(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Jess,
since u already put J in childcare, just stick to it for the time being. "good" reason to reject ur mum in a way.
i know its hard especially now J is sick, but usually starting is always the toughest, be strong. Jia you!

morning

pixie,
i finally got chance to try cup walker
They got a station inside Suntec Carrefour. I was there with R, grocery shopping yesterday. But hor, disappointed leh cos the tea taste not very strong & very sweet (maybe it's due to honey?) & milky taste, my hb also agree. But i like the chewy pearl

krystle,
speedy recovery!

luca
ya lor... i also trying to hang on. but my mum and dad keep calling everyday to nag. and my hubby is nt very helpful in a way. i just feel so tired~.. i think for the past 2 nites, i cry after i put Javier to bed~...

Jess,
Maybe try to put Javier at the cc till the end of this month, then you can make a decision then? For the time being, you can just tell your parents that you cannot withdraw Jaview now cos already paid and cannot get refund. By end of this month, you shall be able to see how well J is adapting to the cc. Don't think too much, focus on what's happening NOW, we call it 活在当下! With whatever decision you are going to make, sure there is a way to talk them through.

thanks Kam. ya lor. i agree with u. really is paid liao mah. so see how it goes lor... i just wish my hubby is supportive enough. he always just leave me alone to make decisions. and when something goes wrong, haiz... he also just keep quiet. i feel so tired of handling all these matters...

Jess, if ur mum needs a helper, then gona bring more problems if a maid comes in.
jus stick to ur CC. Most kids cant adapt in cc, i also start to prepare myself 'mentally', coz my girl going in cc also in feb or mar.
i can forsee her nitemares coming , her cries, and of cse, nt to forget getting sick more often...
these are part of growing up, no choice. parents r stressed...kids also nt spare.

jess,
i second kam. The whole process (putting J in cc & adapting & eventually getting your parents to understand that it's not easy on you too but one day J sure gonna attend school (n1/n2/k1/k2) independently.) If J still willing to go to school (cc), you should all the more persevere. Jia You!

kam & all,
here's a preview of the Staccato trial that i've attended on Sat

3486056.jpg

kam,
hb said HR is very well behaved & guai...i can see he really enjoyed the lesson. My Z hor...faint:p

my parents also nt supportive i put my girl in cc. they said i v lucky, got inlaws to help me weekdays , still wan to bring her home...wait i cant manage, will fall sick, complain tired..etc..

but i duncare la... she is big n mature for her age. i wan her to be independent and also, stay with me.

Krsytle, take care! If cough persists, look for natural remedies, if too lazy to DIY, look for TCM.

Jess, Javier fell sick maybe he went to new cc.take care! Jess, it’s good idea to let ur mum take care wor. hey, cheer up!!

aqua, steph, tongtong
Javier is not very willing to go CC these few days. he keep telling us he is scared when we mentioned 'school'... nw even to get into the car, he is worried we will bring him to school.. he clings even more to us nw~... are they really matured and ready to be in CC? this i really duno. i do knw tat sooner or later, we have to let go cos they have to go school .... like 3 years old.

in every situation, there is just 2sides of the coin. just tat its hard to choose which is the better one~...

CC food: kam/jess, what kind of food does the CC serve?

i'm very kiasu when comes to food. so wanna know more before deciding on CC

jess,
that's why parenting is tough..always face to make decision! But i think most tods will behaved in this way (scared to go school), this is natural cos in a new enviroment, with new frds & teacher etc. Now i can advise you to take it easy, when come to my turn next year, i think i will behave the same like you too cos my PIL also very negative towards putting Z in cc now

tongtong
so far Javier had noodles, pasta soup, porridge served with fruits. breakfast is normally bun and a drink. teabreak got red bean soup, bun, green bean soup, barley etc....

steph
really is nothing to say except HAIZ for now. I just have to be strong mentally and hang on to my decision. take a step at a time. hopefully sooner or later my parents and hubby will understand what i am going thru.

luckily there is all of u here to lend a listening ear.. otherwise i will go crazy~

jess, 'mature',in the sense they can communicate their thoughts to us and they can understand adults more sensibly.
of cse, they r nt independent enuf to go to sch. juz imagine u go to a new wrk plac with new job scope, ask u to do IT support for a new co in tuas, u also feel insecure and fear rite?
its normal, giv them time to adapt.

