(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kam,

how old is XY ar? so fast can sit by herself liao. wonder when mine can do that, den no nid keep carrying her haha

Tried to post 3 times using iphone this morning but failed, keep getting error message. :p

Steph, paiseh for misleading you. :p I was listing the price initially then later decided to add in the qty that I bought. Was posting quickly in the dark when hubby was trying to make no. 1 sleep in living room so forgot to add in 'each'.

Yours is a good deal. I mean since i bought the 1.8kg tin for $45, top up another $6 to get 1 extra small tin, very worth it lor. I bought my small tin (malaysia packaging somemore) for $21.90 yesterday leh. :p Any idea when will Sheng Siong offer end? My nearest Sheng siong is bedok res road. Maybe chong down and buy too.

Jess, ya, if it's small matter, just talk to hubby first and break the cold war.

Jess,
u r still young, can afford to drag, but provided ur hb agrees to it. :p

hope ur cold war will be over in no time.

mylvera,
XY is 5 months 1 week. She doesn't like to lie down or on tummy, so she has to learn to sit fast lor. And spend a lot of time in the exersaucer also :)

luca,
yea i certainly can understand what you are going thru & i am in it right now! We tried once to let them sleep together but Z just wont let R go to sleep peacefully, he will be giggling, talking non-stop & this make R so excited that he can't seem to soothe himself down, he also started to play with Z until he is also very tired then wanna Zzz but can't cos over-stimulate & will kick a big fuss...thus it becomes even more xin ku for us (me & hb). We decided to play by ear & see how loh...gotta keep trying (one day will sure succeed)...just like toilet training for Z.

Kam,
I liked your positive attitude. 家家有本难念的经 ah...it's easier to say than done...i am always trying

kitsune,
oh i see. I am not sure when promotion will end cos i was in a hurry when i make purchase as hb was chasing me! Maybe u call Sheng Siong to check the stock status first.

Hi, Mummies.

Agreed that it is not healthy for couples to sleep separately. My hubby never allows that to happen leh. Now our kids sleep next to our bed (one on each side). But even so, most of the time, we were so tired that we just knocked out almost immediately when get on bed. Last time still can talk abt things on bed for a few mins and hug each other... I miss that kind of closeness...

Steph, yup, just called Bedok Res to check. They are selling at $51.50 for the same promotion. But don't know when promo will end, they only have 2 tins there now so I reserve first. She will order more for me and call me when stocks arrive. Already bought 4 big tins (2 from NTUC, 2 from Jin Tai Tong) last week. :p

Krystle, that's good. My hubby said recently that maybe he should go and sleep with RaeAnne since she keeps waking up at night to look for him. :p

i am back, last weekend was sick, no energy to go anywher or do anything! lots of hsewrk piling up to springclean... reali sian, make me even more sick.
thankfully, i recover after 3 days of intensive sleep,specially grateful to my hubby who lok after my girl 24hr.

we also dunsleep on same bed, my girl stick to me like superglue at nite, while my hubby chop the other queen size mattress on thefloor. when my girl isnt home, we also each take a queen mattress! haha v comfortable, no need to squeeze!mebe i am the weird one, coz i always told my hubby i need lots of space n freedom, even on my bed!!

kitsune, i still got the old friso3 stocks, my girl drink little milk nw, tink i still got 20tins....duno if i shld stockup at shengsiong???

btw, do u mummies intend to give step4 formula when bb turns 3? or juz giv freshmilk?

kitsune,
How come bedok branch selling $51.50 while yuan ching rd branch selling $51 nia...so funni...no standard pricing one ah? Maybe i should call Friso & check it out...also to see if there will be promo from NTUC cos i can gain linkpoints while Sheng Siong can't & must pay by nets/cash only. And DinersClub Sheng Siong Card (if u have) get up to 5% REBATE!

Wahhh aqua,
20tins of what size? 900g? must look out for the expiry date woh. The current bundle that i bought is expiry June 2011.

