only. As for calling card, maybe we will buy for the 1st time. If later she needs to call, then ask her to buy if herself but got to restrict the frequency of calls.

Haiz, so ma fan...

Kam,
Yes, she is staying at my ILs place. But my ILs don't speak English so communication to her has to go through hubby and me...

icy,
i keep $500 from my maid with me till she goes home or contract ends. I bought the BIP calling card, the seller told me it's clear and can call for quite long for phillipines.

Luvv and Jess
How to u keep the $500, that means after the loan for the next 2 mths, she cant send money back?

Think i quite bad abt calling back. :p

Shannonbaby
Think I will bao ard $20 for maid for CNY bah.

icy
ya.. canot send $ back lor... no point she send back every month cos everytime send $ thru western union, there is $10 admin fee... so i advise my maid got more $ liao then send....

RE: Calling home

When I was living overseas, alone, I felt home sick very often. To be able to call home and listen to the voice of my family made me felt so so so much better. I cannot imagine how one would feel when she wants to talk to families but not allow to........

Jess,
u getting new maid since ur maid's contract ended?

i gave my maid 1 calling card, so far she only called home once.

luca
nopez. we are not getting a new maid for the time being. my hubby say at least wait till his probation is over, which is 6 months later.... haha...

tongtong, jess, kam,
yea how time flies...see our #1 already 2YO..soon they will be moving onto the stage of asking why, how, where & what...hee

tongtong,
the cake is only 1kg nia, not very big.

Re: Introducing sticker book or coloring book
Anyone introduce any such activity book to your tods already?

Kam,
I understand that cos fil also overseas. She just used up the first calling card value within 1 call!

So now I give her an option to buy her own calling card if she wants to.

I am still watching her performance since she is here ard 1 mth.

Luvv,
BIP card can use for how long?

luca
ya lor. no choice.. finances very tight mah.
i believe definitely we can managed without a maid, just got to learn to adjust ourselves to it. my concern is only my ILs cos i worry about them being alone at home and their meals.... other than tat, i am perfectly fine

If you have a indo maid, buy chit chat card($7.80) is much cheaper and got 1 hour of calling time if i remember correctly. For me i give her 1 calling card every month. I told her is she perform well i will give her 1 card every month. I dun buy sanitary pads for them. They have salary of $10 so buy themself.

SY
I try introducing sticker book and coloring book. Xavier is still quite bad at colouring, it is more like scribing on the paper... so I decide that plain paper is enough for it.

Sticker wise, he don't really know how to appreciate yet. Just peel and paste then he feel that it is not interesting.

icy,
after her loan, i deduct $100 every month for 5 months, she already no money for 1st 7 months, so at least let her have money for her off day on the 8th month. not sure how long BIP card can last, i forgot already :p i don't buy pads for her also.

Jess,
did ur ILs say anything? maybe can order tingkat for them.

Steph,
my boy not into stickers book also, sometimes he will tear it up, only korkor knows how to appreciate and take care of it, he wouldnt let didi touch his stickers. :p