(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

jess,
my girl when bb, if wake up at night i carry her back to sleep. when bigger, i pat back to sleep. Now when she wake up at night i just tell her firmly, "go back to sleep". they are old enough to understand liao...
same with junk food, i always tell my girl "u finish yr own food first then mummy will give" after she finish then i will give her a bit.

kitsune,
ya fatty fish is more costly, but cod and salmon is not much more ex than threadfin/kurau mah...so instead of kurau everyday can alternate with other fish lor...anyway one pc of fish can eat few days mah so the cost is spread out...hehe

steph,
oh ya, u were asking abt pediasure...ya also heard that it's very sweet and thick but good for picky eaters lor....u can consider goat's milk also? ordered fresh from local goat farm is very good for beefing up kids too...

My girl also takes cold drinks now. Mainly ribena, yakult and occassionally ice lemon tea, if I am drinking. I try not to intro fresh milk yet coz scared that she will reject FM. But at my mum's place, she did once drink fresh milk and she likes it very much!!! I see how it goes, maybe later will let her drink it.

My 2 nephews are taking pedisure coz they are picky eaters. The bigger one is still very skinny but the younger one is rather chubby.

Grumpus,
I heard goat's milk is good but rather expensive right? Then also not available in many places...

Grumpus, aqua, we do give cod fish occasionally. But my gal only eat 'liao' n hardly any rice one lor. She likes steamed kurau n can finish half to one palm size serving lor. Mil does not cook cod cos she said got bones. Cod n salmon they seldom cook also because they scared of the taste.

krystle,
ya goat's milk is much more ex. going by 200ml per feed, it cost abt $2 per feed! my friend orders fresh goat's milk from hay's dairies. They deliver to her house every week so very convenient, only thing is there needs to be ppl at home to take delivery cos the milk cannot be left outside the door, will definitely spoil.
my friend has been feeding her kid goat's milk since young until now her son is a big, strapping, strong boy of 13.
anyway, i asked her to add in one small bottle of milk the next time she orders so i can let my girl try. if she likes it i'll prob order directly from them too....

kitsune,
wah yr girl know how to eat "hao liao" lei eat more liao than rice. my girl is a carbo junkie, rice, potato, bread her favourite. Fish/meat/Vege she dun eat that much..i always joke with hb that our girl very cheap to feed :p

gd morning all

steph
i tried ur method of adding the brown rice si shen powder inside lei. and guess wat? he still had 2 bottles of milk thru the nite. hahahaa... and to make it worst... he woke us all up at 5+am~.....
i am so slpy nw... hahaaha

aqua
haha.. ya lor.. must try it out for some time then will knw the result. i guess nw it is also becos he is not feeling well thats y cant slp tight.

btw, Javier is drooling alot alot these days. i remember u all were mentioning that it might be teething izit?

jess, drooling may be teething. u can feel his gum, if reali teething, can apply those teething gel, helps a little.

but since he is unwell, must endure the nite wakings.. kid needs comfortable when they sick, juz like us

we dun dare to put our fingers in to feel it lei.. wait he bite us.. wahaha...
i guess the teething is making him no appetite as well? he doesnt like chewy stuff these days.. prefer soft things...

morning all

jess,

wahhh the brown rice powder makes J insomnia ah! but like what u said, it could most probably be due to teething (cutting of new molars) since he is drooling lots now. Tough on u...hang on there. As for the brown rice, u just continue & monitor, hopefully he can skip the night feed soon! Jia You

Grumpus, ya lor, can u imagine bitter cordyceps tonic soup (my mum adds pao shen), she will drink everything. Even chews happily on the 'worms' but rice she will only take 1-2 mouthfuls. If we put the liao on top of the rice, she'll use her fingers and take only the liao. That's why I resort to dousing her rice with stew gravy, that one she likes so bo bian got to eat the rice cos she can't pick up the gravy. haha.

Jess, RaeAnne also keeps touching her gums/teeth with her fingers recently. Don't know is it teething? :p

i think its more tough on my hubby. heehee.. cos i am lazy to wake up. he takes care of J now. but when he starts work, i will take over le.
yeah!.. i will continue to jia you and practice my patience. cos sometimes u knw, it is just so hard to control when they keep whining and whining...

jess, when ur hubby start wrk?

kitsune, my girl also love soup, she can drink one big bowl of soup but refuse rice. or she eat the fish, vegg .
surprisngly, she dun eat meat, i am unsure if coz she is born in year of pig, so she dunwan to eat pork ???

kitsune,
haha, raeanne is the exact opposite of lexie! Lexie will pick the plain rice only and leave the liao behind.....funny lei kids....

Jess,
Congrats that your hubby got a new job, and you too as well. It is a good start!!

Aqua, Pixie, Kam, Chaye, Twinkystar.
Our skincare loot arrived in SGP!!! I will go the post office to collect later after work. If can, I will try to pack the stuff tonight and mail out by tomorrow. Will keep everyone updated. Thanks for your patience!

steph,
i was thinking abt Z's diet. I was just wondering whether cos he's eating too much junk food (high in sugar and preservatives) that's why he's even more hyperactive?
just a thought....