Steph, yep! 20 tins of 900g, she used to drink 6 or 7 tins in a mth, now onli3 tins.. so can drink till aug or sep. expiry is apr 2011...

duno if shld change to friso4, next yr when she turned 3?

steph,
:) We all jia you together!!!

krsytle,
Yes, I miss those intimate moment also. We also like to chat on the bed, hug hug, kiss kiss, and hold hands before falling asleep. Later on, HR co-slept with us when I was pregnant with XY. Then 1 month ago, moved myself and XY out of the room cos XY slept poorly at night. Now that XY is sleeping so much better, I plan to move back to the room after we come back from CNY holiday. I don't think we can move our kids out of our room so fast. But I am not complaining. As long as the whole family can squezee in a room and sleep well, I am very happy already.

Aqua,
Good that you have recovered. WOW, 20 tins!!!! Whole store room is full of FM?

Aqua, I think your 20 tins was from last NTUC stock up like me. I bought in Sept 09 remember? http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/2009/09/friso-3-baby.html Now, all the stock gone liao. Wish I bought more then, it was the cheapest ever. :p

I casually mentioned to my mum that some mummies are considering to change to uht or fresh milk after their babies turn 2 years old. She was totally against it cos she said FM is more 'bu3'. Must bu them more when they are young. Also true lar, since Raeanne is so skinny, only 11kg. :p Looks like I got to keep giving FM after 2 and probably even after 3 years old. :p

Steph, ya lor, that's why I told them too. Hah $0.50 more ah? Sounds so auntie hor? :p

kam, no lah, they onli occupy one big toyogo box! my storeroom is full of diapers~
got 3 or 4 packs! now my girl is potty trained, onli used diapers at nite, so my stock moving realli slow.

anyone keen to buy over ntuC size xl diapers from me? to meet at east mrt? coz cutting too big for my girl.

kitsune, yes. they were the old stocks which i tip u off to buy from bedok ntuc! my girl drink FM, less solids. she is almost 14kg! i find her v heavy, i dun even hav strength to carry her! so useles mummy. i am fat but no strength, she is stronger than me ;p

aqua,
now u are the champion (loyal customer) of Friso!
#2 now drinks mamil gold 2...i think i will stick to mamil gold 3 while Z still drinks Friso 3 & come next year (if Friso 4 pricing not attractive), will switch to other brands like mamil gold 4, Enfakid etc...freshmilk will give on/off still

I wonder if Pediasure is good? Anyone heard of gd/bad reviews?

Aqua, mine is opposite, eat so little rice recently so we have to top up with milk. Sometimes in the middle of the night, she wake up, we give her milk as well so that she can go back to sleep faster. :p

Steph, heard that Pediasure is very sweet. But kids put on a lot of weight drinking it, good for small eaters.

Aqua,
14kg is a very good weight for a gal! I also cannot carry my boy, can only do that for a few minutes only or I risk to have a painful back.

You are thinking so far ahead. Our tods just turned 2 only leh, you already thinking of 3 ah! But to answer your question, I think I will continue to give him FM (and occasionally fresh milk) until he outgrows it himself.

Steph,
A friend of mine gave her boy Pediasure as recommended by the PD, cos her boy is underweight, that PD (in malaysia) said pediasure can boost weight woh.

kitsune,
u not auntie lah...likdat i oso auntie liow:phee..
The Pediasure i heard got 1 mummy said her child suffered from tooth decay leh! Pediasure is for picky eaters = sweeter & comes in different flavours, true/false?

Aqua,
20tins are alot and I definitely can't store so much due to warehousing issues. I can only buy 1 tin at a time when my supplies run out...

I plan to advance to step4 when my girl turns 3. Will try to give FM until she gets sick of it and then starts to intro fresh milk. So far, had not let her try fresh milk coz mostly is cold and if hit it up takes time.

