(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kam , in the zoo when shaun saw the big huge animal, he will say "pa4 pa4" while patting his chest.

junkfood: i let shaun eat anderson ice cream, it's yummy! glad that he din finish it, ate a few spoonful , then passed it back to me.

steph, yea tell him no more cuttlefish liao, or bluff him that you are going to buy again weekend so that he wont wnhine and beg? how nice if our kid beg for healthy food hor?

<font color="0000ff">Hi, mummies.

My friend is looking for 2nd hand (in good condition) stroller and car seat for toddlers above 1 yr. Anyone interested, please let me know and I get my friend to send you email to enquire. Thanks!</font>

tongtong,
we (especially my MIL) don't encourage that we bluff him. She said, if we (adults) promised him to do something (eg, like we are going to buy the cuttlefish again wkend, we must do it), have to honour our word so that the child wont follow suit &amp; thinks it's okay to bluff. Now kids learn fast, if we bluff them many times, they aren't gonna believe what we say next time. Usually i will tell him NO MORE firmly (show him an empty container) or LAST PIECE of the cuttlefish.

steph,
That's why people said kids taken care by granny are usually a spoilt kid (no offence). Granny are usually too soft hearted..... and they would want to leave the disciplining to the parents while they enjoy to be the "good guy". Without their cooperation, I think it's very hard for you, but you try your best lor, k.

For us, everything in the fridge are meant for him to eat. All kinda healthy food. So he gets to pick 1 or 2 types that he wants. If he doesn't want, mean no snack. But I soft hearted also, sometimes I put chocolate for him to choose also, but surprisingly he doesn't like it that much (me neither) :) All those junk (hubby likes the dried cuttlefish!) are kept seperately. And what's more, we loves the flava beans, but HR CANNOT eats it, cos he is G6PD deficient, I quit and don't eat it anymore, but hubby can't quit from it, so whenever he eats, have to be out of sight of HR.

steph, yea you got a point! i did bluff shaun sometimes, oops, hopefully i dont need to bluff him next time liao.

Kam, hwat is g6pd again? what will happen if he accidentally took the beans?

tongtong,
That he is lacking the G6PD (glucose-6 something something) enzyme in his body. He couldn't digest the beans (or rather, the by products of the beans). If consumed, must send to A&amp;E immediately. It will take one's life if it's delay for treatment.

tongtong,
Just the flava bean alone, all other beans are ok. And some antibiotics (mostly used to treat dengue/malaria), and some chinese medicine/herbs (which are banned in Singapore according to Dr Keoy). So it's really only the flava beans that need to be careful with.

Luca,
Forgot to answer you about Dr Keoy's new clinic. It's only him and another (new) female PD. So it's much less crowded and waiting time is cut short also. But then again, depending on what time you go. We were the last patient that day, but when we were making the payment, suddenly came about 5-6 families.

Steph,
Yah, I also think it's not good to bluff and say you'll buy next time and never honour it. Celeste loves swimming and every single day, she'll wanna go swimming. There was once we told her we will bring her to swim on a saturday and she acutally remembered all the way. When saturday came and WE FORGOT about what we said, she whined and whined and reminded us to bring her to swim. :s Powerful memory.

Now, we tell her we will go swimming on weekends only when the weather is good. Hehehe. Must add the condition.

Anyway, my whole family is quite cooperative when we come to eating junk food. Try our very very best not to eat junk food (potato chips, biscuits, anything to cause constipation) infront of Celeste. We hide, we eat when she's not around and do everything to avoid letting her eat. If she sees us eat, then we quickly distract her with something else but that doesn't really work acutally. haha.. anyway, i think you need to send the message across to your in laws that why you think all those food is junk to Z. like it's processed, too salty, too sweet, not good for Z, will cause him to be ill in the long term etc. Ask them if they want Z to be ill????

