(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

qn for today:
what is the norm amount you pack per angbao? for normal people (not your close relatives kind lar)

Ans: Used to be $6, but this year $4, cut cost ;p

Kam,

no more ML liao. but got plenty of AL haha

today on course. z there haha but then tiok suan by colleagues cos our team finishes faster n they say cos my team got a degree holder so can finish faster. *yawn* good excuse for me to koonz cos cannot open mouth haha

Re: AP

Cousins - $10 (and i have lots of cousins - near 20-30)
MIL's cousins' grandchildren - so distance liao .. $4 enuf :p
Elders - haiz.. bor bian ..$100

BROKE BROKE BROKE liao

Kam, Pixie, Chaye, Aqua.

I have posted out your items yesterday. Please look out.

Twinkystar,
Your item is with me. How you want to meetup? Bedok Res? Kaki Bukit? Tampines?
let me know, ok?

hmmmm
then most prob i oso $4 or $6 coz i cut cost oso. last yr was $8

krystle
thanks...whooohooo got new stuff to try liao

My gal napped at record time today, 1235pm. I was showering while trying to massage and clear lump so as usual she was screaming. When I came out, she was half asleep in maid's arms. Quickly ask her to make milk while I take over. She KO before finishing her milk. Hope she can have a decent nap. :p

AP
We used to give $4 including cousins, colleagues etc. Hubby thinks it's too low so we are upping to $8 instead. Hmm... maybe $6 would be good enough. After all, I'm SAHM. Single income niah... :p

Any mommy wanna take over a tin of PediaSure Complete (purple lid) Vanilla 900g @ $28 frm me? PM me if interested yeah

Re: Ang Pao
This year not giving cos my dad passed away last June.

For my side of the family, it's $24 for nieces & unmarried siblings. Cousins, etc are $16. My hubby's side is $10 across the board but still lugi cos his relatives usually only give $4-$8. Imagine even for our wedding, some of his relatives gave $4/$8...wah lau...luckily my relatives are quite generous otherwise we'll make a big loss...hahaha!

this yr i should be giving $6 to distant relatives, and for close ones, $10....my parents $80 - $100 each
budget budget

Wa, bb cried in her room and RaeAnne woke up crying in the living room, shouting no, open the door... Think she's traumatised cos I close the door when I shower or need to feed mei mei sometimes. Luckily I was near enough to quickly pat her back to sleep. Time for me to rest cos took cough syrup... :p

qn for today:
what is the norm amount you pack per angbao? for normal people (not your close relatives kind lar)

A: usually $4, for relatives (my side & hb's family side) $6, my close cousins $50, my parents $200 each...wahhhh broke oso!

Yesterday night i was watching "The Moment of Truth" (US game show) on channel 5 at 11.30pm. Wahhhh this game show where the contestant answer a series of particularly difficult question. The questions vary, increasing in difficulty and degree of personal nature of the questions. To date, no contestant has reached the final tier who will wins the jackpot of $500,000! But ugly truth will be exposed loh &amp; damaging to relationship, very stress ah...<font color="ff0000">so topic for today:
Would you dare participate or allow your spouse to go for this game show for the sake of $??</font>

steph
i will coz i didnt do a lot of bad stuff when i was younger wat
we all guai guai very ez to win the top tier one lah

steph,
I will, too, for the sake of money. Cos I got nothing to hide from my hubby since we knew each other since so looooog ago.

THE MOMENT OF TRUTH is the game show that puts participants to the test – the lie detector test – to reveal whether or not they are telling the truth for a chance to win half a million dollars. Participants answer 21 increasingly personal questions honestly, as determined by a polygraph, to win the money. Prior to playing, participants are strapped to a lie detector and asked a series of questions by a polygraph expert, who records their answers. The questions are easier when the stakes are low, but as the prize amount increases, they will be challenged to fess up to matters they might normally lie about. The touchier questions could be especially difficult because participants reveal their answers in front of spouses, relatives and friends, who are in the audience hanging on every word. What deep dark secret will someone divulge for hundreds of thousands of dollars?