Morning all!

Mandy,
Start school already, very busy???

Can't log in yesterday. This is what I wanted to post yesterday......

Steph,
Thanks :) Hubby said Z is indeed a very active tod, he said how come Z like always smiling? That's what I love Z for how a cheerful boy he is (just like you, always put a smile on!), he was so happy throughout the class, which you don't see on other kids (incl HR). So you are not signing up for the class? Think you either let him run more to tire him out/release his energy, or you let him learn how to quiet down. .

Jess,
Think your hub is leaving everything to you to make decision because he trusts you! He trusts you are a great mum, he trusts you that you will definitely do the best for J! But if you feel you need his advise/comment, why not tell him directly that you need him to say something this time round?

For J, if he seems to be scared of going to school, then you don't tell him he is going to school. Spot something that he likes at the cc, eg, a toy or a friend or a teacher. Then you tell him, let's go and play with the toy. Talk to him more, ask him what he does at school, etc (though he may not able to answer, but never, keep talking). You have to help him to see that going to school it's a fun thing to do. You need to believe yourself that it's fun going to school. Just talk and talk, to convience him that it's a nice place to be.

tongtong,
the usual food. Rice/porridge/noddle..... For HR's cc, it's pretty good cos the cook can cook pretty well and she doens't use MGS at all (some centres do). I tasted some of their food, really not bad. But I know you are one that are very strict with the food, so yes, you gonna have a hard time accepting the food provided at the cc. Maybe you can make lunch box for Shaun to bring to school?

Kam
i told him i need someone to talk to last nite. but all he said was, he is sick, dun want to talk. then this morning, he just kept saying he dun wana listen to my mum's logic (seeing doc at the slightest matter). so he feels tat she is creating problem so tat she can take care of J. he is very firm tat he dun wana let her take care of J.

as for school, we tried all ways to talk to J about school. teacher, toys, frens etc... all he kept doing is shake his head and pat his chest -_-" today he is still having slight fever, so tmr then send him to CC ba~...

Morning, mummies.

Y'day can't post anything and I forgot what I wanted to write liao.

Today on MC coz doc gave 2 days. Voice is finally back but still rather hoarse.

mandy
haha... my mum ah... she very fickled minded. keep changing her mind... resign, dun resign, take care.. dun take care.. tats y my hubby scared she awhile then fly us aeroplane~....

morning mummies

yest smh down? couldnt post

jess
although i cant say "i understand how you feel", but i do understand your pains when hb does nothing. but take it positively - you are the main person who is making decisions, better than 2 different opinions and clash :p :p
now J depends on you so much be strong for him ok

mandy....
hard to say. anyway, dun tell ur mum wat i say wor. wait she go tell my mum i jialat.. hahahaa...

pixie
ya.. i will be strong
for nw, i will hang on to the decision made (put him in CC)... i still stand by my hubby's thots la... but i hope he can understand its not easy for me cos i have to answer to my parents as well....

Kam, thanks for sharing. I called Little campus yesterday and they told me playgroup program for 2010 and 2011 are full!! Feeling so shocked, ppl are starting to register and book a seat( placing deposit) for 2012 class. I think parents here are really kiasu. I still have hard time looking for a playgroup for shaun. I took leave last Friday bringing shaun to talentplus playgroup 9am but no more vacancies, left 12.30 slot. But that is his nap time. I wonder whether to let him join the class and have later nap? Not sure whether it will affect his bedtime. Cuz usually he naps till 1 or 2, then at night slept by 10pm. If he naps later dunno will affect his bedtime , I don’t want him to stretch longer else I will kisiao.