Kam,
nope, my MIL not soft hearted towards Z, is my FIL. And yes, i've seen real cases that granny or grandparents spoilt the kid.
Hmm...this is just abt junk food (minor issue) &amp; now Z is already 2YO so i am more relax aka close one eye liow. As long as is not some major disagreement on how to discipline the kid/s on moral/values/what's right &amp; wrong issue etc then i am ok.
Sometimes we gotta put ourselves in grandparents' shoes (for my case la), not easy to manage "take care" the children ah (cos pple (the neighbours) will say, "hey u've got 2 active boys, tough on your PILs hor &amp; u very fortunate ah etc etc"...R still show no sign of walking, only cruising in his walker...gonna turn 1YO next Monday
).

Steph, i know hw u feel. kids looking after my inlaws, tend to be more spoilt. grandparent hardly wan to be 'the bad guy'and to them, everything is okay coz they wana pamper kids.

my girl reali scare of me, and she duneven wan come near me when my inlaws are around. she prf to stay close to them or her dad who always GIVE IN 100% to all her demands men.

i also cant stand it when pple say i v lucky, got inlaws helps...but but... onli ourselves know... each household got its problems.

aqua,
wahahahah... i agree with you! yeah, we may be lucky that our inlaws / parents helping BUT..... it's the big BUT. heh.

mcfluffy,
my ILs knows those junk food is processed, salty, sweet &amp; no gd for Z but not in huge qty (small bit pieces nia) &amp; not everyday i hope! Already sent the message across but it's still up to them (ILs) cos when we are working, we won't know if they follow our rules as in not to give junk food or will still allow...simply no control ah...if by asking them like what u said, "you want Z to be ill? etc" is like challenging them...no trust &amp; will hurt the relationship, no gd leh.

Steph,
haha, hope they don't give everyday too. Maybe only as a treat when Z is guai. Hehe.

Kam,
yes.. took CCL otherwise I won't be here. Waiting for C to wake up from her sleep. She finally went to sleep without making noise.

Steph
So fast hor, ur R is turning 1 yo. seemed like so short while ago when u had #2.

I am still counting down, had blessbaby pop?

Tongtong, yup, she takes bittergourd too. She takes after me, I don't mind bitter stuff and bitter soups (except super bitter TCM medicine). Hubby has a sweet tooth.

Icy, RaeAnne likes so ta bing too. Introduced by FIL.

Mcfluffy, your gal so clever, RaeAnne doesn't know when is Sat versus Monday yet. :p

Kam, my hubby is G6PD, that's why I got to bank my gals' cord blood separately cos SCCB doesn't accept. But luckily both my gals not G6PD deficient lor cos it is more prevalent in baby boys than gals.

Vday
I told hubby that I'm going to send cake and flowers to his dept since he stopped sending flowers to me since Vday 2008. He gets the cake and he brings home the flowers for me. He said don't, he'll get me flowers. Think he's scared to be embarrassed. Haha. ;)

Raelynn is 2 months old today.

Kitsune,
You are so sweet. Still send cake and flowers. Reminds me of an ex-coll. His birthday is on Vday and he will receive flowers and balloons from his wife w/o fail every year. Too bad I am not so thoughtful type. And my hubby only gave me flowers ONCE loh. Angry...

krystle,
Oh, is it? Blessedbaby popped on the 28th Jan ah? should be her then. Her FB id is Hxxnxx.

kitsune,
Ya, I remembered your hub is also G6PD deficient. Yes, my girl doesn't get it too, luckily.

Kam,
Hxxnxx Cxxx, right? Then ya, she popped!

Her msg in FB:
Thank you for your well wishes. I have delivered my baby girl on 28th Jan naturally w/o epidural. ;-) It was a smooth and quick delivery. We arrived at hospital at 630am and baby came out at 853am. Baby weights at birth 3.660kgs, height: 50cm, and head circ: 34cm. Both mother and baby are doing well.

Krystal &amp; Kam
Oic, she wasn't in my friend list. Looks like she had a fast labour and her baby is of good weigh.

RE:G6PD
My bro had it and my parent blur blur, never bother with it until he went army. I don't even know if he got it from my mum or father.