These are some of the questions asked on the game show:

Do you really care about the environment?
Have you ever parked in a handicapped spot?
Have you ever driven in a carpool lane while alone in your car?
Have you ever made fun of your friends behind their backs?
Do you think you are smarter than the majority of the people you grew up with?
Do you believe you are better looking than all of your friends?
Have you ever exaggerated to your friends the number of women/men you slept with?
Do you currently owe a friend money that you have no intention of paying back?
If you saw your friend’s spouse with another woman/man would you tell your friend?
Are you more comfortable around friends that you know are not as attractive as you are?
Have you ever discussed the intimate details of your marriage/relationship with you friends?
Have you ever thought that your parents would be better off if they were divorced?
Do you think that you are smarter than your parents?
Did you ever throw a party at your parents’ house without their knowledge?
Do you think your parents did a good job raising you?
Do you like your mother more than your father?
Do you believe your parents are proud of you?
Have you ever wished you were born into a different family?
Do you believe your parents favor your sibling more than you?
Do you respect your father?
Have you ever stolen from your parents?
Do you think you are better looking than your sibling(s)?
Would you report a family member to the police if you knew they had committed a crime?
Do you think you are a good role model for your children?
Do you think you have what it takes to be a good father?
Would you be happy with yourself if you turned out like your mother/father?
Would you say your mother is a great cook?
Would you be happy to marry a woman who is just like your mother?
Do you dislike small children?
Do you secretly think babies are ugly?
If a natural disaster left thousands of people homeless, would you let a family of strangers stay in your house?
Have you ever pretended to be happy for someone’s success when you really weren’t?
Have you lied on your resume?
Do you really believe you’re going to have a successful career?
Have you taken credit for someone else’s work?
Have you ever spied on your co-workers in the bathroom?
Have you ever called in sick to work when you really weren’t?
Do you love your job more than sex?
Have you ever disliked someone for being more successful than you?
Do you think you drive a more expensive car than you can truly afford?
Are you jealous of people with more money than you?
Have you done anything to win?
Have you ever snooped through your girlfriends/boyfriends things?
Do you always wash your hands after using the restroom?
Is there a body part on your spouse that you dislike?
Do you wish you were still single?
Did you ever fake it in bed?
Did you ever fake it out of bed?
Do you think you are smarter than your girlfriend/boyfriend?
Have you ever thought your spouse was boring?
Do you believe wives must serve their husbands?
Do you believe your spouse respects you?
Do you ever feel your spouse is too controlling?
Have you ever feared your spouse might leave you for someone better looking?
Do you ever resent your spouse for not earning more money?
Do you ever check out other women/men in front of your spouse?
Are you in love with your boyfriend/girlfriend?
If the opportunity presented itself, would you consider getting back together with any of your former boyfriends/girlfriends?
Have you ever lied to your spouse about the number of people you’ve slept with?
Do you fantasize about cheating on your spouse/partner?
Have you ever broken up by text message?
Have you ever taken something from a store without paying for it?
Have you ever made a sexy video?
Have you ever posed nude?
Do you have fantasies you’d never admit to anyone?
Have you ever spied on a naked neighbor?
Have you ever pretended to be another sex online?
Have you ever uploaded a sexy picture to the internet?
Do you think you’re better than everyone else because you’re hot?
Do you use your looks and charm to manipulate people?
Are you jealous of people who are hotter than you?
Do you think a good personality is the most important quality in a person?
Have you ever had cosmetic surgery?
Is that your real nose?
Are you a compulsive spender?
Have you lied about your weight?
Do skinny people make you jealous?
Have you ever stuffed your underwear?
Have you ever made a false accusation?
Do you secretly give nothing to charity?
If you found someone’s wallet with $1,000 and their identification in it, would you give it back?
Would you commit a sin to have your credit card debt erased?
Have you ever stolen a tip from a table while eating at a restaurant?
Do you hate people who drive nicer cars than you?
Have you ever left a restaurant without paying the bill?
Have you ever flirted with a policeman to get out of a ticket?
Do you burp/fart in public and blame it on someone else?
Are you currently a member of the Hair Club for Men?
As an adult, have you ever peed in a swimming pool?
Did you cheat on any of your tests in school?
Have you ever claimed to read a book that you have never read?
Do you think you are better looking that your siblings?
Do you think you will still be married in 5 years?
Do you sabotage your rivals at work?
Have you ever tried to get a co-worker fired
Have you ever lied to get a job?
Do you find any of your spouse’s friends attractive?
Do you like your mother-in-law?
Do you really care about the starving children in Africa?
Do you have any secrets that you believe could end your marriage?
Have you ever wished for something bad to happen to someone you know?
Would you cheat on your partner if you knew you wouldn't get caught?