Kam,
Ya loh, now our children so small, can sleep in a room is good enough already. Glad to hear that XY is improving on her night sleeps.

kam, yes. she is 14kg, and 95cm, i tink she consider above average rite?
i tink v far, coz i onli have 1 kid mah, so can afford to tink further, the rest of mummies like u all hav 2 babies, so u all v busy, unlike me!

kitsune, ur girl still need nitefeed? my girl stopped nite feed at3mths, thank god! coz for me, once i wake up at nite to feed her, i need another 2 hrs to fall back to sleep.
even if she cry for milk, i try to giv her water to 'tong' tru the nite... kekek v evil hor

aqua
wah.. stop nite feeds at 3 months. tats so gd. even till nw, Javier still need his nite feeds lei... at sometimes up to 2-3 times.. wonder wat is wrong.. ?? does anyone have any idea?? hee...

krsytle,
XY now sleeps from 10pm to 5am without waking up on most nights :)

We give cold fresh milk to HR, never heat up.

Steph,
Don't know true or false. Enfagrow also comes in different flavour leh. I only give the original ones to HR. My friend bought the Vanilla flavour one by mistake and she said that one is a lot sweeter than the original one.

jess: mebe he is feeling hot ? or not eating enuff in the day? my girl drink abt 1.2litre milk and one serving of porridge. bt since young, she isnt a big eater, i was the one who kept pumping her with milk coz she was quite skinny before 1 yr old =less than9kg. suddenly , ard 15mth, her weight shot up!

kam, old pple say cold milk cause wind in tummy, as long ss HR stomach is strong, then it is okay. otherwise, best to let the cold milk sits 10mins before giving to him?

for me, i cant drink milk, i will hav irritable bowels.

i duno lei. he drinks 210ML milk with breakfast, lunch (sometimes 2 servings) with fruits, 240ML milk after nap, dinner with fruits.. and in between with snacks... before bed time also 210ML like tat. and mid nite.... 150ML( depending 1-2 times)..... headache rite?

Aqua/Jess, it's not that she needs night feeds (we gave water to wean her off too). More like, she's so hyper/cranky when she wakes up in the middle of the night that we offer her milk so that she can go back to sleep faster. Somehow, the sucking motion soothes her back to sleep faster lor.

J reach the point where he can tell whether its milk or water tat we are giving him, without him even tasting it. if it is water, he will reject and point to the milk powder.. asking us to go prepare... all these actions are done with his eyes closed... hahahha...

anyway, me and hubby's thot is tat since he really wants to drink then let him drink ba...

Jess, so u still wake up 2 to 3 times to make milk for Javier?

Fresh milk: I also give cold one to shaun, he prefers cold than warm fresh milk

aqua,
Oh, your girl is surely more than average, probably >95th percentile. HR is 15kg and about 93cm.

Besides milk, he drinks other cold drinks also. He even sucks on a cube of ice.

Jess,
My guess is J couldn't sleep well at night? I think he uses the milk bottle to soothe himself back to sleep, and make it a habit already. If you don't want to break this habit of him, then I think he is going to wake for milk for a long time. Does he wake up at a fixed timing? If he is, then it's more likely to be hungry. If he wakes up at random timing, it's more of what I describe above.

tongtong/kam
ehh.. its my hubby who wakes up... i just open my eyes to see only. hahaa...
he wakes up roughly about the same time everyday.... so i guess its hungry ba... we tried increasing the bedtime feed, but he cant finish~~

wah kam, aqua,
i am thinking of how to boost Z's weight cos he's abit skinny, still at 11kg nia, abt 88cm+/-
Z also loves cold drinks like yakult, ribena & ice milo

steph,
I think fluid intake is very important. Is Z drinking enough water? Make sure he drinks about 1L of fluid (mainly water) a day? I use to give HR an egg a day, cos to me, egg is a type of super food that contains lots of goodness.

krystle,
i started my girl on fresh milk one feed a day. So morn and night is FM and mid-day bottle is fresh milk. I heat up in the microwave need abt 50secs only. Think make FM also need abt that much time bah...