Luca,
Ah hem, that is not a beauty products I ordered. Just a cleanser :) Still no interest in beauty products, and as of now, still don't even own a lipstick or anything.

Jess,
Congrates!!! Hope that you and your hub stay good mood and have a great year ahead!

Aqua, my gal also piggy baby but she loves meat leh.

Grumpus, maybe she got fussy palate. Rice no taste, liao got taste so she doesn't like rice?

Anything one thing for sure, if I don't want her to eat something, just add pepper. A bit of la la, she don't want to eat liao. :p

kitsune, my gal opposite of yours. Only like rice / noodles - plain without anything...haha
I always say she dunno how to eat good food.

kitsune,
hahaha...same same, my girl also cannot take even a bit la....got one time i wanted her to eat her own food but she die die want to eat my hb's plain rice so i told my hb give her a bit of rice with chili gravy...sure enough she took one mouthful scream hot and then stopped asking for his rice

btw, forgot to ask u hows Dr Keoy's new clinic? issit still as packed as at TMC?

how's everybody's CNY preparation been?
i havent buy any clothes yet. oh oh!

Luca,
Me too, only bought 1 top... tmr will be on leave to go hair salon. Looking forward for a fruitful shopping trip after that.

Morning all!!
Seemed like all the toddlers had been growing real well. My boy keep falling sick until I think he is under weigh now. Now his diet is picking up, I hope he will gain more weigh. He had been 11kg+ since nov.. now everyone says he slim down..

grumpus,
like what kam said, it's difficult to control Z's diet when he is with my ILs. I did try to supply healthy junk (children biscuits, organix raisins, yogurt etc) but ILs said, Z don't like to eat them but prefer other biscuits that they bought like Orea, keropok snack aka prawn crackers, rice crackers wrapped in seaweed & his all time favourite pre-packaged dried shredded squid or cuttlefish! My FIL is the one who introduce all these unhealthy junk food to Z while luckily my MIL advocate healthy home cooked food/junk most of the time. However, no children will reject junk food especially they are so tasty. I will have to keep reminding ILs to cut down/avoid on junk food for Z loh...afterall i think the grandpa (my FIL) bu she de to see Z whine n whine n beg him for cuttlefish (junk) but they'll always limit the qty lah so i am okay. There was one time, i forbid him the junk and guess what? he approached my FIL & ask for it instead...his hand pointing to the plastic container (where we kept the cuttlefish) & said, "爷爷给 or 帮我拿"
Yup i do take note that high sugar food may cause the child to be more hyperactive but scientists studying hyperactivity found that sugar had a mildly quieting effect on some children. One theory is that eating sugar and other carbohydrate foods raises the level of brain neurotransmitters that are associated with feeling relaxed and calm. I also confused leh...

Steph,
Ya, agreed that it is really hard to control our kids's diet when they are at ILs place... If tell ILs not to give this and that, it will make them unhappy too. Haiz, no choice... MSG food is always very tasting especially our kids now are exploring and getting adventurous on food!

I also dun know what my girl eats at ILs place. Dare not to ask too. But I think my MIL did not give that much snack food to her... She mostly eats main dishes/meals there. At home and my mum's place, we are more concerned. So we only give multivitamins gummy bear, Karihome Goat sweeties, "wang wang" biscuits (the small, round type which melts in mouth very quickly)... Occassionally my mum gives snack like crackers but very seldom.

luca,
i bought 2 dresses (black with pink ribbons/design & the other is purple) for CNY...actually not really for CNY cos i haven wear them yet (bought it few months ago):p

kitsune & grumpus,
Z is totally opposite, he loves la la...he loves curry (not the gravy) but potato in the curry & he loves MacDonald chilli sauce! He took it neat hor meaning just the sauce itself w/o any food to dip. His whole face turn red but he can still turn his head, stick out his tongue & smile at me! *faint* And he don't like chinese rice, prefer jap rice!

steph,
i totally understand it is dificult to control Z's diet when u are not looking after him yrself. Like u said, junk food is very tasty!! Even with my girl we have to make a conscious effort to keep the junk food away from her like eating only after she sleeps, or sneaking a few pcs when she is not looking...

steph,
wah, Z very adventurous with hot food! HR cannot and doesn't like hot food, when he sees chilli/curry/chilli sauce/something similar to chilli sauce, he would say "la la de" and doesn't even dare to touch it, let alone eat it. We use "la la de" sometimes to stop him from messing up our food :)

Besides chilli, another he scares most is ants. If we want him to stop doing something, after try with numerous methods but still doesn't work, just have to say, "yi, 有蚂蚁" he would quickily turn back or stop doing what he is doing and run to us :)

Jess, yea could be teething. mine woke up due to the cutting of the biggest molar, he did that consecutively for 3 nights. Now no more liao. But still got another final 2 to go I think.

Grumpus, yea I’m going to order goat’s milk from haydairies too.

Mcfluffy, hope ur gal get well soon. How’s the fever now?

Pauline, that means Raeanne knows how to drink bitter soup also! That’ good.

Steph, you can get healthier junk and bring over to your il place for Z, better than eating the dried cuttlefish.