<font color="0000ff">pixie,</font>
u sure no stress ah &amp; dare to go for such game show? not easy to win top tier price leh, gotta pay a huge price woh! Yesterday one of the difficult question was, "Do you think your husband really loves you?" when the contestant's husband was sitting in the show too &amp; eager to find out what's the wife answer but at the same time u can see his face expression like very stress or torn apart...like scare being hurt at the same time to know the truth!

steph
i should be ok. i may have my fair share of happenings when i was younger but everyone has them. and like kam said, nothing to hide from hb lor...even if i peed in swimming pool etc, i dont mind telling leh, for the sake of $$

steph,
Wah, I read through the list. Yes, think I can surely answer all of the questions. Think because most of those "challenging" ones don't apply to me at all, like cheating on spouse etc. Other things like those daily life ones, I am okay to tell the truth.

pixie, kam,
cos the above questions are more for the americans. If S'pore were to host this game show, it wil be tailored according to our life style &amp; personality bah. And i don't think SIN will host this kind of show cos many can't take it de. If u were to participate meaning the whole of SIN will know yr secrets liow! And all for the sake of $...

ok then we shall have our SMH-Jan08-SGP version:

-Have you spit in public before?
-Have you ever thought that your child looks cuter (or is smarter) than some other child(ren) of the same age?
-Have you ever not giving up your mrt/bus seat for someone when you know you should but you are too lazy/tired to do so?

btw steph
bedok central got a new bubble tea shop, their milk tea has a stronger milk taste than koi, and their milk tea is creamy but surprisingly not much milky taste.
they have the same setup as koi, with the machine shaker, and the individually wrapped straws, with % of sweetness, and % of ice...

their bubbles are pinkish/red in colour, called "roselle pearls"; with roselle plant extract...

no engrish name of the place, but in chinese its called 水研社

jess
bo leh
its near....a shoe shop...or mei zhen xiang? i think? cant remember whats on the left &amp; right of the bubble tea shop
blk 205

pixie,
thanks for info

but hor i have yet to try KOI leh
...hb refused to make a trip at TPY outlet...he said very troublesome cos need to park car, cannot stop alongside road cos koi not along roadside mah.
But i've tried each a cup, cup walker, rockery &amp; sweet talk so far onli. The best KOI yet no chance to
sad leh... just now janbb sms-ed me cos she passing by tpy koi &amp; ask what type of tea nice?...i told her to try plain milk tea loh...for me, i will go for my usual honey milk tea...pai seh to ask her buy for me cos by then she reach home, the ice melt liao &amp; her hands will be busy with Jayden.

RE: Koi Milk Tea
Recently tried Koi and loved it. Like the HOney Milk Tea. Not a tea drinker but like the texture of the pearl and taste of teh drink.

Steph.
There is a branch at AMK too.

I miss bubble tea!! Will get my hb to buy for me after I deliver.. 1 MORE ITEM on my want-to-eat list after i pop. :p

jess
koi's pearls is more mushy/soft/melts in your mouth.
水研社's pearls is harder than koi but softer than the rest of the crappy brands; it has a nice taste to it due to the roselle essence, but not as much pearls in a cup compared to koi

steph
melt liao u put back to fridge still can drink one lah heehee

icy
few weeks more to go, you go girl! LUN LUN LUN
i only had milk tea after my 1 mth confinement....i really lunzzzzz leh

pixie,
Luning! Looking at so many CNY goodies.. my saliva dunno flood until where.. haha..

Confinement cannot take cold stuff hor... also english tea also like cannot.

pixie,
I think can at bak kwa , one of my item to eat. After CNY period, bak kwa also cheaper bah.. After I pop then not so bad. Now me GD, cant eat sweet stuff, continue to drool....

I want a pisces baby, doubt will pop so soon.. Xavier also pop on week 40.

talking about bak kwa, i very the hungry now....
this yr not much bak kwa to eat *sad*sad* coz i only bot 2kgs - 1kg for each side of the family...

Pixie
we usually have loads of bak kwa left over at home, cos no one wants to eat. If I can remember, I bring here for you, I have never known anyone who likes bak kwa as much as you le. Malaysia lots of different shops, some really nice some not.

kam
wah thanks.....thankssssssssssss!!!
i dont understand why ppl dun like bak kwa heehee
i chow down aprox. 2-3kgs per year.

pixie, wah you really like bak kwa. do you eat bk with bread? my colleague bot the mei zhen xiang bk but not many eating leh .

tongtong
no i eat bak kwa, plain. a box of 500g have have like max 8-10pcs and i can finish them in half an hr :p :p

but i used leftover bak kwa and fry with rice last yr...

mummies, those not keen in bak kwa but need to clear stock pls tell me i will devour them for you haha

pixie,
Last year my mum threw away 2-3 packs of unopenned ones, cos after a few months, still no one touched it. I eat and I would crave for it sometime, but I can only take 1 piece, after 1 piece, don't feel like eating it for a long time.

Icy,
You really have to lun so hard hor.... so poor thing. But never mind lah, all for the little princess, worth it!

kam
my heart bleeds for them...i am bak kwa salvation army donation centre ok!!

time to go home n see my boy, then its a long trek from JE to SK, then another round of laundry + housework!!