aqua,
wow yr girl is a big girl!! She's a perfect example of drink milk also can grow big....hehe..
my girl only 11kg and 85cm....yr girl is half a head taller than mine lei!

kam,
^5, lexie also like to suck on ice cube, sometimes can even hear her crunching away!!

jess,
eh i think J at night wake up to drink milk is habit liao lei....cos honestly with all the solids he is eating during the day, that additional 150ml of milk is not considered a lot lor, won't be 'bao' one mah...my girl also wake up fixed timing at night but i don't give milk, find other ways to put her back to sleep lor...
if u dun give J milk what will happen?

steph,
agree with kam that if u want to boost Z weight u need to find high calorie (but healthy) food. like egg, cod, salmon belly, avocado...all those fatty fatty but good for growing kids food and less junk.

grumpus
hmmm.. if dun give ah.. he will whine and whine.. and start going down the bed, tapping my hubby to wake up.. and cry until he gets his milk lor. hahaaa.. bad habit...

but lucky he only finds my hubby even though i am just slping beside him.

kam, grumpus,
thanks! Wow 1L of fluid...got lah +/- but not mainly just water, incl other drinks (yakult, fruit juice etc) consider too? Hmm...high calorie food, ok will take note & increase his intake on such
But hor...my PIL gave him cream biscuits or orea cookies more & some junk (like fried/grilled/baked cuttlefish with chilli), very unhealthy hor but bo bian, he loves it & will whine to ask for more! *shake head* This boy loves chewy chewy stuff:p

grumpus, yes, i am also surprised such a milk baby is weigh heavier than those kids eating solids. coz my frends alway said why my girl so big duno hw to eat rice or porridge, n shldnt giv her so much milk. mus giv her more carbo or rice,
but we dun force her eat porride if she dunwan, tht why nw she is 2, she onli start to 'eat porridge/rice'.
i tink most important is the kid is healthy n happy , fat or thin doesnt matter

steph, i also agree tht fatty fish is the best way to beef them. esp salmon n cod.

or u can try givin brown rice, suppse to be very 'bu'? and better than white rice

steph
same lor. J also likes all the unhealthy food and ask for more. and when he see his own food, he will tell us to wait... put 1 side first..
his recent fav for breakfast is roti prata with curry... and all time fav is pokky!!!

aqua,
Z drinks brown rice si shen (eu yan sang) with milk everynite before he goes to bed. My MIL said can 'tong' aka tahan till next morning at 7/8am then he'll ask for milk.

grumpus,
^^hi-5^^

steph,
Guess it's difficult when he is with your ILs, out of your control. Ya, those cream biscuits/orea/cuttlefish are what I would categorised as junk food. How about you supply all those healthy junk to your IL and ask them give him those instead?

We don't buy junk food at home. So whatever HR finds in the fridge are those healthy food (yogurt, cheese, nuts, fruits, children biscuits, etc). But we do let him have some junk food when we are out.

Jess,
Ask your hub not to entertain him for 3 days in a row? See if can break his habit of night waking? A good sleep also helps to boost health (and weight) leh.

Steph, aqua, jess, I started my gal on gummy bear vitamins that i bought from sprees. Also good lar cos even though it's a sweet, got vitamins inside. Bad thing is she will whine and cry when I limit it to 2 a day. :p

Hmm... fatty fish, I must try to give more then. But exp leh... :p

Kam
wahahaa.. i think J will kick my hubby till he wakes up. sometimes my hubby tries to bluff him by asking him to go to the bed and wait while he prepare. but in fact, my hubby go back to slp. in 5-10 mins like tat.. milk dun arrive.. he will go push my hubby.

i want to try steph method. put the brown rice powder. heehee...

kitsune, is the gummy bear good for immune sys? i bought some multi-vitamins from childlife, but v lazy to giv her. now still left half a big bottle.

fish is reali costly,but good for the brains, so dunsave if u can afford.

jess: the brown rice cereals suppose to make them fuller, u try.