Kam,
How to know if a kid is with G6PD? Sounds scary when you say can be life threatening if treatment is delayed... I am those kind of blur blur mummy leh. A lot of things also dun know... Coz always bringing my kids to GP so he never check that details too.

Icy,
Your turn is next right? How is your glucose level? Still ok? Can tell you are looking forward to see Mei Mei.

Steph,
Ya loh. 3.66kg and still can w/o epi! If me, already faint... I was very pain until like crazy then w/o epi and my boy is normal size (3.2kg). But now looking back, sort of forgetting how dramatic it was... Memory loss...

Krystle, keke, think my intention is not so pure leh. I wanted to tease him since he stopped sending me flowers. Imagine, if the wife sent him flowers at work (school), the whole school from clerk to colleagues will know about it and probably find it strange why it's the wife sending flowers to hubby instead. He'll probably be very paiseh lor. haha. ;P

Krystle, G6PD blood test is a routine blood test once baby is born. Usually while you are still in hospital, baby's PD will tell you the blood test results, same time as baby's blood group.

<font color="ff0000">Congrats! Blessedbaby.

krystle / Icy,
It's a compulsory screening for all newborns in Singapore. Your kids are sure not suffering from this, else the PD would have told you on the 2nd day of your hospital stay.

It's an inherited disease. Must get 1 copy of the disease gene from daddy and 1 copy from mummy to be G6PD deficient. It's a "fair" disease cos both parents are responsible for it :) Both me and hubby do not suffer from it, we both are "carrier", as in we still have 1 copy of good gene.

Kitsune,
Hahaha... You also very "she de", just to spend $$$ on flowers to make him paiseh.

Thanks for the info abt G6PD blood test. I know PD will do some tests but I never question much. Just only know if got jaundice, blood type. If he never say other things, I take it as ok loh.

Krystal
Yes, it is my turn next!! 5 more weeks! This time round, it is harder to control my glucose level because there is Xmas then CNY. Only test 2x a week, so certain days I cheat a bit. But the consequences heard from some mummies is scary - placenta can just lost its function for GD mummies!

I remember I am the only mummy with GD in this thread. but now there is 4-6 mummies with GD in my march thread. Either this is getting very common or doc likes to send their patients for more test now.

krystle,
yr pain tolerance oso very gd...no epi, mine small bb (2.66kg) asked for epi leh...contraction pain just too intense, can go mad...pull hair! luckily close shop BUT looking at Raelynn's pic...aiyo so chubby &amp; cute leh...errr see how lah, factory temp close for time being:phehe

Kitsune,
They do look alike! The shape of the head and the hair.. eyes and all. But Mei Mei does look more well-fed. haha

Icy, Kam, yup, but Mei Mei got less hair than Cheh Cheh. Must go buy XO liao... ;)

Steph, rest 1 yr then go for no. 3 lar. Tell gynae to guarantee gal gal for you in your next gynae/pap smear check. hahaha.

kitsune,
mei mei so chubby! nvm on the hair lar, it should be getting more in no time.

steph,
haha tempted liao ar? u really luv kids.

kitsune,
dun dare to risk having #3 cos my hb's family side 95% all male offspring! And we want a gal naturally, not some artificial expensive test to select the gender leh.

<font color="0000ff">luca,</font>
i've got limited patience with kids but i love babies:p

And here's Z, potty training in progress

3591719.jpg

kitsune, ur breastmilk POWER! BB so chubby ...reali 'xin ku ' u!

steph, 'gan gan lai'! mylvera also manage to get girlgirl

Aqua, haha, no lar, actually Mei Mei has a better appetite than cheh cheh. She tends to drink more milk but vomits/poos more too. :p

Kam, ya lor, if no. 3 confirmed boy, I'll also chiong. My ex colleague who has 2 gals said there is a gynae who can guarantee gender of baby for Mummy wor. Don't know how he does it.

Steph, my ILs only have 2 boys, thought the boy gene more strong but instead we have 2 gals. May not be accurate lar. ;)