Steph,
I also try to let my boy eat organix biscuit and he dun like it. Too dry and hard. sigh.. he rather eat "so ta bing!". MIl make fun and say her biscuit nicer.

steph,
better than nothing like me lar.. :p

tell ur fil keep the cuttlefish out of Z's sight lar.

krystle,
sounds like u gona have a blast tomorrow. so nice!

not in a good mood to shop as #1 is sick again, viral fever. haiz!

steph,
wah... Z dares to eat spicy food?! Celeste don't dare to touch any spicy food now after we let her try Macdonald's Chilli once. From now on, any food that we don't want her to eat, all we need to say is the magic word, "SPICY!" hahaha, and she'll automatically reject the food.

tongtong, thanks for your concern. Brought her to see PD already. Seems like she got the virus from me (coz I was sick a few days ago). She has slight sorethroat, fever and runny nose. Luckily, she's still active but very sticky to me. So, no rest for me! :s

Kam,
My girl will still continue to eat even she knows it is "la la de". She will say while eating loh. Hahaha. When comes to food, she will taste everything. But I discovered that she don't like veggie leh (just like me)... Haiz...

HR scare of ants? Aiyo, my girl can kill every ant that she sees loh. She can press on it and show me too, telling me '蚂蚁" leh. But she is confused over 蚂蚁 and 蚊子. Somestimes see 蚂蚁 and tell me it is 蚊子. Got to remind her that 蚊子 can fly but not 蚂蚁. :p

Questions:
Still celebrating Vday since CNY is on the same day?

I suppose i dun have any celebrations this year..

krsytle,
He doesn't even dare to touch the ant on my iphone (a game) :) Maybe because he has got bitten before.

Your gal very brave. Oh you don't like veggie ah, think yes, somehow that would influence our kids. Both me and hubby love greens, think HR learns from us, but now he is showing tendency to like meat more, though he still eats veg.

grumpus,
hehe..same scenario, me & hb have to hide away from Z when we sneak a few pcs of junk food. But hb always got caught by Z & ended up he has to let him eat a few pcs too otherwise if me gets caught, i will offer him yakult or Scotts Emulsion cod liver oil. Normally that will satisfy him

kam,
Z only scare of RATS...if he mischief or we want him to stop doing something, we will say, "有老鼠咬buttocks" he would quickly stop. My FIL bought few rubber fake rats & place near the water tap & some cabinets where he wanted to open & play with & now he don't really dare liow
sometimes if forgot, he will still open the cabinets/drawers...only to find the rats & he will run away very fast with his mouth opened O shape...haha

Steph,
wah, Z eats curry and cuttlefish somemore? I think curry/spicy food is ok if they like it but those dried cuttlefish, etc are very salty/sweet leh...not very healthy. B only gets to eat junk food eg. chocolates, fruit gummies, ice-cream, etc when we go back to my mum's place cos my sis and nieces are all junk food lovers! At home he only gets yogurt, organix raisins and xiao man dou.

Kam,
B is so curious about cockroaches...eeeks! Once I spotted one in my mum's kitchen and I screamed and ran out. B quickly run into the kitchen to see how my mum catch/kill it and he was so happy...everyday also tell me "cockroach cockroach"...faint!

Another time even funnier...I saw a flying cockraoch in my balcony and wanted to dash into the room liao, but B was running towards the balcony to have a closer look! So I still gotta grab him and dash into the room together...hahaha! I always tell him when he grows up, he will have to protect mummy from cockroaches and help me to catch them.

Steph, shaun can take hot food too!! I’m pretty surprised hehe.

Kam, HR is so cute! Hehe

Mccfluffy, hey take care! Let her drnk lots of water and fruit juice with honey to sooth her throat

Krsytle, although my boy is vegetarian, he doesn’t like the long green veg too. What I do is to cut into smaller size then he will eat together with the rice. Else too long he will put the veg out from his mouth! But if it’s the veg outside ( I mean eat at restaurant), he will eat eat eat n never pull the veg out. Shd be due to the taste la.

Vday- no Vday but it’s CNY for me! Haha

Questions:
Still celebrating Vday since CNY is on the same day?

Already not celebrating Vday since got married in 2005... Vday is just like any other day to us and we don't exchange gifts too. :p

tongtong,
yea i know dried cuttlefish no gd for Z, like what luca said, will ask FIL to keep the cuttlefish out of Z's sight (provided Z don't remember abt the cuttlefish cos i think all toddler got superb memory leh, they will remember the next day or few hrs later where is the cuttlefish woh) then we gotta tell him no more liow. Hope it will works. But unlikely cos my FIL sure softhearted if Z whine & beg him for it...difficult lah

icy,
Z also love "so ta bing" leh
crispy & crunchy mah but heaty so must drink lotsa water.

Q:Still celebrating Vday since CNY is on the same day?
A:Nope we don't celebrate V-day since 6 or 7yrs ago....long time nvr rec'd flowers...how i wish hb will give me a surprise...
mcfluffy,
hope Celeste recover soon!
Yup when comes to food, Z will try everything...even when we warn him that the food is spicy, he still wanna try. If really can't tahan the spicyness, he will reject or spit out the food