Anyway I’m really too relax with his learning development, but super kiasu in terms of his food. Strange mummy me hor? My hubby keeps asking me to relax about his food so that he can go CC earlier. So I told him latest by 3 yo he will join CC> cuz he is really lacking in terms of learning. I came from stress free background so I don’t bear to stress my kid, but my Singaporean hubby has diff view, he said he doesn’t want shaun to be the last in the classroom la blah blah. You know what I mean.different culture.

anyway yea, if i send him to cc i will still cook his breakfast or lunch, i am so kiasu because i dont want ppl to say that he is malnutritious as he is vegetarian. Lots of ppl already “attacking” me for deciding his diet liao which I felt pretty upset. That’s why I spent lots of time on diet planning, it’s really a tough and hard job. but at least i see him being a healhty boy, i felt consoled. else i will be super stressed.

Tong tong: for my boy cc they serve
breakfast: cheese tuna sandwich, oat cereal,Pau etc
snack: fruit
lunch: 1 meal, 1 veg and soup daily.
snack: pancake,cheese sandwich roll and a drink like barley, milk, milo..

Jess: Ray cried for 1wk+.. he started gg to cc in oct last yr and i can understand how u feel cos i was pregnant and working,itz v sad to see him cried wen gg to sch. Now my boy is happily gg to cc and i"m glad to kw fr his teachers dat he is e role model in his class cos he hug those new students who cried in class and giv them toys to play.

morning!

pixie,
u got read my post yest?on cup walker. and it's more ex hor $2.30:p

kam,
Z expresses his happy (smiling/laughing) & sad (cranky/fuss/whine/cry) emotions very extreme de. Is this consider good or bad? i dunno leh...when he's in his tantrum mode, he wont take NO for an answer, as in must give in to him or must counter-offer him something else "distraction mode" but not always successful, we are still learning how to tame him...or i should say learn how to quiet him down. Hubby no intention of signing Z up, he just want to explore other trial & decide later perhaps. Seriously, i gave a long thought about what you said, letting Z learn how to quiet down (already expose him to puzzle, encourage reading storybooks & writing (scribbling), building blocks etc) but i think Z is born with it, the superb active gene in him, how to control by not forcing? Hmm...perhaps will outgrow when he grows older as in more dong shi?

kam
ya.. so difficult 4 me. i dun like to be on cold war with my hubby. very sad and sianz de.

lynn
thanks for the encouraging words. i hope Javier will be like Ray too in future. how is ur confinement getting along? you haven teach us how to pronounce your #2's name.. keke...

Lynn
How are you coping? Bumped into you hb, he went swimming yest. Rayden still at Mindschamp? Isit good?

Today my maid told me something funny. She brot Elliot downstairs walk walk, then an old lady saw Elliot and remarked "Wah, wat a cute baby girl!!" Then Elliot replied "Baby boy, handsome boy"... Hahahaha...

That day Elliot was squatting while playing, so
Me : Elliot, sit down
E : I don't wan
Me : Why?
E : Because I ng ng (poo)

I am surprised he knows how to use "because"... hahaha...

steph
yupz i read ur post but forgotten abt it.
im not sure why its milky in the suntec branch coz its supposed to be same le...
but taking sweet talk as comparison, i feel that CW (cup walker) has a stronger tea tase than ST (sweet talk), and lesser sugar
yes, in suntec branch, small cups are 1.60 and bigger cups maybe 30cents more or so?
what did you took ah btw?

pixie,
i took honey milk tea and the lady didn't ask me want small cup or big one leh! And suntec branch not so hygienic cos i saw the lady mix the milk tea in a cocktail shaker inside the sink & she also wash her hands while the cocktail shaker (not covered up) is still in the sink leh!