Re: Ba kwa

I like the bacon one. already finished 1 pack of 500g before CNY. Javier and hubby loves them too.

Pixie,
how is ur damage on ur bkk trip?

Verene,
Re: BKK
U can find children wear in platinum &amp; Indra Square (which is juz next to platinum). Like pixie has mentioned, you can find very cheap &amp; good buy from the stalls along their street. We managed to grap many short jeans for my boy &amp; girl &amp; is only abt $5 SGD nia ;) And same here, i took tiger air for this trip as there is a $1 promotion. Happy shopping!!

Btw, you bringing your boy along for this trip?? Dun really recommend you to do so cos as what i hv earlier mentioned abt the scary incident above... i was telling my hubby that thankfully that i did not bring my kid along. (reply to Luvv qns too ;)

Tongtong,
No leh, no announcement leh...maybe we were all in hurry to escape too, didn't bother to listen at all. Lesson learnt : Dun shop at platinum during weekend cos is too crowded...

Also I did my hair coloring (l'oreal) at BKK... 1000 tbt.. which is abt $40+. This salon is the cheapest that we can find there... And OMG!!! My hair is so gold now... my mum said i look like "golden monkey", faint...wahaha... think i look like Super Lian mummy now...heehee

My friends did their mani &amp; pedi with crystal nailart at the salon... very cheap only 200tbt each for mani or pedi... blink blink... The salon is at indra square... check it out, verene...
----------------------------------------------------
Steph,
Oh...i didn't know that you didn't try KOI before ah...cos' rem u &amp; pixie were discussing abt koi last time. No problem!!! I will be at TPY every thurs. I can buy for you if you dun mind to get it at abt 8pm &amp; the milk tea may not be cold? If u are fine, i can buy for u next week??
--------------------------------------------------------
Pixie,
KOI is nice ;) I tried the original milk tea with 70% sweetness today. Hmm, next week will try other flavour, yum yum ;p Btw, first time need to q for bubble tea men... still got q no. somemore... so popular there....
---------------------------------------------------------------
Any gd food at TPY central or HDB hub?? Will be good if it is todd friendly. Cos' J's class will end at 5.30pm &amp; need to get his dinner outside. Sometimes we dine at Raffles Place or Tiong Bahru while waiting for hubby to fetch us at abt 7pm. But find it very weird to hang out wif a todd in Raffles Place, hahaha...so many working class giving me a funny stare...faint... make me feel so "small" too for that very moment...and miss my office attire...
---------------------------------------------------------------
Mandy,
U can try zoophonic. J is attending twice weekly with me a/c. They have daily class too but no adult a/c. Find that is pretty fun in the class with him. I can recite all the animal friends in "phonic" with J at home &amp; sing their nursery rhymes.
-------------------------------------------------------------
Oh ya, i muz feedback on shichida. Have attended a mth of lessons with my boy so far. Find that i really like their parenting concept &amp; my boy enjoys the activities in class.

Re: Blank Flashcard (A5size)
Anyone know whether there is any BP on this? Can help me look out if u happen to see it?? I will need quite a lot. Thks.

Pixie,
My hubby also bot vit C &amp; facial wash from Boots. We like to shop at Big C too. Bot many pkts of pocky &amp; Lays potato chips back cos is soooo cheap, hahaha ;) U dare to feed your boy with their FM ah?? Made from Thai one ah?? My hubby only told me that some of their diapers are cheaper than s'pore.. but we know that is very silly to buy this heavy stuff back, haha.. only kpo check their price...

Just came back home... Had dept dinner with my ex-dept coz ex-boss promoted and wanted to treat the whole team for Yr 2009 efforts. Ate at Ellenborough Mkt in Merchant Court hotel. I only find the food so-so. Got seafood but I don't take... Sashimi is rather fresh. All other food is not worth mentioning... I won't go there if I need to pay next time. :p But surprisingly full house...

Twinkystar,
Sorry for my late reply...
Tampines - Only able to meet on Fri (12pm to 1pm).
Kaki Bukit - Mon to Fri (9am to 5pm)

Aiyah, who's going to bkk next? Can I tompang to buy boots milk bags? Heard it is much cheaper than lansinoh but equally good in terms of quality. This time round I got to use milk bags instead of glass bottles cos fridge got no space. Raeanne is drinking very little of my ebm. :p

Steph, I finally tried yuki otah. nice!

a short workday today, yay!!

janbb
KOI is nice hor, but wah you took 75% sweetness, a bit sweet for me lah, coz i take either 50% sweetness or 25% sweetness...
the pkt fm, i let him try lor. my boy dont drink fm at all and he is not as chubby as last time, so got any chance for him to drink some fm in then i very happy liao leh