steph
honey milk tea they use the powder to make, so its not the actual milk tea + honey
my hb likes they honey milk tea so whenever i buy milk tea + honey milk tea, i can see distinctive difference in colour. honey milk tea whiter than normal milk tea
and its powdered drink. urghh
at least i know they use tea leaves to make the milktea coz i see them doing it all the time

been very shack the past few days. My girl's right arm has been dislocated. I was working part time on sat, my maid called me at 5pm and told me my girl kept crying for no reason but when she touched her right hand, she screamed. We rush back to see her and maid keep saying she don't know what happen. Hubby checked out cctv then found out that she tried to pick my girl up from the ground by pulling her right hand, used too much strength. The incident happens at 4pm but she only calls me at 5pm.Rushed her to kkh, doctor tried to set her arms back not once but 3 times..she was screaming like mad so heartpain. Doctor suggested casting but we refused, so did an xray to make sure no fractured and brought her straight to see tcm (our very regular one, thank goodness he's kind enough to go and meet us at the clinic). Her arms are set back but still swollen and sore. Really speechless and don't know how to scold the maid. She didn't even apologise to us. She only tried once when we were going home and hubby was on the line. When we asked her about what she did, she admitted but keep saying she don't know that she dislocated my girl's arm like that. So sickening.

tongtong,
I also came from a totally stress-free childhood. I grew up in kampung. I don't think I am giving HR any stress, as we are the followers of learning-through-play, it's about FUN that we are focusing on. Opposite than you, we have become so relax with what HR eats now since we believe he has already built up a very strong immune and digestive system. But I guess at the end of the day, each mummy gonna decide what's best for her child. Maybe to strive a balance bah.

About nap time. HR doesn't have fix nap time during weekends, cos we are always on the run. But doesn't matter what time and how long he sleeps (usually 2-3 hours), he still goes to bed at 930pm.

Steph,
Haha, you are right, because I never seen him throwing tantrum mah, so all my memory of Z is smily smily one :) I think you are already doing a great job introducing the puzzle, building blocks, etc to him. Yes, some kids born to be more active. But as long as he still ok to quiet down to do puzzle, building blocks etc, thinks it's ok. Yes, no good to force him. I would rather let him be who he is than forcing him. Maybe ask him to do as much as those quiet-down activities as possible. Yes, try exploring different classes/activities till you find one suits him best. Good luck!

pixie,
i see so next time just order milk tea will do. The powdered also using tea leaves??blur...

Luvv,
OMG...sayang C for me. Your maid really...don't know what to say ah. Speedy recovery to C's arms!

steph
nolah how they make ur milk tea is:
few scoops of the white powder, add in honey, add in some tea, and use shaker n shake
so your honey milk tea is as though made from powder, quite milky
but for normal milk tea, they brew the tea leaves, get the normal tea, add in their liquid sugar and what not. so its darker (aka more tea)

luvv
awwwww thats hurts even when hearing it! sorry to hear that.
not to side ur maid but they dunno in depth stuff like human anatomy so maybe really dunno will dislocate arm in such cases. they can really be this dumb.
most importantly, recover quickly can liao ok

luvv
i realised that some maids have this problem. they like cannot really handle our kids well nw especially when they are so active.
my SIL's daughter also like tat. the maid also dislocated her arm 2 years back. and she didnt dare to move for the whole day then they detected something wrong.

hope your gal recovers fast. distract her more so that she wont think of the pain... they might have fear to move the arm, so do encourage her more

long time didnt log in. pumping milk nw..hehe.

luvv,
can understand how u feel. Speedy recovery to yr gal. My gal's toe was fractured last year and was put on cast for a mth. so heartpain for me during that time.

jess,
it takes abt 2 weeks to one mth for a kid to settle down in cc. maybe u can try this method - first week go on half day, then 2nd week slowly increase the timing to ard 3pm, then 3rd week full day. in this way, yr boy can slowly adapt to the cc. Jia You!

aqua,
which cc is yr gal going to? same as my gal?

the teachers in the CC so nice. just called me to ask hw come Javier didnt go for 2 days and tat they miss him very much... haha.. very touched....

Luvv
Hope your girl get better, so heartpain.

My new maid also like that. My boy's hand is under the sofa, she just pull him up and carry him like that. End up he keep crying and touching his hand. Fortunately it is a bit of abrasion. And I didn't see it happened, just tell her be more careful.